Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't know what I'm doing but I know what I've done

• Registered Users Posts: 24,610 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

JJayoo wrote: »
    What weight class did you compete in?

83kg.

Built a bit since last time but no need to cut

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

And finally what fed is this with? IDFPA?

JJayoo wrote: »
    And finally what fed is this with? IDFPA?

You should just have submitted a questionnaire :D

Its the IPF. I've enjoyed the two comps there so far - really good atmosphere and the reffing has been fair and consistent.

Monday 9/5/2017

A) Seated Row (plate loaded)
    100kg x 3 x 15

B) DB Flys
    10kg x 3 x 20

C) Lat Pulldown
    90kgs x 3 x 15

D) DB OHP
    18kg x 3 x 15

E) Split Squats
    20kg DBs x 3 x 15 e/s

F) GHRs
    3 x 20

G) C2
    5 rounds: 250m row, 75s rest
    (48.8s - 49.7s)

A timely reminder to take it easy came this evening. Just as well, cos there's a lot of frustration at how the meet went and I'd have done something stupid otherwise. So kept away from the barbells and kept it all light.

To be honest, I wouldn't have had much of a choice about lifting heavy anyway.

Kind of enjoyed getting back on the C2. Lengthened out the rest period cos it's been so long but will bring that down.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Jaysus take it easy there now
    I think I'll be doing cardio only tomorrow

bluewolf wrote: »
    Jaysus take it easy there now
    I think I'll be doing cardio only tomorrow

None of it was all that taxing. Nothing was more than @7.

Wednesday  31/5/2017

A) Chest-supported DB Rows
    25kg DBs x 3 x 15

B) DB Decline Bench
    25kg x 3 x 15

C1) DB Reverse Flys
    6kg x 3 x 20

C2) Tricep Pressdown
    3 x 15

D) Close Grip Rows
    100kg x 3 x 15

E) High Box Step-Ups
    10kg DBs x 3 x 15 e/s

F) C2
    5 rounds: 250m row, 65s rest (49.2s - 49.7s)

Had dry needling done on arm (elbow area) today. First time. Actually have no discomfort from specific movements that had been a touch uncomfortable this last while. He had a squat rack so moved grip out a touch (back to where it used be) and it felt better than had been. That means it can be addressed easily.

Light workout was light.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,809 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Wednesday  31/5/2017

A) Chest-supported DB Rows
    25kg DBs x 3 x 15

B) DB Decline Bench
    25kg x 3 x 15

C1) DB Reverse Flys
    6kg x 3 x 20

C2) Tricep Pressdown
    3 x 15

D) Close Grip Rows
    100kg x 3 x 15

E) High Box Step-Ups
    10kg DBs x 3 x 15 e/s

F) C2
    5 rounds: 250m row, 65s rest (49.2s - 49.7s)

Had dry needling done on arm (elbow area) today. First time. Actually have no discomfort from specific movements that had been a touch uncomfortable this last while. He had a squat rack so moved grip out a touch (back to where it used be) and it felt better than had been. That means it can be addressed easily.

Light workout was light.

Your light workout would make me have doms for a week

Cheering you on. From my couch. And my 2000-3000 calories/day

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Your light workout would make me have doms for a week

Haha, you'd be surprised! It's light enough that there's not much to recover from but not light enough that there's no point.

And I'm taking the chance to enjoy it cos I know when I get back into training, there will be a lot of volume.

I remember my first proper session after the last comp...I definitely want to be fresh going into a session like that again :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,809 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Cheering you on. From my couch. And my 2000-3000 calories/day

Chicago town pizza.

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Chicago town pizza.

Had a gluten free goodfellas one on sunday after eating half the remaining chocolate cake.
    It was salmon darnes for dinner tonight. Buttery garlicky goodness

Salmon darnes topped in Philadelphia with bread crumbs on top...under the grill....I wish I had salmon darnes now.

