Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disabled parking spaces. Do you..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

darced wrote: »
    Knine wrote: »
    Yes if you are the parent of a disabled child like me and you can't find a disabled bay to park in due to ignorant people, it can mean the difference between parking your car or having to head home with an upset child. The ignorance I have come across in the last few years is astounding and if you don't live with disability you would simply never understand.

For most of us life is tough enough with many challenges but being able to park your car should not be one of them. If you think there are plenty of empty disabled bays, try driving to your local Tesco on a rainy day.

Darced. Do you feel slightly like a scum bag when you compare your post against the other?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Days 298

But the social stigma and shame is killing yah :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Jaysus, that's hilarious alright!

Sure if it brings you a some small satisfaction and amusement in your life, keep on fighting the system and sticking it to the man (or yummy mummies in this case). I can only imagine the sense of enormous well being it must bring you to make life a little less easier for someone else as you snigger away to yourself at having got one up on those stoopid mothers with their dumb babies.

Ya legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,981 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No I wouldn't park in the disabled spaces, if I'm in a hurry though I park in the mother and baby space all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I parked in one once without realising. The wheelchair symbol was very faded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I remember years ago in Dunnes Newbridge the guys that worked in the car park put a sticker on the car of a guy that parked in a disabled spot. The guy gave out about it but they told him to fück off. A few days later same guy same spot. He smirked at the fellas as he walked into the shop. Wasn't smirking when he came back and every window on the car was covered in the stickers. And it was those really hard to remove stickers too.

Threatened to call the cops and threatened to get the lads fired. Manager came out and said to the guy "I gave them the stickers to do it. Fück off with yourself." Took him 2 hours to clear enough to drive away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaliforniaDream

I wouldn't park in a disabled spot personally, but I wouldn't get worked up about someone doing it either.

To the parents complaining about people parking in the 'parent and child' spots - I presume once your baby is no longer needing a car seat you yourself don't park in those spots? If I'm reading people's posts correctly, it's so you have enough room for the car seat and no other reason?

Somehow I think my presumption is wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

No I would not, I am an able bodied man and I don't have a problem walking from another parking spot a few metres away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

I saw a well dressed woman in her 40s parking a 5 series BMW in a disabled spot and walking into the shopping centre, I told her that the space was for disabled people,
    I am just collecting my mother was the response.
    I saw her 10 mins later with three of her friends having coffee. I walked over and congratulated her on having such a young looking mother and walked off.
    Should have seen her face.
    Ignorance is not a disability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

I wouldn't park in a disabled spot personally, but I wouldn't get worked up about someone doing it either.

To the parents complaining about people parking in the 'parent and child' spots - I presume once your baby is no longer needing a car seat you yourself don't park in those spots? If I'm reading people's posts correctly, it's so you have enough room for the car seat and no other reason?

Those spots are a god-send when your baby is really small. There are trolleys now which you can clip a car seat on to, trying to get the car seat in and out of the car in a smaller space is impossible.

I haven't used once since my son was 2 though, I remember how much I appreciated them when I needed them so I leave them for other parents.

Why do you think this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,005 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Does anyone else think that electric wheelchair users should be put in the furtherest away spots? Distance is to door is not an issue for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Knine

ted1 wrote: »
    Does anyone else think that electric wheelchair users should be put in the furtherest away spots? Distance is to door is not an issue for them

Oh yes of course they should so that when it is pissing rain they can go into 6th gear, similar to how an abled bodied person runs for cover.

The fact that a person who is less mobile is more likely to get pneumonia should not matter............

Oh yes of course they should so that when it is pissing rain they can go into 6th gear, similar to how an abled bodied person runs for cover.

The fact that a person who is less mobile is more likely to get pneumonia should not matter............
    Courtesy umbrellas..,,,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

I think this thread shows us that some people are brought up with manners and consideration for others less fortunate than ourselves. Some of us have not been so well brought up. The latter, parking in disabled spaces and trying to justify it, expose themselves for what they are... sure it's their culture. :P They don't all drive vans with orange beacons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mcko

Disabled spaces are bigger to allow acces for wheel chairs ect, it's not that they are closer.
    If you are not disabled and you park in a disabled space then shame on you.
    I work with a guy who has a disabled badge for his mother and uses the badge when she is not in the car.
    It's amazing what you can justify to yourself.

mcko wrote: »
    Disabled spaces are bigger to allow acces for wheel chairs ect, it's not that they are closer.
    If you are not disabled and you park in a disabled space then shame on you.
    I work with a guy who has a disabled badge for his mother and uses the badge when she is not in the car.
    It's amazing what you can justify to yourself.
    Yes they are bigger but they are also the closest to the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

I park in disabled parking spaces all the time, not because i want to annoy anyone, it's because i drive a nice big Audi and am entitled to park there ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

I always report those arseholes immediately.

to who if you dont mind me asking.?

