Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

any bits of gta5 i can let my 10yr old play?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Gaming seems to be the only area where such lax restrictions are put on enforcing the law and as long as Gamestop and the like are so openly willing to flaunt it, then it's not going to change.

Have to pull you up on that, age ratings on games are not legally beinding - they're guidelines. Other than that, great post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭funt cucker

I remember when I first played soldier of fortune, the first one, I couldn't believe how explicit that was compared to Doom.

COYVB wrote: »
    Have to pull you up on that, age ratings on games are not legally beinding - they're guidelines. Other than that, great post

There are two types of age ratings on games. There's the PEGI rating which is more a guideline regarding content and difficulty and then there are titles which have been submitted to the IFCO and BBFCdue to the content. They only rate a handful of games but those that they do rate have an age certificate on them akin to a DVD or Blu-Ray. You often see Gamestop selling these 18 rated games to children without so much a second glance.

Here's an example of a game with the same cert as a film
    91oJpPrh4VL._SX425_.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

lukesmom wrote: »
    No I've not looked at the game properly, I left that up to my husbamd. Maybe I will take a look myself.

Why have you spent SO MUCH TIME on this thread during post school/work PM hours at the times when your son is ACTUALLY playing the game?
    You could EASILY have spend 2 hours just sitting down and supervising him, ya know, as a parent should.... Are you rattling away on your laptop in another room to him, maybe focusing on whats on the TV or something? Is GTA5 keeping him out of your hair so you can watch the X-Factor?
    WTF
    There's is NO JUSTIFICATION for you spending so much time arguing with strangers (be they well informed or not) on here when you could be ACTUALLY SUPERVISING your child. At 1st I thought you were taking the pi$$ and trolling the thread... but that's not the case, it beggers belief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

And what a pile of daggins that was.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=86308387

clearly lukesmam does understand when something is inappropriate so flashing by accident a ten year old is a 'bad thing' but allowing an 11 year old to watch ass****ing, people getting kicked to death etc etc is ok??

i understand that you are feeling defensive now as it does appear your parenting skills are being attacked but seriously, just watch this game.
    please!!
    this is not like other games you might have glimpsed passing by, this is hardcore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

There are two types of age ratings on games. There's the PEGI rating which is more a guideline regarding content and difficulty and then there are titles which have been submitted to the IFCO and BBFCdue to the content. They only rate a handful of games but those that they do rate have an age certificate on them akin to a DVD or Blu-Ray. You often see Gamestop selling these 18 rated games to children without so much a second glance.

91oJpPrh4VL._SX425_.jpg

That's a UK game, they have their own ratings that aren't PEGI. Not applicable to Ireland

There have been quite a few films rated by the IFCO. Generally it's the exception more so than the rule but there's a lot of talk that with the games such a GTAV the way games are rated here could be overhauled. Could be horrible for gamers as I imagine the people they hire to rate the games wouldn't have the first clue about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There are two types of age ratings on games. There's the PEGI rating which is more a guideline regarding content and difficulty

PEGI explicitly states that
    The age rating does not take into account the difficulty level or skills required to play a game.

http://www.pegi.info/en/index/id/33

That's also not true

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/video-games/video-game-news/9437605/Pegi-games-ratings-now-legally-enforceable.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

bubblypop wrote: »
    allowing an 11 year old to watch ass****ing, people getting kicked to death etc etc is ok??

I was going to link to an even more appropriate counterpoint in GTA V, but apparently, you'd have to log in to confirm your age - since it "may be inappropriate for some users". :pac:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tz0PNJs4-GU

o1s1n wrote: »
    I came back to this thread after last night hoping that after so many pages of of debate, Lukesmom might at this point even have just looked into the game herself purely as a matter of interest - then who knows, maybe even seen the extremely adult orientated content and decided to not let her 11 year old play it. (After viewing the content I don't know how any parent could come to any other conclusion)

I'm shocked at the above nonchalance.

Either Lukesmom is trolling us or she's just doesn't want to admit to herself that she may be wrong on this one and is now putting the blinkers on and refusing to look at it.

Literally a case of 'if I don't see it, it's not happening'.

