Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A small island no one pays any attention to

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

well it's pretty hard to agree that no one pays any attention to them since the irish never bloody shut up about them

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

What does that make us then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Isn't English the 3rd most spoken language in the world?

And is the official language of airline industries?

That's important enough.

Someone, somewhere took notice of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Isn't English the second most spoken language in the world?

That's important enough.

You understand that a language isn't a country, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

As opposed to a large landmass sparsely populated by bears and vodka fuelled drunks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Anyone wrote: »
    You understand that a language isn't a country, right?

What?

You do understand which country the actual English language comes from, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

It is a small island, globally speaking. It's the same size as Madagascar. Ireland is tiny. There are uninhabited Canadian islands bigger than Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Vlad doesnt watch cable news does he?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

The UK has a presence in all oceans

• Registered Users Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

How long before this thread turns into another Ireland bashing one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

International bogeyman makes wild and untrue allegations about the green and pleasant land. It's like all your Christmases coming at once for the Daily Mail.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

'Britain is an island that helped to abolish slavery, that has invented most of the things worth inventing, including every sport currently played around the world, that still today is responsible for art, literature and music that delights the entire world.
    'We are very proud of everything we do as a small island - a small island that has the sixth-largest economy, the fourth best-funded military, some of the most effective diplomats, the proudest history, one of the best records for art and literature and contribution to philosophy and world civilisation.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2413595/David-Cameron-hits-Russias-gibe-Britain-just-small-island-pays-attention-to.html#ixzz2e7cfHnQL
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

Oh puke. Could he not just have called the comment for the immature jibe that it was without wetting himself in an outburst of jingoistic, imperialist b*llocks. The Tories really are an insufferable shower of bastards when they get going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭theGEM

Britain dosn't even lift brah

• Registered Users Posts: 16,555 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yes Britain fought the good fight during WW 2 but they shouldn't be proud of all their history.

They butchered and enslaved the native peoples in most of the countries they claimed ownership of and made millions in todays money from the natural resources they found there.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I would have gone with Malta.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

It's a load of rubbish. The UK has contributed much more to world history (positive and negative) than Russia has.

It terms of cultural significance, it's been miles ahead. The UK has 6 times as many Nobel Prize winners despite having half the population.

Militarily these days, the UK might be fairly insignificant, but in terms of international commerce and culture, it's still very significant.

That said, it is pretty hilarious. Putin is a cracking troll. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

"has invented most of the things worth inventing, including every sport currently played around the world"

Ara come on now Mister Cameron...shur did ye invent de hurlin' aswell?

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

Well seeing that Britain has a bigger economy than Russia which is political penis size, I think the British politicians will sleep easy tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Putin and russia the land that gave us vodka and, and, sh1t im struggling here, ah...oh yeah LADA's. right on mother russia.....

oh yeah and this guy, up there with John Lennon and Elton John for artistic merit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Very funny Vlad, wait til we ****ing nuke you you commie bastard, you won't think we're insignificant then.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,219 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

This is what got me
    It also emerged that a report prepared by US spy chiefs concluded that Syria possesses a 'longstanding biological weapons program', on top of chemical weapons, and may have access to anthrax, camelpox and cowpox.

WTF? Isn't cowpox used to innoculate against smallpox?

• Registered Users Posts: 34,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Very funny Vlad, wait til we ****ing nuke you you commie bastard, you won't think we're insignificant then.

Go to this website, put London as the main target, select the Russian 'Tsar Bomba' and see what happens.

http://nuclearsecrecy.com/nukemap/

Doesn't take too many to cover the whole UK, does it?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Grayson wrote: »
    WTF? Isn't cowpox used to innoculate against smallpox?

Yeah, it can be mutated into smallpox though I believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,657 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Real pot kettle black situation here.

Putin throwing his toys out of the pram becuase America has stopped taking it seriously as a 'superpower'....

No amount of poncing about barechested on horseback, shooting at endangered animals will change the fact that Russia is a spent force and a backwards non-democracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Tombo2001 wrote: »

No amount of poncing about barechested on horseback, shooting at endangered animals will change the fact that Russia is a spent force and a backwards non-democracy.

A spent force with the ability to destroy the entire world and which recently put paid to any attempts by NATO to expand east.

As Tony Soprano said; "don't f*ck with the Russians Janice."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Yeah, I would be surprised if support on here comes down on the side of the Russians; given the sheer vast amount of Irish people who have gone over to Russia and made it there home.
    Not to mention our deep cultural ties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Cameron claiming the Brits invented the internet

I thought that was Al Gore :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,657 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

FTA69 wrote: »
    A spent force with the ability to destroy the entire world and which recently put paid to any attempts by NATO to expand east.

As Tony Soprano said; "don't f*ck with the Russians Janice."

Its a pathetic country. Biggest rich poor divide in the world. Russian billionaires siphering money out of the country any which way they can, ironically what do they do with the money only buy up half of London. More corrupt than any other large nation in the world. They have massive natural resources that are being pissed away.

And yet the average joe soap there hasnt a bean. Nobody can retire in Russia, any pensions they had from the soviet years have been blown to bits and people work til they drop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭ONeill2013

Isn't English the 3rd most spoken language in the world?

That's important enough.

Someone, somewhere took notice of them.

but isn't it a germanic language?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,555 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

"We"

I take it you must be British and talking about Britain, otherwise I doubt Dublin will be nuking anyone anytime soon.