Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Super Dad

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,927 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Stay at home Dads often hide their hangups though. The traditional roles reversed, no matter how progressive and forward thinking we think we are in this country they'll still laugh at you down in the pub on a Saturday night.

Males more than anything crave the respect and acceptance of other males.

No they won't....2 of the fathers at my young ones school are stay at home dads (no work in construction). They go for a few pints most saturday nights and i've never heard a single person mention the fact that they stay at home.

Also, one of them has 2 girls - both the girls rode bikes before anyone else in the class, they both are on local gaa under age teams (a year above their ages), and when it comes to sports day they win all around them (never out of the park with a hurley and a ball with the dad, rain hail or snow). Brilliant to see the impact of a strong male role model in their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

As a Dad, I try to model myself on my father - a 100% family man who always put his family first and loved spending time with and making fun for the whole family. Gave me a happy childhood that I cherish even now as a grown man. If I can be half the man and the father he was, I'll be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Stay at home Dads often hide their hangups though. The traditional roles reversed, no matter how progressive and forward thinking we think we are in this country they'll still laugh at you down in the pub on a Saturday night..

In 1980, perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Stay at home Dads often hide their hangups though. The traditional roles reversed, no matter how progressive and forward thinking we think we are in this country they'll still laugh at you down in the pub on a Saturday night.

Males more than anything crave the respect and acceptance of other males.

anncoates wrote: »
    In 1980, perhaps.

I dunno, DLH HAS a point- I see an awful lot of the "Dads being lads" when I'd go down the pub, sometimes on my own, sometimes with a female friend and her friends, and there's definitely a whole thing if you're not into watching the footy, etc, I'd watch the rugby alright (and even then you'll get the odd "sure you're not even wearing a jersey?" knob, if I'm on my own and somebody strikes up a conversation), but yeah, there's still that stereotype in some social circles.

On the flipside of that though, is when I used take my child to the likes of Jump n Gyms or the park, and women would be gawping at you like you were sizing up how many kids could you fit in the back of the van. It's definitely not as much an issue now with as another poster suggested above there's far more men out of work, staying at home and down the park with their children.

But, having said all that, for me personally, I used dread any time my wife went on holidays when our child was younger, he'd wreck the place if you turned your back for a minute, and you couldn't just strap him down all day and be done with him. It's gotten a lot easier now that he's older, he's eight now, took him with me yesterday when I'd a couple of meetings on and he sat in and took notes, today after mass we'll head down the park for a kickabout, but there's no way I could do what my wife does full time. It's just about manageable for the few days or the two weeks she's away, but full time? Not a hope! :pac:

It really depends on the person though as I know of two single fathers (grandfathers now actually), both their wives strangely enough died young of cancer, one father raised a boy and four girls, and the other guy jesus I can't remember how many kids and grandkids he has but I often meet him down the park with his grand-daughter (I used work with him before but he's out of work now) and those two guys are well capable of doing all the housework and the child rearing and the whole lot, but for me? No.

Sometimes I think maybe it was a good thing we didn't have the six children we'd planned on, but it's not because of financial reasons at all, it was because of the time you never get to spend with them. I get more time nowadays with my child, but for the first couple of years of his life when I was rarely ever at home because I was always out working, yeah, you definitely do see a difference in the way some children are much closer with the person that's raising them, whether that be a man or a woman.

Tbh I really don't think the genders matter to the children, I think it's just what adults in a society see as what matters to them, because I know plenty of soccer mom stereotypes and coach daddy stereotypes too when it comes to competitive sports! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭PAULWATSON

endacl wrote: »
    Where's OP at?!?

Was playing golf in Royal Portrush!

Caonima wrote: »
    ^^^^^ this guy, fuck him. My wife is due in a few weeks and I've prepared myself as well as possible to avoid being a gombeen bystander at one of the most important moments of my life. 'scuse me for not being a total tool. Can we arrange to have the OP spayed?

We are due????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

PAULWATSON wrote: »
    We are due????
    No he said his wife is due. Thought you'd be happy with that.

:rolleyes: real little mob in here, innit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Braap braap bruv

Who pissed in your golf bag?

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Who pissed in your golf bag?

Maybe big Darren, let him through on the 11th tee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭tritium

No one is forcing you to stay ;) ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭returnNull

tritium wrote: »
    No one is forcing you to stay ;) ....

Yeah PAULWATSON go threaten your neighbour or somethin :)

returnNull wrote: »
    Yeah PAULWATSON go threaten your neighbour or somethin :)

Been away all weekend, pretty sure the mob are still sleeping off their drink/drug hangovers.

But I'm sure partay time will commence again next weekend. YOLO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Been away all weekend, pretty sure the mob are still sleeping off their drink/drug hangovers.

But I'm sure partay time will commence again next weekend. YOLO!

By chance were you away with a golf group, work related, for a 2 day golfing and drinking crowd?

And YOLO? Really? Are people still saying this? I thought twerking was where it was at these days.

By chance were you away with a golf group, work related, for a 2 day golfing and drinking crowd?.

Just golf, no work connection and very little drink!

And YOLO? Really? Are people still saying this? I thought twerking was where it was at these days.

Maybe so, only heard of that craze about two weeks ago. Am i missing out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭tempnam

lahalane wrote: »
    What is the boards equivalent of a frape? Because I refuse to believe that somebody has this as their actual opinion. It's too ridiculous.

A ........ Bape??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

it's "get a grip"

catch a grip means nothing

post of the day, thanks everybody!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Caonima

We are due????

She is due, as in she is giving birth to our baby. As in it is a woman who gives birth. We are not both having babies, Paul. Not had this talk by your parents yet, or you weren't allowed attend those biology classes?

Things change; I used to be naive like you before my wife was pregnant. I just refused to be like my own dad - down the pub drinking pints and getting a phone call to tell him when I was delivered, and then having little or no inclination to raise me.

This is nothing to do with modern men, new men, or anything as trite or hackneyed as this. I would chose knowledge over ignorance any day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

post of the day, thanks everybody!

You're pushing it now!:D

*Sits on F5*:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

You said "innit" - isn't that a "trendy" word you wouldn't like though?

like your user name, you cute?

Like your username, are YOU cute? :D

Hey come on, if you offered "Big Dave" a chance at a hole in one... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

mfceiling wrote: »
    I often think this to myself, as i take sly looks down the low cut tops of the mothers of the kids my young ones play with at the park...

I sometimes bring the kids to the swimming pool and all the milky big boobed mothers in the toddler pool. Oh lordy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Danny_Dyer_11-630x382.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭cuana

My dad is a super dad!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭tritium

cuana wrote: »
    My dad is a super dad!! :D

No, my dad is super dad :)

(Took me too many years to realise that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭cuana

tritium wrote: »
    No, my dad is super dad :)

(Took me too many years to realise that)

LOL we're both extremely lucky! took me awhile too eh but such is life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,430 ✭✭✭✭banie01

So the OP's premise is being a "super" dad is wrong?

So being involved in your kid's life makes a "dad" a pretentious, hipster wannabe,self involved meterosexual twat, who likes to drink coffee with the moms(probably while planning which one to ride 1st thanks to their irresistible to women parenting skills?) who's son has(or will have) gender identity issues?

Cos if thats the case.....
    I need a shovel and the reanimator formula quick!!!!
    Stupid dead wife!
    Making me metrosexual and our son a "poof"......!!!

Oh wait, maybe if I ignore him, withdraw my attention and let him off for himself and get himself sorted he will be ok!

Be graaaaand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

what a stupid thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

I cant wait to have a kid and teach it all kinds of shít

IK09 wrote: »
    I cant wait to have a kid and teach it all kinds of shít

I know. I can't wait to teach mine that Welsh people don't exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I know. I can't wait to teach mine that Welsh people don't exist.

You racist , if it wasn't for the Welshman by the name of st Patrick ,the place would have even more snakes than it already has .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Bogota

Has anyone else noticed the rise of Super Dad. They are fully informed of everything child related, take the little "guys" to all activities, of which there are plenty.

Have a smug little look, tend to dress as metro's. Love having a "coffee and chat" with other mothers :)

Catch a grip, no wonder most 5 year old boys are girls in all but physical form.

O.K so you hate people of different races/religions and now good dads.

I eagerly await your next target of hatred....educated people perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Bogota wrote: »
    O.K so you hate people of different races/religions and now good dads.

