Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I don't know what I'm doing but I know what I've done

• Registered Users Posts: 12,809 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

bluewolf wrote: »
    What's your current max? I definitely wouldn't be jumping from 137 to 140
    132 -> 140

Why that? Not questioning you just curious?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

If 140 is your actual max you'll be pure worn out from 137

• Registered Users Posts: 24,610 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Current 1RM is 120

125 for 5 though. Without seeing them it's hard to know.

But I'd go along the lines of singles at 115, 125, 132.5 and then make a call on next one.

125 for 5 though. Without seeing them it's hard to know.

But I'd go along the lines of singles at 115, 125, 132.5 and then make a call on next one.

Sorry what ya mean 125 for 5?

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Sorry what ya mean 125 for 5?

You did 125 for 5 the last day out (unless I read the 3 (+2) incorrectly)

No I did 120 x 5 For sure. Apologises if I posted 125. Too lazy to look back.
    Leaba now. This is way later than normal for me to be up. Hopefully I'll wake in the morning. And sorry for derailing your thread!

Friday 25/8/2017

A) Sumo Deadlift
    135kg x 5 x 10

B) Close Grip Bench
    65kg x 4 x 10

C) Incline Bench
    55kgs x 5 x 10

D1) Bent Over Row
    70kg x 4 x 12

D2) Ab Pulldown
    110 reps (27, 28, 27, 28)

Sumo felt a touch better again. Have to keep the focus on starting position for every rep and not let hips start too high. Was better than last week and kept it tight through all the reps. 1st and 5th sets were the best.

Even if I was doing conventional, I'd be DLing at this weight but happy to keep weight low and get the movement right.

Bench variations and rows feeling solid.

Ab pulldowns...ugh. Guess I'm getting it right because burning.

what's an ab pulldown

You probably know it, probably has a different name...

Ohhh that's what them lads are always doing on the cable machines

They hate themselves or someone hates them...

They're not too bad. Just hard to get right but then when you do, they burn. Especially if you have to do lots of 'em.

I get to do 120 next week...

I've moved on from single leg extensions to hollow holds
    You can keep your pulldowns :D

I've moved on from single leg extensions to hollow holds
    You can keep your pulldowns :D

The best thing I can say about them is that they're not rollouts.

Monday 28/8/2017

A) Bench
    70kg x 7 x 7
    70kg x 14

B1) Squat (no belt or sleeves)
    90kgs x 5 x 12

B2) NG Pull Ups
    +5kg x 5 x 10

C) Snatch Grip Deadlift
    135kgs x 5 x 7

D) Russian Twists
    110 reps w/ 15kg (31, 30, 29, 10)

Mentally, 12 reps seems a lot less than 15 so there was nothing really to squats today.

Had probably only ever done 5x10 pull ups before so didn't get too carried away adding weight.

Bench moved better on the AMRAP set than expected.

SG DLs were ok. Really find it hard to get my hips down enough. Improved though.

Wednesday 30/8/2017

A) Squat (no belt or sleeves)
    111kg x 4 x 10
    111kg x 17

B) Wide Grip Bench
    62.5kg x 4 x 8

C) DB OHP
    25kgs x 4 x 8

D1) Lat Pulldown
    112.5kg x 5 x 10

D2) Back Extension
    120 reps w/ 8kg (28, 29, 27, 26, 10)

Knees felt bit uncomfortable starting squats so I warmed up a bit more and that did the job. Left a couple in the tank on last set so I'm happy enough to get 17 and be recovered pretty quickly.

Illegally-wide grip continued to be handy...so slowed the eccentric right down.

I think that might actually be the most I've done across 4 sets of DB OHP with 25s. As far as I can see, previous best was 9,9,6,5. Didn't expect that! Just checked where I was previously with it at that weight.

Back extension still brutalises me. Felt it a lot more in glutes and hamstrings and not so much in lower back today.

Friday 1/9/2017

A) Sumo Deadlift
    142.5kg x 5 x 8

B) Close Grip Bench
    68.5kg x 4 x 8

C) Incline Bench
    57.5kgs x 5 x 8

D1) Bent Over Row
    75kg x 4 x 10

D2) Ab Pulldown
    120 reps (5x24)

Was at GoQuest yesterday - bit like a cross between us The Crystal Maze and The Cube. Deadly craic til I felt my shoulder wrench on monkey bars. Wasn't sure how the benching would feel...especially incline bench.

Sumo felt a bit better again. Even slightly off and it feels a mile off so feeling like I'm getting a feel for it. Plenty of road to travel before I have it down but getting a better feel for it every week.

CGBP felt fine...and then incline felt fine. Easy and no shoulder problem. Woof!

