Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Austria vs Ireland - WCQ Tuesday 7.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Why is Forde time wasting there when this is a must win game.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Any chance of getting that yellow rescinded? Hopefully Cologne the city makes up for my next trip cos the match will be a nightmare

Cologne is great,it'll make up for the match.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Right thats it Walters up front throw himself around,Wes on for Long

Do it Trap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Its their mentality its horrible main reason we are so **** imho

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭yohan the great

I agree, in the grand scheme of things Ireland have never had top class players it has always been the tactics implied and man management.

Glad you brought this up. The only time Ireland have overachieved is 2002 world cup qualifying since I've been watching football mid 80s or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,280 ✭✭✭slingerz

slingerz wrote: »
    Ireland don't have such a bad side when you think about the players at their disposal. Really a lot of the blame must lie with Trap for the performances.

A prem goalie in Westwood. A prem back line in Coleman Wilson Clark O'Shea. A prem midfield in Whelan McCarthy Pilkington Hoolahan Walters with a prem striker in Long up front.

Could have Gibson in there too or McGeady even McClean.

I know Damien Delany is pushing on now but he's a prem defender that can't get into the squad over O'Dea??!

Forgot Robbie Brady from my list there too. Owen Garvan another

Not a terrible squad. A little recruiting of Irish ancestors and the squad would be pretty good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,503 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Walters was fouled there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭baldbear

J. Marston wrote: »
    Why time waste? A draw is pointless.

A defeat is pointless not a draw.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Ref must have a shedload of money on the next Ireland-Germany game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

Austria to score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

J. Marston wrote: »
    Why time waste? A draw is pointless.

And with 25 mins to go its abit early to risk being penalised for wasting a few seconds.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Right thats it Walters up front throw himself around,Wes on for Long

Do it Trap

That's the logical choice, but trap don't do logical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Cologne is great,it'll make up for the match.
    Looks like it will have to be a pretty big piss up before the game......I for one wont want to remember what they do to us!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

That should of been silver bullet for trap there

Heart in mouth stuff there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Austria should have been one up there!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

Shane Long looks like a man who wants to go home already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Austria by far better team now! Sad to see, as they are so average

That was less a dive and more a flop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

could bring on brady and Wes for the front 2 and push Walters up front. Long is playing muck and Keane has been very quiet tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

What do these Austrian defenders have to do for a yellow card for Christ's sake..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,854 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

for god sake! would forde ever just throw it or kick it to one of our players instead of the launch up and ball comes right back again!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,428 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It feels like this game has been on for about 4 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

A bit of quality in the final 3rd & we could easily nick a goal!

Jesus that was reckless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Ganymede Glow

trapattoni-o.gif

Previewing the Germany game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,245 ✭✭✭✭briany

Lux 3 - NI 2

Wow, the North are awful.

Even worse than us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Oh Ronald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

How are germany only beating the faroes 1-0

Give Johnny Walters the hook at this stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭LowOdour

a good Long Fuchs right there

What was that??? Bwahahahaha

Its crazy how we can make such ordinary teams look world class

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

Any sign of a substitute? Brady?

We desperately need to change things up front to take the pressure off. Otherwise I see a couple of goals for Austria before the final whistle at this rate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

austria as just as ****e to be fair.

Any sign of a substitute? Brady?

Heres mcclean

An actual positive move!!! What the hell?

And the Faroes are making Germany look ordinary.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

Heres mcclean

Not really what I hoped for.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

From the BBC:

Luxembourg 3-2 Northern Ireland

"Luxembourg are ranked 140th in the world - one behind Afghanistan - and tonight is their first win at home since 1972."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Ganymede Glow

These islands are being totally left behind

Pressure building here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

Another corner... yikes !

Long needs to come off with either Brady or Hoolahan on in his place with Walters leading the line!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

From the BBC:

Luxembourg 3-2 Northern Ireland

"Luxembourg are ranked 140th in the world - one behind Afghanistan - and tonight is their first win at home since 1972."

Spare a thought for Michael O'Neill - he's not going to sleep tonight. Dreadful result for NI.

Holy Jaysus!

Blessed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭baldbear

Great stop.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Fair balls Seamie Coleman, legend.