Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - 2013/14 mod warning post#7259

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Fucking Giggs for Fucking Fuck's sake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

im happy enough with it to be honest, considering RVP/Vidic is injured. Fellani for giggs is the only thing that is disappointing, but overall its not terrible.

Jones and Giggs are the liabilities.

Happy to see them in the side tbh just because I figure Jones needs to be played at CB for a few games in a row. Fell's been somewhat dissapointing so Im not sad he's out. Just wish it was Fell for Clev or Ando instead of Giggs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Can we bring Scholes out of retirement again or is that only a once off wildcard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,229 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I'm no fan of Cleverley but give me him over Giggs 1000 times out 1000.

Almost depressing seeing Giggs start. He desperately needs to take a leaf from Neville's book and realise that he's past it and nothing but a hindrance at this stage.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Good idea.

Giving Kagawa and Hernandez a match.

Bad idea.

Giving them a match that Giggs will be supplying them.

Nah, if Giggs is in the squad, this is the type of game he should be playing I guess. Same with Val. A chance for some people to prove themselves though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

J. Marston wrote: »
    I'm no fan of Cleverley but give me him over Giggs 1000 times out 1000.

Almost depressing seeing Giggs start. He desperately needs to take a leaf from Neville's book and realise that he's past it and nothing but a hindrance at this stage.

Thats a bit of a stretch. He is a good squad player just shouldn't be starting big games, of which this, is not one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Annnnnnnnnd yet again Moyes team selection leaves everybody to a man exclaiming "What the ****?"

I look forward to some terrible substitutions just to complete the set.

Seriously, Kagawa on the left again and Giggs in CM? Loada bollox.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Evil Kagawa @evilkagawa 22m
    Shhh, no tell Moyes. I taking mobile telephone on to pitch! I tweet-a-making!

Evil Kagawa @evilkagawa 14m
    Kagawa - 1 minute on pitch...United score goal. Play-a-making!

https://twitter.com/evilkagawa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

United goals are like crack to me, and I am in withdrawal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭alwayssideways

This is painful to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭alwayssideways

This is painful to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Kagawa is so tragically wasted on the left wing. Just take Hernandez off and put Rooney up front ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Lol Giggs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Please start Kagawa vs Stoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

I really want to see how we get on moving away from 4-4-2

Have 3 centre mids, the width come from full backs:

DDG

Raf
    Jones
    Evans
    Evra

Carrick
    Fellaini

Clev/Ando

Rooney
    Kag

RVP

We wouldnt be overrun in midfield this way, have plenty of the ball and the movement and interplay of Rooney and Kag in between the lines would be great to see
    Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

One of if not our best performance this season.

The link up play up front was brilliant Kagawa in there makes such a difference him and Rooney were great even giggs looked good tonight.

Keep it up lads!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Not convincing at all but three points is three points.

Giggs played 90mins? No Fellaini or Adnan.

We started well but dropped off, very frustrating. Rooney looked good. Kagawa's turns were sharp but he was running in from the wing. Val looked poor early on, taking touches with the ball instead of bombing forward but he improved later in the second half and was unlucky not to score or assist.

Smalling for Raf was ok as Raf was on a yellow. Young looked very lively when he came on. Chico looked as isolated as RVP has but Kagawa linked well with Rooney when he went central but it was at the 80min mark. Evra played well too.

A better team could have beat us or at least got a draw. We were hanging on at home.

A good preformance from an Everton mentality. Go ahead and get the win, don't risk it by trying to tear a team apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

7 points from 3 games. I would have snapped that in start of September.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭KH25

Happy with the result but the team just looks so lacklustre. Very little intensity all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Watching that game tonight was painful, the fear factor of playing Manchester Utd is quickly diminishing. Yous look a team void of any cohesian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

1-0 not happy at all. Near totally dominated them for 70/80 mins get an OG to win the match. Hmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Shinji starts again, United perform pretty well, again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

He was good, but not brillant.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Good to get a win,could have had 1 or 2 more goals.

Was happy to see Kagawa playing,he offers far more to the team then Young does,hopefully we will see him start against Stoke at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

David Moyes. Champions League specialist

• Registered Users Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭n32

Good to get a result. Not as bad as the RTE panel are suggesting but not great all the same. Nowhere near enough chances created in the first half and the lack of a 2nd goal gave them encouragement to have a go.

Centre halves did well considering Evra and Rafael were playing as wingers and slow to get back at times. Carrick did a lot of good covering in the first half. Smalling was impressive when he came on , giggs had a good second half. Rooney and Kagawa good link up. Still we re way off where we should be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,833 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Surely there is reason to be happy?

I'd leave Jones and Evans in the middle now

David Moyes. Champions League specialist

Maybe we ll be like Liverpool in 2005, ****e in the league and bluff our way to a CL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,471 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Ronnie Whelan is dying to see United fall apart. Definite feeling amongst the ex Liverpool players on rte that this season is the return of Liverpool to the top with the added bonus of United going to the dogs.

Glazers Out!

°°°°°

n32 wrote: »
    Maybe we ll be like Liverpool in 2005, ****e in the league and bluff our way to a CL

Liverpool had gone a decade and a half without winning their domestic league when they won that final.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Quandary

Not an awful performance but no where near tight enough.

I thought Kagawa came into the game more and more but he badly needs game time.

Rooney was quite good. Valencia was poor as usual. Young wasn't bad when he came on. Giggs had some nice moments but does not belong in midfield for us, never at this age.

Have to say I agree with a fair bit of what the RTE panel are saying about Moyes and his ability to force the glazers to spend the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

dahat wrote: »
    Surely there is reason to be happy?

