Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boating chit chat thread.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yeah think they were twelvth in IRC and four boats were blackcarded in race five yesterday so wouldn't have been a great result for them.

For me as someone who primarily does whitesails, I thoroughly enjoyed the experience, it was hard work, but I was surprised at how I adapted to a class 1 boat.

Got invited back today and for the future, so I don't think I disgraced myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

neris wrote: »
    Looking at the results yesterday for class 1 and the new rockabill seemed to be well down the results even though she was 1 of the favourites and afloat were touting it as the boat to beat

Seems to have a small sail plan so light wind event just won't work. Lovely looking boat tho.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Would people who've done ISORAs mind me asking a few stoopid questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,099 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Nope.

No guarantee I'll be able to answer them, but go ahead!

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Nope.

No guarantee I'll be able to answer them, but go ahead!

Grand stuff thanks :)

They are fairly basic.

How long would a 60-80 mile race take? 6-8 hours?

If there is a race to e.g. The Isle of Man or Pwllheli do people get ferries/flights back?

Is there a risk that you could end up stuck in no wind, and take days to get back?

Would my regular gear with extra layers if needed be ok?

And the last one, what are the good, the bad and the ugly elements?

Stheno wrote: »

They are fairly basic.

How long is a piece of string! Depends on the wind strength and direction, and the size of boat you're on.

I did DL to Holyhead a few weeks ago in 9ish hours (55 miles) - straight fetch in good wind apart from the last hour, and we didn't get too badly stung - some boats missed the tide and wound up retiring three or four hours later.

The same boat took 20 hours to get from DL to Douglas recently, and that was with a 7-mile head start out at the Kish (a race I'm sure Steve will want to forget :D) I wasn't on board for that, but I'd say it was PAINFUL.

A boat I used to sail on spent 8 hours going nowhere/backwards at Bardsey Sound because they missed the tide - they won that race though (I think) as they were almost the only ones to stick it out!
    If there is a race to e.g. The Isle of Man or Pwllheli do people get ferries/flights back?

Again, it depends. Sometimes the races are set up so that the boat can stay there until the next race (eg there was a DL/Holyhead race recently, followed by a Holyhead/DL race two weeks later)

If that's the case, some boats stay, some boats return.

You don't need a full crew for delivering so sometimes half will ferry home while the rest sail/motor back.
    Is there a risk that you could end up stuck in no wind, and take days to get back?

Oh yes!!! Well, not days - usually people have work commitments and if it's looking hopeless then boats retire. But as far as I know there's no time limits on ISORAs..... :eek:

Absolutely. But there's a lot to be said for a great big lump of an offshore jacket with a huge fleecy collar and a decent hood! Legs - meh, I have yet to find ones that don't leave you with a damp (at best) arse. Having said that, I have a brand new pair of MPX legs for the Round Ireland, which I'm VERY excited about (the legs, not the race!) - if my arse gets wet in those there will be trouble!!

The weather! The most miserable offshore race I have ever done, by quite some distance, was back from the IOM a few years ago - 17.5 hours with no loo (afraid to go below as the stink made us sick), therefore no food or water, cold, wet, sick and utterly, utterly miserable. And even if we did decide to pack it in before we all died, we still had to pound into the sea on our close-hauled fetch so motoring would have made things no better. I swore never, ever again after that one!

The company. I've had some crewmates that I'd really rather not have spent hours/days with in a confined space - and I'm sure there are a few out there who would say the same about me!

However the company is also a good bit - I've had some absolutely fascinating conversations on the rail with people I may never have met, never mind conversed with had we not pitched up on the same boat - you meet all sorts, and it's always interesting.

Best bit - when the sun shines, the wind is blowing and favourable, the dolphins are alongside keeping you company, you can see yourself inching ahead of or a bit higher than your rivals over hours and hours, and then you see the finishing line after so many hours..... there is nowhere better in the world to be! :)

They are fairly basic.

Most of the ISORAs include a night sail so budget 12-16 hrs.
    e.g DL to holyhead is 60 miles (10 hrs at 6 kts approx) direct so depending on the wind they'll give a few marks to round to increase it.
    Depends on the boat, normally you would do the delivery to or from the race as part of the deal.
    Oh yea!!!
    Yes but you may need a cat 2 lifejacket on top.
    Good: a life experience you will never forget. Just wait till you see the first pod of dolphins come say hello to the boat..!

Bad: Sailing t night can be a challenge but can easily be overcome and once you've done it you'll want more.!

Ugly: Learning to sleep at night or day (off watch) on a moving boat can be hard and lead to motion sickness.. I can give you pointers in that tho.

I sleep like the living dead, so hopefully that would help. I was once staying on the 17th floor in a hotel in Canada and the fire alarm was set off by assholes twice between 2 and 3 in the morning, causing two evacuations. I slept through it all:eek: woke up to a letter from the management apologising about it, and went wtf?

What's a cat 2 lifejacket?

