Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Astro turf league, players needed.

• 03-09-2013 6:01pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The team I play for needs a couple of players for the night owls league, particularly a keeper. Matches are once a week on either Tuesday or Wednesday evenings, 30mins-a-side. We're having a kick-about this evening at 8pm if anyone wants to come up to Scanlon park.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 cathal82

Im interested in playing but only for a bit of crack not serious.. I aint played for a good few years and im not fit or anything near it.. How serious is this team ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Also this^

• Registered Users Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

only saw the message there now , would have dropped over otherwise.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

We're up again same time next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭king size mars bar

When does it start?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Our first match is on the 17th.

will try and get over next week so.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Doff

Are you not playing in the division 2/3 cup next week?

Doff wrote: »
    Are you not playing in the division 2/3 cup next week?

Cock, we're playing Wednesday. Pretty sure we're still meeting on Tuesday, I'll update here over the weekend if anything changes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Green Brigade

Captain Ok to tag along tomorrow? Or have ya reached your quota?

Training is off tomorrow, does anyone want to play a few minutes on Wednesday in the 2/3 cup. Also could you give me an indication of positions? Cathal, I assume that was you there last week?

Hi ye that was my post from last week, im good for wednesday night.. What time is kick off ??

cathal82 wrote: »
    Hi ye that was my post from last week, im good for wednesday night.. What time is kick off ??

Not sure, they've two games fixed for 8.30pm in the Loretto. We usually meet half an hour or so before kick-off. Loretto is here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Green Brigade

Training is off tomorrow, does anyone want to play a few minutes on Wednesday in the 2/3 cup. Also could you give me an indication of positions? Cathal, I assume that was you there last week?

Id play if ya want? Play anywhere :D. Do ye all wear shorts, the burn? Who would I look out for if I go? Thanks.

Shorts and astro-runners. Just ask one team if their the Brógmaker, if so ask for Captain Havoc, if not go to the other team and ask for Captain Havoc.

Our match is definitely 8.30, the other match was moved. See ye there.

i wont be there, i have to work wednesdays from half 4 onwards but would be available on tuesday nights.

Hi what the story for tomrw night?? Is it training or match?? I got no text but presume that its still on.. Cheers Cathal

cathal82 wrote: »
    Hi what the story for tomrw night?? Is it training or match?? I got no text but presume that its still on.. Cheers Cathal

6.30pm in Loretto. Everyone welcome, particularly keepers.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 3ryan

Hi Captain,

I have recently returned to Kilkenny after a few years working in Dublin. Use to play in the league when I worked in Kilkenny and I am looking to join back up with a team. A friend of mine mentioned this post to me yesterday. Just wondering if ye still need extra players?

Thanks,

3ryan wrote: »
    Hi Captain,

I have recently returned to Kilkenny after a few years working in Dublin. Use to play in the league when I worked in Kilkenny and I am looking to join back up with a team. A friend of mine mentioned this post to me yesterday. Just wondering if ye still need extra players?

Thanks,

Yeah, we could do with one or two more, we're nearly there though, you shouldn't have much hassle pushing me off the starting the line up :pac: Being honest, it's hit and miss, some matches 15 can show up and some weeks we scrape 11, depending on lads working.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

How are ye getting on? Is Captain winning matches?

ft9 wrote: »
    How are ye getting on? Is Captain winning matches?

No, we lost our first match in the Div 2/3 cup to a team that just got relegated from Div 1 and we lost last night 2-0 in our first league encounter. We threw Cathal up front for the last few mins trying to equalise when the second went in and the first was a cracker. Quite a few new players so trying to gel.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 3ryan

Yeah, we could do with one or two more, we're nearly there though, you shouldn't have much hassle pushing me off the starting the line up :pac: Being honest, it's hit and miss, some matches 15 can show up and some weeks we scrape 11, depending on lads working.

Sounds like a regular night-owls team then! Ah I wouldn't be confident of pushing anyone off of the team - its really only a bit of craic and a run around anyway in my opinion.

Sure maybe let me know before the next game if ye are stuck for players or not. Do ye have a weekly "training session" or anything?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭ayatollah

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057072712

hey lads if any of ye fancy a kick about tonight or any thursday. please give me a shout.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭ayatollah