Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't know what I'm doing but I know what I've done

• Registered Users Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Monday 4/5/2015

Littl'un is starting in creche in a couple of weeks and herself back to work a couple of weeks after that so there's gonna be an adjustment timewise. I'd kinda forgotten was so close so plans for next lot of training went out the window. But I'll start this 6-weeker and see how far into it I get.

A) Squats
    90kg x 5 x 8

B) Pause Squats (22X0)
    72.5kg x 5 x 8

C) Front Squat (2010)
    60kg x 5 x 8

D1) Split Squats (3010)
    60kg x 3 x 6/6

D2) Tempo Squat (4010)
    50kg x 3 x 12

D3) Reverse Lunge
    40kg x 3 x 25/25*

* closing so hadn't time for last set of these.

It's the RevFit 6-week strength challenge.

Haven't done that kinda volume for legs in one session in a long, long time.
    Front squats even felt heavy. I'm gonna know all about this.

Was a little conservative with the numbers for the D's because I wasn't sure how the cumulative effect of the triset would hit me.

Kept all rests between sets in A, B, C cos gonna be tight for time doing these so rests won't be too long. I reckon I'll have to rejig the week and do that workout at the weekend when I've a bit more time but will see how the rest of the workouts go.

Just realised I made a balls of the squats. Supposed to be 3x8 with the last set being 8+. Even had it in my log.

Not sure why I ended up doing 5x8.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Only seeing your DL vid now - great lift, Alf! Fair play...

Tuesday 5/5/2015

A) Bench
    65kg x 3 x 8
    65kg x 9

B) Incline Bench (2010)
    40kg x 3 x 8
    45kg x 3 x 8

C) CGBP (2010)
    55kg x 5 x 8

D1) Bent Over Row (3010)
    55kg x 3 x 6

D2) Lat Pulldown (4010)
    60kg x 3 x 12

D3) DB Reverse Flys
    4kg x 3 x 25

Brain fart for incline. Put on ~50% of incline max rather than flat bench max. Change up to proper weight midway and added a set.

Glute cramps on CGBP. Ugh. I also underestimated the burn I'd be getting towards the later sets on CGBP.

Had intended going with 60kg for bent over rows but with space constraints and being busy I used the 55kg fixed bar and slowed the tempo to 4010.

A lot of good burn there today

Tuesday 5/5/2015

A) Bench
    65kg x 3 x 8
    65kg x 9

B) Incline Bench (2010)
    40kg x 3 x 8
    45kg x 3 x 8

C) CGBP (2010)
    55kg x 5 x 8

D1) Bent Over Row (3010)
    55kg x 3 x 6

D2) Lat Pulldown (4010)
    60kg x 3 x 12

D3) DB Reverse Flys
    4kg x 3 x 25

Brain fart for incline. Put on ~50% of incline max rather than flat bench max. Change up to proper weight midway and added a set.

Glute cramps on CGBP. Ugh. I also underestimated the burn I'd be getting towards the later sets on CGBP.

Had intended going with 60kg for bent over rows but with space constraints and being busy I used the 55kg fixed bar and slowed the tempo to 4010.

A lot of good burn there today

Ya doing Hanley's 6-Week jobbie?? Nice! Interested to see how you find it...

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Ya doing Hanley's 6-Week jobbie?? Nice! Interested to see how you find it...

That's the one. Chances are I won't get to see it out this time but have enjoyed it so far.

How bout dem Legz Dayz?? :D

#Murderous

How bout dem Legz Dayz?? :D

#Murderous

I thought they were beads of sweat but they were little tears from my legs.

Oh the humanity!

Wednesday 6/5/2015

A) Deadlift
    155kg x 4 x 5

B) RDL
    90kg x 5 x 8

C) Good Morning (3010)
    40kg x 5 x 10

D) Hamstring Curls (2020)
    70kg x 4 x 12

E) Decline Sit Ups
    +15kg x 4 x 12

1st set of DLs was bad. 2nd was worse. I'd properly mind-fu*ked myself by then - giving out to myself after each sloppy rep like a nutjob. So I changed into my Reeboks...more as a mental 'trick'. 3rd was at least a bit better. Last set was the best, which doesn't necessarily say much but clearer head = better lifts.

For the last god-knows-how-long RDLs have been done after squats. Felt much harder today. Should have expected they would and probably should have gone for 80kg instead. Learnz.

After RDLs I thought I'd need to drop below 40 but actually felt fine at that.

Made a lot of rookie errors today but I know what I was getting wrong and I'll try to right them the next day out. Hopefully it's just 'one of those days'.

Might have to do this workout in two halves either side of work to get it done during a normal week.

Thursday 7/5/2015

A1) Pushups (3010)
    4 x 15

A2) Squats
    78.5kg x 4 x 10

B1) Bent Over Row (2010)
    60kg x 4 x 10

B2) BB OHP (2010)
    42.5kg x 8
    40kg x 8 - switched from wonky bar
    41kg x 2 x 8 - missed last rep

C1) Deadlift
    137.5kg x 4 x 2

C2) DB Flys (2010)
    10kg x 4 x 15

D) C2 Intervals
    10 rounds: 30s row, 45s rest. > 156 m/row; averaged 158

Have a solid idea of weight selection now. What was too high, what was too low.

Threw in the C2 intervals at the end for a bit of cardio ahead of the run next weekend.

Not an ideal week, having sessions in a row but needs must. I'm glad to be off for some R&R for a few days now. Kicking off with a lot of reclining today and a sports massage in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭bigronnie9

Thursday 7/5/2015

A1) Pushups (3010)
    4 x 15

A2) Squats
    78.5kg x 4 x 10

B1) Bent Over Row (2010)
    60kg x 4 x 10

B2) BB OHP (2010)
    42.5kg x 8
    40kg x 8 - switched from wonky bar
    41kg x 2 x 8 - missed last rep

C1) Deadlift
    137.5kg x 4 x 2

C2) DB Flys (2010)
    10kg x 4 x 15

D) C2 Intervals
    10 rounds: 30s row, 45s rest. > 156 m/row; averaged 158

Done hanleys 6 week challenge afew months ago myself, how did you find this session?

Thought it was a good mix of exercises myself, great way to finish out each week and a nice break from going to town on a specific lift (That squat day, MY GOD! :eek: )

bigronnie9 wrote: »
    Done hanleys 6 week challenge afew months ago myself, how did you find this session?

Thought it was a good mix of exercises myself, great way to finish out each week and a nice break from going to town on a specific lift (That squat day, MY GOD! :eek: )

Yeah it's a nice way to round off the week and a good mix but not overly taxing.

The leg day is BRUTAL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Doing some great work there Alf! Hows the back lately?

The back has been grand. Had a twinge a few weeks back when I was warming up...just when I was hanging off a pull-up bar. But nothing from lifting, thank Dog

Sunday 10/5/2015

A) Squats
    97.5kg x 3 x 8
    97.5kg x 9

B) Pause Squats (22X0)
    75kg x 5 x 8

C) Front Squat (2010)
    62.5kg x 2 x 8
    65kg x 3 x 8

D1) Split Squats (3010)
    62.5kg x 2 x 6/6

D2) Tempo Squat (4010)
    55kg x 2 x 12

D3) Reverse Lunge
    42.5kg x 2 x 25/25

Started week 2 today to give legs plenty of recovery before next Sunday's run. Wasn't ideal but it was fine.

Pins and needles in my left arm cost me another 2-3 reps at 97.5 but was feeling solid otherwise so I'm ok with 9.

Upped midway through Front Squats cos I felt I'd more to give.

Only had time for 2 rounds of D.

Hard workout but not as much of a shock to system as last week.

Edit: kept rests between sets to 2 mins. 2.5 mins before last sets of A and C.

Tuesday 12/5/2015

A) Bench
    67.5kg x 4 x 8

B) Incline Bench (2010)
    45kg x 5 x 8

C) CGBP (2010)
    57.5kg x 5 x 8 - extra rep on last set

D1) DB Bent Over Row (3010)
    32.5kg x 3 x 6

D2) Lat Pulldown (4010)
    65kg x 3 x 12

D3) DB Reverse Flys
    4kg x 3 x 25

Ok benching. Thought sore hand would have more of an impact. Wasn't 100% sure of 9th rep but felt stronger than last week. Way better at keeping the scap retraction throughout sets these days. Used get too loose too quickly.

CGBP feels heavier than expected after the flat and inclines. Felt ok though.

BOR was supposed to be with BB but space at a premium so DBs it was. Was supposed to be 65kg on the bar.

Great pump at the end. Thought I'd wind up like an angry Bruce Banner in a slim fit shirt.

Wednesday 13/5/2015

Before work

A) Good Morning (3010)
    (90s rest)
    45kg x 5 x 10

B) Hamstring Curls (2020)
    (90s rest)
    72.5kg x 4 x 12

C) Decline Sit Ups
    (<90s rest)
    +17.5kg x 4 x 12

After work

D) Deadlift
    166kg x 2 x 3

All went fine in the ayem. Then work bullsh*t in the peeyem cost me the time I'd have spent doing RDLs.

But waiting for a bit of space to DL in meant it was probably pointless even going in because I ended up with time for only 2 of 4 sets. P*ssed off.

Thursday 14/5/2015

I've decided to write off this week in terms of the program and try to do this week properly next week. I'll just give my legs a rest ahead of Sunday (you'd swear I was gonna do a great time) to get what I can out of them.

A1) BB OHP
    40kg x 5 x 8

A2) Pull Ups (proper)
    BW x 5 x 8

B) Bench
    65kg x 4 x 7

C) Close-Grip Plate-Loaded Rows
    (90s rest)
    110kg x 5 x 12

D) Hammer Curls
    (<90s rest)
    10kg x 5 x 12

E) Cable Tricep Extensions (rope)
    (<60s rest)
    4 x 15

90s rest between supersets of A.

Widened grip on bench - middle finger on rings. Unrelated but left pec nearly exploded on rep 7 of 1st set. Hence sets of 7. Brought grip in for subsequent sets and cut it a set short so as not to push my luck.

Nothing of note there bit did wonders for my sanity today.

Sunday 17/5/2015

Terenure 5 Mile.

Had a word with myself this morning that I was being unrealistic and I'd no right to be disappointed with time of 38-39 mins.

The good stretches with the wind were in the 1st half and I possibly didn't get as much out of them because I didn't want to burn out. There was a LOT of uphill into the wind in the 2nd half.

Anyway, it went better than I could have expected and kept a steady pace.

8km (5 miles) in 35:33

Happy with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

that's so brilliant :D:D

bluewolf wrote: »
    that's so brilliant :D:D

It's an 8k PR.

Mostly because it's my first 8k :)

8km (5 miles) in 35:33

Chip time was 35:17

WOOF!

Chip time was 35:17

WOOF!

Presumably the extra 16 seconds was you waving to the crowd and pushing old ladies out of the way of the water fountain before remembering to stop your watch...

Nice one Alf!

May aswell give the Irish Runner 5 mile in June a go now :P

Presumably the extra 16 seconds was you waving to the crowd and pushing old ladies out of the way of the water fountain before remembering to stop your watch...

No. It was the time I took taking out people in front of me at the start. Then I realised it was chip timing.

Oops.

Nice one Alf!

May aswell give the Irish Runner 5 mile in June a go now :P

Will give the Docklands 5k a go in June.

After my last 10k went awry there I have a PR to get.

Granted, I've never done a proper 5k so whatever time is gonna be a PR :D

I'll see you at the docklands so

Oh, it's on !

Tuesday 19/5/2015

Week 2, Take 2

A) Bench
    67.5kg x 3 x 8
    67.5kg x 10

B) Incline Bench (2010)
    47.5kg x 5 x 8

C) CGBP (2010)
    57.5kg x 5 x 8

D1) DB Bent Over Row (3010)
    32.5kg x 3 x 6

D2) Lat Pulldown (4010)
    65kg x 3 x 12

D3) DB Reverse Flys
    4kg x 3 x 25

Benching was solid. Happy that last time I'd one set of AMRAP at 67.5kg I got 11. Definitely had another 1, maybe 2, in the tank on last set today. Not big weight but as a comparison it bodes well.

BORs with DBs again because space.

Jesus but those reverse flys are more of a killer than I ever anticipated.

This session was brought to you by the colour 'red' and the word 'voluminous'.

Yep the rev flys always kill me