Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Great Irish Bake Off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Did no one use a raising agent? Or raising flour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

The young girl is great - very upbeat!

Anna doesn't have the same appeal as Mel & Sue, for me.

She does her best copying them though!

Poor Ailish.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

They keep showing Damien, it's not looking good for him

EDIT: Just saw the other cakes. Not looking good for most of them

Ailish looked like the stress got to her poor lady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Wow to say the standard is crap is being kind to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Ah lads, most of them are rubbish.

Ha ha the state of that slanted one!

One coffee bean missing!!

liam7831 wrote: »
    Wow to say the standard is crap is being kind to them
    Ah lads, most of them are rubbish.

They're all rubbish! I love this program :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,973 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

That lineup looks like a home economics class learning how to bake a cake for the first time, the standard is so low compared to British and Australian Bakeoff.

amdublin wrote: »
    They're all rubbish! I love this program :D

It's hilarious. I'm going to watch it again when I'm with my husband because he has to see it.

Lily sounds very like her sister Maeve sometimes :)

Thargor wrote: »
    That lineup looks like a home economics class learning how to bake a cake for the first time, the standard is so low compared to British and Australian Bakeoff.
    I know! It's great isn't it :pac:

This is like a skit of the British Bake Off!

Paul: one coffee bean missing *sigh*

Ehhh Paul, have ya seen the rest of the cakes?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

What's going on, surely there most be a standard ...a coffee cake should not be that hard for people who bake regular ..most of them look lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

Why ask who baked each of the top two BEFORE revealing who was first and second? Surely that defeats the idea that it is completely anonymous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

The difference between his and the British one is massive...its like watching El classico and Lincoln vs Grimsby in the conference national...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,973 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

This is like a skit of the British Bake Off!
    Its just like the pisstakes that Mitchell and Webb do, that slanty cake was pure comedy :D

harr wrote: »
    What's going on, surely there most be a standard ...a coffee cake should not be that hard for people who bake regular ..most of them look lost

I'm wondering were there even auditions held for the show???

Ah it's gas

Love Louise Lennox! She was fantastic on the Restaurant.

Will Ailish make it back for Cake No. 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭dee_mc

I wonder if the time given for the first challenge was a bit short? Looked like there was a lot of icing onto hot cakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

What happened with ailish? I missed the start. I just heard that they were only judging 10, did hers not turn out well?

Anna you fibber they were frighteningly bad!!!!!

Poor Ailish hope she was ok.

I can only bake a lemon cake. I fully admit, I am totally inept in the kitchen. I would have thought though that a coffee cake would be pretty ok. It's a pretty standard cake and not some fancy one from an island off Cyprus that Paul Hollywood set or a Mary challenge of making a fancy Belgium princess cake.

Also, so many of them were missing icing. How is that possible. It's icing. Did they all mess up the mixtures or measurements?

ANNA! WTF! Only have that sentence of "frighteningly good" is correct. Frighteningly god awful more like it.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭foreverandever

That Darina one seems good but they seem harsh on her? i feel the commentary doesn't reflect the scores then

What happened with ailish? I missed the start. I just heard that they were only judging 10, did hers not turn out well?

She had to redo her icing so apparently was a little behind. But then she just left the tent feeling unwell. So she did not finish her cake/take part in the judging. I thought she might make it back for day 2 but she obviously withdrew completely.

Hope she is better if she's reading!

dee_mc wrote: »
    I wonder if the time given for the first challenge was a bit short? Looked like there was a lot of icing onto hot cakes.

Dee you should enter next year!

It's like they've decided to get rid of Damien already.....

Please don't make a Black cake! It's not going to look good.

The difference between his and the British one is massive...its like watching El classico and Lincoln vs Grimsby in the conference national...

Its not that bad. If it was 12 stern faced ICA women mass producing perfect home baked cakes we wouldn't watch it. This is about the personalities of the competitors and the presenters. And fair play to them for going into the tent. No way I'd do something like that on National TV. You could tell Lilly herself was nervous and tense last week but has loosened up a lot this week.

Which is Damien?

That was a bit condescending of Paul asking whether he knew how to temper chocolate

Which is Damien?

Black Cake

Someone is making a black velvet cake :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

She had to redo her icing so apparently was a little behind. But then she just left the tent feeling unwell. So she did not finish her cake/take part in the judging. I thought she might make it back for day 2 but she obviously withdrew completely.

Hope she is better if she's reading!

Thanks!

Hope she's feeling better!

Which is Damien?
    The one that keeps mentioning hurling and is from Laois. Once I heard this, I had him pegged to go

Ooooh Darina's Guinness Cake sounds great!

That was a bit condescending of Paul asking whether he knew how to temper chocolate

Yeah, it's not like he just decided to do it on the day. Paul is a dope.

Plain flour in a cake hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Their halloween designs look fantastic. Execution might be a different tale though.

Cathy's cake seems impressive

Guinness Bailys buttercream icing. So no chance for the alcohol to cook off. I wish this was on last week. I'd have had great craic handing out home made cupcakes with "buttercream icing" to the trick or treater's last night and sending them home to their parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Looks like panic, adrenalin rush, then a fall in blood pressure left her feeling faint.

She presented nothing on Day 1, so no point in going on. Pity, as she probably put a load of prep into it.

He comes across as a bit of a prat. Doesn't have the charm of Paul Hollywood.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭memorystick

I worked with him for a while. Really sound guy and got on great with all of the students and staff. Fair play to him.

He seems like such a nice guy and you can tell that he's a great teacher.