Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man your pumps, Wetherspoons are coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

Gits_bone wrote: »
    If only it was a pint.

Same applies to every pub ever!!!!!

two smalls bottles isn't a full pint anywhere. its 40cl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,309 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

I'm not sure how anyone could make the connection to be honest.

I thought it was an obviously tongue in cheek comment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Ravelleman wrote: »
    On another note, Tesco are currently selling six-packs of Murphy's for €15 :eek: Perhaps that's their new premium stout.

First Guinness and now Murphy's.. Looks like craft tax is contagious and crosses species!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

n97 mini wrote: »
    Looks like craft tax is contagious and crosses species!
    Or that "craft tax" is specious horsepoo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭cormacjones

I thought it was an obviously tongue in cheek comment!

Edit: Not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,067 ✭✭✭Vic_08

If only it was a pint.

400ml glass of pepsi or lemonade, postmix presumably, for €1.95 so approx. €2.50 a pint.

Certainly better than the standard Irish on trade drinkaware policy of promoting designated drivers by squeezing every last cent out of them for soft drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

IMG_20141216_203420518.jpg?dl=0

prices in my local (belfast)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/w4i689fa8yibxjy/IMG_20141216_203420518.jpg?dl=0

photo of the dinner :) £7.49 with a pint of stowfords

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3594j8pe5z2xznp/IMG_20141216_201304120.jpg?dl=0

Great wee night , cinema on a tuesday is only £3 , seen that interstellar , was very good!
    big feed after and a couple of refreshing ciders , night out for £13

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Gits_bone

hawkwind23 wrote: »
    IMG_20141216_203420518.jpg?dl=0

prices in my local (belfast)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/w4i689fa8yibxjy/IMG_20141216_203420518.jpg?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3594j8pe5z2xznp/IMG_20141216_201304120.jpg?dl=0

Great wee night , cinema on a tuesday is only £3 , seen that interstellar , was very good!
    big feed after and a couple of refreshing ciders , night out for £13

Was there more food than that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭Simon201

I think we should have a Wetherspoons food pics thread maybe :D....

This was the bacon cheese burger I had in Blackrock the other day (with extra burger for €2 - of course!!)

331970.jpg

(I had eaten a few chips before I thought of taking the photo...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,182 ✭✭✭✭listermint

If only it was a pint.

Why would you drink a Pint of minerals. Seven shades of badness for ya never mind Alcohol.......

listermint wrote: »
    Why would you drink a Pint of minerals. Seven shades of badness for ya never mind Alcohol.......

Why would you drink a pint of alcohol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Lucena

Simon201 wrote: »
    I think we should have a Wetherspoons food pics thread maybe :D....

This was the bacon cheese burger I had in Blackrock the other day (with extra burger for €2 - of course!!)

(I had eaten a few chips before I thought of taking the photo...)

Don't be doing that to us, it's not even lunchtime yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Why would you drink a pint of alcohol?

Nobody should ever drink a pint of alcohol!

WHat annoys me in pubs (and likely in this establishment) is that you can get a cold pint for 4 euro ish with no ice that can last half an hour or accompany a mean, and yet I ask for a soft drink and I'm given a tiny glass full with ice (soft drinks are often left out) that I have to refill because the glass isn't big enough, gets diluted with ice and is finished in 15 mins while only being about a euro cheaper than a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,546 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

WHat annoys me in pubs (and likely in this establishment) is that you can get a cold pint for 4 euro ish with no ice that can last half an hour or accompany a mean, and yet I ask for a soft drink and I'm given a tiny glass full with ice (soft drinks are often left out) that I have to refill because the glass isn't big enough, gets diluted with ice and is finished in 15 mins while only being about a euro cheaper than a pint.
    You're getting annoyed about something that might happen in a pub? Tell them you don't want ice.

Then you have a drink at room temp.

Ask them for some ice.

Ice dilutes it.

Go somewhere else.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Ask them for a wine bucket and sit it in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Don't forget to ask them to put ice in the wine bucket.

Ice dilutes it.

Ask them for a small plastic bag, get them to put the ice cubes inside the bag, seal the bag closed and put the bag in your drink. Voilà, cool drink without dilution!

If you don't like drinking Coke with a plastic bag floating on the top of it, ask them to put some small stones in the bag to keep it at the bottom of your glass.

Careful when you're finishing the drink off that you don't get a black eye, though!

I think you have to agree that although not Michelin starred, the food is more than acceptable and similar to what you would pay twice the price for.
    In my regular local I pay £4.50 for a cider.
    I get a decent feed as per the photo and a cider for £7.65.
    You could argue the food cost £3.15 :-)

No spooneys today :-(
    Maybe tomorrow for the curry club lol

Go somewhere else.

No I'll drink alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

No spooneys today :-(
    Maybe tomorrow for the curry club lol

Tut tut drinking on a school night, these English "bars" will be the death of Ireland. You should put on the green jersey and only drink in traditional Irish establishments on weekends.

this post is sponsored by the VFI, enjoy expensive alcohol sensibly

Lucena wrote: »
    Ask them for a small plastic bag, get them to put the ice cubes inside the bag, seal the bag closed and put the bag in your drink. Voilà, cool drink without dilution!

If you don't like drinking Coke with a plastic bag floating on the top of it, ask them to put some small stones in the bag to keep it at the bottom of your glass.

Careful when you're finishing the drink off that you don't get a black eye, though!

Still have the problem of refilling up the glass every 5 mins because of volume.

@Gits bone

Drink out of a bucket, loads of room in there!

Still have the problem of refilling up the glass every 5 mins because of volume.
    Maybe you could bring a really large drinking vessel with you, and decant the soft drink into that, as it would accommodate both the entire soft drink and the plastic bag full of ice cubes?

Some frozen ice rocks would solve your problem, but then you'd have the challenge of keeping them cold. You could bring a mini-fridge with you, but if you're going to go to that effort, you might as well just keep your soft drink in the mini-fridge between sips.

BMJD wrote: »
    Tut tut drinking on a school night, these English "bars" will be the death of Ireland. You should put on the green jersey and only drink in traditional Irish establishments on weekends.

this post is sponsored by the VFI, enjoy expensive alcohol sensibly

This is it exactly!

Im in my 40's , i dont like drinking at home.
    I do enjoy 3 or 4 pints on the odd midweek night with the OH
    i can buy her a bottle of wine for £7.50 and have 5 pints for £12.50
    £20 for a nice wee midweeker , have an auld chat and chill.

id love to do that in some other bars too but its too expensive and hard to justify.

for example my other local "the errigle bar"
    Glass of wine and pint of cider comes in at £9!
    Nearer to £50 for a few hours. I cant justify that.

Wetherspoons isnt a typical bar where you sit "at the bar" so its not a place i tend to go alone to but for a few drinks with friends or the mrs , it makes perfect sense

Another point is buying rounds , i stopped that many years ago , unless im in close company.
    But i dont mind so much in Spoons , i dont mind shouting a few drinks as i know its not gonna be ridiculous when folk starting ordering vodka and coke etc.

you ever get caught like that in a regular bar?
    2 or 3 people looking different mixers and all? you get the bill and need a short one for the shock of it!
    fecking daylight robbery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭kooga

This is it exactly!

Im in my 40's , i dont like drinking at home.
    I do enjoy 3 or 4 pints on the odd midweek night with the OH
    i can buy her a bottle of wine for £7.50 and have 5 pints for £12.50
    £20 for a nice wee midweeker , have an auld chat and chill.

id love to do that in some other bars too but its too expensive and hard to justify.

for example my other local "the errigle bar"
    Glass of wine and pint of cider comes in at £9!
    Nearer to £50 for a few hours. I cant justify that.

Wetherspoons isnt a typical bar where you sit "at the bar" so its not a place i tend to go alone to but for a few drinks with friends or the mrs , it makes perfect sense

agree the errigle is expensive but i think the prices in the bridge house compared to other wetherspoons are dear, maybe the new one up by queens will see a price reduction.

anyway looking forward to them opening in cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Reputable Rog

The Bridge house prices are equivalent to an Airport Spoons.
    Still no sign of them coming to Limerick despite all the rumours.

I think William Street would be a great location for them sitting proudly with bookies and kebab shops, Dealz and Eurocity, a golden triangle effectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭kooga

The Bridge house prices are equivalent to an Airport Spoons.
    Still no sign of them coming to Limerick despite all the rumours.

I think William Street would be a great location for them sitting proudly with bookies and kebab shops, Dealz and Eurocity, a golden triangle effectively.

they could do a joint venture with Iceland!

kooga wrote: »
    they could do a joint venture with Iceland!

Not sure "Mum's gone to Spoons" has the right ring to it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I'm the average Heineken drinker, no interest whatsoever in experimenting with craft beers, I just drink Heineken because thats what I drink.

Reminds me of going to a BBQ in the summer, mate looked after the food, I got the beer. Brought over a great selection of IPAs, ales, blondes etc. He was disgusted, went straight to his fridge and to his Heineken stock.

Didn't even taste one the ungrateful heathen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Reminds me of going to a BBQ in the summer, mate looked after the food, I got the beer. Brought over a great selection of IPAs, ales, blondes etc. He was disgusted, went straight to his fridge and to his Heineken stock.

Did he only supply cheap Denny sausages for the BBQ? The mind boggles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Probably Dunne's value range.

At least I felt no qualms about bringing what wasn't drunk home with me again.

ThisRegard wrote: »

Ha.

I knew I'd mentioned Brand Loyalty in a thread before. It was actually a thread I started.

The general gist was that a guy walks into a bar that I was in (newly opened L.Mulligans) and asks for every brand, changing styles, until he gets a brand he knows.

Irish people are ridiculously brand loyal. Sure look how long it took people to start going to the likes of Aldi or Lidl. :) It is changing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,915 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I think the brand loyalty is only down to ignorance though, many of my mates who were away on erasmus who would have been the usual bulmers or Heineken drinkers, are now no longer set on those drinks that they are home. As they were forced to try other drinks abroad... And realised A) what a rip off drink is here in pubs and B) that you acquire tastes for other drinks pretty quickly...

Put it this way, anyone of my mates who refused to go to a spoons, because they couldnt get Heineken, so we could be fleeced, would be laughed out if it, it wouldnt even be entertained, the abuse they would get for it wouldnt be worth their while...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭cruhoortwunk

Idbatterim wrote: »
    I think the brand loyalty is only down to ignorance though, many of my mates who were away on erasmus who would have been the usual bulmers or Heineken drinkers, are now no longer set on those drinks that they are home. As they were forced to try other drinks abroad... And realised A) what a rip off drink is here in pubs and B) that you acquire tastes for other drinks pretty quickly...
    THat was what opened my eyes to the world of pale ales and IPAs, lived in Canada for a few years. Every decent sized town has it's own brewery, great selection in the off licenses too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

About a year ago, I would have laughed at craft beer enthusiasts, but now I can't stomach most lagers. I still don't think Guinness can be beaten though.

Lux23 wrote: »
    About a year ago, I would have laughed at craft beer enthusiasts, but now I can't stomach most lagers. I still don't think Guinness can be beaten though.

Give it time young Skywalker, give it time.

Guinness is grand as a beer. Personally I hate it for everything it represents (uniformisation of beers available, the hijacking of Irish identity, attempting to create their own national holiday) but I acknowledge it's a decent beer.

There are far better stouts out there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,927 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

A nice description of some pros and cons of JD WS pubs, with the author coming around to liking them:

http://petebrown.blogspot.ie/2014/12/why-j-d-wetherspoons-is-fast-becoming.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Give it time young Skywalker, give it time.

I have tried a few, I just don't like many of the others. I think it is because they have mostly been bottled though. I now prefer an ale to stout though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

Why would you laugh at them? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Ravelleman wrote: »
    Why would you laugh at them? :(

probably our beards and tweed jackets, they are ridiculous after all.

And our pipes and really skinny jeans. them too

Poor Budweiser are really struggling at this stage! ;)

B5HJjNhIAAA02Ub.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

probably our beards and tweed jackets, they are ridiculous after all.

And our pipes and really skinny jeans. them too
    Hipster-Jesus-Turned-Water-Into-Craft-Beer.jpg