Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

any bits of gta5 i can let my 10yr old play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,281 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

AdamD wrote: »
    People in here really are over reacting. Wanting to take children away from parents because they let them play GTA?

Jesus wept indeed.

I think one person may have said that...over reacting indeed :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Vohnsom Hofmee

New research does show that when 11 year olds see any form of sexual acts, especially when the guy has the girl bent over a table, their brains literally explode out their ears, and they're never quite the same little angels again.

Please. At 11 years old, I was checking out the porn channels, and jerking off. Not all 10/11/12 whatever year olds are the same, the level of maturity can be so different for kids even the same age. TV shows, movies, videogames, violence, sex, have to be treated on a per subject/medium per child basis. If, as a parent, you think you're going to shield your pre-teen or young teenager from everything sexual or violent or otherwise until they're 15/16+, you are crazy.

It's like the issue of alcohol, my parents let me taste their drinks from the age of 13, at special events, weddings, etc. At 16, I decided I didn't like alcohol, just wasn't interested in getting drunk or damaging my body, my decision, and haven't touched a drop since. Then there's parents who strictly never let their kids have even a sip until they turn 18, and then some of those kids goes nuts on their 18th, and continue to get wasted every weekend or whenever, through college, their 20s, etc.

Over protecting your kids can have a negative impact too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

New research does show that when 11 year olds see any form of sexual acts, especially when the guy has the girl bent over a table, their brains literally explode out their ears, and they're never quite the same little angels again.

The fact that she's a meth head bent over a table by the playable psychopath character who then goes on to bottle and kerb stomp her boyfriend to death for taking exception, with no consequences and purely for comic effect, might cast a colour on that particular scene, doncha think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Vohnsom Hofmee

The fact that she's a meth head bent over a table by the playable psychopath character who then goes on to bottle and kerb stomp her boyfriend to death for taking exception, with no consequences and purely for comic effect, might cast a colour on that particular scene, doncha think?
    Again, do I think every 10/11 year old would be okay seeing that scene? No, of course not. But do I think there are some 10/11 year olds that aren't going to have their innocent little minds corrupted by that scene? Sure. Because every child is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/boy-8-shoots-grandmother-dead-2223955

Boy 8 shot his nana after playing GTA IV :confused:

People blamed chucky after the Buldger case.

People are quick to blame and judge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Rabbo

It's not necessarily a question of the child mimicking the behaviour they see on gmaes/tv/movies etc.

The question is should you restrict what your highly impressional child should view, be it sex, violence, torture, etc.

I would imagine the vast majority of child psychologists would agree that it is not a good idea to let little Luke or Johnny have a completely uncensored view of the world. Just because the child wants a game doesnt mean he should have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Hey, anyone remember the game guru from Sky in the ninieties? Wonder where he is now? I truly thought he was some high up buddha like figure as a child...

Oh yes..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

If I had kids, I would not let them play gta 5. End of story.

I started playing gta games when I was 9-10. I turned out fine too. Though people forgetting that all previous gta games are extremely mild compared to 5. Gta 5 is on total different level when it comes to adults only content. It's not something kids should play.

Parents should start Being parents and do their job as parents. I know shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I sometimes allow my nephews (10 & 12 yo) to play GTA IV. All they do is drive around, play bowling, darts etc. They even drive carefully.. I tell them if the cops come after them it's game over! With the volume turned right down it's fine, imo. If they were actually doing missions and so on it'd be a different story. And I'm always in the room when they play it...

Don't think I'd let them play this game though.. at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

2 kids in our home, both boys, one is 10 and the other is 8, no ****ing way will they be playing GTA V... that's from their Mam who is playing it and also me!

That's not to say they can't call across the road to their pal who is 7 as his Mam bought it for him as he pestered her until he did.... we can't control what they play in others home's and we know that....

We are normally fairly good with what we let them play, Halo was the first fps and is fairly tame and more recently Assassin's Creed 3 and they haven't turned into trained assassins just yet, but over my dead body will they be torturing anyone with Trevor, or watching him riding crack heads up the ar$e...

I'm saying that as a 33 year old who had to get my mate and his passport to buy GTA1 for me as I was 17 when it came out....

To be fair, there's a world of difference between 1 and 5....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Are some people being hypocritical about the ages?

I played GTA III when it first came out, and would have been about 9. All you need to do is make sure you tell the kid that this is just game, and does not mimic the real world whatsoever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 148 ✭✭bezerk

I let my 12 year old play it and he loves it. If he doesn't play it here he'll just play it at a friends anyway.