I sleep like the living dead, so hopefully that would help. I was once staying on the 17th floor in a hotel in Canada and the fire alarm was set off by assholes twice between 2 and 3 in the morning, causing two evacuations. I slept through it all:eek: woke up to a letter from the management apologising about it, and went wtf?

What's a cat 2 lifejacket?

One with a light, whistle, sprayhood, D-ring. And a certain level of flotation...minimum 150 something... used to be called Newtons but not any more, can't remember the phrase now.

Cat 2 requirements:
    SECTION 5 - PERSONAL EQUIPMENT
    ** Each crew member shall have:
    ** 5.01 Lifejacket
    ** 5.01.1 A lifejacket which shall:
    ** a)
    ** i) if manufactured before 2012 comply with ISO 12402 - 3 (Level 150) or
    equivalent, including EN 396 or UL 1180 and:
    ** . if inflatable have a gas inflation system
    ** . have crotch/thigh straps (ride up prevention system (RUPS))
    MoMu0,1,2 . have an integral safety harness in compliance with OSR 5.02
    ** ii if manufactured after 2011 comply with ISO 12402-3 (Level 150) and be fitted
    with a whistle, lifting loop, reflective material automatic/manual gas inflation
    system
    ** crotch/thigh straps (ride up prevention system (RUPS))
    MoMu0,1,2 an integral safety harness in compliance with OSR 5.02
    MoMu0,1,2,3 b) have an emergency position indicating light in accordance with either ISO 12402-
    8 or SOLAS LSA code 2.2.3
    ** c) be clearly marked with the boat’s or wearer’s name
    MoMu0,1,2,3 d) have a sprayhood in accordance with ISO 12402-8
    MoMu0,1,2 5.01.2 A boat shall carry at least one gas inflatable lifejacket spare cylinder and, if
    appropriate, a spare activation head.
    MoMu0,1,2 5.01.3 A boat shall carry a spare at least one spare lifejacket as required in OSR 5.01.1
    ** 5.01.4 The person in charge shall personally check each lifejacket at least once annually.
    MoMu0,1,2,3 5.02 Safety Harness and Tethers
    MoMu0,1,2,3 5.02.1 A harness that complies with ISO 12401 or equivalent and a tether that:
    MoMu0,1,2,3 a) is not more than 2 m (6’-6”) in length
    MoMu0,1,2,3 b) complies with ISO 12401 (or EN 1095 if manufactured prior to 2010)
    MoMu0,1,2,3 c) have overload indicator flag embedded in the stitching
    MoMu0,1,2,3 d) be manufactured after 2000
    MoMu0,1,2,3 5.02.2 30% of the crew shall have either:
    MoMu0,1,2,3 a) a tether not more than 1 m (3’-3”) long, or
    MoMu0,1,2,3 b) a mid-point snaphook on a 2 m (6’-6”) tether
    MoMu0,1,2,3 5.02.3 A tether which has been overloaded shall be replaced
    5.07 Survival Equipment

Steve wrote: »
    Cat 2 requirements:

Right so.... I'll shut up now :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

I read the last few replies and then worked out when I last did an ISORA and felt really OLD!
    (Excuse – I did live abroad for a long time and did not take up offshores when I returned.)

The only thing I would add is for the long races e.g. Morecombe Bay or Todd Trophy (1) get as much sleep as possible before the event; (2) get as much sleep as possible early in the race – if off-watch go below and kip. (3) Fold your spinnaker as soon as it is dropped. We once won an ISORA because of a windshift between Lambay and Howth at 04.00 – we had our spinny ready, others did not!

Several of my strongest Irish sailing memories are from ISORAS – the rescue of a lady competitor who lost a kneecap in Bardsey Sound; the look on the faces of our sister ship when we flew the kite (above); a race from Howth to Holyhead was another; waking to a Mozart horn concerto on the radio, drifting towards the Kish at dawn– just O’B K and myself on Brainstorm, (the only time I sailed on her); an outlandishly alcoholic prizegiving in the Royal Marine (?) when a co-owner ‘collected’ bottles of wine from other tables and stored them under ours…….
    Enjoy!

Thanks to you both, and sorry for the stupid questions, but you've answered loads of what I was wondering.

I contacted Peter in ISORA thinking he'd ask me to do e.g. a sea survival course and that it would likely be next year before I'd get near an ISORA.

No, I was wrong, and may get a chance to try one this year :eek:

Thanks to you both, and sorry for the stupid questions, but you've answered loads of what I was wondering.

I contacted Peter in ISORA thinking he'd ask me to do e.g. a sea survival course and that it would likely be next year before I'd get near an ISORA.

No, I was wrong, and may get a chance to try one this year :eek:
    You'll be out on one before you know it! There's a bit of a pause after the RI but there's loads left and boats are always after crew, especially during the holiday season.

And if you do one (or more) you might get invited to the ISORA dinner in December which is the BEST night out in the sailing calendar, bar none :D (just ask Pedro!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭pedroeibar1

Strange we remember the nights, never the hangovers!! I'll have to dig out a photo or twwo.....

You'll be out on one before you know it! There's a bit of a pause after the RI but there's loads left and boats are always after willing slaves who do what they are told, but know little :D , especially during the holiday season.

My edit is probably a better description of me :D

Right so.... I'll shut up now :eek:

In fairness, they nothing about having to have a light... I would have thought that was a bit important...

I've just done the sea survival and that came up.... it's bizarre alright!

Eta.... oh, where's Steve's post gone??? !

I've just done the sea survival and that came up.... it's bizarre alright!

Eta.... oh, where's Steve's post gone??? !

Thank God, I thought I was actually going mad, as opposed to clearly suffering some mental malfunction that has led me to even considering ISORAs :)

Sorry H, I deleted my post as I thought I was mistaken.. I have restored the timeline..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

64 boats entered for the Round Ireland, who's going to watch it on Saturday?

I'll wave at you from the boat!

When's the off? Apparently ye are forecast for a constant beat from tuskar to malin?

Hang on, I'll turn around and you can twist the knife more... oooh that's it. mmm..

lol.

Yeah it's looking like a slog towards tuskar but hopefully a southwesterly for the west coast leg with 5m swells so exciting!

Start is 13:00 Saturday.

From Wicla?

From Wicla?

No, they've changed it to inistraull for the craic.....

Yeah, it's from wicla :D:D

No, they've changed it to inistraull for the craic.....

Yeah, it's from wicla :D:D

Might head down if there is somewhere to watch or do ye start a few miles offshore?

Start is just off the pier, so should make for good spectating.

Give us a wave!

Start is just off the pier, so should make for good spectating.

Give us a wave!

Oooh that should be mega so :)

If we make it down, I'll wave like a loon :)

It was boat for hope day today in Howth, mad craic altogether, whatever about the kids that were out with their families, grown adults with buckets of water and hoses going mad :)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,346 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

It was boat for hope day today in Howth, mad craic altogether, whatever about the kids that were out with their families, grown adults with buckets of water and hoses going mad :)

Couldn't make it this year but it sure is great fun :)

DSC00537.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭neris

fergal.b wrote: »
    Couldn't make it this year but it sure is great fun :)

DSC00537.jpg

Appareny it was very good and very wet.

neris wrote: »
    Appareny it was very good and very wet.

Very very wet, my gear is now drying out in the bath :D

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,346 Mod ✭✭✭✭fergal.b

Im sure it wasn't just the weather that got people wet the water balloons and pistols may have helped.

fergal.b wrote: »
    Im sure it wasn't just the weather that got people wet the water balloons and pistols may have helped.

And the hoses and giant buckets of water being hurled from the pirate ship :)

We were madly shooting the kids manning the ribs until we copped they had treasure to give us :)

Anyone doing this weekends ISORA?

Not me anyhow, I'm doing the regatta.

Did you get a spot?

I did! Just awaiting confirmation :)

Looks like it will be a windy one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,964 ✭✭✭Vexorg

Stheno

Best of luck, its going to exciting, 42 miles around Rockabill and Kish. Nice early start too, looks like its part of the RstGYC regatta, so you will be back in the Club House to collect your prize?

What boat are you on?

Have a great one.

Vexorg wrote: »
    Stheno

Best of luck, its going to exciting, 42 miles around Rockabill and Kish. Nice early start too, looks like its part of the RstGYC regatta, so you will be back in the Club House to collect your prize?

What boat are you on?

Have a great one.

Thanks, didn't know it was part of the regatta :)

Should be fun!

1 Howth boat still looking for a body for the isora tomorrow, see the hyc crewpoint facebook page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I've booked myself on the Competent Crew 5-day course in the INSS. Can't wait.

Thanks, didn't know it was part of the regatta :)

Should be fun!

Hope you enjoyed it, was watching on YB.

Quickest ISORA on record, I'd say :D

Quickest regatta for us as well.... we got about 1/4 up the first beat and decided to get the hell outta there before the mast came down!! Fair play to those who stuck it out.... that was one wild day!

Oh dear!

What happened?

Was out on the Thursday evening race and saw a few kites expolding :D

Nothing happened - to us anyway - just got very, very windy - too much for a lil' boat like ours!

First race was abandoned in any case, and by the looks of it most of the fleet went in - no idea if any went back out for a second race. Looks like it stayed very squally for most of the day.

I'm dying to hear how the ISORA went - I'd say that was proper rock'n'roll :D

Bar takings will be down so :D

Ah the George usually attracts a good crowd no matter what!

(should correct the above, when I say most of the fleet, I meant most of our fleet, ie C3. The big boats were still careering around the place when we were having our coffee and sangwiches ashore!)

I'm dying to hear how the ISORA went - I'd say that was proper rock'n'roll :D

I am back :pac: