Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - 2013/14 mod warning post#7259

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Entire match ? He only played 15 mins today

Meant his entire match,if I spent 15 minutes standing around the halfway line on a Sunday morning I'd be dragged off the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Screen-shot-2013-10-26-at-22.50.39.png

Screen-shot-2013-10-26-at-22.49.59.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

35m? Chelsea can **** right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I hope that's plus Mata

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

zerks wrote: »
    The Daily Mail Match Zone is great for stats,heat maps etc. Very thorough.

The heat map for Valencia shows how little attacking he did today,the majority of his positioning was just inside his own half.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/matchzone/index.html#s2013-c8-m694985

The most striking thing there is that we attempted 39 crosses today and only completed 4 of them. Stoke attempted 12 and completed 6.

I know we won, but crossing against Stoke doesn't seem like the best plan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Rooney is not going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,386 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

The most striking thing there is that we attempted 39 crosses today and only completed 4 of them. Stoke attempted 12 and completed 6.

I know we won, but crossing against Stoke doesn't seem like the best plan.
    crossing is the only plan we have had all season - and if Baines is still his number 1 target its only going to become more prominent.

Really not happy with the attacking 'style' Moyes is focusing on.

crossing is the only plan we have had all season - and if Baines is still his number 1 target its only going to become more prominent.

This

Unless you have an abundance of exceptional crossers and then somebody to finish them off, it's really just a lazy "style" to play, almost the easy way out, break you down? Nah we'll just give it out to Valenicia/whoever to launch it in and hope for the best.

RVP is too good for that and we should be set up to get the ball to his feet in a shooting position.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

35m? Chelsea can **** right off.

If Rooney hasn't signed a new contract and actively pushes a move, then I think we'll be lucky to get that much tbh. How long has he left on his contract now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

If Rooney hasn't signed a new contract and actively pushes a move, then I think we'll be lucky to get that much tbh. How long has he left on his contract now?

Think it runs out the year after this. I'd love to get him to sign another one and that doesn't seem to unlikely now, he seems happy enough at the club.

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭F.J.

He will have 18 months left on his contract in January.Apparently he is looking for increased terms on a new contract.
    http://dlvr.it/4CWKmB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,233 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Robson99 wrote: »
    Mata is very attainable IMO and would have no trouble performing at Manu.

The reason I highlighted midfield was because if you think Nani is irreplaceable well how do you think we will improve that position.

This is Man Utd we are on about. If you want us to compete at the top level the money has to be spent to bring in World Class players which we require 3 or 4 of at the moment

Just readingnthrough the thread and spotted this post..

What united fans calls our team manu??are you aware that is a term used by certain rivals that deathmock the munich crash? I am being deadly serious by the way i hate abyone calling us manu.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Just readingnthrough the thread and spotted this post..

What united fans calls our team manu??are you aware that is a term used by certain rivals that deathmock the munich crash? I am being deadly serious by the way i hate abyone calling us manu.........

That manu thing is one of THE most childish and ridiculous things I have ever seen. I'm pretty sure a few of the Pro Evo games called us Man U. Did ye send Konami a strongly worded letter due to that?

Cowboys Ted, a Bunch of Cowboys. Its a disgrace Joe.. etc etc etc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Winston Payne

It's a complete myth that Man.U is a term used to mock Munich. Our own supporters were using it for years before it gained any connotations with the disaster. It still irritates the hell out of me. Man.Utd or MU. Man U is a nothing.

Myth?? You choose to believe it was never used as a deathmocking tool while i believe it was. I am sure i seen a video clip of a certain group of fans walking by united fans singinging manu manu birrrrrrrrrr crash doing tge airplane gesture

Cant find the clip on youtube prob taken down but it was a youtube video on facebook the wife remembers it too btw

• Registered Users Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Winston Payne

Myth?? You choose to believe it was never used as a deathmocking tool while i believe it was. I am sure i seen a video clip of a certain group of fans walking by united fans singinging manu manu birrrrrrrrrr crash doing tge airplane gesture
    That's great. It's also completely unrelated to what I just said. That doesn't even rhyme. I mean, what?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

I'm going to have to put more effort in to remember to refer to the team as "Man U" in future. Although that isolated, capitalised "U" puts me on edge, grammatically.

Timmyctc wrote: »
    That manu thing is one of THE most childish and ridiculous things I have ever seen. I'm pretty sure a few of the Pro Evo games called us Man U. Did ye send Konami a strongly worded letter due to that?

Cowboys Ted, a Bunch of Cowboys. Its a disgrace Joe.. etc etc etc

Damn Japanese slagging our club

Cant find the clip on youtube prob taken down but it was a youtube video on facebook the wife remembers it too btw

Who cares what they do, they're generally scum of the earth who haven't got anywhere in life so take pride in going to football matches and slagging off dead people.

Ignore them and let them live their meaningless lives.

Every football club has people like that and they're best ignored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Is the January transfer window rumour mill seriously spinning up already?

That's great. It's also completely unrelated to what I just said. That doesn't even rhyme. I mean, what?

Think we have crossed wires tbh lol

Just seen it and it wasnt a chant in that video certain fans (take a wild guess) being escorted past united fans and they were shouting manu manu and doing airplane gestures and gesturing crashing. Its disgusting really think after seeing that clip and reading about manu munich relation everytime i see someone say manu i see red

OctavarIan wrote: »
    Is the January transfer window rumour mill seriously spinning up already?

We are in for ronaldo bale benteke mata lewandowski di maria etc etc etc ffs lol

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

I think since the beckham era utd have focused on this part of the game a lot more than a lot of the bigger teams domestically and in particular in europe. In fairness its been successful. The likes of city and chelsea have the intricate players in their squad to come through the middle apart from kagawa(who wont be picked in his preferred position) and maybe janujaz Utd dont really have these players. Hence ferguson relying on young, nani, valencia in recent years with rafael and evra offering further attacking threat particularly since last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

You're all irish, talking about a club from Manchester. It's embarressing. Sky sports FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Wow, well this awkward, Vinyljunkie. It appears that you didn't realise that you were on the Manchester United thread in the soccer forum. Easy mistake to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Was watching YouTube clips from 4-5 years ago. The speed and fluidity of the football back then is worlds apart from how we're playing right now. Apart from that one counter attack in the win against Leverkusen I can't think of anything like it so far this season.

Wow, well this awkward, Vinyljunkie. It appears that you didn't realise that you were on the Manchester United thread in the soccer forum. Easy mistake to make.

Tis my friend

Still though a nuggat of truth ever now an then will help the barstoolers see the light.

The last lad there, watching youtube clips, haha get a grip.

Vinyljunkie if you dont like it off you go son get on your bike...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Still though a nuggat of truth ever now an then will help the barstoolers see the light.
    Someone's been on the barstool tonight...

Yeow *pedal *pedal *pedal down to watch actual football

Someone's been on the barstool tonight...

Tonight? Maybe, actually no, I can't afford it, I spent all my money travelling the country watching football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

What an awesome turn this thread took.

VJ, I've been down that road on this forum. Good luck with it.

You have longer travels next season eh?

What an awesome turn this thread took.

I bid you a good night gents. I hope Mr.United provides you a bundle of joys.

And yes I do, Discover Ireland league again awaits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Technophobe

You're all irish, talking about a club from Manchester. It's embarressing. Sky sports FTW

After Hours forum is that way->

One last point before I go. It is very funny listening to the lads who seen 20 uears of glory, grew up with glory, sang glory glroy, go through 6 weeks of average an complain about the manager. Haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

And yes I do, Discover Ireland league again awaits.

You're a crap DJ.

Look at them all, watching the queens football, disgraceful Joe.

Keno wrote: »
    You're a crap DJ.
    Haha

One last point before I go. It is very funny listening to the lads who seen 20 uears of glory, grew up with glory, sang glory glroy, go through 6 weeks of average an complain about the manager. Haha.
    it's weird that you pick the Man U thread to do this on.

Why not the Pool, Celtic, Villa, Man C, Arsenal threads.

Had you a prior soft spot for United?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭collie0708

Man united fans being slagged of by someone that follows league of Ireland and seems to spend the rest of their life playing grand theft auto......:rolleyes::rolleyes:

HAHAHA the sky sports generation.

Tonight? Maybe, actually no, I can't afford it, I spent all my money travelling the country watching football.

What a waste of money...

collie0708 wrote: »
    Man united fans being slagged of by someone that follows league of Ireland and seems to spend the rest of their life playing grand theft auto......:rolleyes::rolleyes:

having a pop at the LoI is big and clever, well done

"He started it". Cool.

What a waste of money...

Watching Manu at the moment isn't much better tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭F.J.

Didn't the League of Ireland season finish last night for most teams?Only cup final and relegation/promotion play off left.If you went to games that would be something you know

collie0708 wrote: »
    Haha good one, read the previous 100 posts.

What a waste of money...
    How much u pay per united game?