Nearly all 12 year olds have viewed porn regularly, know what hookers are anyway and watched an 18+ movie with sex and killing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

o1s1n wrote: »
    Well then your husband has extremely bad judgement.

I've been playing it for about 12 hours now and have already seen two scenes of a guy giving it to a girl doggy style, strip clubs, prostitutes, lots of drug use, as well as a very gratuitous torture scene which includes pulling a guy's teeth out with a pliers, electrocuting him, cracking his legs with a big, wheel brace type thing..all while he whimpers in pain.

It's heavy stuff, anyone who sits there playing a game where you're taking photos of someone getting it up the arse with an 11 year old sitting beside you needs their head checked.
    Spot on. How anyone can sit there with a 11 year old playing this game beggars belief.

lukesmom wrote: »
    I think some are overreacting. It's only a game. Not real life and my 11 year old knows this well. He has never fought, has impeccable manners and he is well aware of what is real and what is fantasy. This is how I choose to parent my son. If others don't agree that is their problem not mine.
    Of course you can choose to raise your kids. You could sit down and watch a porno with your child and he could have impeccable manners and never in a fight. It doesn't mean it's right. The game has adult content, your child has his entire life to be an adult. Why expose him to a game that's based around violence/sex/drugs/crime when there's absolutely no need to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

I can understand letting 16-18 year olds play it but any parent who lets a child under the age of 16 play this is a lazy parent, end of! Learn how to say no to your kids, you are supposed to be the adult in the relationship, the one who sets the boundaries.

I seen a post from a girl who bought it for her 5 year old. Plain lazy!

I can understand letting 16-18 year olds play it but any parent who lets a child under the age of 16 play this is a lazy parent, end of! Learn how to say no to your kids, you are supposed to be the adult in the relationship, the one who sets the boundaries.

I seen a post from a girl who bought it for her 5 year old. Plain lazy!

How is it lazy, each parent to their own. Playing a game is not corrupt my son. My 12 year old plays it, as I said 99% of 12 year old lads have viewed porn. Does that corrupt them?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Frankie5Angels

Ah Trevor, he's quite the rapscallion isn't he? :pac:

On topic: ridiculous carry on letting a 10 year old play this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

My Little Bro wanted to buy it, after having GTA IV the parents thought it would be fine considering he's played the last few.

He's also played the PSP versions and loves them.

I had to tell the father about the very very 18+ scenes in it , i showed him a few pics online and he was having none of it.

Little bro is now getting FIFA 14 instead. though he's not to pleased with me (even though I've saved him a few nightmares)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

bezerk wrote: »
    My 12 year old plays it, as I said 99% of 12 year old lads have viewed porn. Does that corrupt them?

It's certainly not good for 12 year olds to be watching porn.

Do you buy porn for your 12 year old or send him on links to porn sites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

How is it lazy, each parent to their own. Playing a game is not corrupt my son. My 12 year old plays it, as I said 99% of 12 year old lads have viewed porn. Does that corrupt them?
    Would you give your 12 year old a Bukkake video to watch?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    It's certainly not good for 12 year olds to be watching porn.

Do you buy porn for your 12 year old or send him on links to porn sites?

No but they all have smart phones, laptops etc or access to the internet in ways you and me don't know about. Most 12 year olds are tech savy. Three offer unlimited data on their phones for 20 a month and you can watch porn and download any film on a phone.

Cienciano wrote: »
    Would you give your 12 year old a Bukkake video to watch?

They've seen worse than that on their smartphones and obviosuly I would not. I gauruntee you there's a few lads distributing Porn DVDs around the school as well that ye have no clue about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Oh listen I couldn't give a sh!te if people call me a bad parent or lazy for that matter. It's up to me and his dad what he plays at home. By age 12 I had watched plenty of 18 rated movies in cousins houses and the likes. And yeah gtav is very graphic but it's not like my son is gonna go into school and try shag one of his classmates from behind, nor is he gonna inflict tooth pulling torture in the playground. It's not real life and he knows this very very well.

Just because other parents wrongly let their kids play the game doesn't mean you have to fold yourself. I bet your kid used that very angle against you, "But all my mates have it".

I'm 26 an think some of the scenes are a bit much.

Just because other parents wrongly let their kids play the game doesn't mean you have to fold yourself. I bet your kid used that very angle against you, "But all my mates have it".

I'm 26 an think some of the scenes are a bit much.

In your opinion its wrong. In my opinion is does nothing. I know what goes on with 12 year olds, all watch porn and mad stuff on the internet. A game is not going to make a difference. Every 12 year old lad has seen porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

So the attitude is they are going to see adult content somewhere so **** it lets just have open house on it? Seems a bit of an odd attitude. And as was said kids are tech savvy, its up to the parents to become more savvy than them if you want to protect them from some of the rougher stuff online. Parental controls on websites, monitor the phones internet history etc. As far as I know three do have filters in place for adult content on their mobile network. I just don't but the "ah shure they'll get it somewhere else anyway" excuse.

Yeah I know for a fact my lad has seen porn in his friends house, big deal he's a lad and that's what lads do. I was shocked but that's what happens when mammy and daddy aren't supervising 24/7. That's life and you can't blanket your kids from everything, you can only hope they are truthful with you and know that anything is up for discussion if they want to talk.

Edited to say he has an iPod and wifi here and I check the internet history to see what he's been looking at. It's mostly gaming stuff on YouTube and Twitter. I don't allow him on Facebook or askfm.

10 year olds should not have a smart phone in the first place... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

No but they all have smart phones, laptops etc or access to the internet in ways you and me don't know about. Most 12 year olds are tech savy. Three offer unlimited data on their phones for 20 a month and you can watch porn and download any film on a phone.

Three restrict their internet unless you can prove you are over 18.

most 12 year olds are yes, and most have laptops too, but responsible parents monitor their child's internet usage, and don't allow them to watch porn, if your child knows more about the internet than you, perhaps you should invest your time in learning all about restrictions and how to place them in your home, just like when they were babies and you had stair gates/cupboard locks.

and stop using ignorance as a valid reason to expose a child to sexual content. and that is what GTAV is, i've played it!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭DesperateDan

I don't see the big deal. I'm 24 and have had every GTA since 2. I watched plenty of 18's movies as a 10 year old child. I can assure you I've never raped, murdered or stolen any cars. Although I do possess a penchant for cheesy 80's Vice City music.

What negative effect has it had on me? How can someone tell if they have been adversely affected by enjoying mature content at such a young age? If there are any effects whatsoever they are so subtle as to be indistinguishable. I mean why is the magic age of 18 permissable? Do many intelligent 13-15 year olds not have the emotional maturity of those with the required 3-4 years extra life experience?

Saying that I do feel like 10 may be too young, if a child can't tell the difference between whether or not santa is real, he probably shouldn't be immersing himself in such violence, but purely for the fact that he might start swearing more (oh no!) or having nightmares or something.

hoodwinked wrote: »

most 12 year olds are yes, and most have laptops too, but responsible parents monitor their child's internet usage, and don't allow them to watch porn, if your child knows more about the internet than you, perhaps you should invest your time in learning all about restrictions and how to place them in your home, just like when they were babies and you had stair gates/cupboard locks.

and stop using ignorance as a valid reason to expose a child to sexual content.

Ever hear of bluetooth? All they have to do is get a friend to send them a video or picture. Also it is very easy to get that block of a mobile phone. Proxy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Yeah I know for a fact my lad has seen porn in his friends house, big deal he's a lad and that's what lads do. I was shocked but that's what happens when mammy and daddy aren't supervising 24/7. That's life and you can't blanket your kids from everything, you can only hope they are truthful with you and know that anything is up for discussion if they want to talk.

No you can't blanket the kids from everything, but that doesn't mean that you should just not bother trying at home at all. He sees porn at this friends house, fine can't be helped. But if he comes home and is allowed to play GTA with your knowledge do you not think that he sees watching porn and torture scenes as perfectly acceptable? If you were to refuse him access to the game at least there would be some sense that that type of content is not acceptable.

*I don't mean to make that personal at you lukesmom btw just a general question.

hoodwinked wrote: »

and stop using ignorance as a valid reason to expose a child to sexual content. and that is what GTAV is, i've played it!

I work as a programmer am "tech saavy". I know what goes on with 12 years olds and maybe ye need to wake up. They will view things in school that ye don't like, they will get a porno off a friend in school that ye will know nothing about. You can't search there rooms 24/7.

Worst thing ye can do to a 12 year old is baby him.