I've never tried philly with cooked salmon. I like it rolled up in smoked salmon though!

Made it for my Da once. If he had them to give, I'd have been given 8 Michelin stars for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

How does one go about entering a comp such as the one you were in, Alf?

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    How does one go about entering a comp such as the one you were in, Alf?

You need to be a member of the federation. Think it was 50 notes for IPF.

With IPF you can join the discussion group where they'll flag the entries going on sale for comps. Usually a fifty for those as well. Entries for some tend to get sold out pretty quickly. 112 slots were sold in under an hour for the Leinster Open in January.

But it's pretty straightforward entering...it's just buying a ticket online.

You need to be a member of the federation. Think it was 50 notes for IPF.

With IPF you can join the discussion group where they'll flag the entries going on sale for comps. Usually a fifty for those as well. Entries for some tend to get sold out pretty quickly. 112 slots were sold in under an hour for the Leinster Open in January.

But it's pretty straightforward entering...it's just buying a ticket online.

How does it work on the day? Sounds like a bit of fun.

You get assigned to morning or evening flight (in advance of the day) , weigh in when you're told which is usually 2h before lifting starts, warm up about 45mins before lifting, hang around the platform area and lift when you're called
    And follow all the lifting commands
    Absolutely brilliant buzz

How does it work on the day? Sounds like a bit of fun.

You weight in 2 hours before you're due to lift. Well, it may be closer to three, depending on the flights.

So the last day, the lifting started at 9 for some of the women's weight classes (Flight A) and the 74s and 83s men (Flight B).

It went Flight A squats, Flight B squats, Flight A bench, Flight B bench, Flight A deads, Flight B deads.

So weigh in was 7.00 - 8.30 and lifting kicked off at 9. Only 7 in Flight A so that was done in about 20 mins so they gave an extra 10 mins for Flight B to complete warm ups. I think there was about 15 or 16 in our flight and I was about the middle for opener so my first lift was maybe 9.35-9.40.

Second lift was maybe 12 minutes later and same for third.

Then flight A are going to bench so we start our bench warm ups. Only 2 warm up racks (oh yeah, warm up was behind the platform but there's a big screen so no one can see) so was busy with 15 or so trying to get warm ups done with the weights they wanted. Flight A was done so we went so same again as the squats. Each round starts from lightest weight and increases to heaviest so the weight you pick dictates your place in the round.

Same then for deadlifts.

So last week we Flight A began squats at 9 and we finished last deads at maybe 12.45.

Great atmosphere between lifters and people watching. MC always adds to it as well and then the music goes up when the deads start up because there aren't commands like there are for squat and bench.

One girl failed her deadlift cos she threw it at the floor after :(

5c23b45a39cb71879f3f8bd6c2b844a4c49997a82caab25f1bb8b6461a80ea21.jpg

Thanks lads - something I've always planned to do at some stage...

As in, she just kinda mic'-dropped it??

I wasn't looking, just heard her celebrating then the red lights then the mc said and that's no lift. Don't drop the barbell

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Was a big PR for her too. She was so mad at herself afterwards for it.

Thanks lads - something I've always planned to do at some stage...

There's gonna be a competition in RevFit in November.

Get on it. There's never a right time to do it. Just not when you're injured.

Get in early on. Plenty of us noobs in there
    Once you do it all you'll wonder is why you didn't do it sooner!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,570 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Two meets here and last in both. Couldn't be disheartened if I tried as both were too much damn fun. Can't wait for the next.

FYI, you will also need a singlet, deadlift (or football) socks and Y-fronts. You'll have all equipment inspected, including the optional belt, sleeves, wraps, etc. Even the y-fronts. No joke.

Get in early on. Plenty of us noobs in there
    Once you do it all you'll wonder is why you didn't do it sooner!

Kinda like when I lost my virginity!

When you say Y-fronts... do you mean... Y-fronts?? :confused: