Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 1 Week 1 Results

• 23-09-2013 8:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭

Falcons 37-35 Saints

A high-scoring affair to kick off the season in the NFC South. Both offenses were well on top throughout which will probably be a theme in the division all year.

Personally I'm disappointed with this result as my 4 turnovers which lead to 20 points killed me on the scoreboard. Sproles fumbling on the 1 yard line after Cribbs ran away from the punt when he could have caught it at the 20 summed my game up. Gatsby had 0 turnovers and his offense was very, very good especially in third down situations.

Gatsby I'm not sure if you could hear me on the mic, I tried it a couple of times but I couldn't hear anything from your end. Thanks for the game anyway and I'll see you in a couple of months for the rematch.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Sorry lads, I didnt realise you guys were playing so early.

Need to fix the play clock!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Ravens 14 Broncos 45

I normally add in stats and long reviews but there is not much to add here

Broncos were awesome in run & pass offence, defence and special teams

Ravens threw three picks in the redzone :rolleyes:

I can only find one poor player in Denver

Tim Tebow sucks and was nailed for a loss anytime he came in :P

Good luck for the season

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Titans @ Steelers.

Tits get the ball 1st, Mariani breaks off a good return. Titans stutter in the redzone, Titans take 3.

Steelers have a 3 and out after a woeful drop by the WR.
    Titans back in the redzone.. with a read option, Titans at the 5.
    Hunter gets a Td

Crazy int , my safety slaps the ball down into Verners hands, C2J TD

80 yards TD by the Steelers puts them right back in the game.
    Mariani brings into in the Steelers half on the return. Walker TD/

Troy goes off with a serious injury, Steelers kick 3 with 30 seconds left, Titans go way too adventurous and throw an int and its almost brought back for 6, Steelers kick 3 to close out the half. Steelers receive

24-13 Titans.. but the KO is returned to da house!
    24-20.

Titans run game starts to struggle

Keisel goes out with an abdominal tear.. Titans punt
    Diving tackle stops a Miller TD but Steelers have it at the 2, TD Steelers

C2J gets me out of a hole on a long drive with a rushing TD

4th Q and its the Titans up by 4, Casey gets a big sack and it forces a punt.

On the 1st play C2J breaks off a 72 yard run, Greene takes a PA bowls over a LB and ploughs into the end zone.

38-27 Titans but the Steelers almost hit back instantly with a big run

Titans force a 3 and out.. no the Steelers go for it.. they get it!

We are at the 2 min warning almost and its the Titans up by 4..

2nd and 1....3rd and 1... Mooney the FB makes the catch, Steelers burn one of their 2 TOs, 2 yard gain and the Steelers use their last TO and there 1:29 to go, no gain on 2nd down.. so its 3rd and 8 and the Titans going to run it, they do and the manage to win the clock battle..

Final Score is 38-34 Titans after a ding dong game.

Some Stats:

Titans with 4:03 yards of offense, 236 rushing
    Steelers with 306 yards of offense 94 rushing

Titans were efficient drivers of the ball with 66% 3rd down conversion %

Lockers rating was 118, 13 from 18, 171 yards, 3 TDs, 1 int
    Big Ben was 14 from 29 220 yards, 3 TDs and 1 int

C2J gets 24 carries, 198 yards and 2 TDs
    MacGahee caused some problems on his 9 runs, getting 92 yards

Sanders gets 115 yards, 3 catches and a TD
    Delanie Walker gets 89 yards off 5 catches and Rookie Hunter gets a catch.

Bertys old Buddy and massive redzone thread Plaxico Burress gets himself a TD.

Solid O-lines in this game with just 1 sack a piece

Very unlucky HAW, game could have went either way

• Registered Users Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Nelbert

Vikings hammer the CPU Lions 31-0

Great pressure from the Vikings d-line resulted in 4 sacks for Robison. I called exactly 0 blitzes for the game and still got pressure and moved and hassled Stafford.

Some coverage issues but I'm still getting used to the Vikings playbook on defence.

On offence Adrian Peterson had a poor game..... Seriously barely got anything going in the first half apart from getting the lions to commit to the run and then getting Ponder to complete a couple of easy passes.
    Very good balance on offence and AP will cause people problems on 3rd down. If I get a lead I should be able to milk clock very well.

Don't expect to make the playoffs this year due to the holes I have but Season 2 and 3 could be good as long as my core stays intact.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭theoneadlum

mikemac1 wrote: »
    I can only find one poor player in Denver

Tim Tebow sucks and was nailed for a loss anytime he came in :P

Timmy has only been with us a short while and he's still adjusting to the playbook. To be honest I think the owner only wanted him for the jersey sales. The readoption was a disaster. Just thought I'd spice up the Broncos. Maybe best leaving it to Peyton. Nice stuff from my two RBs, both going over 100yards.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Colts beat CPU Raiders and that was tough, Bradshaw 2 rushing TD's and a Receiving TD, Hilton had 1 TD, and Randy Moss had over 129 yards receiving off 6 receptions.

Colts Fans still left the game unhappy as their Madden 13 hero Coby Fleener had No Receptions, when asked afterwards why he wasnt targeted, the coach promised that would change in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭madalig12

San Fran 24, GreenBay 41
    Sf rush 141, gb 199
    Sf pass 139, gb 232
    Sf kick return 288 / 90
    Sf t/o 2 / 1

Rodgers 114.3 16/23 240 yrd 2td
    Kaepernick 82.2 10/15 151 yrd 1td

Lacy 16 for 160yrds
    Gore 9 for 70
    Kaepernick 4 for 65
    Rodgers 6 for 9.

Good game, least mistakes made by me which helped win this game. Once SF gets the hang of the manual control then he'll do much better.

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭guns4all

Lost to the CPU Bills!!

ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've a feeling already that im gonna hate this game.

My own fault really had a 4th and one near the goaline and thought i could power thru and kill some more clock but some LB knived thru to take out my RB.

Couldn't stop anything on runs, and their WRs were able to get separation at will. Saw Spiller stiff arm 3 defenders at once as well!
    Add to that a catch made when my CBs arm was in the way and the CPUs ability to dive tackle a rb or te from halfway across the pitch!!!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

Paully D wrote: »
    Falcons 37-35 Saints

A high-scoring affair to kick off the season in the NFC South. Both offenses were well on top throughout which will probably be a theme in the division all year.

Personally I'm disappointed with this result as my 4 turnovers which lead to 20 points killed me on the scoreboard. Sproles fumbling on the 1 yard line after Cribbs ran away from the punt when he could have caught it at the 20 summed my game up. Gatsby had 0 turnovers and his offense was very, very good especially in third down situations.

Gatsby I'm not sure if you could hear me on the mic, I tried it a couple of times but I couldn't hear anything from your end. Thanks for the game anyway and I'll see you in a couple of months for the rematch.

Yeah I enjoyed the game! Definitely felt lucky with your turnovers, my defense wasn't up to much where as I think you stopped me a few times. I was happy with my offense though, I managed to keep possession and had a decent balance between run and pass.

I couldn't hear you on the mic. I had mine on as well but I presume you couldn't hear me either?

guns4all wrote: »
    Lost to the CPU Bills!!

ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've a feeling already that im gonna hate this game.

My own fault really had a 4th and one near the goaline and thought i could power thru and kill some more clock but some LB knived thru to take out my RB.

Couldn't stop anything on runs, and their WRs were able to get separation at will. Saw Spiller stiff arm 3 defenders at once as well!
    Add to that a catch made when my CBs arm was in the way and the CPUs ability to dive tackle a rb or te from halfway across the pitch!!!:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Yeah i played them in pre season and they were unbelieveable, played the CPU Raiders last night and just about scraped past them to, The CPU's are alot tougher in this game

Falcons vs saints is gonna be an epic rivalry over the three seasons I predict.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Giants 20-42 Cowboys

A winning start for Dallas but this was closer than the score suggests. I pulled out into an early lead but Dave started moving on offence and caused me a lot of problems. Leon Washington retured 2 kickoffs for TDs right after long successful Giants drives which was a killer, chasing the game in the 4th Eli threw 2 picks. Giants TE Brandon Myers had 225 receiving yards :eek:

Good game Dave, good luck with the season.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

madalig12 wrote: »
    Falcons vs saints is gonna be an epic rivalry over the three seasons I predict.

There'll be no rivalry with the bucs. Were going to be top dogs

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

The Redskins open their season with a comfortable home win against the Eagles. Despite Vick being a constant threat with his feet, the Skins defense was always on top, forcing 3 fumbles which they recovered. Griffin, Morris and Moss where the standout performers for the offense. The new coach even had the opportunity to bench his backs, with replacements White and Royster performing well in the 4th.

Eagles 17-34 Redskins

• Registered Users Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

The_Gatsby wrote: »
    Yeah I enjoyed the game! Definitely felt lucky with your turnovers, my defense wasn't up to much where as I think you stopped me a few times. I was happy with my offense though, I managed to keep possession and had a decent balance between run and pass.

I couldn't hear you on the mic. I had mine on as well but I presume you couldn't hear me either?

Yeah your offense was great to be fair. A very good mix of run and pass. Ryan, Jackson, White and Jones make a formidable attack. Your special teams was on the ball too as I couldn't get any sort of big run going with return specialist Josh Cribbs.

I need to focus on cutting out the turnovers and the wins should come.

I couldn't hear you either mate but hopefully we'll have better luck with the mics for the rematch.
    empacher wrote: »
    There'll be no rivalry with the bucs. Were going to be top dogs

* Checks schedule to see when I play the Bucs *

* Sees it's next week *

58p5ADO1.gif

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,332 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Chiefs defeat Jags 35-14 but lose kick returner McCluster for 6 weeks

Dolphins 49 - 21 Browns.

Surprised I won this.

I was 28-14 up at HT but being a novice and having a further 12mins to go, I wasn't feeling overly confident in seeing it out.

After a further two TD's early in the 3rd(4:43 and interception run at 4:33) saw the lead stretch out further but still with plenty of time left.

Game dried up then till late in the 4th when another interception run was stopped 2 short, ran over the resulting 1st down.
    Now on the above, after reflection I realise I should have just dived and kept running the clock down and/or kicked a punt instead of going for it. Sorry if that was annoying, I wasn't really comprehending my plays. I'm not used to playing users online so growing accustom to the scene.

I guess the difference was turnovers, I had 2 and Linebacker had 7. I don't know what it is exactly but I've really cut them down from my average of 4-6 playing the AI in UT in 3min 1/4s. I only had 1-3 in my pre season games which are twice the length. I'm defo no better at passing but turning it over less.
    I can't really take credit for the picks either, as it was AI coverage and 75% switch hawking from me(other times it didnt work with the lag and the AI collected it).

Very laggy game which made kicking a nightmare.

Lads what's the easiest way getting my starters off in a game that you're up/down in by a few(to avoid injuries)?.
    Would you have to pause and make the changes one by one in the depth chart?
    Playing the AI you can pause and do that at a min, but playing a user and not delaying them, how can it be done?.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

gilberto's been hustling us this entire time!

Depth chart is the only option

You can sub during play selection, one player at a time or moving the stick can change players aswell

Dont be falling for Gilbertos questions lads, he knows what this game is about :-P

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

He's probably Ben back with a new username.

well done on your first win.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    gilberto's been hustling us this entire time!
    Dont be falling for Gilbertos questions lads, he knows what this game is about :-P

My only Madden experience before this year was playing a quick go of a few demos. When you don't know what you're at though and it's a limited product it gets old fast.

Before that it was Madden 92 or something on Sega, it came in a 3rd game cartridge with NHL and something else. I'd only play until I turned the ball over and reset on defence, I guess the game was to complex for a 5-8 year old Irish kid :D

The only reason I got it was I've played a bit of NHL the past two years, and NBA. I knew the game was highly rated and the league here seemed to run like clockwork.

I just said I'd give it a go as I've watched the last two Super Bowls as well and found it enjoyable.

My base is limited though and I've only learned a small but since starting 3 weeks ago.
    Although I would like to think I've at least improved enough to avoid another pasting off Perrin :D. He could have ran up over 100 points against me and I couldn't get a first down. Since then I've ditched Gameflow and have taken to picking the formations myself.
    Depth chart is the only option
    madalig12 wrote: »
    You can sub during play selection, one player at a time or moving the stick can change players aswell

I was trying that, but with the lag and slow nature I just gave up. Ill just try take out 1 per play or something in future.

Thanks anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 476 ✭✭linebacker52

Dolphins 49 - 21 Browns.

Surprised I won this.

I was 28-14 up at HT but being a novice and having a further 12mins to go, I wasn't feeling overly confident in seeing it out.

After a further two TD's early in the 3rd(4:43 and interception run at 4:33) saw the lead stretch out further but still with plenty of time left.

Game dried up then till late in the 4th when another interception run was stopped 2 short, ran over the resulting 1st down.
    Now on the above, after reflection I realise I should have just dived and kept running the clock down and/or kicked a punt instead of going for it. Sorry if that was annoying, I wasn't really comprehending my plays. I'm not used to playing users online so growing accustom to the scene.

I guess the difference was turnovers, I had 2 and Linebacker had 7. I don't know what it is exactly but I've really cut them down from my average of 4-6 playing the AI in UT in 3min 1/4s. I only had 1-3 in my pre season games which are twice the length. I'm defo no better at passing but turning it over less.
    I can't really take credit for the picks either, as it was AI coverage and 75% switch hawking from me(other times it didnt work with the lag and the AI collected it).

Very laggy game which made kicking a nightmare.

Lads what's the easiest way getting my starters off in a game that you're up/down in by a few(to avoid injuries)?.
    Would you have to pause and make the changes one by one in the depth chart?
    Playing the AI you can pause and do that at a min, but playing a user and not delaying them, how can it be done?.

Well played

Your a lot better than you give yourself credit for going to be a long first season with the browns Weeden is hopeless.

Bucs edge out jets with a FG in the dying seconds.

It was a game of offence where both times put up identical rush and passing yards.

While neither team has a superstar offence both coaches know how there plays devolp and how to utilise even their weakest players.

Bucs go into the half up 21- 7 after making two defensive stands.

Playing more cautiously in the second half led the bucs into some long yardage situations. Where two bad int were given up. Both totally my fault. Letting the jets back into the game. Tying 21 - 21 with 3mins to go.

Bucs managed to combine running the clock down and moving the chains to leave them in position to seal the victory.

My last throw could easily have gone for an int.

Good game berth look forward to playing you again. Still haven't mastered all the plays in the 2TE 2WR 1RB sets. So sorry if some plays were recycled.

Lost my number one TE luckily the other two with grooming should take the workload.

Goodson was an absolute animal.

One other thing there seems to be a bug, I have my def play book set as NE, but it is the TB def play book in game.

Well played

Your a lot better than you give yourself credit for going to be a long first season with the browns Weeden is hopeless.

My KOS is good, which means most teams can't run it back and I have two fairly good returners to start a good platform.

I'd be happy enough just making the 1st round of the play offs this season. I can fairly consistently beat the AI on All Pro so I'd at least expect to take max points there, anything else is a bonus.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,659 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Texans v Chargers finished 42-35 to the Texans.

Started off horrifically for myself, something like 4 picks in the first quarter, Texans went 21-0 up.

A couple of nice kick returns put a couple of points on the board, including one mental 60 yard FG attempt by the Texans which I really should have just let bobble into the endzone, but in a moment of madness I returned it and ended up with a TD!

Brought it back to 42-35 in the end, 1:05 on the clock, no timeouts, and I completely forgot about the onside kick, and kicked it away.

Have to say, it was a great game, fair play to giffney1991. Not too shabby for my first time playing Madden online I thought, although at the start I was fuming because I thought it'd be a massacre :P

Lads, mics are the way to go, it's unbelievably awkward without one, and just boring.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭giffney1991

_Tyrrell_ wrote: »
    Texans v Chargers finished 42-35 to the Texans.

Started off horrifically for myself, something like 4 picks in the first quarter, Texans went 21-0 up.

A couple of nice kick returns put a couple of points on the board, including one mental 60 yard FG attempt by the Texans which I really should have just let bobble into the endzone, but in a moment of madness I returned it and ended up with a TD!

Brought it back to 42-35 in the end, 1:05 on the clock, no timeouts, and I completely forgot about the onside kick, and kicked it away.

Have to say, it was a great game, fair play to giffney1991. Not too shabby for my first time playing Madden online I thought, although at the start I was fuming because I thought it'd be a massacre :P

Lads, mics are the way to go, it's unbelievably awkward without one, and just boring.

Ye great game, I got worried near the end but luckily enough that early lead saved my ass!

Interception master myself, does my nut in!

Yeh only think I suggest is possible slow down on play calling, felt like running against chip Kelly :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Berty44

Yep Empeacher very close game nothing in it. Only really made one mistake in the game when I threw to Holmes with Revis covering him and he got the interception. Also probably should have gone for it 4th and 1 at the 40 mid game but didn't and punted, did have to go for it 4th and 1 and coverted, down 14 late in Q3. That being said I was too dependent on Goodson. You did close out the game well, a good win.

Lot more work needed, especially on offence. Happy enough with how defensive schemes worked and I threw a lot of different stuff in during the game and a lot of it caused problems which is encouraging although as I found in this game it is really difficult to stop a good player.