Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Austria vs Ireland - WCQ Tuesday 7.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Alaba is a million miles better than anyone else on that pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

FearDark wrote: »
    Jesus lads it's some match.

Stuck to me seat I am.

Are you being tortured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,497 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Dunne very slow there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Pilkington's got a Ned Kelly look going on.

I was thinking Conor McGregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

So bored......fcuking Grays Lobotomy is better Tuesday night telly than this sh1t..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭kksaints

Jesus lads it's some match.

Stuck to me seat I am.

Did someone put glue there?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

That_Guy wrote: »
    Are you being tortured?

Certainly feels like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

anyone think Coleman has been told to reign in his marauding runs. looks like he is playing well within himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Good save by Forde again

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭RoryMac

klose wrote: »
    Were getting some joy down the left side

If Walters got his sh!t together on the right side we'd have a chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

Fordes positioning seemed a bit strange there but decent save.

Good save Forde. Marking is atrocious from us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

This is some muck.

I'm off to bleed the radiators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭LowOdour

yabadabado wrote: »
    McGeady is by far our best winger. He is a big loss imo. Him and Brady would offer much more tgan the 2 out there tonight.

No no no, what we need is McClean on the team. Nope,actually we need Hoolahan. Hold on, Brady is a star in the making. But yeah, McGeady would be a help. I just want whoever is not playing to be playing...Pilkington is crap, I think. Until he ia nit playing again of course

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Good save again Forde,Alaba is trying his best to raise the level of the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

The way Green is playing at the moment he should be well ahead of whelan in the pecking order for midfield slot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Alaba is going to really punish us soon, either with a goal or an assist. Wilson & Pilkington are not able to handle him at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,426 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Long put the cross too close to the keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭LowOdour

yabadabado wrote: »
    McGeady is by far our best winger. He is a big loss imo. Him and Brady would offer much more tgan the 2 out there tonight.

No no no, what we need is McClean on the team. Nope,actually we need Hoolahan. Hold on, Brady is a star in the making. But yeah, McGeady would be a help. I just want whoever is not playing to be playing...Pilkington is crap, I think. Until he is not playing again of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

I've been saying for a long time how good McGeady is and nobody could be told. We badly miss him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

This is a bit boring knowing that Sweden has almost has second spot in the bag bar a natural disaster.
    Austria are very ordinary side bar Alaba but they could easily beat us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Lest he looked up this time

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭yohan the great

No he didn't. The defender would have put it wide if it was any further out

Ronnie Whelan trying to pronounce Fuchs' name has been the only highlight of the evening.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

"saw the idea"..... what idea? Top corner of the net? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

No he didn't. The defender would have put it wide if it was any further out

he did. it needed to be fizzed across the box. full power to beat the defender. Robbie would have dealt with it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

I have a feeling Austria were banking on us hoofing the ball a bit more. Screwed up there game plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,955 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Definite yellow.. O'Shea pulled him down by the neck FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

aindriu80 wrote: »
    This is a bit boring knowing that Sweden has almost has second spot in the bag bar a natural disaster.
    Austria are very ordinary side bar Alaba but they could easily beat us.

So are we, though.

They have several Champions League players in their squad. We have zero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

JOS yellow is a joke considering Dragovic has been doing the exact same thing numerous times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

My 0-0 bet is looking good. Such a nothing game so far between 2 very average sides.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

They should show that half to prisoners at Guantanamo Bay.

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    I have a feeling Austria were banking on us hoofing the ball a bit more. Screwed up there game plan.

Dont worry,there is still the second half for the hoof ball to begin

Alaba aside there very ordinary and if our lads could a bit of belief in themselves we could nick a win here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Thank God for that whistle.

You wouldn't think this was a competitive must-win game for both sides from watching that half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Definite yellow.. O'Shea pulled him down by the neck FFS

O'Shea is probably happy he won't be part of the massacre of Cologne next month!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,497 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I'm happy I had pizza there, made it seem the half flew by!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Thoughts on Long?

Personally I think he's the most overrated Irish player in the team.

Doesn't do enough for me and has an absolute ATROCIOUS scoring record for club and country.

gandalf wrote: »
    O'Shea is probably happy he won't be part of the massacre of Cologne next month!

Good point

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

What an awful game....Austria for the win so Trap can get his P-45 tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

snorlax_by_gngtnt105-d32am6s.png

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

gandalf wrote: »

Agreed. He's probably still having nightmares involving Marco Reus.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Looks like O'Shea is out for the Germany match. Well, on the bright side Cox might get a game at CB.

DEVEREUX wrote: »
    What an awful game....Austria for the win so Trap can get his P-45 tonight

Yea, I hate to say it but I'd nearly hate to see us nick it as it'll only validate the awful approach and tactics from the manager for another game

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Bertser

Referee giving out yellow cards for all things, can I have one?

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭yohan the great

Thoughts on Long?

Doesn't do enough for me and has an absolute ATROCIOUS scoring record for club and country.
    Very limited but still does win a lot of frees and makes good runs.

edgecutter wrote: »
    Looks like O'Shea is out for the Germany match. Well, on the bright side Cox might get a game at CB.

No Glenn Whelan will slot in there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Yea, I hate to say it but I'd nearly hate to see us nick it as it'll only validate the awful approach and tactics from the manager for another game

Irish supporters hoping the team lose....sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Did Liam Brady confuse Alaba and Balaban there? Jesus wept.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Thoughts on Long?

Hopefully just a bad run of form, he's done well for us before so I wouldn't be in a rush to write him off yet. When we play so many long hopeful balls forward we need someone to get on the end of them