Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 5, Episode 14 : Ozymandias

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

How is that contradicting myself? Walt is saying she knows nothing about what he does. Apart from the obvious that Hank & Marie told her.

How did she tell him that he's a drug dealer without knowing herself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

What a piece of sh*t Walt is. So out of his depth and deluded.

yet im still rooting for him to save the day :confused:

crazy how i could still care for this wanker of a human being

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭SweepTheLeg

Dempsey wrote: »
    How did she tell him that he's a drug dealer without knowing herself?

Because.... Hank and Marie told her, like i just said in my last post.

Well thats the lie she has to make them believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

ricero wrote: »
    yet im still rooting for him to save the day :confused:

crazy how i could still care for this wanker of a human being

I'm not rooting for him at all, even if he is making some attempt to redeem himself. It's entirely his fault that Hank is dead, and he has marched Jesse to almost certain death, this on top of the variety of other terrible things he's done over the course of the show while trying to justify it all as a means to an end.

He's too far gone now, as far as I can see.

I can't see a happy ending for Jesse either, to be honest. He'll be done away with as soon as he's fulfilled his purpose. If Walt does manage to rescue him, I could see him throwing it back in his face after all the stuff about Jane and Brock, and the various other ways that Walt has fcuked up his life. A grand finale featuring Walt and Jesse - ending with the two characters who started it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

I thought she knew from way back after her breakdown?

What? It's not a lie. Hank took Skyler to a diner and told her about Walt. Do you even watch the show?

Also, Marie told her in the episode she understands she was only staying because she was scared of Walt. Marie will back her because she's her sister. That and Walts full confession on the phone, Skyler will definitely not go to jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Walt was playing it as if Skylar knew he was a drug dealer but that was it, and she was living in fear under him. He specifically said "I told you what would happen if you crossed me" and referred to Hanks death, saying how he killed him and implying he would do the same he Skylar stepped out of line. He then goes onto say say "You know nothing of what I do" again implying she knew the bare minimum.

The cops hear this, see that Walt is a nut job and are comfortable knowing that Skylar had no input into his dealings. That's the way I look at it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Hazys wrote: »
    The struggle between the two personalities Walter White and Heisenberg

Screen-Shot-2013-09-15-at-11.22.50-PM.png

Fantastic image
    Savage.

There must be a load of unemployed Film Studies graduates spotting these things and posting about them, or else I'm just slow, cos I didn't read anything into such a seemingly insignificant shot! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

21 pages? ..God it seems like everyone got to watch it before me!

Wow. What an episode!

I really don't know where to begin, my mind is just completely blown, it's gonna take a few hours to process what just happened.
    Incredible, just incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

What? It's not a lie. Hank took Skyler to a diner and told her about Walt. Do you even watch the show?

Also, Marie told her in the episode she understands she was only staying because she was scared of Walt. Marie will back her because she's her sister. That and Walts full confession on the phone, Skyler will definitely not go to jail.

To quote Walt on the phone "you were always saying, oh its illegal its immoral, someone will get hurt", hence Skyler has known for a long time how Walt makes his money, therefore the idea that Hank and Marie told them this lie doesnt stand up at all. Even if the cops believe that Hank was telling lies, there is still the fact that Walt HIMSELF on the phone practically told all and sundry of Skyler's complicity, which will lead back to the money trail- car wash, money laundering, Beneke etc. Theres no way Skyler is not going to jail for her part in this, leaving poor Holly and Walt Jr in the custody of mad Marie, who has no sympathy for Skylar now following Hanks death..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

To quote Walt on the phone "you were always saying, oh its illegal its immoral, someone will get hurt", hence Skyler has known for a long time how Walt makes his money, therefore the idea that Hank and Marie told them this lie doesnt stand up at all. Even if the cops believe that Hank was telling lies, there is still the fact that Walt HIMSELF on the phone practically told all and sundry of Skyler's complicity, which will lead back to the money trail- car wash, money laundering, Beneke etc. Theres no way Skyler is not going to jail for her part in this, leaving poor Holly and Walt Jr in the custody of mad Marie, who has no sympathy for Skylar now following Hanks death..

She could say she was forced though, that Walt was a psychopath and threatened her if she did anything. Doesn't look great for her though, Saul has been pretty shaken the last few episodes too, wonder if he'll be able to work his magic?

