Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

I know Ozil is unreal and that, but im still the biggest Santi fanboy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Just logged on after a busy day expected the thread to be back to its normal few posts a day fook me that was a lot of reading glad to see it's still active :).

Still amazed and excited we signed Ozil had great craic in work with all the Spurs, United and Chelsea fans :D.
    cson wrote: »
    Speaking of keepers; that signing of the Palermo lad is one of the strangest AW transfers I've seen I think - what was wrong with Fabianski as back up? Really should have concentrated efforts elsewhere.

Not really about a week before we signed him Wenger explained how he was looking for a back up keeper as he felt having only two keepers he trusted wasn't good enough should one get injured we would be left very short ;), I know a bit ironic given our Cf situation but that was something he did try rectify things just went tits up every time we tried, these things can happen. Look at United's window think they got like there tenth choice midfielder.
    Raf32 wrote: »
    Tottenham Hotspur legend Jürgen Klinsmann told Mesut Özil to sign for Arsenal.
    There are no words to describe this, even he knows they will always be in our shadow :D

Fcuk off link?

I'm a huge Santi, Podolski, Kos, Sczez, Ozil and Wilshere fanboy don't ask me to choose one :pac:.

Fcuk off link?

here ya go http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/arsenal/10284922/Mesut-Ozils-42m-move-to-Arsenal-sealed-with-one-phone-call-from-manager-Arsene-Wenger.html

"Soon after the deal was clinched, Jürgen Klinsmann sent Özil a message telling him that Wenger’s Arsenal would be the perfect fit."

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

I'm a huge Santi, Podolski, Kos, Sczez, Ozil and Wilshere fanboy don't ask me to choose one :pac:.

Easy

Ramsey :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭shano_88

Me too. Great video here with the highlights of Santis first season with Arsenal

For me personally i wouldnt know what to do with myself seeing the link up play between Ozil, Santi and Rosicky, cant imagine much better! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

bad2dabone wrote: »
    Hmmmm Norwich at home Saturday 19th october, return to heathrow is 110 euro, get the tube straight to the ground
    reckon i could make the trip for less than 200 quid including ticket. be worth it.

Return to gatwick for less than €50 with Ryanair, £20 train to Victoria then tube.

Should save a few quid that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Think ill head into Champion 2moro and get the new away jersey with Ozil on the back of it. They better put the 2 dots on top of the O or else there shall be harsh words exchanged :D

Easy

Ramsey :)

:pac: no suprise there really :).

Great to see the thread unified and excited for a change.

Hopefully Ozil will not only put in the performances on the pitch but help us off the pitch for the likes of Zelalem training with and watching someone of his caliber can only help spur him on and improve his game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,426 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Will be interesting to see who Wenger picks in midfield for the next few games to prepare for the United clash. All have been playing well before the Ozil signing.

I think Ozil is a definite starter anyways, him and Santi first names on the team sheet. I would go with Rosicky, Ramsey OZil with Santi out on the left and Walcott out wide. Give Jack a rest I reckon he will benefit from a few games on the bench and coming on for the last 20mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,426 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Gringo180 wrote: »
    I think Ozil is a definite starter anyways, him and Santi first names on the team sheet. I would go with Rosicky, Ramsey OZil with Santi out on the left and Walcott out wide. Give Jack a rest I reckon he will benefit from a few games on the bench and coming on for the last 20mins.

What about Arteta and Flamini?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Play them all, attack is the best defense :)

I reckon Ozil will be a certain starter but maybe not for the first few games as Wenger beds him in gets him acquianted with our tactic and players.

Is Arteta available for our next game?? To be fair to Rosicky and Ramsey they have been fantastic so far this season so it would be harsh for them to be left out for Flamini at this point in time. I think Flamini will do a great job against the better teams in stifling there attacking threat.

To be fair we really have a whole host of top players who are in great form to choose from in the midfield department, a real selection headache the boss has.

Is Arteta available for our next game?? To be fair to Rosicky and Ramsey they have been fantastic so far this season so it would be harsh for them to be left out for Flamini at this point in time. I think Flamini will do a great job against the better teams in stifling there attacking threat.

To be fair we really have a whole host of top players who are in great form to choose from in the midfield department, a real selection headache the boss has.

It feels fantastic to have that problem again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭richierichballs

I'm not an arsenal fan but congratulations on an absolutely wonderful signing,
    You guys deserve it.

iYRyXvvxKZ5nw.gif

Some love for our other signing, comes across very good, could be a coup.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

I'm not an arsenal fan but congratulations on an absolutely wonderful signing,
    You guys deserve it.

iYRyXvvxKZ5nw.gif

Unbelievable Tekkers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Must be so good for the others.
    The attention Özil will get will leave space for Cazorla maybe.
    God I cant wait to see him.
    Im tempted to go to the Stoke match.

Ozil and Cazorla > Fabregas and Nasri

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Jeez lads I have it bad. Watching Ozil videos has become like a new kind of porn to me waiting to see him line up in his debut

Haha, im here in bed, with the mrs beside me asleep, watching........

Özil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Özil, Ö, Ö, Ö, Ö, Ö, Ö, Özil, Ö, Ö, Ö, Ö, Ö, Ö!

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭yupya1

I still can't believe we got him, how the f*ck would anybody sell him, even Madrid?
    and for half a bale too, not bad.

One observation from looking at all these highlights is I would say Cristiano Ronaldo will really miss him.
    He must have final assisted 70% of his goals.

Also, John Henry.
    What are we smoking?
    Big fuking German cigars washed down with German beer.

I am excited beyond belief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

its a pittty that podo is out at the moment. i think them linking up for club and country will only be a good thing for ye. very like the alonso torres days at the pool

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I have never seen so much of this letter in my entire life before.

FearDark wrote: »
    I have never seen sö much öf this letter in my entire life beföre.

Fixed yöur pöst :D

🇩🇪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Ah yes, good ol mister umlaut, be thankful theres no eszett :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Is rather stick with the options we have to be honest. I have faith with Theo playing throught the middle if needs be with Ozil Cazorla and either OX or Rosicky behind

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

thats a good interview with Viviano, he comes across as very enthusiastic and confident. Good on him. Hope he gets a few games to show us how he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

1173894_163368420523765_1118696432_n.jpg

Apologies if posted already :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭darego

rvp leaves because of "lack of ambition" and a year later we sign ozil. now apparently he is unhappy, unconvinced of moyes and misses fergie

fooking delighted.

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/sport/football/336543/Robin-van-Persie-and-David-Moyes-hit-skids?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+daily-star-football+%28Daily+Star+%3A%3A+Football+Feed%29

23113917.Straws.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

darego wrote: »
    rvp leaves because of "lack of ambition" and a year later we sign ozil. now apparently he is unhappy, unconvinced of moyes and misses fergie

fooking delighted.

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/sport/football/336543/Robin-van-Persie-and-David-Moyes-hit-skids?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+daily-star-football+%28Daily+Star+%3A%3A+Football+Feed%29

Still early days but he leaves arsenal for lack of ambition and 12 months later arsenal finally buy big . a small club doesnt attract and spend over 40m for a world class player Ozil. RVP is full of ****. Always has been tbh. Boy it will be funny if this article was actually true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

He did win the league and most likely got a big pay rise, I was p*ssed when he left but the team he played with was muck and all we did was Song chipped the ball to rvp and he scored.

Maybe if we signed the players we have now then he would have stayed, id blame the club for having a lack of ambition.

Hopefully we can add to ozil and really make a go at winning things, the 40 million is just the tv money, with the group we have in the champions league and the money for getting to the top 16 is huge, also spurs straightening too, it just has a feel that we're aiming for 4th and just to get out of the group to turn over the all important profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Maybe if we signed the players we have now then he would have stayed, id blame the club for having a lack of ambition.

Hopefully we can add to ozil and really make a go at winning things, the 40 million is just the tv money, with the group we have in the champions league and the money for getting to the top 16 is huge, also spurs straightening too, it just has a feel that we're aiming for 4th and just to get out of the group to turn over the all important profit.

But the money wasn't available then at the time to Wenger to sign the players we needed or he wanted but you can be sure Wenger explained to him what the situation was and were he saw the cub going.

Were clearly aiming for fourth, you really think Ozil would have signed unless Wenger hadn't sold him on Arsenal plans for the future? He said one phone call from Wenger persuaded him to join and you can be sure Wenger didn't say yeh lets bring on fourth place ;).

Plus I think ourselves and Spurs can be possibly aiming higher this year, Chelsea baffle me great defence great midfiled but just sent there best CF out on loan and and are incredibly weak up front, the signing of Ozil scared Chelsea enough for them to refuse to loan us Ba.

