Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,453 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Jesus the Paddy O'Gorman segments would make your blood boil.

"Why would I pay a fine? I'll go to jail for a few hours and have a holiday with the money instead." :mad::mad:
    "I only get €100 a week, they can't be taking it from that" - so stop breaking the bloody law! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

"There's terrible problems with staff morale".

It seems to me that if they were to interview staff in ANY company they would find morale issues. The thing is that people who work for private companies are never usually asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

how many is she taking in?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

dulpit wrote: »
    Jesus the Paddy O'Gorman segments would make your blood boil.

"Why would I pay a fine? I'll go to jail for a few hours and have a holiday with the money instead." :mad::mad:
    "I only get €100 a week, they can't be taking it from that" - so stop breaking the bloody law! :mad:

bit of a revelation today though that the solicitors get €50 a day for just asking the judge to give their client more time to get the moola together.

handy money for nothing there.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

bit of a revelation today though that the solicitors get €50 a day for just asking the judge to give their client more time to get the moola together.

handy money for nothing there.

Loved how the judge called the solicitor out on it and would not agree to postponing the court. The guy was not able to get the €350 together and was sent to jail for a few weeks.

One thing that annoys me from listening to Paddy O'Gorman, and I'm not sure it came up today, but the amount of people who get out of driving fines by saying the fine never came in the post is amazing. Surely they should switch to registered post or similar?

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭kazamo

One thing that annoys me from listening to Paddy O'Gorman, and I'm not sure it came up today, but the amount of people who get out of driving fines by saying the fine never came in the post is amazing. Surely they should switch to registered post or similar?

Registered post would have issues also.....it the intended recipient refuses to sign for it, same issue as never delivered.

kazamo wrote: »
    Registered post would have issues also.....it the intended recipient refuses to sign for it, same issue as never delivered.

But surely they'd then have a record of a refused signature? (they might not know who it was, but it would go some of the way there)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Methinks that lady doth protest waaaaaaaaaaaaay too much :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,562 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Jesus, these two women shrieking at each other (and Keelin) :eek:

Making my ears bleed.

Does either of them actually think they're advancing either side of the argument?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Very poor debate being facilitated by Keelin here.

All very shrill and self-important.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

Jayzus, during that I was outside and hearing it vaugely, I thought some cats were having a fight inside my house

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

Keelin's hosting this week? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Please Keelin, will you do your job properly and ask the obvious question of Deirdre. If she is so committed to equal pay for her younger teaching colleagues, why doesn't well paid Deirdre take a pay cut and let her colleagues have a pay rise. Simple obvious question.

Same I heard that other ASTI goon this morning. "The Minister yesterday didnt answer the question yesterday whether he agreed with equal pay for equal work, did he?"... Yeah and YE VOTED for that inequality to save your own pay and conditions.

I really dont know why they are given so much airtime. Certainly cover the strike but dont give them so much time for their propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,232 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Absolutely horrific account of what ISIS are doing to women, sometimes you wonder if we do actually need a headcase like Trump to clear this up.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭TheHomeService

Same I heard that other ASTI goon this morning. "The Minister yesterday didnt answer the question yesterday whether he agreed with equal pay for equal work, did he?"... Yeah and YE VOTED for that inequality to save your own pay and conditions.

I really dont know why they are given so much airtime. Certainly cover the strike but dont give them so much time for their propaganda.

They love the "equal pay for equal work" mantra, do ASTI. Funny how they are happy to accept increments in the PS though, which runs totally counter to their espoused mantra.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Absolutely horrific account of what ISIS are doing to women, sometimes you wonder if we do actually need a headcase like Trump to clear this up.

That would be funny if it wasn't so horrific

Mike had no problems talking to Cape Canaveral, but as usual problems trying to get communications established with RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

extraordinary extraordinary extraordinary extraordianry

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

Seán nailing this waffling Professor Russell on her report on early childcare. What a waste of space & expense this report seems - no firm conclusions and sure whatever you want will probably do. But the average parent out there could have said the same, that children are basically flexible and manage varied circumstances.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

16 kids aged 2 months to 21, husband in prison and driving with no insurance..and she is sent to prison for not paying €250 no insurance fine
    I'm only getting €548pw from de dole

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,523 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Had to turn off the radio on hearing that. ^^

More airtime for whingebag union leaders. Listen if your members dont like the f**king job, do something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

snubbleste wrote: »
    16 kids aged 2 months to 21, husband in prison and driving with no insurance..and she is sent to prison for not paying €250 no insurance fine
    As Twink would say, it's time he zipped up his mickey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

More airtime for whingebag union leaders. Listen if your members dont like the f**king job, do something else.

Govt have broken the deal. Not the unions inside the tent. This was always going to happen if the GRA/AGSI deal was done.

snubbleste wrote: »

They really need to be able to attach payment orders against social welfare if you have outstanding fines. That'll make people cop on an awful lot quicker than a half day trip to the local prison...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Have to laugh at Alan Kelly talking about the "madness" of Brexit, considering this gobdaw presided over the complete and utter fiasco that is Irish Water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭serfboard

They really need to be able to attach payment orders against social welfare if you have outstanding fines. That'll make people cop on an awful lot quicker than a half day trip to the local prison...
    It'd also be far less costly to the state.

I thought they were supposed to be doing this anyway in relation to fines - i.e. adding attachments to wages or SW? I seem to remember this being discussed in particular in relation to Mick Wallace ...

serfboard wrote: »
    It'd also be far less costly to the state.

I thought they were supposed to be doing this anyway in relation to fines - i.e. adding attachments to wages or SW? I seem to remember this being discussed in particular in relation to Mick Wallace ...

They can attach to wages, but not social welfare, because of reasons :mad:

The Dept of Social Welfare were in touch with Paddy O'Gorman (I think that's who he said) to say they are going to review this next year though.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,750 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

You can attach SW payments.

ETA: it's done by way of a garnishee order. It isn't very common. There is the Civil Debt (Procedures) Act 2015 that is supposed to provide easier ways of attaching pay or SW but it hasn't been commenced yet, meaning it's unlikely to be commenced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Sean, we don't care about your summer holidays. Let the man make his point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

sligojoek wrote: »
    Sean, we don't care about your summer holidays. Let the man make his point.

How long do you expect Sean to wait, guy makes Bob Schmoo look like Dave Fanning.

Cmon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

He was a bit slow alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

sligojoek wrote: »
    He was a bit slow alright.

Understatement of the year there, long pauses, sighing, different cadence in voice, I thought the phone line was gone

You can attach SW payments.

ETA: it's done by way of a garnishee order. It isn't very common. There is the Civil Debt (Procedures) Act 2015 that is supposed to provide easier ways of attaching pay or SW but it hasn't been commenced yet, meaning it's unlikely to be commenced.
    Why do you think it's unlikely to be commenced?

It wouldn't be electorally unpopular, since people who commit ordinary criminal or regulatory offences don't tend to garner voter sympathy. And the same Fine Gael Minister who oversaw the latter stages of the act's passage through the Oireachtas is still in office, and is responsible for the commencement.

I don't understand why such a common-sense piece of legislation hasn't yet taken effect, nor can I imagine any law-abiding person who would seriously oppose it.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,750 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Why do you think it's unlikely to be commenced?

It wouldn't be electorally unpopular, since people who commit ordinary criminal or regulatory offences don't tend to garner voter sympathy. And the same Fine Gael Minister who oversaw the latter stages of the act's passage through the Oireachtas is still in office, and is responsible for the commencement.

I don't understand why such a common-sense piece of legislation hasn't yet taken effect, nor can I imagine any law-abiding person who would seriously oppose it.

You and I evidently have a totally different perception of Irish society if you think that it would be politically popular to introduce legislation that allows the State or other corporate bodies to deduct the pay of private individuals at source.

