Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't know what I'm doing but I know what I've done

• Registered Users Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Thursday 2/4/2015

Front Squats
    (90-120s rest)
    60kg x 3 x 8

Deadlift
    70kg x 2 x 8
    90kg x 6
    110kg x 4
    130kg x 2
    150kg x 1
    170kg x 3 x 1

Deficit Deadlift (~1.5" deficit)
    (90s rest)
    120kg x 5 x 5

Russian Twists
    (60-90s rest)
    +25kg x 3 x 20/20
    +25kg x 23/23

GHRs
    (90-120s rest)
    BW x 20, 21, 19

Last rep at 170 was messy but first 2 were okay. Really felt the block pull work kick in locking out the first 2.

Deficits felt solid.

Time to go eat a sizeable amount of meat and do a lot of reclining.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

170 wowee

I wanna lift 170

bluewolf wrote: »
    170 wowee

I wanna lift 170

You will.

All in good time :)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Sure will

Anyway the point was, good work!

Friday 3/4/2015

DB OHP
    (60-90s rest)
    20kg x 5 x 10 - 'bout time

Wide-Grip Plate-loaded Seated Rows
    (60-90s rest)
    120kg x 5 x 10

Lateral Raises
    (60-90s rest)
    12.5kg x 4 x 10
    12.5kg x 11

Split Squats
    (90-120s rest)
    90kg x 4 x 8/8

Finally saw out the 5x10 with the 20s. And not before time.

The split squats were just about survival.

Glad to have a few days off now. Tired after those last few days.

Monday 6/4/2015

Squats
    92.5kg x 5 x 8

RDLs
    (90-120s rest)
    90kg x 5 x 8

Lat Pulldowns
    (90-120s rest)
    105kg x 4 x 10

Face Pulls
    (60-90s rest)
    4 x 12

Preacher Curls
    (60-90s rest)
    32.5kg x 2 x 15
    32.5kg x 17

Squats were at 70%. I think I underestimated them...
    Took about 15-20s longer of a break for last 2 sets. Was moving stance width in and out to see if I could find a stance that felt better than my normal stance.

Tuesday 7/4/2015

Bench
    (75-90s rest)
    62.5kg x 4 x 8

CGBP
    (75-90s rest)
    60kg x 4 x 8

DB Rows
    (90-120s rest)
    37.5kg x 5 x 10

Skullcrushers
    (90s rest)
    27.5kg x 5 x 15

Incline DB Bench
    (90-120s rest)
    22.5kg x 3 x 7
    17.5kg x 3 x 10

Widened grip to middle fingers on rings for bench.
    Kept rest between bench and CG to 2 mins. Rest before last set on close grip was 20-30s longer than intended. Because burning.

Kept all changeovers as short as possible.

Triceps f*cked by the time the DB pressing came along and that became a game of 'Don't drop the dumbbell on your face'. For 1st three sets anyway.

Feels like there's six billion psi in my arms right now.

Thursday 9/4/2015

Didn't feel brilliant coming in - tired and stiff - so it was a case of see how it goes but it's fair to say I wasn't confident I'd get to the point of even having a got at deadlifting 180.

Then the spasm in my back when I hung from the pull up bar warming up. Hadn't even done a single thing.

Front Squats
    60kg x 2 x 8

Deadlift
    60kg x 2 x 8
    80kg x 8
    100kg x 6
    120kg x 4

Felt twitching in back walking to the door. Lacrosse balling the sh*t out of it seemed to work.

140kg x 2
    160kg x 1

Videoed them and there is nothing like the fear of injury to make you get your form right.

On went 180. Bit more ballin' on the back. But when I hung from the pull up bar I felt a twitch after about 20s hanging. Took no chances and left the DLs.

On the plus side, the DLs had never felt better. Cues came together like rarely have before and nicely skinned shins.

BB OHP
    20kg x 10
    30kg x 8
    40kg x 5
    50kg x 3
    55kg x 2
    60kg x 1 - PR

Well, that was easier than I expected.

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Big plates on the OHP, big milestone! Probably all your dumbell work and stronger bench

conzy wrote: »
    Big plates on the OHP, big milestone! Probably all your dumbell work and stronger bench

I was too lazy to strip the bar and put on big plates so was 10s and 5s :)

I don't think I really expected to get it but it would make sense with the stronger benching and DB OHP, like you said, that I've been doing in the last couple of months.

Sunday 12/4/2015

DB OHP
    (60-90s rest)
    15kg x 5 x 15

Wide-Grip Plate-loaded Seated Rows
    (60-90s rest)
    120kg x 5 x 10

Lateral Raises
    (60-90s rest)
    10kg x 5 x 15

Split Squats
    (60-90s rest)
    75kg x 4 x 12/12

GHRs
    (90-120s rest)
    BW x 20, 20, 19

Program is done but because I reset the deadlift a few weeks in, still have to see that out so while I'm staying with the basis of the full program, there are some changes to volume and intensity until I finish out the DL cycle.

Underestimated how much the split squats would take out of me hence me pencilling in intervals on the C2 pencilled for the end of the session. Not a hope.

Tuesday 14/4/2015

Squats
    80kg x 8
    90kg x 8
    100kg x 8 x 2 (60s rest)

RDLs
    (90-120s rest)
    90kg x 5 x 8

Neutral Grip Pull Ups
    (90-120s rest)
    +5kg x 8, 8, 8, 6, 5

Face Pulls
    (60-90s rest)
    4 x 12

Seated DB Hammer Curls
    (60-90s rest)
    10kg x 4 x 12

Just worked up to doubles at 100kg to work on some form stuff. Nothing overly heavy but just wanted to tweak a few things. Mostly keeping myself a touch more upright. Heels about 15" apart feels strongest stance.
    Gonna go back to pull ups for my vertical pulling. Find they work better for me and I probably do them with better form than lat pulldowns.

Switched to hammer curls to get a bit more brachialis action. Hit dat peak, yo.

Back felt grand too. No issues. Thanxbetajaysus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Fcuk you and your pull ups! :)

Wednesday 15/4/2015

Bench
    (90-120s rest)
    65kg x 4 x 8

CGBP
    (90-120s rest)
    60kg x 4 x 8

DB Rows
    (90-120s rest)
    37.5kg x 4 x 10
    37.5kg x 12

Skullcrushers
    (90s rest)
    27.5kg x 3 x 15

Today didn't really go to plan so the workout was fuelled by lots of coffee and 2 tiny pains au chocolat eaten at 10am.

Last 2 sets of those had extra 30s before because ridiculous burn.

Got too hungry and tired to finish out the skullz and DB incline benching so i left it there. Sometimes you just have to know when going on would likely be counter productive.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Do you always stick to set rest periods?

JJayoo wrote: »
    Do you always stick to set rest periods?

It depends. With the main lifts I usually don't but I would with the accessory work for the most part.

But I've another 2 weeks or so on the DL cycle - because I reset it a couple of weeks into program - so I'm just changing up the benching a bit going for lower intensity, higher volume and shortish rests.

But once I get back into a program with everything, I won't be timing rests necessarily. Not on main work anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Today didn't really go to plan so the workout was fuelled by lots of coffee and 2 tiny pains au chocolat eaten at 10am.

Totally read that as two tiny pains (as in aches :))

Ah here, what's the point in having pains au chocolat if they're not massive yokes :D Also bonus points good Sir for not falling into the "pain au chocolats" trap...

Totally read that as two tiny pains (as in aches :))

Ah here, what's the point in having pains au chocolat if they're not massive yokes :D Also bonus points good Sir for not falling into the "pain au chocolats" trap...

It was a conference and they just had mini stuff.

Except I found out too late that the stuff in tin foil was breakfast baps with sausage and bacon for our consumption.

Ohmigod I discovered jusroll pain au chocolates wot you bake yourself in the oven.

Never ever buy them. Ever.

Ohmigod I discovered jusroll pain au chocolates wot you bake yourself in the oven.

Never ever buy them. Ever.

It can't be a worse discovery than finding about the breakfast baps too late...

Thursday 16/4/2015

Front Squats
    60kg x 2 x 8

Deadlift
    70kg x 2 x 8
    100kg x 8
    120kg x 4
    140kg x 2
    160kg x 1
    180kg x 2 x F
    180kg x 1

GHRs
    (90-120s rest)
    21, 20, 21

Russian Twists
    (60-90s rest)
    +25kg x 3 x 20/20
    +25kg x 24/24

Those two fails at 180 were mental fails. My back had given me zero problems. Nothing. Had been rolling it as extra precaution but it was A1. But it headfu*ked me. I never gave them a chance. Pussied out early. Got angry. Pulled it third time of asking. I'd expended a bit of energy being a sap - the anger at my pathetic attempts meant I didn't run through my cues like normal - and it wasn't pretty but I wasn't leaving til it came up.

Saturday 18/4/2015

Birra conditioning.

C2 Intervals
    30s on, 45s rest
    > 150m per interval (averaged 156)
    12 rounds

KB Swings
    12 rounds:
    25 swings, 37s rest (45 felt too long, 30 too short)
    24kg KB

Just wanted to reintroduce a bit of conditioning and won't have time to incorporate it tomorrow.

Had been so long since I'd been on the C2 I afforded myself the luxury of 45s rests. Rowing felt strong.

Forearms burning in kettlebell hell for last ten swings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

KB Swings
    12 rounds:
    25 swings, 37s rest (45 felt too long, 30 too short)
    24kg KB

Nice swinging :D

I'm disappointed you didn't go for 37.5 on the rests Alf :pac:

Nice swinging :D

I'm disappointed you didn't go for 37.5 on the rests Alf :pac:

Took the option of less rest.

I'm so hardcore :)

Jaysis those rowers are a great workout. Been a while since I used one. Yeah I'd say your hands were raw after rowing and KB swings.

Good job!

Jaysis those rowers are a great workout. Been a while since I used one. Yeah I'd say your hands were raw after rowing and KB swings.

Good job!

The hands are grand. It's more the grip work burning my forearms out of it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Truffle Pig is a great username.

The hands are grand. It's more the grip work burning my forearms out of it

It's a cnut isn't it. I stopped doing wrist curl because I couldn't hack it :) might give them another go.

Are you working off a set programme of winging it on experience?

JJayoo wrote: »
    Truffle Pig is a great username.

It matches my face :)

It's a cnut isn't it. I stopped doing wrist curl because I couldn't hack it :) might give them another go.

Are you working off a set programme of winging it on experience?

The programme is done but I reset my deadlifting two weeks in so the sets and reps aren't programmed - just doing a bit more volume until I start a new programme after seeing how deadlifting test goes.

Just want to bring in some semi-regular conditioning though.