Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

People who use words they don't understand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

How is trowing "essentially" into a sentence intelligent sounding?

I don't know, but he is one of those people who tries to make out that he's very smart. Even by the way he says it.. "essentially what we have here is..." you can tell that he thinks he sounds really intelligent.

Hasn't a clue what he's on about most of the time. Such an annoying person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

wil wrote: »
    People who dont swear properly, ffs

Nothing hard in saying "I swear to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the tuth, so help me.." :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Never use the word 'executed' on a resume or cover letter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

People who use the term "Quantum leap" to describe a huge change of opinion or direction.

I reality, quantum physics deal with the smallest measurable occurences that take place within an atom.

Also, do those who seek "fulsome apologies" really know what they're asking for ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I don't know, but he is one of those people who tries to make out that he's very smart. Even by the way he says it.. "essentially what we have here is..." you can tell that he thinks he sounds really intelligent.

Hasn't a clue what he's on about most of the time. Such an annoying person.

Christ, sometimes I use that as well just as filler or an alternative to "Basically". Sh!t, I must be p!ssing off a lot of my workmates...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Getting ate alive by midgets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Christ, sometimes I use that as well just as filler or an alternative to "Basically". Sh!t, I must be p!ssing off a lot of my workmates...

Ah here, it's okay to use it the odd time. Just don't say it in every feckin sentence like this guy does. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Getting ate alive by midgets.

Yeah, their tiny teeth can leave some nasty bites alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Ah here, it's okay to use it the odd time. Just don't say it in every feckin sentence like this guy does. ;)

Phew...I thought you might have been one of my workmates. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Que someone saying something about being in a que. People get that wrong alot.

Cue, queue, a lot. It's not that hard.

I have a frenemy who'll tell you that she's not being faeces-ious. She doesn't know what facetious means either though, so I make allowances. :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Candie wrote: »
    Que someone saying something about being in a que. People get that wrong alot.

Cue, queue, a lot. It's not that hard.

I have a frenemy who'll tell you that she's not being faeces-ious. She doesn't know what facetious means either though, so I make allowances. :)

their theyre dont loose yourself now.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

The last time I said "I resemble that remark", this is the reply I got:
    *snigger* I think you mean "resent", not resemble...

Go back to the great unwashed whence you oozed, you illiterate sod. You caused a bon mot to be wasted by not announcing yourself as an uncultured swine.

I just remember the guy who told me that other people looked up to him, because of how articulated he was.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Anyone who uses the word "revert" when they actually mean "reply".

That makes baby jesus (and me) cry.
    I usually ask people would they like me to restore last week's backup over their existing files

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Exactly. Its you and ME. Just because theres more than one person involved doesnt mean the dative case goes out the window. Jesus alive I hate those people.

My friend corrected me on facebook recently and said "its you and I" and then informed me that she is a 'grammer' nazi and wants to do English in 'collage'. She is 19.

That one really annoys me alright. Not much worse than a grammar Nazi who doesn't have a clue what they're talking about.

My friend corrected me on facebook recently and said "its you and I" and then informed me that she is a 'grammer' nazi and wants to do English in 'collage'. She is 19.

I mentioned this in the 'Trivial things...' thread.

I saw a guy mention that a girl he knew was 'defiantly in my collage'.

Seldom is there such opposition to being in composite art.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭BQQ

At 1:06, Webb says "wrong" instead of "wrongly" and he didn't get shot :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

"karma"

3 threads in 2 days.

(maybe they'll get it right next time round.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Maybe slightly off thread but I think this goes here nicely. See how many 'native' English speakers who insist they have a good grasp of the language make their way through this without any mistakes
    Dearest creature in creation
    Studying English pronunciation,
    I will teach you in my verse
    Sounds like corpse, corps, horse and worse
    I will keep you, Susy, busy,
    Make your head with heat grow dizzy.
    Tear in eye your dress you'll tear,
    So shall I! Oh, hear my prayer,
    Pray, console your loving poet,
    Make my coat look new, dear, sew it!
    Just compare heart, beard and heard,
    Dies and diet, lord and word,
    Sword and sward, retain and Britain.
    (Mind the latter, how it's written).
    Made has not the sound of bade,
    Say said, pay-paid, laid, but plaid.
    Now I surely will not plague you
    With such words as vague and ague,
    But be careful how you speak,
    Say break, steak, but bleak and streak.
    Previous, precious, fuchsia, via,
    Pipe, snipe, recipe and choir,
    Cloven, oven, how and low,
    Script, receipt, shoe, poem, toe.
    Hear me say, devoid of trickery:
    Daughter, laughter and Terpsichore,
    Typhoid, measles, topsails, aisles.
    Exiles, similes, reviles.
    Wholly, holly, signal, signing.
    Thames, examining, combining
    Scholar, vicar, and cigar,
    Solar, mica, war, and far.
    From "desire": desirable--admirable from "admire."
    Lumber, plumber, bier, but brier.
    Chatham, brougham, renown, but known.
    Knowledge, done, but gone and tone,
    One, anemone. Balmoral.
    Kitchen, lichen, laundry, laurel,
    Gertrude, German, wind, and mind.
    Scene, Melpomene, mankind,
    Tortoise, turquoise, chamois-leather,
    Reading, reading, heathen, heather.
    This phonetic labyrinth
    Gives moss, gross, brook, brooch, ninth, plinth.
    Billet does not end like ballet;
    Bouquet, wallet, mallet, chalet;
    Blood and flood are not like food,
    Nor is mould like should and would.
    Banquet is not nearly parquet,
    Which is said to rime with "darky."
    Viscous, Viscount, load, and broad.
    Toward, to forward, to reward.
    And your pronunciation's O.K.,
    When you say correctly: croquet.
    Rounded, wounded, grieve, and sieve,
    Friend and fiend, alive, and live,
    Liberty, library, heave, and heaven,
    Rachel, ache, moustache, eleven,
    We say hallowed, but allowed,
    People, leopard, towed, but vowed.
    Mark the difference, moreover,
    Between mover, plover, Dover,
    Leeches, breeches, wise, precise,
    Chalice, but police, and lice.
    Camel, constable, unstable,
    Principle, disciple, label,
    Petal, penal, and canal,
    Wait, surmise, plait, promise, pal.
    Suit, suite, ruin, circuit, conduit,
    Rime with "shirk it" and "beyond it."
    But it is not hard to tell,
    Why it's pall, mall, but Pall Mall.
    Muscle, muscular, gaol, iron,
    Timber, climber, bullion, lion,
    Worm and storm, chaise, chaos, and chair,
    Senator, spectator, mayor,
    Ivy, privy, famous, clamour
    And enamour rime with hammer.
    Pussy, hussy, and possess,
    Desert, but dessert, address.
    Golf, wolf, countenance, lieutenants.
    Hoist, in lieu of flags, left pennants.
    River, rival, tomb, bomb, comb,
    Doll and roll and some and home.
    Stranger does not rime with anger.
    Neither does devour with clangour.
    Soul, but foul and gaunt but aunt.
    Font, front, won't, want, grand, and grant.
    Shoes, goes, does. Now first say: finger.
    And then: singer, ginger, linger,
    Real, zeal, mauve, gauze, and gauge,
    Marriage, foliage, mirage, age.
    Query does not rime with very,
    Nor does fury sound like bury.
    Dost, lost, post; and doth, cloth, loth;
    Job, Job; blossom, bosom, oath.
    Though the difference seems little,
    We say actual, but victual.
    Seat, sweat; chaste, caste.; Leigh, eight, height;
    Put, nut; granite, and unite.
    Reefer does not rime with deafer,
    Feoffer does, and zephyr, heifer.
    Dull, bull, Geoffrey, George, ate, late,
    Hint, pint, Senate, but sedate.
    Scenic, Arabic, Pacific,
    Science, conscience, scientific,
    Tour, but our and succour, four,
    Gas, alas, and Arkansas.
    Sea, idea, guinea, area,
    Psalm, Maria, but malaria,
    Youth, south, southern, cleanse and clean,
    Doctrine, turpentine, marine.
    Compare alien with Italian,
    Dandelion with battalion.
    Sally with ally, yea, ye,
    Eye, I, ay, aye, whey, key, quay.
    Say aver, but ever, fever.
    Neither, leisure, skein, receiver.
    Never guess--it is not safe:
    We say calves, valves, half, but Ralph.
    Heron, granary, canary,
    Crevice and device, and eyrie,
    Face but preface, but efface,
    Phlegm, phlegmatic, ass, glass, bass.
    Large, but target, gin, give, verging,
    Ought, out, joust, and scour, but scourging,
    Ear but earn, and wear and bear
    Do not rime with here, but ere.
    Seven is right, but so is even,
    Hyphen, roughen, nephew, Stephen,
    Monkey, donkey, clerk, and jerk,
    Asp, grasp, wasp, and cork and work.
    Pronunciation--think of psyche--!
    Is a paling, stout and spikey,
    Won't it make you lose your wits,
    Writing "groats" and saying "grits"?
    It's a dark abyss or tunnel,
    Strewn with stones, like rowlock, gunwale,
    Islington and Isle of Wight,
    Housewife, verdict, and indict!
    Don't you think so, reader, rather,
    Saying lather, bather, father?
    Finally: which rimes with "enough"
    Though, through, plough, cough, hough, or tough?
    Hiccough has the sound of "cup."
    My advice is--give it up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

Was on facebook earlier and an animal rescue place said that they were in on dated with calls at the minute, sneaking suspicion that they meant inundated :pac: I've also seen three separate people say the word roll when they meant role, one was a job advertisement, needless to say I didn't apply for the roll they were looking to fill :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

My Nan told me her neighbour had been 'persecuted' by the Guards for having no Car Tax,.Also the Supermarket "does be 'chop' a block on a Friday".

"he was talking to you and I"
    "the most important tenants of religion"
    "i didn't illicit any signs of distress"
    "I'm nauseous"
    "what are you inferring by that statement?
    "Poor concentration is exasperated by tiredness".

Some not exactly what the OP is talking about but they are bloody annoying.

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/nauseous?s=t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Barrel

Anybody who says "Stop patronizing me" ...

I look down on those childish people as inferior and treat condescendingly

:pac: :pac: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Barrel wrote: »
    Anybody who says "Stop patronizing me" ...

I look down on those childish people as inferior and treat condescendingly

:pac: :pac: :pac:

My favorite response to that is (if they use the english pronunciation) to say : you mean patronising (American pronunciation)?

And vice versa....

Not everyone thinks it's quite so funny though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,813 ✭✭✭take everything

"i'm pretty reticent to do that".
    Grrrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

A friend posted on facebook that he wasn't sure his engineering job was working out so he "might go back to collage". A great barrage of genuine replies to the effect of "you're into art?" ,"what sort of collage do you do?" ensued.
    I found it funny anyway.

Another more recent ,a neighbour with a scratch on her face who said she got it while her husband was SQUATTING a fly off her nose. He scratched her with his ring apparently.
    And she said squatting several times so I didn't just mishear. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Lapin wrote: »
    People who use the term "Quantum leap" to describe a huge change of opinion or direction.

I reality, quantum physics deal with the smallest measurable occurences that take place within an atom.

Also, do those who seek "fulsome apologies" really know what they're asking for ?

The word quantum existed before quantum physics and one of it's meanings "sudden and signficiant": http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/quantum?s=t

Also, fulsome can mean "abundant or copious": http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/fulsome?s=t

So I'm afraid you're wrong on both counts.

Another more recent ,a neighbour with a scratch on her face who said she got it while her husband was SQUATTING a fly off her nose. He scratched her with his ring apparently.
    And she said squatting several times so I didn't just mishear. :)

LOL. Classic. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Maybe slightly different, but one guy I used to work with wrote in an evaluation of an employee that her comments in problem-solving activities were 'helpful and inciteful.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,813 ✭✭✭take everything

BQQ wrote: »

Yeah, another case of improper use of a word being accepted generally.
    Like the case made for "literally" becoming accepted as "figuratively".

Hence why he said that.

Arrrgh! NO! :mad:

Yeah? :rolleyes:
    Usage note
    The two literal senses of nauseous, “causing nausea” ( a nauseous smell ) and “affected with nausea” ( to feel nauseous ), appear in English at almost the same time in the early 17th century, and both senses are in standard use at the present time. Nauseous is more common than nauseated in the sense “affected with nausea,” despite recent objections by those who imagine the sense to be new. In the sense “causing nausea,” either literally or figuratively, nauseating has become more common than nauseous : a nauseating smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

Was on facebook earlier and an animal rescue place said that they were in on dated with calls at the minute, sneaking suspicion that they meant inundated :pac: I've also seen three separate people say the word roll when they meant role, one was a job advertisement, needless to say I didn't apply for the roll they were looking to fill :D

Was it for a job in Subway? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

When people say mixture instead of combination.

A sedentary lifestyle, unhealthy diet or mixture of the two...

A sedentary lifestyle, unhealthy diet or combination of the two... ✔

When people say amount instead of number.

The amount of times I've been in the city centre when...

The number of times I've been in the city centre when...✔

****ING BRAIN DEAD ASSHOLES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Prodgey wrote: »
    A lot of people try to look smarter than they are by using big words, some of which they don't actually understand, and hope they work in the context.

is it possible that you suffer from sesquipeliaphobia?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

BQQ wrote: »
    Yeah? :rolleyes:
    Indeed. I suspect the "nausea/nauseated" one comes to us very recently from that Big Bang Theory programme. I seem to recall the "let's laugh at the high functioning autistic" Sheldon character corrected one of the other characters for it.

I actually had a windowlicker of the Sheldonesque variety call me out on this very thing a while back in the middle of a conversation that didn't involve him directly. I replied with "is the following sentence grammatically correct? fúck off, you thundering gobshíte". Apparently it is. Grammar nazis. Jesus, get a bloody life.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Site Banned Posts: 12 Shorc

Literally has recently been redefined and expanded to include non-literal meanings. I know!

Can't add much more to this at the moment as I'm using an iPhone but a quick google should yield confirmation of same. Heard this being discussed recently on a radio programme.

That's bollocks, why should the English language be changed to allow for idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Shorc wrote: »
    That's bollocks, why should the English language be changed to allow for idiots.

Languages change constantly. Isn't it only dead languages that don't change?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

favourite (2nd hand) malaprop. It could be a suburban myth, but I don't care.

"She had the house done up lovely - a dildo rail the length of the hall."

• Site Banned Posts: 12 Shorc

If literally means figuratively or non literally what da fuq means literally?

Wibbs wrote: »
    Indeed. I suspect the "nausea/nauseated" one comes to us very recently from that Big Bang Theory programme. I seem to recall the "let's laugh at the high functioning autistic" Sheldon character corrected one of the other characters for it.

I actually had a windowlicker of the Sheldonesque variety call me out on this very thing a while back in the middle of a conversation that didn't involve him directly. I replied with "is the following sentence grammatically correct? fúck off, you thundering gobshíte". Apparently it is. Grammar nazis. Jesus, get a bloody life.

Is that detail crucial or are you adding it epexegetically?*

*A prize for anybody who gets the reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

Languages change constantly. Isn't it only dead languages that don't change?

At the same time, a language is a standard of communication. If the standard changes too much, it's no longer a standard - nor a language - and it becomes a hinderance to understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Nothing hard in saying "I swear to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the tuth, so help me.." :confused:
    unless you're Jonathan Ross:D

No I literally didnt mean literally, more in the sense of bad language, no not grammar, you know dirty words, no not hygiene, you know what I mean ffs.
    OK using swear words, four letter words for no other reason than having them in the sentence, not for humour, emphasis, anger or any reason, or simply using them in completely wrong context.
    Well but in exactly not the same way this isn't, just to be clear:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Bought a new thesaurus today. Nothing to write house about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

osarusan wrote: »
    Is that detail crucial or are you adding it epexegetically?*

*A prize for anybody who gets the reference.
    I think you may have forgotten to explain that:D

Gotta be the word of the century, but no, I give up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Muise... wrote: »
    favourite (2nd hand) malaprop. It could be a suburban myth, but I don't care.

"She had the house done up lovely - a dildo rail the length of the hall."

They'll be nice and tidy then, don't want to be tripping over them in the hall. ;)

wil wrote: »
    I think you may have forgotten to explain that:D

Gotta be the word of the century, but no, I give up.

It'll take a few minutes, but the answer is here.

That link opens a word.doc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭xgwishyx

One word.

eXpresso

*shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

M5 wrote: »
    Bought a new thesaurus today. Nothing to write house about!

Bought one myself. It's really, really, really good.