I feel your pain.... this is either SERIOUSLY worrying, or Troll Level 9000!

FYI I agree with 99% of what you've said in this Thread, along with Jill Valentine.... Reasonable arguements are reasonable.

Why would someone stick so stoically to the belief they are right when so MANY others are offering reasoned counter arguements as to the opposite, even going so far as to post links, videos, 1st hand experiences....

Thinks she's bothered her a$$ actually watching the videos or the game by now? I don't....
    Even if she has, do you think she'd come back and admit she'd erred?
    Hell no, thats not how the internet works :pac:

And you just know here husband will go out of her way to ensure she only sees some boat race mission or something "see honey? it's ok."

Is she going to watch the clips as MANY people have said.... i mean that will take literarily 10 minutes (not even really a full 10).... Where as her son has clocked up hours on the game.... lets say he's played 2 hours.... that means she is unwilling to invest 10% of the time he's been exposed to something to ensure that the 100% is suitable....

I really hope 2 things..... this is some A-Grade trolling.... and the OP gets this thread closed so the absolute minority of BAD PARENTS on here (yeah i said it, it's my opinion that you are exhibiting the behaviours which BAD PARENTS EXHIBIT) can stop having their self important moment in the sun

Why do you think he hasn't? That scene with Trevor shagging the meth wreck and then stomping Johnny to death is literally the player's introduction to that character (before they take control of him themselves and pick up where he left off). It's unskippable and happens very early days in.

It is not especially unique or even unusual for the game. That is the tone.

If your OH is telling you that your kid is not going to see scenes like that, or the one where two old guys with their genitals out pin a young woman to the ground and restrain her before stuffing her into their car at gun point, he's fibbing, because a lot of them are randomly triggered just by driving around.

EDIT:

For reference, apologies if this is a spoiler and for the slightly misleading video title -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-2ACa5bBto8

For the compilation of posts you have contributed here, and the reasoned arguments put forward... I would like to announce you as todays WINNER OF THE INTERNET

• Closed Accounts Posts: 512 ✭✭✭inc21

Cormac... wrote: »
    For the compilation of posts you have contributed here, and the reasoned arguments put forward... I would like to announce you as todays WINNER OF THE INTERNET

clap clap clap

I'm stunned at what parents let their prepubescent children do these days, I'm 35 and I have two kids. GTA 1,2,3,4, and 5 were never going to be played in my house.

I have COD modern warfare. I got it as a present and loved it, but would I let my girls play it? No!

Lukesmom is trolling this thread, there's no way anyone is that fúcking stupid!

I'm not trolling anything. I know plenty of parents that have let their sons buy this game. I have looked at the videos provided and am pretty horrified by what I have seen.

Sorry to be abrupt, but you now see the horrifying stuff in this game. Not for a 11 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Tippex

We will just have to agree to disagree. Have to laugh though half of you probably have no idea what your kids get up to. At least we openly discuss things with our son and trust that he knows right from wrong, fantasy from reality.
    I'm not trolling anything. I know plenty of parents that have let their sons buy this game. I have looked at the videos provided and am pretty horrified by what I have seen.

I'm glad that you have taken the opportunity to view the videos and just hope that you remember some of your posts from earlier in the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Tippex wrote: »
    I'm glad that you have taken the opportunity to view the videos and just hope that you remember some of your posts from earlier in the thread.

He's up playing it now. Sure he could be doing worse. Get over it people. Wouldn't be into it but he loves it and knows its fantasy. This is my final post as it's boring repeating yourself.

That's grand so, so xhamster is ok t for a 11 year old? It's a lot milder than GTAV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

I guess actual peranting is boring as well.

So you find yourself horrified by what you see in the videos but rather than do your job as a parent, you are simply going to sit back and let your 11 year old play the game. Pathetic, absolutely pathetic. Are you really that terrified of saying no to your child that you're going to continue to let him play a game you find horrifying. Your son may be able to differentiate between fantasy and reality but you are doing him no favors by turning a blind eye to what he watches and plays. Maybe for Christmas you and your husband can buy him some stimulated rape porn as after all I'm sure he's more than capable of watching it and recognise that it's only a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

You're horrified, but it's fine for an 11 year old? Either you're trolling, or I'll get banned for what I'd say!