United's midfield even with the addition of Fellaini is still weak and I don't think Moyes will have the same knack Ferguson did for getting the best out of an average team and grind out results, Young, Valencia,Cleverly etc are no great shakes.

City have a great squad but last season struggled to make it click and it remains to be seen whether Pellegrini can make it happen.

I'm not saying we will win the league, but we certainly have more than enough to really push on and threaten them teams this season I'm already aiming higher than fourth, remember last season we only finished 5 points behind City.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭cathalio11

Honestly, I think Torres and Ba are better than Lukaku.

That's just my opinion but it's even arguable that Ba at Newcastle was more impressive than Lukaku at West Brom.

I'm just nit-picking though. I agree wholly with the above post.

cathalio11 wrote: »
    Honestly, I think Torres and Ba are better than Lukaku.

That's just my opinion but it's even arguable that Ba at Newcastle was more impressive than Lukaku at West Brom.

I'm just nit-picking though. I agree wholly with the above post.

I do like Ba and think he would have been a good addition as back up to Giroud but he is clearly not fancied at Chelsea by Mourinho doubt he will see much game time, Torres well we all know what the deal is with him.

Eto at 32 is not going to be the same player he once was and I don't think playing in Russia for two years will have helped him can he still score goals at a high level remains to be seen.

Lukaku I think should have stayed and will be a great player, I know a few Chelsea fans who were not to happy about the loaning of Lukaku and Torres being kept.

I know a bit ironic questioning Chelsea's striking option when currently we only have 1 we really trust but given there squad depth in defence in midfield and defence the CF position is there weakest and really needed proper strenghtening. I'd have Giroud over Torres anyday.

Anyways enough Chelsea talk :), this is a good read

http://www.vice.com/en_uk/read/the-madness-of-the-transfer-window

Someone might want to update twitter they just sent me this based on me following Ozil :D.

Suggestions based on Mesut Özil

26d278c3acf5f9e68ee75b8da5db4362_reasonably_small.jpeg Xabi Alonso @XabiAlonso Cuenta oficial de Xabi Alonso Followed by Robbie Fowler and 40 others.
    blue_bird.png Follow iql2hfa8kks5q78q4ag3_reasonably_small.jpeg Real Madrid C. F. @realmadrid Cuenta oficial del Real Madrid C.F., ENGLISH @realmadriden, العربيه... Followed by Cristiano Ronaldo and 22 others.
    blue_bird.png Follow coqnl6dutm7w9b9chf4c_reasonably_small.jpeg Real Madrid C.F. @realmadriden Official Twitter account of Real Madrid C.F. ESPAÑOL @realmadrid,... Followed by Jamie Sanderson and 11 others.
    blue_bird.png Follow e0c118387cdf7fc970c39f993886588c_reasonably_small.jpeg Marcelo Vieira @12MarceloV Twitter oficial del jugador del Real Madrid | Official Account | Conta... Followed by Kay Murray and 8 others.
    blue_bird.png Follow d0afaf0b163e7cbe577e5aa91d166b4d_reasonably_small.jpeg Álvaro Morata @AlvaroMorata Jugador del Real Madrid / Instagram: @alvaromorata Followed by Per Mertesacker and 6 others.
    blue_bird.png Follow

• Registered Users Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Throwing it out there

Cesc doesn't start the big games for Barca

Come January or next summer we pounce

Cazorla, Cesc, Özil,

• Registered Users Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭ronjo

Throwing it out there

Cazorla, Cesc, Özil,

With Cazorla and Ozil there he might struggle for our big games too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭richierichballs

Throwing it out there

Cazorla, Cesc, Özil,

Cesc will play alot more this season, sure he played the Xavi role the weekend,
    Xavi didn't even travel with the squad. He's getting old and Tata Martino has been seemingly instructed to try slowly move him out for Cesc.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

We don't need Cesc anymore anyway, we can move on.

Replaced Cesc, replaced Nasri, just need to replace van Persie now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭jonneymendoza

Oranage2 wrote: »
    He did win the league and most likely got a big pay rise, I was p*ssed when he left but the team he played with was muck and all we did was Song chipped the ball to rvp and he scored.

we signed podolski. mertz, girud and cazola whilst RVP was still an arsenal player.

We did actually show ambition but he ****ed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭overpronator

Cesc will play alot more this season, sure he played the Xavi role the weekend,
    Xavi didn't even travel with the squad. He's getting old and Tata Martino has been seemingly instructed to try slowly move him out for Cesc.

I always loved it when Cesc played deeper for us, I think that's his strongest position.