Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Festival 2014 Advice

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 FranoTheMano

slaneylad wrote: »
    So a group of 9 of us were meant to fly from dublin at 8.00 am on friday for the Goldcup. Ryanair have just informed that our flight has been delayed til 9:35 due to siptu strike. which means we will be in Bristol at 10:40. Its a disaster really as we have rented a house in Cheltenham for the night and we want to drop our bags off etc. We will be very lucky to get there for the first race I think.

Can anyone till me approx. how long it would take to get off the plane, through security and to get to Bristol Train station.

I fly through Bristol fairly regularly and luckily, its one of the quickest airports ever to get through. Passports usually aren't even checked. Its a short walk off the plane and less than a hundred yards of a walk through the airport. Bus goes from right outside the door (tickets bought on the bus for £11 return I think) to Bristol Temple Meads station. The bus takes about 20 mins. Baring in mind Dublin - Bristol flight only really takes 40 mins, you could very well be at BTM by 11 or 11.10. Still cutting it tight I suppose if ye want to drop yer bags off at the gaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

I fly through Bristol fairly regularly and luckily, its one of the quickest airports ever to get through. Passports usually aren't even checked. Its a short walk off the plane and less than a hundred yards of a walk through the airport. Bus goes from right outside the door (tickets bought on the bus for £11 return I think) to Bristol Temple Meads station. The bus takes about 20 mins. Baring in mind Dublin - Bristol flight only really takes 40 mins, you could very well be at BTM by 11 or 11.10. Still cutting it tight I suppose if ye want to drop yer bags off at the gaff.

Cheers for the reply, that's not to bad I suppose, hopefully the strike wont lead to further delays..

No problem. As I was replying I thought I better check my own travel arrangements. When I did, I found out my train has been replaced by a bus that takes an hour and a half longer! You're not the only one bud.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

No problem. As I was replying I thought I better check my own travel arrangements. When I did, I found out my train has been replaced by a bus that takes an hour and a half longer! You're not the only one bud.....:rolleyes:

Where were you supposed to get the train from? we haven't booked tickets for the train (do we need to?). I looked up train times and saw that there is a train from bristol to cheltenham every half hour.

Im travelling up from Exeter on Tuesday morning but there is a problem with the line so have to get a bus half the way. Don't even ask me where the extra hour and a half comes from!

Better off booking the train before hand. The prices can shoot up in the day or two before you travel and you'll also save time in the station if you're in a rush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭christy02

Same price to buy tickets online as in train station. New street anyway. Bought online last year and one of us got them over there and no difference. Bit of advice get to station early. Trains loaded as people arrive. Also buses from cheltenham station to racecourse get busier as morning goes on.

Best to get to station by 10. In racecourse plenty of time for a wander and a pint before 1st race.

Staying in Stratford this year with a car rented. Hope it works out better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

So a group of 9 of us were meant to fly from dublin at 8.00 am on friday for the Goldcup. Ryanair have just informed that our flight has been delayed til 9:35 due to siptu strike. which means we will be in Bristol at 10:40. Its a disaster really as we have rented a house in Cheltenham for the night and we want to drop our bags off etc. We will be very lucky to get there for the first race I think.

Can anyone till me approx. how long it would take to get off the plane, through security and to get to Bristol Train station.

Would taxis work out better I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭mjp

Flying Dublin birmingham tue morning at 8. Staying in travel lodge bullring central birmingham. Getting taxi down£60 between 4 of us and taxi company have arranged to collect us in cheltenham that night at 1 clock for 60return. Don't know how return journey will work though. Wondering would there be much craic in birmingham if went back few hours earlier?

For those staying in Bristol on Tuesday night, what is yer plan when ye get back there? Any particular area popular with Cheltenham folk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭BangBeater

mjp wrote: »
    Flying Dublin birmingham tue morning at 8. Staying in travel lodge bullring central birmingham. Getting taxi down£60 between 4 of us and taxi company have arranged to collect us in cheltenham that night at 1 clock for 60return. Don't know how return journey will work though. Wondering would there be much craic in birmingham if went back few hours earlier?

When there's a will there's a way... We'll be in Birmingham aswell and craic will be made!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭mjp

BangBeater wrote: »
    When there's a will there's a way... We'll be in Birmingham aswell and craic will be made!

Sounds good so. Any pub there that people are meeting up in?

We haven't bought out tickets yet as we're supposed get them off mate but he's let us down. Will there be any hassle in getting tatts tickets on the day or should we get them online now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Edwardguire

mjp wrote: »
    Sounds good so. Any pub there that people are meeting up in?

We haven't bought out tickets yet as we're supposed get them off mate but he's let us down. Will there be any hassle in getting tatts tickets on the day or should we get them online now?

You can buy them on the day anyway.. I booked club tickets before Christmas, think they were about 10£ cheaper than on the day.. I'm flying out tomorrow to but not until 16.30! I'm staying in birmingham to and travelling to cheltenham Tuesday mornin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 confused1986

You can buy them on the day anyway.. I booked club tickets before Christmas, think they were about 10£ cheaper than on the day.. I'm flying out tomorrow to but not until 16.30! I'm staying in birmingham to and travelling to cheltenham Tuesday mornin

Is there much hassle getting them on the day? We're one short for taterstalls on the Friday :(

Order it on the cheltenham website and collect it at the entrance, just incase! Friday tends to sell out.. I'd rather be going knowing I had a ticket and not hoping I'd get one on the gate! Avoid the touts selling tickets, I seen lads at epsom getting turned away at the gate after they bought dodgy tickets off touts!

Website is saying taterstalls is sold out for Friday. I'll chance giving them a ring tomorrow hopefully something will turn up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

I'm not being smart but why do you need to bring bags if you are going Friday morning, shave, shower and dress smart before the airport and buy some shower gel and smells if you want to have a shower Saturday before heading.

Would take a lot of the hassle out of it.

Website is saying taterstalls is sold out for Friday. I'll chance giving them a ring tomorrow hopefully something will turn up

I seen the best mate tickets were sold out last week! So the tattersalls would be next to go.. I'm over hear at the moment, I'm going Tuesday and Wednesday

Hope ypu enjoy it :) if you hear of anything for Friday let me know!