I haven't used those spaces since my kids were babies, no.

Those spaces are wider because to get a baby in and out of a car seat, you need to open the door to it's full extent. You have a trolly full of shopping, with a car seat attached to it. You have to line the trolly up beside the car, detach the car seat and put it back in the car, with the baby in it.

Now, imagine while you've been inside the supermarket, some numpty comes along and parks so close to the rear door, you can barely open it, let alone open it wide enough to install the car seat. You're kinda stuck aren't you?
    This is why these wider spaces are so handy for them, so not being a selfish muppet, I leave those spaces free for people who might benefit from them and use one of the hundreds of other spaces the supermarket have provided for me as an able bodied person with no baby to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Ok, to those who say the "private" car parks, like Tesco, Lidl, etc cannot be deemed official disabled spaces, they are wrong. The Road Traffic Act defines a public place under Section 3 of the Act of 1961 "means any street, road or other place to which the public have access with vehicles whether as of right or by permission and whether subject to or free of charge". This includes these car parks, so the law can be enforced on people who park in them. The only car parks excluded by them are the barrier/gate operated ones which require a fob (not the "take a ticket" ones).

And for me personally, i detest anyone who parks in them without needing them, regardless of the amount of unused spaces there. It's morally wrong, even if there are more spaces there than needed. The law is the law, even if you feel you're not going to inconvenience anyone. You can use the excuse of common sense all you like, but it doesn't excuse that you're breaking the law. And i would normally say it to someone if it was blatantly obvious that they did not have some underlying medical condition that required them to park there. And i won't accuse someone straight off, i would simple ask them if they needed to park there, and their response is easily indictable of if they need it or not.

Patent and child spaces are also located againest the building so as preventing the kids ( toddlers ) from having to cross the car park. They go syraight from car to foot path

There's no legal definition of being a dick. But I have no regrets calling some people one.

They're parent and child spaces now

Fred not all kids scream some are pleasant. There like adults you do get loud obnoxious ones and you get good mannered ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I love the dirty looks I get when I use them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

They should reserve the front row of the car park for people over 65.

I don't use the parent and child spaces myself, but i don't agree with them, why should someone who has decided to reproduce get priority over someone who has decided not to have children? Where's the spaces for those who don't want children? They need extra room to get the big tv's and all that extra stuff they can buy into the car!!

And no, i don't care that you need extra room to get the kids in and out, there's always plenty of spaces at the back of the car parks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭mutley18

Nah, I just lob it up on the footpath and put on my flashing indicator parking lights.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

2 pics I took recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I haven't got a sticker but i have an injury and find it hard getting in and out of cars, so the extra space at a disabled spot is great for me. I could probably get a sticker but i'm too lazy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

I haven't got a sticker but i have an injury and find it hard getting in and out of cars, so the extra space at a disabled spot is great for me. I could probably get a sticker but i'm too lazy :)

To be fair to you, it sounds like you are less mobile than half the people that have the permit. You should apply for one, free parking and all that. You may as well milk the system like all the poor mouths....more luck to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Knine

Then you should not be parking in a disabled bay. They are for Blue Badge Permit Holders only. You might find also that it is not easy to get a permit. You will also be clamped for parking in these spaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

Because I transport many people with disabilities, I don't always have a permit, so what I do is write a note and leave it on the dash explaining the situation, I also leave my phone number. early on I used to ring the council/hospital and ensure it was ok, they all said that it was fine-I'm known in the area for what I do with the disabled-so now I just leave the note and have had no problems. SOmetimes it may be a temporary wheelchair bound or disabled person and they are entitled to use the space but not the tag/badge for long term use.

I don't use the parent and child spaces myself, but i don't agree with them, why should someone who has decided to reproduce get priority over someone who has decided not to have children? Where's the spaces for those who don't want children? They need extra room to get the big tv's and all that extra stuff they can buy into the car!!

