Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Deadline Day Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

I watched him play a fair bit. With my eyeballs. The stats don't tell the whole story. Even the moat ardent Madrid or Ozil fan will tell you that. It's why Madrid are letting him go.

Performance are half of it, though he still contributed a lot to Madrid's season, the other big reason is Isco and the desire at Real Madrid to regain a more Spanish image and the way to do that is with more Spanish players in high profile roles at the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Jaysus, Lukaku to West Brom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,802 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Performance are half of it, though he still contributed a lot to Madrid's season, the other big reason is Isco and the desire at Real Madrid to regain a more Spanish image and the way to do that is with more Spanish players in high profile roles at the club.

And all the while Splash the guts of 90 million on a welsh lad, and previously 80 million on a Portugeser.....
    High profile spanish players alright.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Hope Ozil deal goes through, great player for the FF. Assist machine!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

kippy wrote: »
    And all the while Splash the guts of 90 million on a welsh lad, and previously 80 million on a Portugeser.....

They've spent big on Isco and Illarramendi this Summer in fairness.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Dave Whelan sure loves ringing up SSN doesn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Corholio wrote: »

Its very annoying that ee couldnt ship ba out. ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Lukaku to West Brom again? Ah here.

Ronaldo was a few years ago, conveniently ignored the 3 other Spanish players they have signed this summer.

If I was a football player, I'd be driving around to loads of clubs on a day like today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,802 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Ronaldo was a few years ago, conveniently ignored the 3 other Spanish players they have signed this summer.

What's grabbed the world wide headlines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Why would Chelsea let Lukaku go?
    Even if he is a sub most of the time so what?Even if he wants first team football so what?
    He's Chelsea's player, he'd get plenty of chances I'm sure. Of course it's possible Jose doesn't rate him or trust him as he's too young for your typical Jose player.

What's grabbed the world wide headlines?

Noone said that, but you know that already.

Andersonisgod said 'high profile roles at the club'. 3 young quality Spanish players.

Does Jim White ever stop fúcking shouting?

Dave Whelan sure loves ringing up SSN doesn't he?

Do you know he once broke his leg in a cup final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

JPA wrote: »
    Even if he is a sub most of the time so what?Even if he wants first team football so what?
    He's Chelsea's player, he'd get plenty of chances I'm sure. Of course it's possible Jose doesn't rate him or trust him as he's too young for your typical Jose player.

its very frustrating. was hoping ba would go instead.

Manchester United have put in a bid for Mo Farah.

Thats why he was on right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

At least they're doing something about their rubbish start. Shame we couldn't do the same. They'll be fine with the acquisitions of Sessegnon and Lukaku.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Manchester United have put in a bid for Mo Farah.

Thats why he was on right?

Training partner for Usain Bolt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Lukaku is way too good for West Brom. T'f*ck is that all about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭CastingCouch

Arsenal have completed the signing of Mesut Ozil from Real Madrid for £42.5M, plus bonuses for trophies, bringing the overall fee to £42.5M.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Do you know he once broke his leg in a cup final?

I'm surprised we didn't learn he once broke his arm on a transfer deadline day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

JPA wrote: »

I didnt think Jose was too impressed with him in Super Cup final even before the penalty miss. Not sure he thinks he is up for it. Explains the Long move to Hull if thats the case.

Best thing about Transfer Deadline Day has been Quinn and MacAnthony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

Arsenal have completed the signing of Mesut Ozil from Real Madrid for £42.5M, plus bonuses for trophies, bringing the overall fee to £42.5M.
    Sources people....

miralize wrote: »
    Sources people....

Oh dear :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,117 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Sources people....

It's a lame joke from a fan of a team who just got beaten by their arch rivals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Delighted with Lukaku going back to the Baggies.

Boing boing!

Sources people....

political-pictures-sarah-palin-whoosh.jpg

I kinda hope that Mertesacker carries Ozil out above his head like the Lion King. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

whos the guy ranting about Celtic

Quazzie wrote: »

We didn't play City at the weekend? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

GavRedKing wrote: »
    its very frustrating. was hoping ba would go instead.

FWIW I would give Torres the boot, 1 goal in the PL this year (AFAIK) a total flop for Chelsea, at least Ba and Lukaku have form within the last 18 months to bring to the table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

Why doesnt my sarcasm work online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Ah don't cry. Was only a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

astonaidan wrote: »

Peterborough Chairman and seller of overpriced Bulgarian apartments Darragh McAnthony.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

astonaidan wrote: »

Darragh MacAnthony, chairman of Peterborough united.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

The Spanish initiative is actually undergoing this summer onwards. You will notice the huge money spent on Isco and Illaramendi (also the signing of Carvajal) and also the increased first team opportunities for Morata and Jese Rodriguez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Darren O'Dea ‏@odea_darren 1m

Peter Lawell getting nailed from darragh macanthony! Sed he only sent him emails! That's coz it costs a fortune 2 ring from Dubai! #holidays

I dont think Celtic really wanted him tbh

2 loner loonies in Southampton :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Sources people....

Joke

Your head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Southampton lads on the buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Shush. It was a funny joke regardless of who you support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

The Spanish initiative is actually undergoing this summer onwards. You will notice the huge money spent on Isco and Illaramendi (also the signing of Carvajal) and also the increased first team opportunities for Morata and Jese Rodriguez.

This is part of Real's problem. Galactico initiatives, Spanish initiatives etc. Just develop some youth players and buy in other players to fit your system. **** the blue-sky, outside the box corporate bollocks. Also, back the manager. It shouldn't be so hard to remain stable when you have that much money to spend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Bebe has gone on loan to Pacos de Ferreira.

Jim getting private texts now! You know it's coming to the end of the window!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,866 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Wigan sign Man Utd CM Powell on loan maybe letting them allow McCarthy go to Everton if they restructure their bid and thus Utd can perhaps get Fellaini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

CSF wrote: »
    Anyone else feel like they're wasting time watching a load of ****e that they also realised was a load of ****e last deadline day, but conveniently forgot over the course of the 364 days separating them?

The male version of childbirth without the 364 day part, well unless you are a single mother in a Daily Mail exclusive.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

So Fellaini to Man Utd depends on Everton getting Lukaku off Chelsea. So Chelsea let him go to WestBrom and screw Man Utd over. Well played Jose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Talking on 5live now about clubs these trying to get done before the window closes. They were saying what could possibly happen is a loan deal gets done and then just sign the player in the next window