Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

The main thing I'm hearing here in relation to this new 'shocking' child protection report is 'ching, ching' - we need more staff, more money, more training, more allowances, more resources etc etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

WTF is a "nominal peppercorn consideration"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭serfboard

^ Sean was talking to Larry Masterson, the LLS executive producer - he is stepping down after tonight's show.
    'Twas quite funny when Sean says to yer man (something like):

"Things have changed since the old days when the Late Late Show used to be essential viewing".

Needless to say, yer man didn't let that go unchallenged!

Call it a day Mary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

sligojoek wrote: »
    Call it a day Mary.
    I'm aware that this is not a cool thing to admit but I have a lot of time for Mammy O'Rourke on a purely personal level. (I was never a fan of her as a politician). However, in these uber PC times we live in, it's refreshing to listen to someone who is authentic, someone who couldn't be @rsed with media training and coaching. Mary speaks her mind, she is sort of the female version of George Hook :D I only hope I'm as passionate about life and current affairs if I live to see my 80th Birthday.

Happy 80th Birthday 'Mammy' O'Rourke.

I'm aware that this is not a cool thing to admit but I have a lot of time for Mammy O'Rourke on a purely personal level. (I was never a fan of her as a politician). However, in these uber PC times we live in, it's refreshing to listen to someone who is authentic, someone who couldn't be @rsed with media training and coaching. Mary speaks her mind
    I agree with you to a certain extent - as an individual and as a radio guest she is a national treasure (In reviewing a book on some show recently, she said the sex scenes were great!).

As a politician though, she was a disaster. As was said about her she was always "one more report away from making a decision".

My only objection to her on radio, is that, for a while there, she was overexposed. I can understand why radio shows want her - stick a mic in front of her and let her off. She's intelligent, articulate and she has a sense of humour.

You'd be naive to think though that she didn't have media training - they all do.

serfboard wrote: »
    I agree with you to a certain extent - as an individual and as a radio guest she is a national treasure (In reviewing a book on some show recently, she said the sex scenes were great!).

As a politician though, she was a disaster. As was said about her she was always "one more report away from making a decision".

My only objection to her on radio, is that, for a while there, she was overexposed. I can understand why radio shows want her - stick a mic in front of her and let her off. She's intelligent, articulate and she has a sense of humour.

You'd be naive to think though that she didn't have media training - they all do.
    To be honest, I think Mary missed all the FF media training courses ;).

She has always been a bit of a loose cannon. Remember back in 2000 when she was Minister for Transport and the Chairman of CIE resigned unexpectedly. Mary was asked by a reporter how she heard the news and she admitted to being in the bath at the time :D

Ryanair wasted no time printing a full page cartoon advert of Mary and her little yellow duck in the bath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,784 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Who was it one time she said "worked like a black"?

I remember that remark, it was very unfortunate.

However, I remember it being widely used by my grandmother and her generation when I was a kid. It was meant as a compliment (i.e you were a diligent worker), it was definitely not meant as a derogatory or offensive remark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

The Lenihans have a habit of putting their foot in it. When that gobshyte Conor was Minister of State for Overseas Development and Human Rights, he referred to Turkish GAMA workers as "kebabs". You couldn't make it up.

However, I remember it being widely used by my grandmother and her generation when I was a kid. It was meant as a compliment (i.e you were a diligent worker), it was definitely not meant as a derogatory or offensive remark.

Oh I know. I quite like her myself. I'd say she would be great craic to go for a pint with.
    I'm just trying to think who she was referring to. I think it might be her canvasing team.

I remember an interview Mary gave shortly after her husband Enda died. She spoke so lovingly about him and the loneliness she experienced, especially when she'd return home after being away for a while. She said the silence was so deafening that she started leaving on a radio in her bedroom and living room for company :(. I was really moved by her honesty and vulnerability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

I just remembered there was a "Mary O'Rourke Watch" thread on here a few years ago when she seemed omnipresent on the radio. Turns out all her appearance fees were going to charity.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=65229343

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

To be honest, I think Mary missed all the FF media training courses ;).

She has always been a bit of a loose cannon. Remember back in 2000 when she was Minister for Transport and the Chairman of CIE resigned unexpectedly. Mary was asked by a reporter how she heard the news and she admitted to being in the bath at the time :D

Ryanair wasted no time printing a full page cartoon advert of Mary and her little yellow duck in the bath.

I don't have a lot of time for her to be honest .. another glorified county councillor and a heavy hand laying on the old palaver & the usual FF banality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

In fairness now 'working like a black' was in regular use until very recently. Dare I say that I'll still use it occasionally, but not when it's going to cause offence.

