Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rory McIlroy - 4 Time Major Winner

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭Remind me

Some smack on the head from his tee shot there

• Registered Users Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Remind me wrote: »
    Some smack on the head from his tee shot there

The sound it made was sickening, how your man was strolling around afterwards is beyond me

• Registered Users Posts: 7,652 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Mcilroy in contention in Canada

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭4Ad

Nearly an eagle on the first..Great drive and chip...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Some start anyway. 3 under thru 4 and a two shot lead.

Edit: make that 4 under thru 5

• Registered Users Posts: 17,973 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Playing great stuff so far, hopefully he can keep it going.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭gypsy79

5 under through 7

Even the begrudgers surely like see him beat Kuch, the scabby cheat

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

No way he could lose from here

Playing great stuff so far, hopefully he can keep it going.

Balls think I jinxed it :(

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭rooney30

But he can’t play in the final group on a Sunday . Serious mental issues at play. Oh wait !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Hitch2222

I believe he was referred to as more of a Kuchar than an amateur too.
    Not bad being like Kuchar this weekend either.

Great run by Lowry too, self-proclaimed streaky so hopefully both bring some of that form next week.

Some comeback from McIllroy having missed the cut last week.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭kyleman

Brilliant performance by the 2 Irish lads.
    Lowrys short game is unreal.
    McIlroy when playing his best is simply the best in the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭liamoreilly

...They just mentioned 59 for the 1st time...Needs -4 in 6 holes still one par 5 as well...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

That second to 17 .. just wow

12 events 10 top 10's? Great record.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

12 events 10 top 10's? Great record.

For someone so mentally weak, it’s incredible.

• Registered Users Posts: 385 ✭✭rooney30

fullstop wrote: »
    For someone so mentally weak, it’s incredible.

Bogeyed 2 out of the last 3 holes . Guys not at the races at all. Mental collapse in my view in failing to shoot 59. Still wouldn’t consider him an elite player

• Registered Users Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

rooney30 wrote: »
    Bogeyed 2 out of the last 3 holes . Guys not at the races at all. Mental collapse in my view in failing to shoot 59. Still wouldn’t consider him an elite player

Yeah fair point, journeyman mentality. Can’t see him winning again.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

he was a joy to watch, even with a couple of bogeys in the last few holes. I hate the way the media go mental about shooting a 59.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

Some of the best golf ever from McIlroy. Lowry also played really well.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

Hitch2222 wrote:
    Let's not get too far ahead of ourselves here, we all know Tiger would have shot at least a 59 and won by 10 in this situation.

Your argument is irrelevant. Incidentally Tiger has never shot a sub 60 round.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

etxp wrote: »
    he was a joy to watch, even with a couple of bogeys in the last few holes. I hate the way the media go mental about shooting a 59.

The result wasn't really in doubt going down the back nine, they always try to think of things to keep viewers from switching channels. They were competing with the Canadian Grand Prix last night (at least in Canada).

I'm not saying it isn't cringe, but they're in it to make money.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,163 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Misses cut: 4 posts
    Wins: 22 posts...from Sunday onwards

Bandwagon in full effect yo.

Was a nice round of golf for 16 or so holes, pity about the finish.
    Putted very well and distance control with the wedges was streets ahead of his norm, hopefully he keeps it up for another week.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

The result wasn't really in doubt going down the back nine, they always try to think of things to keep viewers from switching channels. They were competing with the Canadian Grand Prix last night (at least in Canada).

I'm not saying it isn't cringe, but they're in it to make money.

yea I understand why they do it. I would prefer if they referred to the par of the course when on about the 59, all 59's aren't equal but they make them out to be the best thing ever.

The Canadian GP was non-eventful except for a stupid penalty.

GreeBo wrote: »

Putted very well and distance control with the wedges was streets ahead of his norm, hopefully he keeps it up for another week.

I think it was a bit better than Nice for 16 holes :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭kyleman

"Nice round of golf" WOW. !!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

GreeBo wrote: »

“Nice round for 16 holes”. What about the eagle on 17? It was one of the best rounds I’ve ever seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,652 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

A players and a Canadian win so far this year. If he grabs a Major then it’s been a good year

• Registered Users Posts: 27,163 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

“Nice round for 16 holes”. What about the eagle on 17? It was one of the best rounds I’ve ever seen.

The 17th was one of those 16 holes?

He bogeyed 16 and 18.