Read
    Dman001 wrote: »
    Walt was playing it as if Skylar knew he was a drug dealer but that was it, and she was living in fear under him. He specifically said "I told you what would happen if you crossed me" and referred to Hanks death, saying how he killed him and implying he would do the same he Skylar stepped out of line. He then goes onto say say "You know nothing of what I do" again implying she knew the bare minimum.

The cops hear this, see that Walt is a nut job and are comfortable knowing that Skylar had no input into his dealings. That's the way I look at it anyway.

Clearly more than you.

Skylar actually knew since her 'suicide attempt' in the pool. Hank & Marie think she's there under threat when in fact she's in deeper than that. She is up to her neck in money laundering and a huge investigation into Walts assets will show the car wash was a front and the timeline for her involvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭penzo

I found the moment before hank's interesting to say the least. walt completely showed remorse for everything and just in that moment in time was willing to give everything away for Hank's life. where as hank was so full of pride and ego, wouldnt even go with anything to say his own life, people have gotten out of situations as bad.

The nazi's could go after marie too, it's pathetic he gave up so easily which imo was cos he couldnt take walts offer or help, which altho i can see where he's coming from , that was just a little too much pride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,835 ✭✭✭Torqay

There is no way, Skyler will go free unless she's cutting a deal with the prosecution.

When they start lookung into the finances, they'll get her for money laundering which means up to 10 years behind bars. And if the DA has it in for her, they'll add charges of conspiracy and blackmail (should that video with Walt's "confession" come to light).

I think the phonecall was intended to exonerate Skylar, and put her, Walt Jnr., Holly and Marie under police protection while he goes in search of vengeance against the Nazis and attempts to rescue Jesse (whether that succeeds or fails, who knows). There will be an attempt by Walt to redeem himself now that he knows how far gone it is and that he's basically ruined everything. The house of cards has fallen around him and he's going to try to do something to save the people most important to him, and that includes Jesse. Despite everything he's done to Jesse and despite Jesse ratting him out, I still think he has a soft spot for him, and their father/son-like relationship has always been central to the show, so I think it will be at the forefront at the conclusion.

I'd like to think that it will end on something to do with the Jesse/Walt relationship anyway, rather than the Nazis simply killing both of them and that being it. I'd like to see it end on the two most important characters.

Despite Walt trying to redeem himself, I still think he's an asshole and deserves what's coming to him. He's been out of his depth for some time now and yet still continued to prod and act as though he's on top. Everything that's happened is his fault, and I'm glad he's finally seeming to realize that.

By the way, what did the Nazis do to Jesse's face? My housemate and I were debating whether they stabbed him in the face, scalded him or just simply smacked him about a bit?

I think Marie is the biggest threat to Skylar now really. Now Hank is gone, she may take it out on Skylar to the cops and reveal all. She may even know where Hank's recording of Jesse is. Once the cops look into the carwash and find evidence of laundering, the game's up for her. Who knows, she may resort going on the run or even turning to Saul to disappear. Whatever happens, we know that Skylar and the kids will not remain in their home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Torqay wrote: »
    There is no way, Skyler will go free unless she's cutting a deal with the prosecution.

When they start lookung into the finances, they'll get her for money laundering which means up to 10 years behind bars. And if the DA has it in for her, they'll add charges of conspiracy and blackmail (should that video with Walt's "confession" come to light).

And there's always poor Ted Beneke.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I think the phonecall was intended to exonerate Skylar, and put her, Walt Jnr., Holly and Marie under police protection while he goes in search of vengeance against the Nazis and attempts to rescue Jesse (whether that succeeds or fails, who knows). There will be an attempt by Walt to redeem himself now that he knows how far gone it is and that he's basically ruined everything. The house of cards has fallen around him and he's going to try to do something to save the people most important to him, and that includes Jesse. Despite everything he's done to Jesse and despite Jesse ratting him out, I still think he has a soft spot for him, and their father/son-like relationship has always been central to the show, so I think it will be at the forefront at the conclusion.

I'd like to think that it will end on something to do with the Jesse/Walt relationship anyway, rather than the Nazis simply killing both of them and that being it. I'd like to see it end on the two most important characters.

Despite Walt trying to redeem himself, I still think he's an asshole and deserves what's coming to him. He's been out of his depth for some time now and yet still continued to prod and act as though he's on top. Everything that's happened is his fault, and I'm glad he's finally seeming to realize that.

By the way, what did the Nazis do to Jesse's face? My housemate and I were debating whether they stabbed him in the face, scalded him or just simply smacked him about a bit?
    Just looks like a beating to me.

penzo wrote: »
    where as hank was so full of pride and ego, wouldnt even go with anything to say his own life, people have gotten out of situations as bad.

No, Hank knew that Jack had "made up his mind ten minutes ago". (Jack: "Just no scenario where this guy lives")

I found the moment before hank's interesting to say the least. walt completely showed remorse for everything and just in that moment in time was willing to give everything away for Hank's life. where as hank was so full of pride and ego, wouldnt even go with anything to say his own life, people have gotten out of situations as bad.

The nazi's could go after marie too, it's pathetic he gave up so easily which imo was cos he couldnt take walts offer or help, which altho i can see where he's coming from , that was just a little too much pride.

But like Hank said himself, the Nazis decided well before Walt started pleading with them or trying to negotiate that Hank was going to be killed. There was not a chance in hell they'd let a DEA agent walk away after all this. They simply got Walt to give up information about his money, and then killed Hank to get rid of the DEA threat. And even if Walt hadn't given them that information, Hank was a dead man anyway.

There was no scenario in which Hank was going to walk away, and actually I think he died with a lot of integrity intact - he wasn't going to start grovelling or begging for his life from these scumbags, the way Walt does. I think it actually showed the gulf between Walt and Hank with regards to courage. If anyone's pathetic, it's Walt.

I laughed, then i got sad.

2mfxbnk.jpgview.php?pic=2mfxbnk&s=5#.UjcpP3-2Zn0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I dont agree that the phone call was a means to exonerate Skyler from her part in Walt's dealings. It was revenge for her daring to stand up for herself with the knife, spilling the beans to Walt Jr and refusing to go into hiding with him. Walt knew well the cops would be listening, and his options were either killy Holly or dump Skyler in it so he choose the latter.

Breaking Bad has always been a show where the fallout from your actions, good or bad, are painstakingly laid bare for the audience to see: Walt lied once too often and Skyler left him- an uneasy reunion took all of Season 3 to come to fruition. Jesse is still guilty over killing Gale, and that was 2 seasons ago. Nobody hides from their actions in this show. Other shows might give a half an episode for this then move on but BB lets the natural course of events run freely. Now Walt has nothing left to lose, he has given his wife a big two fingers, left Jessie to die and now is plotting revenge all because his ego is bigger than his compassion. The poem or story of the title is about ego getting to big and you basically self-destructing. Thats the end of BB- Walt will go on a massive killing spree to right all the wrongs in his head until he either gets killed himself or kills himself, the man is a timebomb now and all the audience can do is watch in horror. Theres no humanity left now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

He told the Nazis to shoot Jesse, and looked like he wouldn't have flinched if they did. He then had no problem with them taking Jesse away to be tortured, and purposefully told Jesse about Jane for the sole purpose of hurting him. They both hate each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

2 episodes left in the greatest tv show of all time. I'm still rooting for Mr. White.

I dont agree that the phone call was a means to exonerate Skyler from her part in Walt's dealings. It was revenge for her daring to stand up for herself with the knife, spilling the beans to Walt Jr and refusing to go into hiding with him. Walt knew well the cops would be listening, and his options were either killy Holly or dump Skyler in it so he choose the latter.

Breaking Bad has always been a show where the fallout from your actions, good or bad, are painstakingly laid bare for the audience to see: Walt lied once too often and Skyler left him- an uneasy reunion took all of Season 3 to come to fruition. Jesse is still guilty over killing Gale, and that was 2 seasons ago. Nobody hides from their actions in this show. Other shows might give a half an episode for this then move on but BB lets the natural course of events run freely. Now Walt has nothing left to lose, he has given his wife a big two fingers, left Jessie to die and now is plotting revenge all because his ego is bigger than his compassion. The poem or story of the title is about ego getting to big and you basically self-destructing. Thats the end of BB- Walt will go on a massive killing spree to right all the wrongs in his head until he either gets killed himself or kills himself, the man is a timebomb now and all the audience can do is watch in horror. Theres no humanity left now.
    Not sure if I agree. Walt broke down making the phone call, yet trying to keep it together to make a convincing story for the police. Walt knew the cops were there, and he wouldn't say he murdered a DEA agent (when in reality he didn't) unless if was helping his family. It will potentially now cause a bigger headache and manhunt for him now, but a price he was willing to pay to keep his family together.