I'd leave Jones and Evans in the middle now

Getting the three points that is where it ends. To dominate the game the way we did and come away without any of our players getting on the score sheet in my book is seriously wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Onwards and upwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,118 ✭✭✭✭listermint

nullzero wrote: »
    Ronnie Whelan is dying to see United fall apart. Definite feeling amongst the ex Liverpool players on rte that this season is the return of Liverpool to the top with the added bonus of United going to the dogs.

Player's ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I've come to the conclusion that if Kagawa plays, we normally play well.

Carrick Fellaini
    Nani Kagawa Jan
    Rooney

Is what I want to see at the weekend, give RVP a chance to get back fully fit.

He's bitter towards Liverpool too, even worse than this. Not a good pundit tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,833 ✭✭✭✭dahat

user2011 wrote: »
    Getting the three points that is where it ends. To dominate the game the way we did and come away without any of our players getting on the score sheet in my book is seriously wrong.

Ah here,finishing was por but another game we would have gotten 3/4,there is a point where it is being over critical,tonight we created alot and played fairly ok,flash back to saturday,improvement in my eyes.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Not true at all. Whelan was one of LFC's biggest critics when we were doing well when Rafa was in charge. Not once have I heard him say THIS LFC team are the real deal.

°°°°°

Quandary wrote: »
    Not an awful performance but no where near tight enough.

I thought Kagawa came into the game more and more but he badly needs game time.

Rooney was quite good. Valencia was poor as usual. Young wasn't bad when he came on. Giggs had some nice moments but does not belong in midfield for us, never at this age.

Have to say I agree with a fair bit of what the RTE panel are saying about Moyes and his ability to force the glazers to spend the money.

Had we gotten that result under fergie they'd be none of that ****e from the panel. Everyone wants to be able to say they saw United's decline happen before everyone else. Throw in the crew of ex Liverpool pundits on rte and United are in serious crisis.

Glazers Out!

He was good, but not brillant.

You would hardly expect him to be brilliant would you considering his lack of playing time with his teammates and having Giggs on the field (though Giggs did actually have a couple, a couple of good moments)

He was good, he had some sharp turns, should have had a couple of goals but for a lack of confidence imo which would come with games, and a couple of times he could and should have been played in but the player in possession took a shot instead (Rooney at least twice) he should have had an assist or two possibly also.

Bottom line, he is creative and retains possession well and we could do with that even if he was playing from the left until the last ten minutes

°°°°°

Not true at all. Whelan was one of LFC's biggest critics when we were doing well when Rafa was in charge. Not once have I heard him say THIS LFC team are the real deal.

I never said that anybody said anything. I said that there is feeling amongst Ronnie Whelan and his fellow ex Liverpool rte pundits that what I mentioned above will come to pass. Being critical of Liverpool under rafa makes sense, like being critical of United under Atkinson, if a manager is doing badly they deserve criticism, And yes moyes deserves criticism too.

Glazers Out!

Had we gotten that result under fergie they'd be none of that ****e from the panel. Everyone wants to be able to say they saw United's decline happen before everyone else. Their in the corralled of ex Liverpool pundits on rte and United are in serious crisis.

In serious though how would that squad have faired in group f, g or h.

Fair question that iv asked previously where is the money, is there money to spend, will there be money.

The dogs on the street can see that assets will be needed to spur on the season and next season. Not to be a doom gloom merchant or anything but it's a legit question.

°°°°°

listermint wrote: »

Fair question that iv asked previously where is the money, is there money to spend, will there be money.

The dogs on the street can see that assets will be needed to spur on the season and next season. Not to be a doom gloom merchant or anything but it's a legit question.

I agree. I just feel that the rte panel are indulging in a spot of doom and gloom of their own which in part is also a bit of triumphalism in seeing United begin to fail.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Anybody think the Fergie book will be available from 12pm on Kindle or will we have to wait until the morning?

°°°°°

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Anybody think the Fergie book will be available from 12pm on Kindle or will we have to wait until the morning?

There's a midnight book burning in easons in cork

Glazers Out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

Just reading some of the comments Ferguson has in his book about Keane
    Savage stuff !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

1st , 2nd , 3rd or 4th

I agree. I just feel that the rte panel are indulging in a spot of doom and gloom of they own which in part is also a bit of triumphalism in seeing United begin to fail.

Giles played at United and sure dunphy hates everything and everyone. But I have get your point.

I suppose cut back all the ****e talk and there's some legitimate questions behind the jazz.

All part of the drama of football really

You have also been answered about the money but since you have just ignored any response and ploughed ahead repeating yourself you hardly expect people to try to reason with you on it?

You have no idea how the team would have fared in any other group, neither does anybody else. The squad improved this season with the addition of Fellaini, not exactly a shout it from the roof tops signing, but an undoubted improvement on the midfield options in the squad.

The squad is strong, the squad is full of quality and potential. Getting the best out of them is up to the manager, and individual players need to look at themselves also and wonder why they have been underperforming thus far. Investment is needed, and was given and more will have to be given due to years of neglect from the previous regime.

We need two quality midfielders still imo, Carrick can go for a few more years I think but wouldn't it be nice if he could be replaced while he is still at the club to provide relief etc

In all fairness nobody can answer that question with any certainty. We can only beat whoever is put in front of us and thus far we ve done what was asked of us. The performances havent been great but at least we ve got 7 from 9 without playing well. Leverkusen was a good result, SHakhtar away is a good point for anyone and we should have had 3 or 4 tonight.