Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What bones have you broken?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I've broken loads. People are surprisingly fragile. None of my own though, which is a plus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

My sisters arm, my other sisters collar bone and a lad from schools leg.

I don't know why people give out about the pain, I thought they were grand. And I certainly never was housebound from any of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

• Left leg
    • 3 ribs
    • Nose
    • Right arm once
    • Left arm twice
    • Big toe on my left foot

The worst were the broken ribs because I had to sit my driving test a few days afterwards and the seatbelt went across them. I couldn't feel my face I was on so many painkillers before the test.

Think up a project op and start researching the hell out of it online, that'll pass plenty of time for you.

• Feck
    • ye
    • all
    • with
    • yer
    • lists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I've broken rakes of them. About 20 I'd say. Oh, wishbones don't count? In that case, none :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭JillyQ

I broke four ribs, my wrist and ankle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Broke and dislocated my ring finger on my right hand during a GAA match.

Here is a summary of how it happened in list format:

• Ball comes in - fists / skin / legs / hair flying
    • Ball gets cleared upfield
    • I pick myself up off the ground and walk up the pitch a bit
    • Notice incredible pain in my right hand
    • Remove my "Mikasa" glove from said hand
    • Look horrified at said hand as one of my fingers is pretty much mangled
    • Opposing team-mate looks on horrified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Whatsernamex33

I haven't broken any limbs etc in my whole life.. Which is surprising, I've fell loads of times on rollerblades when I was younger. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Hogata

None . I`m too busy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

A couple of ribs. Thankfully none of them were mine, but I still felt awful about it for weeks.

Z

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

The usual stuff
    Leg arm, fingers thumbs collar bone, heal and at the moment I have torn some ligaments in my foot.

• one
    • two
    • three

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Broke the little finger on my left hand playing football, thought it was only a sprain at the time and left it be, now it looks weirds and points in the wrong direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Spine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

None thank goodness.

• Site Banned Posts: 433 ✭✭Donegal Dan

Thanks for the replies so far. If any of you were house bound with the injury for awhile could you add how you kept busy and sane during that time. Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

• Two ribs
    • Two vertibrae :(
    • Middle finger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭sikahuntejack

Dislocated my shoulder 3 times from fighting had to get reconstruction surgery on it , Broke my right foot from fighting , Broke 3 ribs from falling out of shopping trolly drunk, Broke my right hand hitting a bouncer , Broke a finger on my left hand fighting , was a bit of a **** for fighting back in the day all grown up now still barred from most of the pubs in my town 10 years later:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

KTRIC wrote: »
    Broke my ankle in 3 places when I was about 20 on my first motorbike. Tore the **** out of my arms as well. The surgeon wanted to amputate the leg but me being a cocky little b*llix I told him no and argued about it. In the end they sent me home with my leg in a cast. To this day I find it hard to walk in a straight line :pac:

He wanted to amputate because of a broken ankle!? What!? Fair play to you for saying no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Vote 4 Pedro

when i was 19 i was run over by a drunk driver and i broke my left leg twice above the knee, tore my knee in half and it was broken 8 times below the knee,
    the leg was f@cked up bad so they took out my knee completely and joined up the leg with no knee so it was fused together like a peg leg.

Then 8 years later i fell of a ladder and landed on that leg, it just smashed to bits, my foot came off at the ankle, there was lots of blood, really lots and lots of the stuff, the leg was beyond repair so it was amputated right up my thigh,
    that's the only thing ive broken but it was enough for a life time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭pinkbear

One in my foot, my sternum, 2 arms (at the same time.... not pleasant), and an arm on it's own.

On a fairly serious note to those of us with a list!

When I rattled off my list to my doc, he quickly sent me for a dexa scan and turns out I had borderline osteoporosis, age 36. So go get yourself checked. We shouldn't really be this fragile!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Dislocated my shoulder 3 times from fighting had to get reconstruction surgery on it , Broke my right foot from fighting , Broke 3 ribs from falling out of shopping trolly drunk, Broke my right hand hitting a bouncer , Broke a finger on my left hand fighting , was a bit of a **** for fighting back in the day all grown up now still barred from most of the pubs in my town 10 years later:mad:

You must have been ****e at fighting.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

• None as far as I know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

humerus bone

sorest thing ever...snapped it....metal plate and large scar down me arm for life :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭OiOshawott

Never broken anything cos I'm a pussy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

An open fracture to my tib/fib on left leg, 8 broken ribs, jaw broken in 5 places and broke both my cheek bones. All in the same incident. I also punctured my lung, perforated my pancreas ,bruised my liver and ruptured my spleen in the same incident.

Hospital bound for a month then housebound for another month after that. I kept busy watching movies, copious amounts of TV shows. I read a ridiculous amount of books and even bought myself a new guitar to keep myself occupied. I'm starting back to work next week, six months down the track. I guess staying occupied was helped by a lot of friend/family visits and then the huge amount of physio I've been doing (3 times a week).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

I'm a disaster zone!!

Left arm twice, right arm five times!

Knee cap twice :o ankle, collar bone! Fingers numerous times!

Oh and my neck! Can't forget that one :D

Oops forgot to add the recovery! All bar my neck I did as I always do! Neck I had no choice but to be house bound for a few weeks but as soon as I could get about I did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Never actually broken a bone, but I have over-stressed a few e.g. sometimes I've felt that I've cracked a finger bone. The worst was a stress fracture in my right tibia in 1991: horrible pain, not much you can do except rest and drink milk.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

When I was 12 I fell off a roof and mashed my elbow. Thankfully that's the only thing I've broken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

x43r0 wrote: »
    The only time I ever broke a bone was when I fell over on an ice-rink. Here are the before and after surgery pics

b4a35f7033b2eb0f8ce1823eb410096c.png

Holy crap. That looks so sore.

My old injuries are pretty tame compared to what's listed in this thread.
    Thanks for the replies so far. If any of you were house bound with the injury for awhile could you add how you kept busy and sane during that time. Cheers!

I've never been laid up like that, but I have a few suggestions:
    1. Take a look at these free online courses. Some top colleges offer them. Some of them give accreditation, certs., etc.
    2. If you like reading, amazon.co.uk. If you know anyone with a kindle, you could download whatever you want. Take a look at Project Gutenberg for free stuff.
    3. Netflix.
    4. Download: music, books, films, comics etc.
    5. Get a raspberry pi and mess around with it.
    Sure, let us know how you get on anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Fractured my wrist 10 years ago playing the drums.

AND I am currently in a cast. I dislocated the ring finger metacarpal and fractured it. Its my dominant hand too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

Broke both wrists at the same time as a kid,
    broke my nose skiing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TheBrinch

I've broken both index fingers 3 times, both thumbs 3 times, left wrist twice, right wrist 3 times, big toe once and my left arm twice.

First time breaking my arm was only 1 bone, second time broke both and the bones shattered, leaving me permanently disabled(disfigured?) and unable to turn my hand palm up :'(

Also many hairline fractures in wrists and fingers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I have shattered my left wrist once and right twice, dislocated my right wrist, elbow and shoulder all at once, ruptured my knee, was not fun at all, broke my ankle, compound break on my upper left leg, broke my collarbone, cracked a few ribs, tore muscles in my ankles, back, arm, and neck.....that's about it.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭travis1976

Where do I start.... Collar bone, Wrist, upper arm. first big jump. tibia and fibula as soon as I added an engine, and later.... Tibia, Femur. Raduis, wrist and humerus. All the one side. thank god, actually all the same time. I don't ride a bike any more as it happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

tempted to break someone elses bones in a sec... something be destroying my bedtime stories here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭rosie16

my brother broke my baby finger when i was 3/4. He stole something of mine and I ran after him and he ran into a room and slammed the door behind him. Somehow i got my finger caught in the hinge. It was paper thin so the doctor said I'd had to leave it grow back broken. Can still see the white of the bone xD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭MooShop

Lurching wrote: »
    Broke both wrists at the same time

:eek: I thought I was the only one.

I broke both my wrists two years ago. Unfortunate timing as it happened exactly a week before my only sisters wedding. The day after I was let out of hospital I was on an 18 hour flight back to Ireland for it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Where do I start?

2 x left arm fractures with resulting freaky range of motion and flexing at elbow joint (rugby before the age of 10)
    4 x wrist fractures, 2 on each wrist (all basketball in my teens)
    8 x ankle fractures (all basketball). I have glass ankles.
    4 x fractures and dislocation of fingers and knuckles on my left hand in the same incident. As a result, my knuckles are quite misshapen. Basketball again!
    Lost count of how many subluxes in my left shoulder. It has the most bizarre and (some say) grotesque range of motion on account of this. The subluxes can happen at any time, even when I'm asleep - no major trauma required. Can pop it at will and put in back relatively pain free at this stage.
    Fractured eye socket, fractured jaw and lost 3 teeth (whilst wearing a gum shield) in a game of rugby in college between classmates - not even a serious game, the shame!
    2 x fractured ribs, car crash.

Prob more, so tired at the moment I can't sleep due to shoulder pain....ha! Ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Broke my ankle. It was more than enough. It currently looks something like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Im a few weeks into recovering from breaking my arm and I was wondering what others have done to keep themselves busy when recovering. Im house bound for now so its mostly been:

• Friends and family dropping over for tea and chats
    • Rewatching old TV shows in full and movies and games (that only need one arm!) on the iPad
    • Starting work on a new online idea I have
    • Thinking of learning Spanish with Linguaphone or similar
    • Discovering Boards and other forums for a good read
    What bones have you broken, how long did it take to recover and how did you stay sane in between?

Housebound? With a broken arm? Sorry op but no matter how bad it's broken you can still get out:)

Ok here's my list, i will start from the bottom and work up
    • Left foot 3 toes when i ran over it with a pallet full of Batchelors beans.
    • Right foot 2 toes when i tried to kick a ball , missed and kicked a wall barefoot
    • Left Fibula in 2 place left Tibia once
    • Right Femur once
    • coccyx once (probably the most painful one)
    • Compression fracture of the 5th and 6th vertebrae
    • 6 ribs (not all at once)
    • Right arm radius 2 places
    • Left arm humerus once
    • Clavicle (collar bone) twice
    • several bones in my hand that i forget the names for
    • Nose twice
    • Jaw once in three places

These have all been over 35 years and include 20 years working as a door man. The one that messed me up the most was the broken jaw. I was in an accident and could not get medical attention for three days and by that stage infection had set in. At one stage they talked about removing my lower jaw and replacing with titanium one I got better though so no bionic man for me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭roll

have broken 5 fingers and 1 thumb, both hands, collarbone (compound), leg and hip (at the same time)... the leg and hip was by far the worst but the hallucinations when they doubled my morphine was awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

bumper234 wrote: »
    Housebound? With a broken arm? Sorry op but no matter how bad it's broken you can still get out:)

Ok here's my list, i will start from the bottom and work up
    • Left foot 3 toes when i ran over it with a pallet full of Batchelors beans.
    • Right foot 2 toes when i tried to kick a ball , missed and kicked a wall barefoot
    • Left Fibula in 2 place left Tibia once
    • Right Femur once
    • coccyx once (probably the most painful one)
    • Compression fracture of the 5th and 6th vertebrae
    • 6 ribs (not all at once)
    • Right arm radius 2 places
    • Left arm humerus once
    • Clavicle (collar bone) twice
    • several bones in my hand that i forget the names for
    • Nose twice
    • Jaw once in three places

These have all been over 35 years and include 20 years working as a door man. The one that messed me up the most was the broken jaw. I was in an accident and could not get medical attention for three days and by that stage infection had set in. At one stage they talked about removing my lower jaw and replacing with titanium one I got better though so no bionic man for me:D

I know your pain about the jaw, my entire lower jaw collapsed after being hit face on by a van. 5 breaks and my mandible just accordianed so now its held together by huge lengths of titanium and a ****load of screws. The most annoying part is the 5 teeth I lost though, waiting for the replacements to get put in, costing the guts of $20k, eugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Mousewar

MooShop wrote: »
    :eek: I thought I was the only one.

I broke both my wrists two years ago. Unfortunate timing as it happened exactly a week before my only sisters wedding. The day after I was let out of hospital I was on an 18 hour flight back to Ireland for it!!

How do wipe yourself???

Thanks to a Wolverine-like skeleton, I've never broken a bone. I am currently recovering from tearing every ligament known to man in my ankle but the bone is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Eogclouder

My 4th and 5th Metacarpus on my right hand....three times (the bit between your knuckle and your finger knuckle) and my scaphoid (some tiny bone in your hand near the thumb)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Riding motorcycles the last 32 years...easier to tell which bones I haven't broken :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Jebus....

Some of these stories are horrific!

I'm 33 and have somehow managed to get through life with only fracturing a finger when I was 12 and not breaking anything as of yet!

(Looks for wood to touch)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I've never broken a bone in my body actually, but I have had some of my little finger cut off.

Though Mat Hoffman laughs at everyone in this thread. :p

Some crazy stories in there, thanks for all the replies so far. Does anyone remember Evel Knievel? He broke different bones 433 times!

KTRIC wrote: »
    Broke my ankle in 3 places when I was about 20 on my first motorbike. Tore the **** out of my arms as well. The surgeon wanted to amputate the leg but me being a cocky little b*llix I told him no and argued about it. In the end they sent me home with my leg in a cast. To this day I find it hard to walk in a straight line :pac:

How could he have professionally or medically justified taking your leg because your ankle was broke? Thats insane.