Shout Dust wrote: »
    He told the Nazis to shoot Jesse, and looked like he wouldn't have flinched if they did. He then had no problem with them taking Jesse away to be tortured, and purposefully told Jesse about Jane for the sole purpose of hurting him. They both hate each other

I'm not denying that they've done terrible things to each other, but I think that he still cares about him, and that everything that happened in the desert was a reaction to seeing Hank die - in his mind, if Jesse hadn't collaborated with Hank, then Hank wouldn't have been put in a situation where he could be killed, even though this whole mess is Walt's creation from the beginning, and it was he who put the hit out with the Nazis. So the natural vengeful reaction to Hank's death is to kill Jesse, since he regards him as the cause of Hank's death (not taking a step back to reflect on his own part in it, of course). I think his confession about Jane was indicative of this impulsive reaction - he wanted to really hurt Jesse, and he knew that telling him about Jane would really do the job.

However, this episode seemed to be mainly about family, and Walt realizing that he has to try and save them (hence stealing wee Holly and having the cops come and trying to clear Skylar of any wrongdoing over the phone). I think in some part of him, Walt does regard Jesse as a sort of son. He has come to Jesse's aid again and again, saved him when he didn't have to, put him in rehab, etc. I think too much has happened between them now for them to kiss and make up or anything like that, but I do think Walt will try to redeem himself with Jesse. I can see Jesse throwing it back in his face though, especially after the confession about Jane.

In other words, I think Jesse is done with Walt and sees him for what he is, but I don't know that Walt is entirely ready to just throw Jesse to the wolves either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

All the people who say they want Walt to win - Clinging to some reminisce of good in his character - I don't get that at all.
    I want Walt to 'win' because he's bad, not because I hope he still holds some noble, redeeming qualities!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭bellinter

can't believe there is so much disagreement over the phonecall to Skylar and Walt's motives behind it. Thought it was a cut and dry case of trying to make it sound like it was all down to him and that she had been living under his threat. Whether it will be enough to exonerate her is another story, but I dont think there should be any doubt that's what he was trying to achieve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Well, how totes wrong could I have been about Jane's death never coming up again? :D

Dman001 wrote: »
    Walt knew the cops were there, and he wouldn't say he murdered a DEA agent (when in reality he didn't) unless if was helping his family.

"You're never gonna see Hank again" is not the same as "I have killed him".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Amazingfun wrote: »
    Two 'laugh out loud for real' moments for me:

2. Poor Flynn's outburst "Hank's Dead"??!!!

Laugh out loud? At that? Really? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Torqay wrote: »
    "You're never gonna see Hank again" is not the same as "I have killed him".

But saying "Tow the line, Or you'll end up just like Hank." is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Madame K

I laughed, then i got sad.

2mfxbnk.jpgview.php?pic=2mfxbnk&s=5#.UjcpP3-2Zn0

Nachos dias old friend... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

How you like that marie?

Well, how totes wrong could I have been about Jane's death never coming up again? :D

He never should have spit at Walt. Payback time

Why is Marie so f**kin' stupid?

I don't think the spitting had much to do with it.

Jesse better be dead.

I don't think the spitting had much to do with it.

Probably not. Rubbing it in had more to do with it.

All the people who say they want Walt to win - Clinging to some reminisce of good in his character - I don't get that at all.
    I want Walt to 'win' because he's bad, not because I hope he still holds some noble, redeeming qualities!

I'll be honest, I do debate about the morals of it and who was more ethical, but at the end of the day I'm rooting for walt cos this is a tv show and he is a ****ing badass cool character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Do people think there's any chance Walt goes back for Jesse? I mean he can't now can he, he got into that car

Have you only watched two episodes of the show ever?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

nuxxx wrote: »
    Do people think there's any chance Walt goes back for Jesse? I mean he can't now can he, he got into that car

I doubt it. After telling him about the Jane thing, how could he go back? He said that purely to inflict a horrible pain on him. I can't see Walt having a change of heart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Quixoticelixer

nuxxx wrote: »

The only reason he'd go back for Jesse is to kill him. Once he see's the blue meth back on the streets he'll know Jesse is still alive and this in my opinion is why he goes back, to wipe out Jack/Todd's group and Jesse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

And now, a pause, to wallow in the fact that Hank ended up being buried next to a massive rock; there is dedication to a hobby.

maxresdefault.jpg

Hell of a tombstone.

Yes, in before the 'they're minerals'.