Aw goquest is brilliant craic went a while back
    Adventure rooms too

Aw goquest is brilliant craic went a while back
    Adventure rooms too

Good spot. Didn't know where we were going until we pulled up outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Yep I'll third the goquest being class

Monday 4/9/2017

A) Bench
    72.5kg x 7 x 6
    72.5kg x 13

B1) Squat (no belt/sleeves)
    95kg x 5 x 10

B2) NG Pull Ups
    +7.5kgs x 5 x 8

C) Snatch Grip Deadlift
    140kg x 5 x 6

D) Russian Twists
    15kg x 120 reps (25, 25, 25, 28, 17)

Felt shi**y all day so wasn't exactly looking forward to that. Not because it was heavy but because I just didn't feel like doing anything.

Bench felt solid. No drama.

Squats were solid. Working harder on keeping a bit more upright - I didn't realise I was letting it get a bit loose until I became conscious of a difference when I focused on it. Stronger. Working on little elements every week and it feels better.

Was surprised how easy the pull ups felt. Not big weight but more volume than I've done with any weight.

SG DLs felt better this week. Getting hips lower, keeping tighter and driving knees out.

Wednesday 6/9/2017

A) Squat
    117.5kg x 5 x 8
    117.5kg x 15

B) Bench
    66kg x 5 x 8

C) Double Pause Deads
    130kgs x 8 x 3

D) Overhead Press
    40kg x 5 x 10

New block of training. The word 'deadlift' will feature a lot in this log for the next few weeks.

Had a headcold the last couple of days. Tired and felt sh*t again but time is of the essence so went in to get that done.

Squats felt awful for first few sets - thought I was likely to puke in the hole at some stage. 4th was probably first set I didn't feel like that. AMRAP set was a few reps shy of what I'd have wanted to get (18+) but given how I felt, I'll take it and build on it next week.

Bench was nice and smooth, as you'd expect.

Deads were conventional (there will be a mix of conventional and sumo for next few weeks). The pause was just below the knee on the way up and again on way down. I like the principle behind pausing on the way up and way down. Much more control of the whole rep rather than just to the top.

Have to go trawl the log/log books to find last time barbell OHP was part of the program. Long time (inb4 fi dolla). Edit: Did a search and barbell OHP last appeared in my log 20 months ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,570 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Why the focus on deadlifts?

He's gonna sumo the bejaysis out of us all!!

Why the focus on deadlifts?

In transferring the program to my phone for recording things on in the gym, I forgot to delete the snatch-grip deadlifts out of two of the days workouts so I didn't realise til I checked at home that there isn't actually all of the deadlifts and variations thereof.

I had rationalised that it was because my deadlift probably needs the most work so I didn't actually mind.

But as it is there is something S/B/D related each workout.

I preferred my version

So did I, tbf

Friday 8/9/2017

A) Squat
    101kg x 5 x 12

B) Bench
    72.5kg x 6 x 6

C) Sumo Deadlift
    150kg x 5 x 5

D) Close Grip Floor Press
    67.5kg x 4 x 10

Took a day off work so got workout done early.

Cardio squats were grand. 'No belt/sleeves' isn't a stipulation now but didn't bother anyway. They felt good.

Bench moved nicely. As it should.

Still feeling my way through sumo. Not resetting with my hips low enough after first rep. Worked on that and it improved across the sets. Widened my stance on last set and felt a bit stronger.

Happy with the close grip floor press. Bit heavier than I thought I'd manage for 4x10 based on normal floor press last cycle. Pausing actually makes it easier as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

A) Squat 101kg x 5 x 12

101? Typo?

Blacktie. wrote: »
    101? Typo?

No the fractionals again to round up the prescribed %

Monday 11/9/2017

A) Bench
    76kg x 5 x 6
    76kg x 10

B) Conventional Deadlift
    162.5kg x 5 x 5

C) Front Squat
    75kgs x 4 x 10

D) Proppa Pull Ups
    +10kg x 5 x 6

I'm almost sure that's the most volume I've done at ~ that weight on bench anyway. Possibly a rep PR as well. But that says more about how pants my bench has been til now more than anything else.

Pulling conventional felt different but felt like I worked myself into a better position to begin the pull from. Need to keep my chest up a bit more but was getting my hips down right and they did feel good and moved quickly. Happy out!

Had to do pull ups before front squats...and I knew that high rep front squats would suck donkey balls after.

And they did. Hadn't done front squats since last November so took a bit to get used to them. They felt alien. Slightly tired lats made keeping elbows high was hard on last few reps and wrists felt it even though I'd loosened up lats and triceps a good bit.

Happy with that session.