Callan57 wrote: »
    I don't have a lot of time for her to be honest .. another glorified county councillor and a heavy hand laying on the old palaver & the usual FF banality.
    I mentioned in an earlier post that I had no time for her as a FF politician but I honestly wouldn't mind having her as my granny or great aunt. Christmas and family gatherings would never be dull :D

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭southstar

I mentioned in an earlier post that I had no time for her as a FF politician but I honestly wouldn't mind having her as my granny or great aunt. Christmas and family gatherings would never be dull :D
    Yeh I reckon she plays the persona out a bit...but did make me laugh when having a go at poor Joan Burtons"go bronach"disposition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Callan57 wrote: »

I'd love to read a list of her achievements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I'd love to read a list of her achievements.

Two pensions?

Telecom Eireann / Eircom - that's Mammy O'Rourke's legacy. Do you remember her palaver at the time - let's share the wealth amongst the ordinary citizens etc.!!!!!! Who were mostly rightly screwed after they took up her kind offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Telecom Eireann / Eircom - that's Mammy O'Rourke's legacy. Do you remember her palaver at the time - let's share the wealth amongst the ordinary citizens etc.!!!!!! Who were mostly rightly screwed after they took up her kind offer.
    A terrible thing, indeed. The shares should have been sold well below market value so that punters could make a quick buck.

And then we could complain about her getting less in for the taxpayer than she might have.

If I had to choose between looking after the interests of the exchequer and those of speculators, guess which side I'd be on.

The interests of the exchequer of course; problem is that Mammy O'Rourke was wont to talk out of both sides of her mouth and misled the public at the time. Didn't affect us, but know several ordinary citizens who were rightly p*ssed off with her afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭bossdrum

A terrible thing, indeed. The shares should have been sold well below market value so that punters could make a quick buck.

Mary O'Rourke did everything she could to get the people of Ireland to buy shares in Telecom eireann.

Ironically it was the speculators that made a quick buck by selling almost immediately after the flotation whilst a lot of ordinary investors put their money in for the long haul.
    People that believed O'Rourke's bull about investing long term in the infrastructure of Ireland were screwed over not only by the drop in share price which everyone knows can happen but having the shares taken off then for a pittance when the company was run into the ground.

In a radio interview a few years ago she said people who lost money in eircom were greedy.
    Her arrogance is astounding.

This Ali Selim chap is a slippery customer. He knows 'nothing', never seen or heard any signs of Islamic fundamentalism here in his community ......... He's either out of touch with his people and therefore useless as a leader or obfuscating.

Time for a spot of whataboutery.

This Ali Selim chap is a slippery customer. He knows 'nothing', never seen or heard any signs of Islamic fundamentalism here in his community ......... He's either out of touch with his people and therefore useless as a leader or obfuscating.
    I saw him on Gay Byrne's "Meaning of Life", and one thing he said which I didn't know was that the mosque in Blanchardstown (IIRC), didn't take any foreign money to finance its construction as opposed to other mosques in Dublin/Ireland. This may mean that he gets a different (i.e. less radical) type of congregation attending his mosque.

Given the numbers, I wouldn't expect one imam to know everything about the Muslim community in Ireland.

Check out Morning Ireland for an interview with another imam (Umar Al Quadri, I think) , who not only knows that people are being radicalised but who IIRC also met one of the people involved in London at the weekend. He called for a de-radicalisation programme, which I believe they have in the UK.

Who is this "group" exactly hes talking about in Killorglin?

Theres not much identification being given for some reason?

Why wont the cops do something?

Can they not be arrested for public order offences?

Dream on Rich Boy Barrett!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Stephen Donnolly - "do you understand that what you did seriously harms the economic interest of your voters".

He'd want to remember what jersey he's just pulled on himself before he starts making remarks like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Mick Barry on the panel....should be a good one.

Let's see how much taxpayers money he can go through........

Mick Barry on the panel....should be a good one.

Let's see how much taxpayers money he can go through........

Mick Barry - the great rise of the hard left :) Coming from a party that hovers about 1-2% here, why does Sean bother having these tossers on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

How can katie hannon keep calling him Jeremy CorMyn. Is her first day covering the election?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭golondrinas

Ask yer wan who is Jeremy Cornyn. Huge basic mistake

• Registered Users Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭golondrinas

Sorry Cormyn. Jesus I'm worse. Bloody auto correct. She must have auto correct in her head!!

Mick Barry - the great rise of the hard left :) Coming from a party that hovers about 1-2% here, why does Sean bother having these tossers on?

Because a party with a manifesto very similar to the sort of policies he advocates got 40% of the UK vote yesterday - kind of obvious I would of thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

foxtrot101 wrote: »

Because a party with a manifesto very similar to the sort of policies he advocates got 40% of the UK vote yesterday - kind of obvious I would of thought.
    Not similar at all I would say.
    Corbyn is an old fashioned principled socialist with a dangerously naive view of the world.

Barry and his comrades are just a gang of overgrown street anarchists hanging around looking for populist causes to keep their names in the papers.

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Not similar at all I would say.
    Corbyn is an old fashioned principled socialist with a dangerously naive view of the world.

Barry and his comrades are just a gang of overgrown street anarchists hanging around looking for populist causes to keep their names in the papers.

And I'm sure Corbyn and Barry would disagree with you.

I didn't say Corbyn and Barry were similar, I said the Anti-Austerity Alliance(or whatever they are called these days) policies would be similar to those set out in Labour's election manifesto. Hence Boyd Barrett and Barry being on the show.

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    , I said the Anti-Austerity Alliance(or whatever they are called these days) policies would be similar to those set out in Labour's election manifesto. Hence Boyd Barrett and Barry being on the show.

I can see your argument but it falls apart -

Labour in UK got 40% of the vote

AAA/PBP/Socialist Party/ Solidarity etc currently poll here about 1-2%. They are effectively irrelevant for most Irish voters. These lads get far more airtime than they remotely deserve.

I can see your argument but it falls apart -

Labour in UK got 40% of the vote

AAA/PBP/Socialist Party/ Solidarity etc currently poll here about 1-2%. They are effectively irrelevant for most Irish voters. These lads get far more airtime than they remotely deserve.

This is even boring me now, I'm sure no one else is interested, but here goes anyway...i wasn't taking about in general, I was talking about a specific day..the day after a hard left prime ministerial candidate won 40% of the vote in the UK general election against all expectations - so it's hardly a surprise that The Today Show invited a couple of hard left Irish politicians into studio on that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Takes a fierce amount of holliers he does.

Just listening to Nicola Tallant there. She told us nothing we didn't already hear on the news this morning. Was she paid for this? If Paul Reynolds is busy surely they could have got someone in-house to do the same thing for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Richard Dawkins on now ..

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

I've been listening back over the last few days on the podcast.

According to Dr. James Carr the Islamic community are so wide and diverse in Ireland that it's quite literally laughable to suggest that Muslim women cannot marry non Muslim men.

For somebody who claims to have been researching Muslims in Ireland for the last 7 or 8 years I would guess it isn't that difficult to delve into the census figures to back this up but no chance of anybody probing him on his bullisht.

For those I am sure there are they are Muslim by name and birth only.

As for Muslims not integrating into society. We should follow his example and VISIT A MOSQUE to get to know them like he has. How inconsiderate of us!!!

Just give up on this Maire Whelan nonsense Cormac. Why do the public have to put up with this verbal diarrhea for the past week? It was mildly amusing as a story for a day or two, now it's just utterly boring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

Is it just me or does anyone else find cormac o'hara's voice irritating, like nails running down a blackboard annoying?.

too nasally....i just cant listen to him!!

Yip. He seems like he's shouting all the time, even when he's not.

Is it just me or does anyone else find cormac o'hara's voice irritating, like nails running down a blackboard annoying?.

too nasally....i just cant listen to him!!

Voice wouldn't bother me but I do find his style a bit repetitive. He's too inclined to push his own views, works sort of OK on the Late Debate format. But not so much in a more general show. I heard his 'Review of the week' last Friday and it descended into 20 minutes of Late Debate about Maire Whelan.. zzzzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Voice wouldn't bother me but I do find his style a bit repetitive. He's too inclined to push his own views, works sort of OK on the Late Debate format. But not so much in a more general show. I heard his 'Review of the week' last Friday and it descended into 20 minutes of Late Debate about Maire Whelan.. zzzzz.

Me either his voice doesn't bother me. His 'Come 'ere, tell me' reminds me of Jimmy Cricket.

The last topic discussed, about the folklore surrounding the 23rd June was just getting started when it was time for the political discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Expunge

Cormac's pronunciation of Spancil Hill as "Span-chill" was a good 'un this morning.

I also find his vocal quality to be a turn-off. Sadly, more common on the National Broadcaster each year.