Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mortgage application difficulty

Options
  • 28-08-2013 4:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭

My husband and I have just started applying for a joint mortgage and are getting absolutely nowhere with the various lenders.

- I'm a permanent secondary teacher on 46,500
    - My husband is permanent on 45000 with a guaranteed bonus of 10,000
    - Combined savings of 55,000
    - Monthly rent of 1,000
    - Save 550 per month combined
    BUT
    - He jointly owns an apartment with an outstanding mortgage in negative equity so it can't be sold
    - Apartment is rented which covers half the mortgage repayments

We were hoping to get in the region of 240,000 but so far the highest we've been told there's even a chance of is 160,000. Any advice? Or can you recommend a broker that's worth going to?

B

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 379 ✭✭Someday

Did you go to Ulster Bank? Its tough and a complete Joke if you ask me, holding back the recession!

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭littlebsci

Someday wrote: »
    Did you go to Ulster Bank? Its tough and a complete Joke if you ask me, holding back the recession!

Yeah, they have decided that the only part of my salary they'll take into consideration is my "basic" and not all my allowances which are allowances in name only....part of my salary end of! And they won't take my husbands guaranteed bonus either even though they ask on their site if you have other income such as this....don't get it!!! :confused: As a result they're looking at even less than 160,000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple