Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Austria vs Ireland - WCQ Tuesday 7.45

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

Just in the door, why are both teams in away colours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Hoof!!!!! pointless balls to Long he won't get to them

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭yohan the great

edgecutter wrote: »
    He is breaking up play quite well compared to whelan. Still would rather hoolihan.

In a two man midfield with McCarthy? Alaba would go to town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Long is woefully short of his best form right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

He wasnt gonna put that away oh my god Long?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

why didn't long throw himself at that?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

We're hopeless in the final third. Our lack of creation with the final pass is horrendous.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

I think its safe to say Shane Long simply isn't an intelligent footballer.

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Bertser

Long has been terrible so far. Typical ****e backheels and passes to no one. Would be nice if he'd stay onside too (although he's been unlucky in two cases).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Mertersaker, Germany 1 - 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Long playing with no confidence it looks like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Very poor from Long. He is seriously off form .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Moist Bread

dobsdave wrote: »
    Just in the door, why are both teams in away colours?

Red is Austrias home colours now, changed it from white about 10 years ago.

In a two man midfield with McCarthy? Alaba would go to town

Wouldn't be going to town if we had possession though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

That transfer move that didn't happen has wrecked Long's head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

0-0 at 8/1 looks better every passing minute!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

Austria look like they will score at some point.

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Wouldn't be going to town if we had possession though.

If we had Hoolahan its not like we would be getting 80% possession. He is decent nothing more nothing less

Why are we playing around the back. Jesus christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    We're hopeless in the final third. Our lack of creation with the final pass is horrendous.

Not great at passing in our third either.

When people demand more of a passing game they seem to overlook the fact we're not very good at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Lennonist wrote: »
    That transfer move that didn't happen has wrecked Long's head.

He told his friends in Gortnahoe to lump money on him going to Hull. He has no friends at the moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Ireland need to get a natural winger on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Our wide players are so slow

Forde's kicking has been quite dreadful.

For a supposed "must win game", we've been absolute poison. No tempo, no creativity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Damn it i hate Ronnie Whelan, the commentator!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Whats surprising is there is no passion or urgency from either side. They and us both have to win it!

Green's doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Same old sh!te from Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,426 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It's bad when Green is the best Irish player on show so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

Long????

Giles and Dunphy are conveniently going to ignore that chance came from a long ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

As much as everyone seems to hate mcgeady, I wish he was here. He seems to be the only player that can drive at defences for us.

gandalf wrote: »
    Whats surprising is there is no passion or urgency from either side. They and us both have to win it!

They have more realistic incentive in that they still have to play Sweden.

Keane's positioning in the box is brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

Austria are a poor side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

True, Green is best player so far in a game of zero stuff
    happening!!!

Pilkington's got a Ned Kelly look going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

As much as everyone seems to hate mcgeady, I wish he was here. He seems to be the only player that can drive at defences for us.

...and then lose it.

McGeady is by far our best winger. He is a big loss imo. Him and Brady would offer much more tgan the 2 out there tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Ganymede Glow

Unlucky Pilkington

he shouldve hit the target

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Wahoo a shot on goal!

It took 33 minutes but we actually had a pop.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Jesus lads it's some match.

Stuck to me seat I am.

...and then lose it.

The only one able to get assists all the same. Am I the only one who thinks that Ireland are doing well?

Pilkington's got a Ned Kelly look going on.

More Conor McGregor. He must be a UFC fan.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

...and then lose it.

He would do a hell of a lot more than walters at the moment. He scares the hell out of defenders and draws a lot of fouls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Were getting some joy down the left side

Good save Forde.

great save. lovely sound as it hit his gloves.