Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork VS ?

• 02-09-2013 5:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭

ok people part from getting Tempest up and running again, Doom has given a good idea to hold a Cork Verses fight up, to make a mark in Ireland a team of corks best fighters from which i will put together will crawl their way up Ireland to Dominate ( or try at least ) Irelands top teams.

we will do a 5 vs 5 team.

we need team from Galway, Dublin... ect ect if you have a team in your respected areas then post on this thread and get your names out there.

Team players

Team Cpt

Team name

hell..... if you have a team flag post it up, the more boasting the better

• Registered Users Posts: 547 ✭✭✭ladnopoka

how about a kumite? when everyone takes on one player

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

I will post in the Galway FB page and alert them to this as I do think it'd be the best place to start!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I will post in the Galway FB page and alert them to this as I do think it'd be the best place to start!

Good call, Doom. I won't be near a computer to let them know until tomorrow.

I'm guessing we're talking about Street Fighter here, yeah?

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭Shokashi

deathrider wrote: »
    Good call, Doom. I won't be near a computer to let them know until tomorrow.

I'm guessing we're talking about Street Fighter here, yeah?

indeed we are

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Doyler01

What way will the 5v5 work?

Doyler01 wrote: »
    What way will the 5v5 work?

the 5 v 5 system is something i need to tinker with unless there is a system out there that some one can share with us.

but from what i can guess its either 1 of 2 ways that i can think of.

1> each person will fight each one on the team based on the highest rank to the lowest rank.

2> fight based on winner stays on, keep playing till last player is off.

if there is a better way please tell me

• Registered Users Posts: 18,707 ✭✭✭✭K.O.Kiki

Winner stays on, best 2 of 3 games, no character switching.
    Team captains decide order, either in advance (blind) or on-the-fly.

Best format IMHO

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭jimmypenguin

i can jump in on goukens anti air fireballs all day..

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭prenelf

So who's going to be in the Cork team?

Gouke or Steez should put that team together right?
    Aren't they top 2?

Both sides should hold a tournament to pick their top 5, IMO.

That'd be sick.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Kanped

Cork, Dublin, Galway, Belfast would be pretty cool.

Kanped wrote: »
    Cork, Dublin, Galway, Belfast would be pretty cool.

that's phase 2 of my ill formed plan. Might even think about seperating Leinster and Dublin, there's enough for 2 teams in the area.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

Maybe a small tournament where the winner is the captain and picks the teams? Or if the lads are just agreed on who the captain is without one and he can pick.

Top 5 at a tournament may not be available to travel to Cork.

Also, top 5 does not mean best 5 players. Brackets and matchups along the way will mess that up altogether.

I'd say separate team Dublin from Leinster alright.

The more I'm thinking about this, the more I'm liking it. There's always been a kind of want round the forum here for all Ireland gig. It's come up time and time again, but never managed to get moving. I reckon if this works, it'll be monster craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭1man3letters

The more I'm thinking about this, the more I'm liking it. There's always been a kind of want round the forum here for all Ireland gig. It's come up time and time again, but never managed to get moving. I reckon if this works, it'll be monster craic.

#bringbackmk :p

Hell yes, good sir!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

It needs to be called the CVS series so we can get a shed load of free publicity by calling the third one CVS3.

lol

if you have a tournament to flush out the best in your area, would that not also have the possibility to loose some of the top fighters. as during a tournament one player or more ( just saying ) may not be at their best for that day.

each area should have a vote to see who is cpt and who should be in the team.
    or you can just let the elected cpt make that choice. either way work IMO

it was going to done at some point, Doom just gave the last push for me to do this.

Thanks Doom

i like the idea of team captain or winner of a certain tourney being allowed to pick the team

Well ye could just decided Jimmy and Shockashi are picking.

Of course, if I were you I'd let the guy you think actually knows the most about SF in your area pick

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭OniKen

I think the top 5 in the local tournament make the team (1st place becomes team captain) and the 5v5 match I think Yu Yu hakusho/ beyblade rules (choose the order of your team and each one fights one person from the other team, best of 5 wins, everyone is used once)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

I'll be down for whatever anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Forbidao

Hi!
    Is there any Third Strike player on Cork?
    I'm new in the country and I really love 3S

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭VizardAnto

Forbidao wrote: »
    Hi!
    Is there any Third Strike player on Cork?
    I'm new in the country and I really love 3S

I don't think anyone in cork plays 3S

but I use to play it alot when online edition came out on XBL.

I haven't played the game in months but love the game none the less:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Forbidao

Yeah, the game is awesome!
    Sad that nobody is playing it in here :(

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭VizardAnto

Forbidao wrote: »
    Yeah, the game is awesome!
    Sad that nobody is playing it in here :(

If you have XBL I'll add u and we can play it?

Really rusty but that's ok as long as I enjoy the game btw I'm based in Cork