Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

The Shinners really have some brass neck. They collapsed Stormont, they refuse to have anything to do with Westminster and they sit on their hands and snipe from the sidelines in the Dail without ever contributing anything remotely constructive. Why people vote for these spoofers is completely beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Expunge wrote: »
    Cormac's pronunciation of Spancil Hill as "Span-chill" was a good 'un this morning.

I also find his vocal quality to be a turn-off. Sadly, more common on the National Broadcaster each year.

Spooky reading this post and on the radio on comes Paddy Reilly singing Spancil Hill on the Ronan Collins show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

The Shinners really have some brass neck. They collapsed Stormont, they refuse to have anything to do with Westminster and they sit on their hands and snipe from the sidelines in the Dail without ever contributing anything remotely constructive. Why people vote for these spoofers is completely beyond me.

There's a lot more at that game Harry.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Cormac's pronunciation of Spancil Hill as "Span-chill" was a good 'un this morning.

I also find his vocal quality to be a turn-off. Sadly, more common on the National Broadcaster each year.

He's obviously been infected by the recent 'h' virus!
    'ashume', 'shtruggle', 'shtrife', 'shtrong', etc., etc., etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

brooke 2 wrote: »

The other ones seem very strange and I wouldn't know how to go about pronouncing your spellings but Ashume is not recent and certainly not an RTE only phenomenon. It derives from the sh sound in words like sugar and sure, or maybe we can blame Sean Connery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Cormac's first language is Irish, he is from the Connemara Gaeltacht so I think that's part of the reason his pronunciation can be off at times. The 'sh' could be a West of Ireland' thing, I think I'm guilty of it at times :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Im all for journalists asking tough questions etc but he seems to constantly go down rabbit holes on lines of questioning to no real merit. Doesnt have the ear for when to move on.

Do the knuckleheads in Government not realise that their "recycle more" guff will have an opposite effect and will actually result in more illegal dumping and fly tipping? To use Pat Kenny's favourite phrase, it's the "law of unintended consequences".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

That Rich Boy on the radio now? They all sound the same, these lads. Whoever he is, you don't speak for me mate. Pay your way in society, pay for your water and crap. What happened to Joan Burton and her assistant that day in Jobstown was disgusting. Bottom line.

Who would be a female or even a male politician of the left and venturing into the home territories of these bullies now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

I agree with the above fully. The only thing that I would add was that taking the case against them was always going to be a waste of time, and the DPP shouldn't have bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

That Rich Boy on the radio now? They all sound the same, these lads. Whoever he is, you don't speak for me mate. Pay your way in society, pay for your water and crap. What happened to Joan Burton and her assistant that day in Jobstown was disgusting. Bottom line.

Who would be a female or even a male politician of the left and venturing into the home territories of these bullies now?

These Rich Boys posing as champions of the poor scare me. They text book embryonic socialist dictators like so many examples in the past. Step 1. Whip up the masses with fancy rethoric and artificial anger. 2. Come to power through populist promises. 3. Dismantle democracy "for the good of the people" 4. Hold power through bloody repression against the masses.

We are firmly in step 1 now. God help us all if we ever reach Step 2 because once those lads get their feet into government buildings no democratic vote will ever take them out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Is this a mate of Jonathan "Rachel"?

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Is this a mate of Jonathan "Rachel"?
    Why is Rachel in quotation marks?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

touts wrote: »
    These Rich Boys posing as champions of the poor scare me. They text book embryonic socialist dictators like so many examples in the past. Step 1. Whip up the masses with fancy rethoric and artificial anger. 2. Come to power through populist promises. 3. Dismantle democracy "for the good of the people" 4. Hold power through bloody repression against the masses.

We are firmly in step 1 now. God help us all if we ever reach Step 2 because once those lads get their feet into government buildings no democratic vote will ever take them out again.

They are probably disappointed they didn't get jail so they could play the martyr card

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Callan57 wrote: »
    They are probably disappointed they didn't get jail so they could play the martyr card

I still find it disgraceful that Paul Murphy got free legal aid.
    Not only are they milking the system watch them milk the verdict. 'Fascist establishment' etc

I agree with the above fully. The only thing that I would add was that taking the case against them was always going to be a waste of time, and the DPP shouldn't have bothered.

Correct Peter, never ever going to win on the charges brought.

Whoever initiated that debacle should resign or be sacked.

As an aside ,Varadkar better take control fairly rapido or these bullhorn brigade will take control.

Several huge debacles on the Govt, side recently,showing an open goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

I must say that while I'm at the opposite end of the political spectrum to Paul Murphy I was delighted to see this North Korean style 'show trial' end in farce.

quintana76 wrote: »
    Almost everybody who is accused of a crime on indictment is entitled to free legal aid. It's very unusual not to be so entitled.

It would be an intolerable situation were criminal legal aid resources to be applied as strictly as, say, social welfare transfers are.

If it were so, the State could easily punish people by forcing them to incur tens of thousands of euros in legal costs, even on a flimsy prosecution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Del.Monte wrote: »
    I must say that while I'm at the opposite end of the political spectrum to Paul Murphy I was delighted to see this North Korean style 'show trial' end in farce.
    North Korean style? Hyperbole, much?

Amazing how often Cormac has representatives from the hard left on his programmes, both Late Debate and this show. And keeps hammering on about concerns of these groups. Utterly disproportional to their electoral strength. Hmm.

quintana76 wrote: »

Did he? On what possible basis, given his TDs salary? I wouldn't give him the steam off my piss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Feckin roundabout with the GRA rep.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

ED E wrote: »
    Feckin roundabout with the GRA rep.