These private individuals whose pay will be deducted at source have no other means of satisfying the claim against them, which suggests to me that the pay out of which the deductions are to be taken isn't going to be significant...

You and I evidently have a totally different perception of Irish society if you think that it would be politically popular to introduce legislation that allows the State or other corporate bodies to deduct the pay of private individuals at source.
    Ah now, these are the type of people who refuse to pay fines.

We're not just talking the average person who gets a speeding ticket or overstays in a parking space. We're talking here about people who would rather go to jail than pay a fine, the type of people who are often the courts' most regular customers.

The Act had very little political or public opposition, and in fact was reported on rather sympathetically, having been seen as a more humane and prudent piece of legislation than what the current laws provide for.

Freemen and the likes? The hordes of water protestors? Even though these are in the minority, they are almost expert in publicity stunts. The majority of sensible people ignore them and or see them for what they are but the majority of total idiots look on them as societal heroes.

You are admirably giving the overall majority the benefit of the doubt but I am afraid I am very cynical in that regard.

Have to laugh at Alan Kelly talking about the "madness" of Brexit, considering this gobdaw presided over the complete and utter fiasco that is Irish Water.

In fairness to Kelly, he got a poisoned chalice from the obnoxious Phil Hogan. The main mistake that Kelly made was not to be firmer with consequences for non payers. He thought he'd moderate the situation and keep a few votes but instead all he invited was other TDs to laugh in his face and tell people not to pay. And the soft position didn't work.

Are you joking? I agree with the principle but you'd have all the usual suspects in the AAA/ PAP/ Socialist Party/ Sinn Féin giving out stink and organising street protests.

Freemen and the likes? The hordes of water protestors? Even though these are in the minority, they are almost expert in publicity stunts. The majority of sensible people ignore them and or see them for what they are but the majority of total idiots look on them as societal heroes.

You are admirably giving the overall majority the benefit of the doubt but I am afraid I am very cynical in that regard.

I suspect that the people you have mentioned above would never have voted for FG anyway, so it's not really going to cause a drop in support, is it? Would make me more likely to vote FG if they did that TBH...

FG are currently relying on support from the left to prevent the government from collapsing. (I'd include FF, as they are significantly more left-leaning while in opposition than they are while in power!)

There is nothing preventing this Act being commenced other than the fact that it would be a poor move politically - otherwise, it would already have been commenced, imo.

FG are currently relying on support from the left
    Who are you calling left wing?

Shane Ross? Fianna Fail? Gene pool Fine Gaelers or gene pool Fianna Failers?

There is nobody in Government or supporting Government whom I would describe as being on the left.

I assume the delay is to do with a question of procedures at the DSP, and arguably a budget increase at the DSP. Because if Paddy's dole is cut to pay his fines, he'll still need discretionary payments to feed the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

So funny to hear all these media luvies and darlings getting their collective knickers in a twist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

do you hear this sh1te?:pac:

So funny to hear all these media luvies and darlings getting their collective knickers in a twist.

They are all raging that people didnt listen to their opinions about Trump. It's time for the media to start getting back to reporting the news and stop trying to influence with their opinions.

do you hear this sh1te?:pac:

Such nonsense from Alison O'Conner.
    "What will he expect to be able to do to women now that he is in the Oval Office?"
    Well it wouldn't be unprecedented to have "sexual relations" in the Oval office in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

The anti -Trump hyperbole has really reached hysterical proportions on this show this morning , hell hath no fury like the D4 media scorned .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Sean gives the 'Women for trump ' one two minutes , and the rest shieting on with their sour grapes for an hour , even he seems to have lost his impartiality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

the anti trump bull **** coming out of rte all morning is sickening. the scaremongering is beyond belief, they make it sound like the worlds about to implode and the irish are some special case when it comes to been allowed to stay. who ever the dozy bitch was on the panel there a few minutes going on about they teach you to be impartial in journalist school as she sits on the most bias anti trump panel on irish radio so far today