Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vuelta - Stage 8, Sat Aug 31, Jerez de la Frontera - Estepona , **Unmasked Spoilers**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭luapenak

Fecking US open, I want to see the podium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

After today's stage, how many jerseys does Roche hold?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Nicolas Roche (205) will wear the leader's red jersey. The Irish rider also keeps the mountains and combined jerseys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

God, Eurosport are really ruthless in programme cut-offs! Way better though otoh ad-wise compared to ITV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

That is it I'm not looking at eurosport until at least tomorrow wa***rs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Impressive stuff by Roche.. What a mad Vuelta eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Reports that Nibali dropped his chain with 1k to go. Unconfirmed though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Clever ride from Roche. Didn't step out into the wind until the finish line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

great news !! Great cycle to date Nico !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

happytramp wrote: »
    Reports that Nibali dropped his chain with 1k to go. Unconfirmed though.

yeah think he did obviously got back on pretty quick happened in giro too.

delighted with konig some nice prices on him last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Buzwaldo's right. Do not encourage that kind of discussion.

Moving right along to today's Betancur watch.

How much time did he lose? 5 minutes? 10? 15?

18 minutes, 53 seconds. Not just in the grupetto, but at the back of the grupetto. Jeeeeez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

buffalo wrote: »
    The DS will be "eating lightbulbs" - I've never heard that phrase before, what's the meaning?

guessing here that it means they hope that he doesn't blow/pop? jsut reading about the win. hope he comes to the tour of beijing.

thank God Contador decided to skip this race.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

One post deleted together with a number of others making reference to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 irlgw

I was watching on Eurosport as well and very disappointed at Sean Kellys obvious attempts to leave roche out of all commentary. I was on the edge of my seat but couldn't tell if he made it across every time the bunch split. Not sure if there is any history there or not, but he was rattling off names of foreign nobodys when roche was obviously on course for a great finish. I Also remember a similar situation when Cav beat him over the line in a stage of the TDF last year as well and he was the only rider on a break for the last km! For Gods sake man if you cant do the job move over and let someone else do it properly.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

irlgw wrote: »
    I was watching on Eurosport as well and very disappointed at Sean Kellys obvious attempts to leave roche out of all commentary. I was on the edge of my seat but couldn't tell if he made it across every time the bunch split. Not sure if there is any history there or not, but he was rattling off names of foreign nobodys when roche was obviously on course for a great finish. I Also remember a similar situation when Cav beat him over the line in a stage of the TDF last year as well and he was the only rider on a break for the last km! For Gods sake man if you cant do the job move over and let someone else do it properly.

I only watched the last few k but heard Kelly mention roche about 3-4 times?

Well he wasn't exact;y out of his seat shouting about it. For gods sake its the biggest vibe in Irish cycling for a long time and if there was even a sniff of a win he should have been on it. For an Irish commentator I feel he could be doing more for the lads when the opportunity arises. Lets face it he is pretty droll at the best of times. Yes he got token mentions but really watch it back and see if you think he did it justice...

Sean Kelly doesn't shout about anything to be fair. He's a very different kind of commentator (if one can even call him that), he's got basically nothing in common with Carlton Kirby or even other Irish commentators like Ryle Nugent or Peter Collins or whoever. He's a surly ex-pro who's well known for being a bit coy.

His contribution is very valuable. He knows racing inside-out, far far better than Carlton Kirby or even David Harmon. He'd have a lot more first hand experience of life inside the peloton. But he doesn't, or can't, do that kind of superlative commentating. Have you ever heard him talking about the race when the co-commentator has had to nip off to the toilet or something? It's pretty awkward stuff.

I don't think there's any ill-will at all between Sean and Nico.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭jefferson73

I was watching on Eurosport as well and very disappointed at Sean Kellys obvious attempts to leave roche out of all commentary..

ridiculous comment.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I've been out all day and only seen the results. congrats Nico

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Kelly is more an analyst than a giddy commentator, do people want him singing ole ole ole?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭AnotherView

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Kelly is more an analyst than a giddy commentator, do people want him singing ole ole ole?

Yeah someone has to defuse Carlton Kirby :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

I think this is nonsense & you've misunderstood the nature of Kelly completely. If he was to become hyper-excited & effusive he'd have to be basically a different person. Maybe the most excited I've heard him mid-race was when he started to believe Tony Martin might actually stay away the other day, & that was just the nervous tone of his voice in the few words he uttered rather than some hyperventilating commentary. He went "Yes!" after Dan Martin's Liege win, which was him going through the roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭cityman 18

Personally i think they work well off each other. Kirby is really enthusiastic and Kelly is... well Kelly. He also comes out with some brilliant Kellyisms sometimes like 'Alexander Valverde' or 'Vinnycoreoff' he also loves the word 'suffering'. that Waherford droll can be amusing at times as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

ridiculous comment.

Definitely agree with that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭jimbo28

Fantastic for the youth of Irish cycling to see one of our own rising once again to the top of the sport.There will be a blast of young lads ( and not so young) wearing mental red jerseys on Irish roads tomorrow morning on their epic struggles up 400mtr climbs:). Fair play to him, I hope he can defend it for a few days.

Hear ITV4 playing out their highlights programme with the Undertones 'My perfect cousin' to pictures of Nico on the podium and apologies to Dan

When asked by ITV4 if he has fatigues at the end Nico said he was another word beginning with f :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fr D Maugire

Firstly well done Nicolas Roceh on another Irish milestone. Has anyone else realised that all 3 of our top pro's have now won stages at GTs. Roche, Martin & Deignan. It might not be the 80s again but these are heady times for Irish cycling.

On Kelly commentating, as others have said that's Kelly, period. When he say's something like "Yes"" after Martin won L-B-L or "unbelievable" after Contador won the Paris-Nice TT a few years back, this is Kelly showing his emotions in opposite ways. Also I barely noticed Roche a lot of the time today, he was middle of the group most of the climb so barely on camera and then I didn't even see him in the group of Basso until almost the finish. Still did a fantastic ride.

One thing though, Kelly now says "calculation" so often, I think he is trolling the viewers.

Interview on stickybottle (text)

I'm finding it very hard to take in :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Buzwaldo

Did I hear somewhere that Kelly is Nicos godfather? Or did I just imagine that?

Buzwaldo wrote: »
    Did I hear somewhere that Kelly is Nicos godfather? Or did I just imagine that?

Google says yes anyway. Have to admit I never knew that!

Yes Kelly is Nico's godfather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭dogsears

The impression I get is that Carlton Kirby has to be nudged to remember Roche is in there at all (and I like CK). Kelly is much better at covering all the contenders in an even way. I don't agree with the comment above at all, but more than that, right now I don't care what commentators say - Nico is leading the GC!! Wahay!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Bukman13

I think Kirby got the Net app and mountain jersey confused with one other, he thought was Koenig hanging on the back of the Basso group, when it was actually Roche. It was actually Kelly who first noticed Roche.

It was poor commentary overall, Kirby called Moreno "Danny Martin" at one stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭AmberGold

Great result Nico.

Watching highlights today I noticed as the Peleton reached Manilva they showed them entering a tunnel and then flashed to footage of the Peleton again back down the road 4 or 5 k from Manilva.

I know this coast very well woth it's many beautiful landmarks and this was sloppy editing, is this common with Eurosport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

Irish cycling really on a high and I think it will only get better in the medium to long term

Yes there is another talented Roche coming this way ..Alexi Roche

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭letape

AmberGold wrote: »
    Great result Nico.

Watching highlights today I noticed as the Peleton reached Manilva they showed them entering a tunnel and then flashed to footage of the Peleton again back down the road 4 or 5 k from Manilva.

I know this coast very well woth it's many beautiful landmarks and this was sloppy editing, is this common with Eurosport?

I'm sure that Eurosport just relay the feed given by the host broadcasters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Pretty impressive stuff from Nico, some data from the stage:
    Stage 8: Puerto de Peñas Blancas (last 8.85 km, 7.20 %, 637 m)

Leopold König ---- CZE / NetAPP-Endura | 22:40, 23.43 Kph, VAM 1686 m/h, 6.20 W/kg
    Daniel Moreno ---- ESP / Katusha
    | 22:41, 23.41 Kph, VAM 1685 m/h, 6.20 W/kg
    Nicolas Roche ---- IRL / Saxo-Tinkoff- | 22:45, 23.34 Kph, VAM 1680 m/h, 6.18 W/kg
    Thibaut Pinot ---- FRA / FDJ
    | 22:45, 23.34 Kph, VAM 1680 m/h, 6.18 W/kg
    Ivan Basso
    ITA / Cannondale -- | 22:45, 23.34 Kph, VAM 1680 m/h, 6.18 W/kg
    Bart de Clercq --- BEL / Lotto
    | 22:48, 23.29 Kph, VAM 1676 m/h, 6.16 W/kg
    Igor Anton
    ESP / Euskaltel --- | 22:53, 23.20 Kph, VAM 1670 m/h, 6.14 W/kg
    Alejandro Valverde ESP / Movistar ---- | 22:59, 23.10 Kph, VAM 1663 m/h, 6.11 W/kg
    Joaquim Rodriguez- ESP / Katusha
    | 22:59, 23.10 Kph, VAM 1663 m/h, 6.11 W/kg
    Rigoberto Uran --- COL / Team Sky ---- | 23:03, 23.04 Kph, VAM 1658 m/h, 6.10 W/kg
    Rafal Majka
    POL / Saxo-Tinkoff- | 23:03, 23.04 Kph, VAM 1658 m/h, 6.10 W/kg
    Domenico Pozzovivo ITA / AG2R
    | 23:03, 23.04 Kph, VAM 1658 m/h, 6.10 W/kg
    Haimar Zubeldia -- ESP / RadioShack -- | 23:03, 23.04 Kph, VAM 1658 m/h, 6.10 W/kg
    Sergio Henao
    COL / Team Sky ---- | 23:07, 22.97 Kph, VAM 1653 m/h, 6.08 W/kg
    Vincenzo Nibali -- ITA / Astana
    | 23:07, 22.97 Kph, VAM 1653 m/h, 6.08 W/kg
    Warren Barguil --- FRA / Argos
    | 23:11, 22.90 Kph, VAM 1649 m/h, 6.06 W/kg
    Ivan Santaromita - ITA / BMC
    | 23:20, 22.76 Kph, VAM 1638 m/h, 6.02 W/kg
    Yoann Bagot
    FRA / Cofidis
    David Arroyo
    ESP / Caja Rural -- | 23:20, 22.76 Kph, VAM 1638 m/h, 6.02 W/kg
    Samuel Sanchez --- ESP / Euskaltel --- | 23:20, 22.76 Kph, VAM 1638 m/h, 6.02 W/kg
    Tanel Kangert ---- EST / Astana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

Firstly well done Nicolas Roceh on another Irish milestone. Has anyone else realised that all 3 of our top pro's have now won stages at GTs. Roche, Martin & Deignan. It might not be the 80s again but these are heady times for Irish cycling.

On Kelly commentating, as others have said that's Kelly, period. When he say's something like "Yes"" after Martin won L-B-L or "unbelievable" after Contador won the Paris-Nice TT a few years back, this is Kelly showing his emotions in opposite ways. Also I barely noticed Roche a lot of the time today, he was middle of the group most of the climb so barely on camera and then I didn't even see him in the group of Basso until almost the finish. Still did a fantastic ride.

One thing though, Kelly now says "calculation" so often, I think he is trolling the viewers.

yes great that all 3 have grand tour stages, deignan hopefully back in pro tour next season.

Kelly is a cool cat the voice of reason, any praise from him is high praise. He did get a little emotional as mentioned with Martin with his 170km solo. I saw photos and roche bridged across to the group by himself and was at tail for while it was hard make if it was him or not.

Kelly does troll some of his sayings now and embraces it, think last year they told him about a kelly drinking game that was invented. Roches form will tail of for sure he hit 15.0 to win the Vuelta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Pretty impressive stuff from Nico, some data from the stage:

Actually, looking at those w/kg figures above, they're wrong aren't they, unless all those riders are at the same weight ?!
    If the riders are not all the same weight, then their w/kg should be different, ie. if 2 of them cross the line together, but if there's a 5 or 10kg difference in weight, then the heavier guy actually produces less w/kg (I think).

Here's a table with help from here:

Climb : 2km @ 6% (120m) @ 6mins
    KG W W/KG VAM
    90 385 4.28 1200
    80 346 4.33 1200
    70 308 4.39 1200
    60 268 4.47 1200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Actually, looking at those w/kg figures above, they're wrong aren't they,
    Nico was was making this point on off the ball. These figures that are printed aren't accurate as they don't know the riders weight. Nico was saying he could be 1 or 2 kilo's heavier just by eating more the day before and then that skews the figures. Only the teams/riders can say what the right W/Kg figure was for a stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭WilkBMC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭mistermatthew

fair play Itv. people slag them for focusing on sly bit gave Roche good focus there with a nice montage at the end.

I see the cat is among the pigeons but sports commentary is all about personality and inspiring the viewer otherwise an on screen leaderboard could do the job. If anyone wishes to dispute it then watch the last 30mins back of yesterdays stage and tell me roche got a good deal. Perhaps its even Kelly not wanting to appear to be favoring his connections, or maybe he had just wet himself with the excitement...

Unless I just picked it up on a bad day at the office, but given the enormity of the result and what it means to Nico and Irish cycling I feel it was justified to call Kelly to task for not doing (jumping shouting screaming) more. Nothing to be gained from stirring the **** with Kelly so I feel ok with the comments.

Having said all that, i watched it today (equally open minded) and think that Kelly did an outstanding Job!! Not just in his comments on roche but his general interaction in the commentary. Just hope he keeps it up :-)

Maybe we could ask him for an ole ole ole as previously mentioned

I see the cat is among the pigeons but sports commentary is all about personality and inspiring the viewer otherwise an on screen leaderboard could do the job.

Sean's got personality by the bucket-load, but yeah it's not a typical commentator's personality. I think a lot of cycling fans (myself very much included) see past his weaknesses as a commentator and enjoy the rare privilege of having one of cycling's all-time legends sharing his thoughts on races. Honestly, I'd be disappointed if he spoke like any typical sports commentator. He's so honest and genuine about the racing. Carlton plays up just anything, doing his job. Sean doesn't play up just anything, and that's exactly what I hoped someone like him would do.

I see where you're coming from, but I still regard Sean as absolute gold in the commentator's seat.