Waste of 15 minutes, spun it to another poor me piece without dealing with any of the serious questions arising from the Jobstown trial

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

least he admited the GRA has no prob with an enquiry !

:D:D:D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Great spot on alcoholism but my jaysus the woman on it is head wrecking! She keeps interrupting everyone and talking over the others. Stfu!!

pc7 wrote: »
    Great spot on alcoholism but my jaysus the woman on it is head wrecking! She keeps interrupting everyone and talking over the others. Stfu!!

They can't even come to an agreement between themselves and they're supposed to be professionals. The whole notion of binge drinking is a nonsense. If I go out tonight and have 3 pints, I'm supposedly binge drinking. Easy then to extrapolate that we're a whole nation of "binge drinkers".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

They can't even come to an agreement between themselves and they're supposed to be professionals. The whole notion of binge drinking is a nonsense. If I go out tonight and have 3 pints, I'm supposedly binge drinking. Easy then to extrapolate that we're a whole nation of "binge drinkers".

The two bottles of wine every evening to unwind people are the ones I'd be worried about. I usually bump in to them when I go to the bottle bank with my bag of jars and bottles every couple of months, more than a few times I've bumped into the same people with bags of empty wine vodka and gin bottles. Whether it's a weekly or monthly clearout I couldn't guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

After one of the regular RTE propaganda pieces about the refugees we had a surprisingly reasoned interview with Naomi Klein.

They talked about her new book.
    She even raised her voice once. I would say that she is not used to her views even been queried on mainstream media.

For RTE a balanced interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Expunge

I see that spokesman for the GRA yesterday was none other than one time cheerleader for the property boom, John O'Keefe.

He was editor of the Sunday Independent Property Section in it's glory days of the 2000's, when it really was property porno.

Now he's Spokesman and Press Officer for the GRA.

I liked it better when they had guards with garda accents on doing those gigs.

I see that spokesman for the GRA yesterday was none other than one time cheerleader for the property boom, John O'Keefe.

He was editor of the Sunday Independent Property Section in it's glory days of the 2000's, when it really was property porno.

Now, that's what I call a Soft Landing :(

pc7 wrote: »

Ironically that is why most men drink in the first place.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

Is Cormac O'Hara also the voice of the Renault 'menage-a-trois' ads and are the other Renault TV / Radio ads ?

Voice twin if its not him!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Jaysus he's tearing Regina a new arse !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

what a delightful woman

Jaysus he's tearing Regina a new arse !

Just heard the podcast. She was awful. Insulting. Argumentative. Aggressive. Angry. She needs to be bumped up to the top of the media training schedule.

touts wrote: »
    Just heard the podcast. She was awful. Insulting. Argumentative. Aggressive. Angry. She needs to be bumped up to the top of the media training schedule.

Incorrect, as I heard it she tore auld 'hang on' a new one .

Ripped him out a clean new hoop.

Adams all over the place. Having a rant like he's down at the pub.

Mick Barry/ Rich Boy/ Paul Murphy - are they clones? Always find it extraordinary how similar the cadence & phraseology of their contributions are and also how frequently they find themselves on Cormac O'Hara shows - voices that are way over represented compared to their actual electoral position.

What's the cut off for politicians fiddling their expenses?

Ah piss off with your information campaign. It's an insult to the intelligence of the public that they can't sort their rubbish after a dozen years.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

Mick Barry/ Rich Boy/ Paul Murphy - are they clones? Always find it extraordinary how similar the cadence & phraseology of their contributions are and also how frequently they find themselves on Cormac O'Hara shows - voices that are way over represented compared to their actual electoral position.

You'll find the same with their supporters online, empty vessels make the most noise, a mile wide and an inch deep

Mick Barry must have the most self righteous tone of anybody I've ever heard... even including Mary Lou MacDonald...

Wants to pay for nothing, and then starts complaining about the lack of services.

Cormac's agenda for his panel discussion of the 'news of the week'..

Jobstown trial and alleged mistruths of Gardai.
    Social wefare fraudsters being hard done by.
    Bin charges and the prospect of street protests
    Super wealth tax and retaining the USC
    and in final minutes - socks.

Do we detect a Cormac O'Hara agenda??

Mick Barry must have the most self righteous tone of anybody I've ever heard... even including Mary Lou MacDonald...

Wants to pay for nothing, and then starts complaining about the lack of services.

Absolutely. It was like listening to spoilt children. The two lefties demanding more and more and more and then moaning and complaining when they were asked to pay for anything.

Anyone who takes Mick Barry anyway seriously needs to get checked.

Unfortunately auld 'hang on' has to have balance so has to get these gimps on.

These guys are adept at manipulating the public into thinking they have all the answers.

Luckily there are those of us who can see thru the chaff and bulldust they and their acolytes on social media pump out.

All these lads like Murphy , Coppinger, Barry,and Smith want is their name in the spotlight, hence Murphy going on about inquirys et al.

They couldn't give a flying about the state of the nation as long as they get elected into the next Dail.

Wake up peeps.

Few things don't add up here with this woman and her story. You get the feeling that the picture is a bit more complicated than outlined - a few miscarriages did she say while in emergency accomm? Only here from UK for three years, can't get a job as no bank account as no address. Daughter wants to be educated as a cardiac surgeon at the states expense too. Hmmmmm.

This is a favoured tactic of the Trotters.

Zone in on a an isolated incident or condition, like Geno and the cannabis and work it to the nth degree.

I can see through that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,006 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

G'wan,

Get annoyed here. It's the only place you will be allowed to do so now. Mods permitting.

But that's another story obv.

What a load of pretentious twaddle. Where do they get these foodies from?

The one from Dalkey was it Harry?

Soon as I heard that accent........zuuuuuuuu mmmmh.

Chancer .