And no, i don't care that you need extra room to get the kids in and out, there's always plenty of spaces at the back of the car parks!

Not sure if you're joking....but you'll find the other couple of hundred spaces are designated for people who haven't reproduced. Are there not enough of those for you?

Gotta laugh at the posts from grown men sulking and spitting the dummy out more than the babies they resent so much. "Wah Waaah, they got a few extra wide spaces and I want one too. Waaaah!"

Lol. Just lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ms. Pingui

It's funny, people who insist on parking closest to the door are usually the ones who could do with the most exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Then you should not be parking in a disabled bay. They are for Blue Badge Permit Holders only. You might find also that it is not easy to get a permit. You will also be clamped for parking in these spaces.

I haven't got a permit but i know for a fact if i apply ill get one :)

Not sure if you're joking....but you'll find the other couple of hundred spaces are designated for people who haven't reproduced. Are there not enough of those for you?

Gotta laugh at the posts from grown men sulking and spitting the dummy out more than the babies they resent so much. "Wah Waaah, they got a few extra wide spaces and I want one too. Waaaah!"

It was a bit of tongue in cheek alright. I was having a laugh about parents who say they need extra room for the kids, whereas us single need extra room to get the massive TV's and entertainment systems in. But i still don't believe that there should be parent & child spaces, i don't think that they should get special treatment over others. Spaces for OAP's would probably go down a bit easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I'd park in them in some places. Some Tesco's for instance have about 20 disabled parking spaces right in front of the shops. If I'm not gonna be long I think it would be safe to assume that between when I arrive and when I leave that its unlikely 20 disabled people would show up and one poor fcuker would be forced to park elsewhere..

It only takes only 19 other non -disabled people to think likewise.in a busy carpark...

Had a row once with some tramp for parking across a disabled space in Liffey valley and ended up telling her she had misconstrued the concept and that it was for people with a physical disability and not a mental one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaliforniaDream

Why do you think this?

Based on the amount of parents I've come across using them when the children are clearly out of the car seat.
    Maybe I am wrong, but in life you generally go by the majority. The majority of people I see parking in these spots do not have babies/toddlers in a car seat or children at all.
    I haven't used those spaces since my kids were babies, no.

Those spaces are wider because to get a baby in and out of a car seat, you need to open the door to it's full extent. You have a trolly full of shopping, with a car seat attached to it. You have to line the trolly up beside the car, detach the car seat and put it back in the car, with the baby in it.

Now, imagine while you've been inside the supermarket, some numpty comes along and parks so close to the rear door, you can barely open it, let alone open it wide enough to install the car seat. You're kinda stuck aren't you?
    This is why these wider spaces are so handy for them, so not being a selfish muppet, I leave those spaces free for people who might benefit from them and use one of the hundreds of other spaces the supermarket have provided for me as an able bodied person with no baby to use.

Fair play to you. Hopefully more people learn from you.

Based on the amount of parents I've come across using them when the children are clearly out of the car seat.
    Maybe I am wrong, but in life you generally go by the majority. The majority of people I see parking in these spots do not have babies/toddlers in a car seat or children at all.

Fair play to you. Hopefully more people learn from you.
    Perhaps they are not and have never been parents and simply behave the way many posters here do.

Edit: Back at a real keyboard now!
    So you base this presumption on the fact that you see many cars in parent and child spaces with no kids or car seats?
    How can you tell that these cars belong to parents of grown up children?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Something which annoys me almost as much is someone who parks a motorbike in any car parking bay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

One thing though is that some people can need them and have the disabled parking badge yet not be on crutches or in a wheel chair.

One of my relatives got shouted at for using one but she actually has severe arthritis and a major cardiac problem and can barely walk 10ft yet she looks totally normal and able at first glance.

Same story with another relative of mine who has a very serous spinal problem due to a type of cancer that causes holes to appear in her bones.

Again she was yelled abuse at by someone and she is 200% eligible for disabled parking. Under her coat she has metal frames supporting her back and only for her extreme stamina and ability to keep up appearances she wouldn't be going outside the door!

She looks totally OK but she's a disabled parking pass holder and a very legitimate one.

Something which annoys me almost as much is someone who parks a motorbike in any car parking bay.

There arent any or many motor bike spaces. I ride a bike. there is no other legal option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

SpaceTime wrote: »

Again she was yelled abuse at by someone and she is 200% eligible for disabled parking.

She's allowed take up 2 disabled parking spaces?