Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

elperello wrote: »
    This referendum is a very serious issue and I would urge everyone to pay as much attention as possible to The Sean O'Rourke Show and all other forms of media over the coming months.

Can't oblige you I'm afraid ... any mention of IONA & I'm out the door :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Debates are the problem, it just descends into shouting matches/etc. I'd be happier with standalone interviews with people from each side to calmly and rationally set out their viewpoints and allow people to make up their minds based on those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

They still seem to have a few ‘pound’ to drink in the middle of the day, in fairness.

10.30 am the drink aisle is busier than the freshly baked bread aisle.

However in fairness there's nothing quiet like a couple of cuts of G.I. bread smothered in butter, a pair of sausages from the Deli and washed down with a nice cool can of Dutch Gold....for breakfast, followed by tea and a Maple pecan trellis around midday to set you up for the day's drinking :-)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

This referendum is a very serious issue and I would urge everyone to pay as much attention as possible to The Sean O'Rourke Show and all other forms of media over the coming months.

Not a chance.

Shouty borefest with a repetition of the same entranched stances on both sides with a topic that gives little way to nuanced discussion.
    The abortion debate on the radio makes EU treaty referendums feel like a weekend in Alton Towers.

It's a discussion that makes for long, boring and noisy radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    10.30 am the drink aisle is busier than the freshly baked bread aisle.

However in fairness there's nothing quiet like a couple of cuts of G.I. bread smothered in butter, a pair of sausages from the Deli and washed down with a nice cool can of Dutch Gold....for breakfast, followed by tea a 2 litre bottle of linden village and a Maple pecan trellis baked beans on multi seed toasted loaf around midday to set you up for the rest of the day's drinking :-)

fyp :)

aw sweet jesus that cora sherlock one....... as Simon & Garfunkel said "thats the sound of silence".

22yuim.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

humberklog wrote: »
    Not a chance.

Shouty borefest with a repetition of the same entranched stances on both sides with a topic that gives little way to nuanced discussion.
    The abortion debate on the radio makes EU treaty referendums feel like a weekend in Alton Towers.

It's a discussion that makes for long, boring and noisy radio.

And it’s only starting Humber, start subscribing to podcasts, that’s my antidote.

Roisin Shorthall ill prepared for Richard Curran this morning ... he's a TOUGH & meticulous interviewer.

Callan57 wrote: »
    Roisin Shorthall ill prepared for Richard Curran this morning ... he's a TOUGH & meticulous interviewer.

the unthoughtout victimization of landlords continues

Fintan McNamara from the residential landlords association calling in now to challenge. Roisin is not there though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Yeah, I always enjoy Richard when he's on. He's very good.

Agree there, gets to the point without the waffle.

Bit monotone to support a two hour show.One hour I could take.

Has he a bit of baggage out in Montrose , was Noel Curran his bro, former top dog out there.

Excellent performer though.

A very English sounding Sinn Feinn senator, use the brits when it suits them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

This one on now talking about her anorexia has the most annoyingly insufferable voice ever.

She's doing the Los Angeles-by-way-of-D4 raised inflection at the end of every sentence and you can tell she absolutely loves talking about herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

lawlolawl wrote: »
    you can tell she absolutely loves talking about herself.

going on and on and on and on..........:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

This guy on about learning is great at stating the obvious - wonder does he get paid well for it?

BarryD2 wrote: »
    This guy on about learning is great at stating the obvious - wonder does he get paid well for it?

he works in UCD of course he does. These academics are great lads, they can tell us everything in life theyve researched is great but in reality and everyday life its not as easy as their papers

do you have to be miserable, grumpy and constantly negative to be in the people before profit socialist party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Brid Smith trying to claim that teachers are paying €3,000 PCM rent in Dublin.

A massive exaggeration that wasn't even commented on by the rest of the panel.

padd b1975 wrote: »

everything with that shower is negative and over exaggerated,

neris wrote: »
    everything with that shower is negative and over exaggerated,

That's the beauty of being permanently ensconced on the opposition benches, running with the hares and hunting with the hounds.

Although with them hovering around the 2% mark in the polls, we should see their representation significantly diminished next time out.
    It can't come soon enough for me.

we should see their representation significantly diminished next time out. It can't come soon enough for me.

makes 2 of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,162 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Well they are paying €3k pm
    Garda Ian Abbey revealed that the penthouse music teacher Daudet shared with his husband and occasional Airbnb guests was rented at €3,000 a month.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/welfare-fraud-case-3803113-Jan2018/

zell12 wrote: »
    Well they are paying €3k pm
    Garda Ian Abbey revealed that the penthouse music teacher Daudet shared with his husband and occasional Airbnb guests was rented at €3,000 a month.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/welfare-fraud-case-3803113-Jan2018/

Oh sorry, I didn't realise penthouses were the first port of call for recently graduated teachers.

Silly me.

Oh sorry, I didn't realise penthouses were the first port of call for recently graduated teachers.
    Silly me.
    Indeed. You must aim higher, you deserve it!

do you have to be miserable, grumpy and constantly negative to be in the people before profit socialist party?

Seem so. That sort of constant negativity would suck the life out of you and do your head in. Best avoided.

No but you'll feel much more at home there if you are especially if you have perfected the "slapped arse" face :D

This is one of the other sides of the social housing story. Is it any wonder that LAs are eventually happy to sell on their properties to tenants, when some people treat social housing stock like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,610 ✭✭✭✭elperello

BarryD2 wrote: »
    This is one of the other sides of the social housing story. Is it any wonder that LAs are eventually happy to sell on their properties to tenants, when some people treat social housing stock like this.

Fake news.
    Local Authority using one guy's sad story to excuse their inadequacies.
    RTE journalism fail.

fair play to this mother coming on and talking so calmly and to sean for letting her talk and not butting in every 2 seconds unlike some other interviewers

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Coveney is some man for the ahs.

Not the Reggster, Sean couldn’t lay a glove on her this morning.

Excellent display.

abortion talk again ..............yawn

Michael Ring and Eamon O Cuiv, the last men in the world I would put in charge of a planning strategy.

"We need to get people out of the city".

Yiz need to face facts lads people want to live in the cities, trying to push them to Drumshambo isnt going to bloody work.

Michael Ring and Eamon O Cuiv, the last men in the world I would put in charge of a planning strategy.
    "We need to get people out of the city".
    Yiz need to face facts lads people want to live in the cities, trying to push them to Drumshambo isnt going to bloody work.
    It does work in other countries like Netherlands, France etc. Some government depts have decentralised successfully to Kerry, Leitrim etc. It's simply a question of proper planning

zell12 wrote: »
    It does work in other countries like Netherlands, France etc. Some government depts have decentralised successfully to Kerry, Leitrim etc. It's simply a question of proper planning

It can work very well, Iv lived in NL, the population density is much higher than Ireland.

I work here in Kildare now and a good chunk of my team are from Kerry / Mayo / Galway because people move to cities for work.
    We need to face this and allow Cork and Galway to develop properly, this will encourage people to stay in the West/South.

This would require proper planning though.

O Cuiv is concentrating on building one off houses in the country which causes more traffic when Galway city (where they will all drive in to work) is already a traffic mess.

Ring is yapping about Drumshambo, I work for multi nationals usually and they have little interest in moving to Drumshambo because the population isnt there.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

I work here in Kildare now and a good chunk of my team are from Kerry / Mayo / Galway because people move to cities for work.

How many travelled solely for work and how many travelling for college/further education and stayed working in the area after?

I think a lot of people are moving to study and then staying around where they studied after

It can work very well, Iv lived in NL, the population density is much higher than Ireland.

We need to face this and allow Cork and Galway to develop properly, this will encourage people to stay in the West/South.

This would require proper planning though.

O Cuiv is concentrating on building one off houses in the country which causes more traffic when Galway city (where they will all drive in to work) is already a traffic mess.

Ring is yapping about Drumshambo, I work for multi nationals usually and they have little interest in moving to Drumshambo because the population isnt there.

Ah yea but there are the few old votes in the one off houses my friend! :rolleyes:

It's a classic Catch 22 ... no jobs in rural areas so people won't locate there and no industry will set up there because there isn't the population base.
    I think we should follow the Netherlands and move the entire administration capital to the Mid West and let Dublin remain the cultural capital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Sebastian Barry says we are living in a golden age for Irish writing. This is the party line we forever get told. So I ask myself where are the Heaneys or Kavanaghs or the Flann O’Briens or McGaherns or Brian Moore’s?

There are some good Irish writers - Barry himself, Banville, Toibin, Enright. But golden age? Don’t think so. A golden age for publishing more like, the shelves being ever more stuffed with abject and hyped mediocrity.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭thedudeinthehat

Sebastian Barry says we are living in a golden age for Irish writing. This is the party line we forever get told. So I ask myself where are the Heaneys or Kavanaghs or the Flann O’Briens or McGaherns or Brian Moore’s?

There are some good Irish writers - Barry himself, Banville, Toibin, Enright. But golden age? Don’t think so. A golden age for publishing more like, the shelves being ever more stuffed with abject and hyped mediocrity.

Judging by the amount of marian keyes and cecilia ahern books I see being read on my daily train ride here in Germany, I think he was referring to golden age in the financial sense.

Victoria White is unbelievably shrill and preachy here, bordering on rude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Victoria White is unbelievably shrill and preachy here, bordering on rude.

Just Grating.

Anyone hear Paddys report from Cavan district court.

The classy bird that broke the landlords window. I had my head in my hands.

They don’t give a bollox Dave.

That one even got a ‘loan’ to pay for the damage.

Do you think that ‘loan’ will be repaid???

These people are laughing at us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

What irked me was the lady saying she couldn't get a house because they look out for the foreigners first, and then went on to say how they treat her when abroad on her holidays. And gave a shout out to her partner in prison... :rolleyes:

It’s totally crazy that this stuff is allowed to continue.

There has to be vested interest involved in this underclass screwing the taxpayer week after week.

Who are they, I wonder.

Prison holds no fear for these people, only one thing will work.

Hit them in the pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,610 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Journalism at it's best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Cavan is a mad place altogether -

http://www.dailyedge.ie/road-is-in-****e-pic-of-the-day-759525-Jan2013/

Journalism at it's best.

Im still surprised Paddy gets away with broadcasting it.