Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Austria vs Ireland - WCQ Tuesday 7.45

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Brady agrees wit Eammo :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,955 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Irish supporters hoping the team lose....sad.

I'm thinking longer term, greater good etc

Despite a few half-chances I haven't seen any urgency or hunger from the team to win this. Austria are no better which makes it even harder to stomach.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

FearDark wrote: »
    Thoughts on Long?

Personally I think he's the most overrated Irish player in the team.

Doesn't do enough for me and has an absolute ATROCIOUS scoring record for club and country.

He always looks like a guy who needs serious coaching to me. He is very good technically and physically - and when he does score he always looks like he should score much more (like his excellent goal against England in May).

I'd like to see him do less outside the box and focus more on getting into goalscoring positions in the penalty area.

He scored something like 8 goals for WBA last year - he really should be getting 12-15 in a mid table Premier League side. I think he's a terrific player but agree his goalscoring record isn't good enough - but I think that could be fixed if he refocuses on getting into better positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Yea, I hate to say it but I'd nearly hate to see us nick it as it'll only validate the awful approach and tactics from the manager for another game

Wise up. We still need to finish 3rd in this group for the sake of our Euro 2016 seeding. It doesn't matter a great deal whether Trapp goes this week or next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

Mushy wrote: »
    I'm happy I had pizza there, made it seem the half flew by!

I making do with popcorn and the first half has been difficult.

Dunphy is on about Wes Hoolahan but we kinda needed a player like that 5 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Subs that trap will make later in the second half.

Cox for Walters,
    Sammon for Long,
    McClean for Pilkington.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

FearDark wrote: »
    Thoughts on Long?

Personally I think he's the most overrated Irish player in the team.

Doesn't do enough for me and has an absolute ATROCIOUS scoring record for club and country.

Carbon Copy of Kevin Doyle

If he gets an injury that impacts his athleticism, his career will nose dive in the same manner because its all he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

I'm thinking longer term, greater good etc

Despite a few half-chances I haven't seen any urgency or hunger from the team to win this. Austria are no better which makes it even harder to stomach.

Longer term?? The Greater good??

It's important that we finish third to maintain our seeding!
    I'm no expert but I have never seen a sport where losing is better in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Is Dunphy riding Hoolahan or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Kit kat chunky - a waste of 275 calories

ambid wrote: »
    He always looks like a guy who needs serious coaching to me. He is very good technically and physically - and when he does score he always looks like he should score much more (like his excellent goal against England in May).

I'd like to see him do less outside the box and focus more on getting into goalscoring positions in the penalty area.

He scored something like 8 goals for WBA last year - he really should be getting 12-15 in a mid table Premier League side. I think he's a terrific player but agree his goalscoring record isn't good enough - but I think that could be fixed if he refocuses on getting into better positions.

He's mostly played in wide positions by West Brom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,114 ✭✭✭✭listermint

ambid wrote: »

He doesnt know when to take a chance and take it on. He is not ballsy enough tbh. He has talent there but its the attitude to say fk this its mine. Instead he religates to taking the safe option whenever on the ball, be it take another touch or pass it back out of the box. Should be going for it. take it on!! your a striker be greedy sometimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Lennonist

So are we, though.

They have several Champions League players in their squad. We have zero.

Ah will ya stop. Austria are ****e, if we were properly organised and played with a bit of belief we'd batter this lot. Hoolahan sitting on the bench while Shane Long struggles with low confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Hoolahan had a chance to shine against Wales and did not make a good case for himself.

The way this guy is hyped up by Dunphy you'd think he was Fabregas or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,114 ✭✭✭✭listermint

That_Guy wrote: »
    Is Dunphy riding Hoolahan or something?

Why ? its an obvious change to make early in the half would you not agree ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

Pilkington has been muck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

McClean or Brady for Walters please

Lennonist wrote:
    Ah will ya stop. Austria are ****e, if we were properly organised and played with a bit of belief we'd batter this lot. Hoolahan sitting on the bench while Shane Long struggles with low confidence.

You must be joking. They're the ones with the world class player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Stevecw wrote: »
    My 0-0 bet is looking good. Such a nothing game so far between 2 very average sides.

We get it.... You have 0-0 at 8/1 (as you've stated at least 3 times now)

I actually hope theres a goal now just to sicken you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I cant understand how Paul Greens last two transfers were free ones.
    Must have his granny as an agent.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Hoolahan had a chance to shine against Wales and did not make a good case for himself.

The way this guy is hyped up by Dunphy you'd think he was Fabregas or something.

Everyone was sh!te against Wales, including the welsh.

Austria are dire. Hoolahan possesses abilities that can easily carve through teams of this quality. Nobody is saying he's the messiah. He can do a job and that's the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,426 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The stewards caught 10 Irish lads crossing the wall at half-time.
    They made them go back in to watch the second-half.

listermint wrote: »
    Why ? its an obvious change to make early in the half would you not agree ?

I'd like him to come on yes. He's arguably our most creative player but I don't think he's the world beater that Dunphy thinks he is.

I'd probably take McCarthy off, bring Hoolahan in his place and take Walters off and put Brady on.

No changes for Ireland.. Quelle suprise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Seems mcarthys head has been elsewhere these last 2 games, don't blame him with such a big move to everton, stupid time to have the transfer window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

No changes for Ireland.. Quelle suprise!

Sure they are doing exactly what Trap wants!

Clarke.... :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

why is pilkington taking the corners? Surely his height would be of use on the other end of the delivery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

We've lost John O'Shea. Like things couldn't get any worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

Ciaran Clark on. Please save the David Luiz moments for Villa this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Thought o shea had been sent off for a moment there

I just hope we don't drop down in our next qualification campaign.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

One sub used up,Cox and Sammon playing rock paper scissors on the sideline,winner comes on next

Banjaxed82 wrote: »

Austria are dire. Hoolahan possesses abilities that can easily carve through teams of this quality. Nobody is saying he's the messiah. He can do a job and that's the point.

Austria are much better than Wales. If he can't do it against Wales in a friendly, what makes you so sure he'll do it against Austria in a qualifier?

Banjaxed82 wrote: »

It's getting a bit like the old days with Dunphy's rants about Andy Reid tho. Hoolihan's legendary status grows with each game he DOESN'T play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Loses ball and falls on arse ...kinda beautifully sums up ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

roanoke wrote: »
    Ciaran Clark on. Please save the David Luiz moments for Villa this time.
    Maybe hes going 3 at the back with clarke in midfield

• Registered Users Posts: 3,708 ✭✭✭clsmooth

If Cox comes on the efffing right wing ill go mad. Give Brady a run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,426 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

We could sneak a goal soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Spare a thought for Northern Ireland, currently losing to Luxembourg! LOL

Another long ball to nowhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

Paul Green, surprisingly, not playing ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Moist Bread

Sorry, I have to say it again, Green is having a really good game.

Look at that. 3 players in their half when we've got the ball. No pass on, we pass the ball backwards and lets Austria players get back into position.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭RoryMac

clsmooth wrote: »
    If Cox comes on the efffing right wing ill go mad. Give Brady a run

Might be best to change channel now so!

"Presumably its muscular"

No its feckin emotional.

That was desperate by Long.

Wasted opportunity again

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod