Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Was told to drop out, need advice?

Options
  • 20-09-2013 3:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6

Hey guys, I'm currently a 2nd year student in UCD but I'm originally from cork I applied to UCD because UCC does not have my course, going to UCD was really hard financially but I pulled through with a great GPA! This summer unfortunately my dad became really sick and had to quit his job. My family income is now less than 22k per year. Because of this I have to travel from Cork-Dublin everyday. I went to UCD to ask for advice they told me to drop out. I don't know what to do I'd like to work but it'd be hard because my course consumes all of my time, I don't want to drop it would be heartbreaking for me. If anyone has any advice on what I can do I'd be very grateful thanks!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭jr22

pokkie wrote: »
    Hey guys, I'm currently a 2nd year student in UCD but I'm originally from cork I applied to UCD because UCC does not have my course, going to UCD was really hard financially but I pulled through with a great GPA! This summer unfortunately my dad became really sick and had to quit his job. My family income is now less than 22k per year. Because of this I have to travel from Cork-Dublin everyday. I went to UCD to ask for advice they told me to drop out. I don't know what to do I'd like to work but it'd be hard because my course consumes all of my time, I don't want to drop it would be heartbreaking for me. If anyone has any advice on what I can do I'd be very grateful thanks!

Have you looked at this http://www.ucd.ie/student_welfare.htm