I eagerly await your next target of hatred....educated people perhaps?
    Think they're better than everyone else because they have a few letters after their names. Too high and mighty to rent in the boom and now are crying that they can't pay their mortgage on dole money as they are too stuck up to do a menial job blah blah blah

How'd I do? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Rereg. I've been here long before you were even born (assuming you were born in 2008).

Well there's me told!! ;)

You racist , if it wasn't for the Welshman by the name of st Patrick ,the place would have even more snakes than it already has .

Latest investigations point to Patrick being Patric. Not Welsh, but French. More proof that they don't exist! I mean, has anyone ever met Tom Jones? Didn't think do. And he's far, FAR too brown now to be a native "Welsh" person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Well according to the Guardian, getting involved in childcare may shrink your balls. Maybe OP not so off th track.

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2013/sep/09/testicle-size-men-childcare-aptitude-parenting-us

That is if the Guardian deserves any credibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,761 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Well according to the Guardian, getting involved in childcare may shrink your balls. Maybe OP not so off th track.

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2013/sep/09/testicle-size-men-childcare-aptitude-parenting-us

That is if the Guardian deserves any credibility.

How would anybody even think to investigate a possible connection between these two things!

"We want to find out reasons why some fathers take a more active role in their children's upbringing than others. Any suggestions?"

"Let's measure their balls."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭genuine leather

Voltex wrote: »
    My dad was an old fashioned kinda guy. Worked hard..came home..had his dinner went to bed. We never saw much of him..he never brought us anywhere..never talked with us, never interacted really and very unemotional. Probably very typical of the times (early 80's).

Now he's nearly 60..lots of free time..wants to spend time with his kids and grand kids...but you know what...he's taught me well. I have no connection with him..he could pass away and Id probably just be sad for an hour or so and if I totally honest it probably wouldn't even phase me..I rarely want to see him.

So..if you want your kids to love you..make the effort!

Yeah, similar situation with my dad(eight children in the family,tough rearing in the 70/80s) i tried to connect with him in later years as an adult which went well. He died suddenly, its only when he was gone did i realise that i should have tried harder, now its just memories and if only.

My kids are the air i breathe,never want to be away from them.
    Yeah agreed,if you want your kids to love you....make the effort.

OP,seriously, little "guys"..smug.. metro..coffee and chat.."catch a grip"..
    NC on the last bit :o.

Kudos to all fathers that play an active role in their childrens lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

mfceiling wrote: »
    Also, one of them has 2 girls - both the girls rode bikes before anyone else in the class, they both are on local gaa under age teams (a year above their ages), and when it comes to sports day they win all around them (never out of the park with a hurley and a ball with the dad, rain hail or snow). Brilliant to see the impact of a strong male role model in their lives.

Similar here with my dad. We found "common ground" when I was a small child that we could both enjoy like astronomy, dinosaurs, science stuff. Neither of us even slightly interested in any sports. He used to spend hours helping me with school work and we'd go for long drives and listen to Iron Maiden and talk sh1te. He was one of my best friends. Lost him when I was a teenager and sorely miss him.

My husband is a brilliant dad. Not metro in the slightly, retrosexual if anything. Didn't study up on baby/kid stuff, just spends loads of time playing with the baby, nearly every hour he is sent. He's just dying for him to be old enough to enjoy the zoo, to see the next kids movie, go out & get mucky kicking a ball around etc.

Nothing sexier than a good dad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

My own reason for being a super dad is i have actual super powers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

i'd rather be a super dad who is sneered at by some prick than be an old fashioned at arms length dad who's singular priority is fitting in to what his peers expect him to be.

What kind of a coward does it take for someone to sacrifice their time with their families for the sake of the image they are trying to uphold with people who couldn't care less if they dropped dead. Too many parents of older generations have been like that. Absolute cowards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

Leftist wrote: »
    i'd rather be a super dad who is sneered at by some prick than be an old fashioned at arms length dad who's singular priority is fitting in to what his peers expect him to be.

What kind of a coward does it take for someone to sacrifice their time with their families for the sake of the image they are trying to uphold with people who couldn't care less if they dropped dead. Too many parents of older generations have been like that. Absolute cowards.

I wouldn't say cowards, more conditioned.