Fair play to 95% of the GTA forum. More morals amongst GTA players than you'd get in most other forums!

So you find yourself horrified by what you see in the videos but rather than do your job as a parent, you are simply going to sit back and let your 11 year old play the game. Pathetic, absolutely pathetic. Are you really that terrified of saying no to your child that you're going to continue to let him play a game you find horrifying. Your son may be able to differentiate between fantasy and reality but you are doing him no favors by turning a blind eye to what he watches and plays. Maybe for Christmas you and your husband can buy him some stimulated rape porn as after all I'm sure he's more than capable of watching it and recognise that it's only a bit of fun.

Sure it's only a bit of craic?

Maybe for Christmas you and your husband can buy him some stimulated rape porn as after all I'm sure he's more than capable of watching it

Jaysus, the shark has well and truly been jumped at this stage

Where do you draw the line? If it's acceptable for an 11 year old to play a game with graphic depictions of anal sex and violence then when do you say enough is enough.

I am genuinely stunned at the parenting level here!? Sure Fúck it let him screw the slappers.....

There are no words... Jesus:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Bordet

crazygeryy wrote: »
    Anal sex,drug taking murdering people,come on that should not be on a young kids tv under any circumstance.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Next time they're playing lukesmom sit in with them and see how comfortable it is for the family to sit down to watch a bit of torture and anal sex.
    Cienciano wrote: »
    It's not scenes of rape/anal sex with a drug addict/killing prostitutes/torture/murder/stamping on peoples faces till they're dead/drug use/sex. It's "xbox games".
    It's parents like you who give video games a bad rep.
    krudler wrote: »
    you're genuinely ok with having an 11 year watch people have anal sex in a game?
    Mc Love wrote: »
    As for the youtube clip above - aside from the fact that the language is of adult nature, there's an anal sex scene and then a man gets his head caved in from the boot of a psycho - you cant put 2+2 together that this level of violence, sex and bad language is suitable for someone under 18 is beyond me!
    Maybe it's just me but I find the idea of a grown man and his 11 year old son playing a game where anal sex and murder are shown in explicit detail in the same scene genuinelly creepy.
    It's totally fine to expose an 11 year old to anal sex then? :confused:
    Nothing wrong with exposing an eleven year old to anal sex?
    Where do you draw the line? If it's acceptable for an 11 year old to play a game with graphic depictions of anal sex and violence then when do you say enough is enough.

A bunch of you've said you think anal sex makes for unsuitable viewing for kids.

Did you specify anal sex because you think it's more unsuitable than vaginal sex, or were you just being unnecessarily descriptive?

If you think anal is more unsuitable, can you give a reason- or logic-based justification?

I'm just curious. And I don't think this deserves a thread of its own. :)

Bordet wrote: »
    A bunch of you've said you think anal sex makes for unsuitable viewing for kids.

Did you specify anal sex because you think it's more unsuitable than vaginal sex, or were you just being unnecessarily descriptive?

If you think anal is more unsuitable, can you give a reason- or logic-based justification?

Any kind of penetration, be it anal or vaginal, a 11 year child old should not be viewing this in a game?

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭FaoiSin

I started off playing San Andreas when I was 11 :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It's funny because the majority of the people here arguing against lukesmom are the same ones who were plaing GTA themselves when they were 11.

Bordet wrote: »

The scene in question features anal sex which is why people have mentioned it. If it had featured oral sex or vaginal sex during the scene in question then we would have used either vaginal or oral to describe it.

SV wrote: »
    It's funny because the majority of the people here arguing against lukesmom are the same ones who were plaing GTA themselves when they were 11.

It was no where as explicit as it is now, it was mild compared to GTA4

GTAV is worse than GTA4 is worse than GTA SA is worse than GTA VC is worse than GTA3 is worse than GTA 2 is worse than GTA 1.... So kind of flawed arguement you have there

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭SweepTheLeg

Sure it keeps him quiet and out of the way. Better than actually parenting him properly.

Sorry to be abrupt, but you now see the horrifying stuff in this game. Not for a 11 year old.

I can't find where she said this in the thread.... maybe i'm losing my mind, but i've looked. Is the orginal version of her post saying thats still somewhere?

If it was deleted I think that lends further credence to my point that

LUKESMOM
    IS
    TROLLING
    OR
    A
    TERRIBLE
    PARENT

No, ifs, ands or buts..... well at least not in my opinion

The main difference is that the GTA of our youths is very different to the GTA of today. It's almost impossible to compare the two. It's like trying to say that Taken and Irreversible are the same kind of film given that revenge drives the plots forward.

Compare the original GTA

with part 5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Sure Fúck it let him screw the slappers.....

Ironic you'd post about protecting childrens innocence, while posting such charming material on a board children can & do read :)

EnterNow wrote: »
    Ironic you'd post about protecting childrens innocence, while posting such charming material on a board children can & do read :)

Ahh c'mon now. We are trying to make her see the light.

The GTA forum should be private then, with all the porn in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Cormac... wrote: »
    GTAV is worse than GTA4 is worse than GTA SA is worse than GTA VC is worse than GTA3 is worse than GTA 2 is worse than GTA 1.... So kind of flawed arguement you have there

Who said it was an argument? I just said I find it funny.

Sure it keeps him quiet and out of the way. Better than actually parenting him properly.

I was right about "some people" sitting on their hole so, watching X-Factor, getting a greasy chips and curry in, clicking away like the finest keyboard warriors in existance....
    Oh no wait...
    I wasn't right....
    Someone else just agreed with me (one being the operative word)...
    And that USUALLY makes me right....
    Maybe the other 99 people are just idiots for not agreeing with me....
    After all the doctors were wrong when they told me I had "LukesMom-itis"...

I don't know where you draw the line. I know when hyperbole is hyperbole, though.

All this moralistic and sarcastic talk about what else the kid should be allowed to do if he's allowed to play GTA V. It seems almost reminiscent of the kind of bluster you hear from uber-conservative anti-gaming types.

'well only God knows what someone is capable of if they've no problem with violence in video games'

People are making an awful lot of assumptions and casting aspersions about the poster.. one person said the kid should be taken from her :rolleyes:

You say where do you draw the line.. well where do you draw it on what level of violence is acceptable for people under 18? What's the line on sexual imagery or allusions for those under 18.. have you seen Miley Cyrus' newest music video? Jesus, it's almost as grotesque as what's in the game :D

I personally wouldn't allow my kid to play it at that age, but I don't think I'd instantly become a terrible parent if I did. 20 years ago people were having this exact discussion about rap lyrics!

Is it good parenting?.. probably not, but at least the kid is at home.. spending time (however objectionably) with his dad. Hundreds, perhaps thousands of other kids around that age are probably on the streets right now causing a nuisance. That doesn't lessen the argument against allowing children to play games designed for adults, but it adds a bit of perspective. Some of the replies to her have been disproportionally nasty regardless of whether she's in the wrong or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Ahh c'mon now. We are trying to make her see the light.

I agree in that the game is far beyond what a ten year old should be playing, the content, in particular the sexual content, just makes it very inappropriate imo for kids to be looking at, However, bear in mind kids can & do read the various games forums, this one is no exception. Your terminology at times, could be lines ripped straight from the game.

EnterNow wrote: »
    I agree in that the game is far beyond what a ten year old should be playing, the content, in particular the sexual content, just makes it very inappropriate imo for kids to be looking at, However, bear in mind kids can & do read the various games forums, this one is no exception. Your terminology at times, could be lines ripped straight from the game.

Agreed, will tone it down a bit. I am abrupt by nature and forceful with my expressions, but if GTA 6 becomes full blown porn, will the forum have to be privatised? That's the question?

Just look at what this thread has done today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

To be fair GTAV has gone beyond what it has done in previous it has gotten more violent and sexual.

Bad language pftt you hear that in the school yard.

The cut scenes are very graphic but I personally think once kids stay away from the hookers and strip club and the missions its no so bad.

My kids have played GTA IV but not letting them play V

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Pffft Lazy Parenting! I got up out of bed, had a shower, got dressed and went out to buy this game for my daughter. Going all the way to the game shop is anything but LAZY! In fact Lazy would mean not going to get it, or ordering it online.

I watched porn myself when i was 10/11, And because of that i'm quite a rascal between the sheets if i may say so myself.

I don't know where you draw the line. I know when hyperbole is hyperbole, though.

All this moralistic and sarcastic talk about what else the kid should be allowed to do if he's allowed to play GTA V. It seems almost reminiscent of the kind of bluster you hear from uber-conservative anti-gaming types.

'well only God knows what someone is capable of if they've no problem with violence in video games'

People are making an awful lot of assumptions and casting aspersions about the poster.. one person said the kid should be taken from her :rolleyes:

You say where do you draw the line.. well where do you draw it on what level of violence is acceptable for people under 18? What's the line on sexual imagery or allusions for those under 18.. have you seen Miley Cyrus' newest music video? Jesus, it's almost as grotesque as what's in the game :D

I personally wouldn't allow my kid to play it at that age, but I don't think I'd instantly become a terrible parent if I did. 20 years ago people were having this exact discussion about rap lyrics!

Is it good parenting?.. probably not, but at least the kid is at home.. spending time (however objectionably) with his dad. Hundreds, perhaps thousands of other kids around that age are probably on the streets right now causing a nuisance. That doesn't lessen the argument against allowing children to play games designed for adults, but it adds a bit of perspective. Some of the replies to her have been disproportionally nasty regardless of whether she's in the wrong or not.

It may be hyperbole but it's quite an apt statement for this discussion. If you are happy for your child to be exposed to the content of GTAV then what do you say no to? Do you tell your child that they can't watch A Serbian Movie or I Spit on Your Grave? I'm genuinely curious as to where Lukesmom draws the line.

No one here is implying that playing games will turn a child into some maladjusted adult but it will certainly colour their out look on life. It's been shown time and again that exposure to porn will change the way in which a male views women and sex later in life and repeated exposure to violence has a desensitizing effect and as such it's simply not something that 11 year old kids should be looking at.

Depictions of sex in popular culture are widely inappropriate and many chart songs today are little more than smut but there's a big difference between hearing a song or watching Miley Cyrus cavort around like a drunk and what is contained in GTA V.

Making the argument that at least the parents know where their son is or that he's spending time with his dad hardly makes it in any way acceptable. A lot of the parents on here defending their decisions to allow their kids the game just seem unable to say no. Hell Lukesmom herself posted that she was horrified by the content of the game and then went and continued to defend her decision to let her little Luke play the thing. It simply doesn't make the least bit of sense and while some of the attacks on Lukesmom have been a little over the top many of the posters are spot on about her. Anyone who lets an 11 year old play GTA V or allows their 11 or 12 year old child to watch whatever 15 or 18 cert film they want is failing as a parent.

I always get the impression that the reason that so many parents call for a blanket ban of something such as GTA V is not because they have a problem with the game themselves but rather that they lack the backbone to say no to their kids and hope that someone else will do the parenting for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

"I don't allow him on Facebook or ask.fm"

Am I the only one who's intrigued by the logic of an 11 year old not being allowed on Facebook but who is allowed to play GTA V?

Facebook and ask.fm have both being directly linked to suicide and crime.

afaik, there has yet to be a demonstrable link between that stuff and GTA

Because there is a high occurrence of bullying on these sites I choose to not allow my son on them until he is older. Nothing intriguing about this.

Facebook and ask.fm have both being directly linked to suicide and crime.

afaik, there has yet to be a demonstrable link between that stuff and GTA

Bingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Just read through the whole lot there. One post there making a smart remark, joke about the family member that died. Scumbag. Taking it too far people.

People raise their kids different ways, deal with it and mind your own business, i think yous need to keep the insults to yourselves and grow the **** up.

Thread needs to be locked with all the abuse. And all the great parents who could never do wrong should open the "I'm The Super Parent Thread"