So just because the material can be sent to them it's ok to let them just have free reign over the internet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

Saying that I do feel like 10 may be too young, if a child can't tell the difference between whether or not santa is real, he probably shouldn't be immersing himself in such violence, but purely for the fact that he might start swearing more (oh no!) or having nightmares or something.

its been said more than once at this stage its not about how the child will turn out, but more about should a child be exposed to a game containing sexual images and violence?
    Ever hear of bluetooth? All they have to do is get a friend to send them a video or picture. Also it is very easy to get that block of a mobile phone. Proxy

really? you are stretching at this point, the fact is, not every 10 year old watches porn i can name a few i know who still play with barbies. and at the end of the day a child should not be over sexualiaed and any parent who actually cares about their child's welfare would not be exposing a child to sex at 10 years of age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Edited to say he has an iPod and wifi here and I check the internet history to see what he's been looking at. It's mostly gaming stuff on YouTube and Twitter. I don't allow him on Facebook or askfm.
    You have no problem with your 11 year old son watching porn? Jesus effing Christ!.........
    Are you an actual person or just trolling?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Three offer unlimited data on their phones for 20 a month and you can watch porn and download any film on a phone.

Your child can also shoplift very easily. It doesn't make it right!
    Worst thing ye can do to a 12 year old is baby him.

I think letting them watch porn is worse to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Interesting you should say that as there was a documentary on lately showing how teenagers exposed to porn early view women, a load of lads were put in a room with pictures of breasts, in all shapes and sizes, and they all thought the big fake pornstar ones were the "normal" ones, even though they're not.

Have to be trolls

Jesus, did people played gta 1,2,3, Vice City lately? Those look like a walk in a Park compared to content in GTA 5.
    First time you meet Trevor, he is openly F*cking a Crack whore and kills a biker by stomping on his head several times. I played all GTA games and there was nothing like that in any GTA game. Lads, Snap the feck out of it. Shocking thing is not the actual sex scene ( sort of ) or a murder, but the way it was all presented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Yeah I know for a fact my lad has seen porn in his friends house, big deal he's a lad and that's what lads do.

lol.. nice bit of casual sexism there. What if it was your daughter instead? Would her watching porn not be a big deal.. or if her friends were showing her sexual imagery?

Whatever about the game, having no issue with such a young kid viewing porn is just downright mental. It's not healthy at all.

You have no problem with your 11 year old son watching porn? Jesus effing Christ!.........

If you read what I wrote you will see I said he saw porn at his friends house. I also said I check his internet history at home and there is no porn on it and nothing at all to be alarmed about. I could not stop him seeing the porn at his friends house and while I was shocked at first, I understand that kids do these things.

lol.. nice bit of casual sexism there. What if it was your daughter instead? Would her watching porn not be a big deal.. or if her friends were showing her sexual imagery?

Whatever about the game, having no issue with such a young kid viewing porn is just downright mental. It's not healthy at all.

But it's not my daughter so your question is irrelevant. I never said I was happy with him watching porn, I said he saw it at a friends house, he doesn't watch it at home.

Have to be trolls

Nope. Been a member of boards for years, I'm certainly not trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭bennyl10

I 've played all the GTA's since I was 10.. since vice city.. I'm not in Mountjoy locked up.. my mother is a great parent.. she watched me playa nd ensured that I didn't really take any of it in fully.. supervision and the game si fine.. maybe play it through once yourself though.. Don't take notice of these overly protective parent types.. they're the ones who don't bring children aged 14 to a 16's movie..

If you read what I wrote you will see I said he saw porn at his friends house. I also said I check his internet history at home and there is no porn on it and nothing at all to be alarmed about. I could not stop him seeing the porn at his friends house and while I was shocked at first, I understand that kids do these things.
    Was reffering to watching it at his friends house. I'd be having a serious conversation with the boy's parents....

Also, sorry I forgot theres no such thing as a "clear history" option in browsers :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭bennyl10

He's gonna watch it at 12/13.. watching it at 11 isn't gonna make mush difference.. we all have at that age.. just because you're a parent now doesn't mean your children have different thought than what you had..

Would you really stop your son being friends with someone because they found porn on the internet? don't be daft!

Was reffering to watching it at his friends house. I'd be having a serious conversation with the boy's parents....

Also, sorry I forgot theres no such thing as a "clear history" option in browsers :rolleyes:

Yeah well I'll just have to trust that he isn't clearing the history, certainly not gonna have sleepless nights over it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

"violent games dont cause any problems, it's just fantasy violence. jesus fox news, what kind of retards are you"

"you let your 11 year old play gta? jesus christ worst parent ever"

this **** makes sense.

bennyl10 wrote: »
    . Don't take notice of these overly protective parent types.. they're the ones who don't bring children aged 14 to a 16's movie..
    Ehh....... because its for 16 year olds and above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

"violent games dont cause any problems, it's just fantasy violence. jesus fox news, what kind of retards are you"
    It doesnt cause any problems for adults, not for young children. Jesus, some simpletons on here today who cant differentiate between adults and children.