Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

41st Berlin Marathon

• Registered Users Posts: 6 benedictine monk

Bid # 20759 for the grid :-)
    Oscar Wilde has a couple of rooms, last time I was there they had premiership football on in the front bar and then the irish rugby down in the back bar. Another Irish bar in Hackescher Markt but no idea if they will show the hurling / ryder cup / premiership. place is under the S Bahn station.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭ice9

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Hi Ice, good luck with your sub 3 attempt. Hopefully, i will see you along the way somewhere.....maybe we might even get together with Loughie and Caprica to form an informal pacing group depending on strategies.

I don't like the cups either. I too hope to pick up some water along the way from friends and family that are travelling with me. However, pardon the pun but I won't be sweating it if I don't. My back-up plan is to carry a small plastic bag in my shorts or gel belt, if I wear one and if I struggle with the cups and am in need of fluid then I will have two options 1) stop momentary and walk and risk of loss of momentum or 2) pour the water into the bag and suck it through a hole in the bottom of the bag........will make the call on the fly depending on what I think I need on the day. Hopefully if it is a warm one I will make the right call early enough and before getting dehydrated:)

Thanks! The bag might be an idea alright. I'll have a play with that to see if I can make it work. If it does then not too much issue to carry it right enough.

I'll be in Berlin from Thursday so if any of you are meeting up Thurs or Fri I'd be glad to go along (Sat is busy though hopefully not in a tiring way). A pacing group might be a tough one for me given the unknowns but if we know each other to see then we may end up running together if all goes well. I plan on being right at the front of block D and far over to the left (is the advice I keep getting here and elsewhere anyway!).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Bid # 20759 for the grid :-)
    Oscar Wilde has a couple of rooms, last time I was there they had premiership football on in the front bar and then the irish rugby down in the back bar. Another Irish bar in Hackescher Markt but no idea if they will show the hurling / ryder cup / premiership. place is under the S Bahn station.

I emailed the Oscar Wilde and they confirmed that they will be showing the golf and the hurling replay. So I guess that is the base for the weekend sorted!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I emailed the Oscar Wilde and they confirmed that they will be showing the golf and the hurling replay. So I guess that is the base for the weekend sorted!!

We watched the Ryder cup in the Oscar Wilde 2 years ago....there was a great atmosphere although my memory of the details is a little scatty :o

• Registered Users Posts: 10,454 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    6504 |Terry049|3:08:27|2:52:00|
    8361 |yaboya1|3:08:26|2:54:59|
    18580|loughie|3:01:26| 2:59:12|
    |Ferris B|3:12:21|2:59:55| DNS
    19591 |FBOT01|3:13:16|2:59:59|
    8203|Caprica|2:56:08|2:59:59|
    19688|mcwotever|3:10:50|3:06:00|
    13171|withcheeseplease|3:17:29|3:08:00|
    |jahaco|3:11:49| 3:09:00|
    |Marthastew|3:12:51|3:09:59|
    21853|Lex Luther|2:59:38|sub 3:10
    27959|PDCAT|3:36:14| 3:29:59|
    19676|Benny Bulben|3:25:08|3:35:00|
    20759|benedictine monk|3:42:xx|3:39:59|
    20820 |Murph_D|3:46:15|3:39:59|
    20443|dwayneshintzy|3:48:09|3:39:59|
    7903|belcarra|3:21:12|3:40:00|
    F5813 |niamhpamela|4:02:56|3:59:59|
    19579|jmcc99_98|4:04:35|3:59:59|
    F5811 |Amateurrunner|4:18:00|3:59:59|

Adding benedictine monk's bib no.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,454 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Great stuff. Such attention to detail!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

|Marthastew|3:12:51|3:09:59|
    7903|belcarra|3:21:12|<4:00:00|

At this stage I'll merely be jogging around Berlin. Due to a lack of long runs I'll be trying to keep things steady and nip under 4hrs rather than pushing for 3:40.
    Taking the long term view here and really just base building at the moment for 2015 when I hope to be back running PBs...

Murph_D wrote: »
    Great stuff. Such attention to detail!

The Devil is in the detail, Murph :D

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jmcc99_98

Freaking out! Went to bed with a slight sore throat on Tuesday, woke up yesterday feeling like crap, dry cough and sore throat, runny nose etc... no energy, skipped my usual Wednesday speed session and still not feeling great today but thinking of doing 5 miles easy jog at lunchtime today. Loading myself with Vitamin Tabs, Vit C drinks, water and paracetamol.

Its amazing how quickly I can get negative about things during taper

• Registered Users Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Great stuff. Haven't missed any of Kilkenny's last 14 All Ireland Finals, so it kills me to miss this one. However, will definitely be in the Oscar Wilde to watch this one.....(without the beer). First one i probably watched sober as well.

Regarding the weather, i hope the temperature stays below 16 degrees. Normally, higher temp than this affects me greatly.

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭Lex Luther

jmcc99_98 wrote: »
    Freaking out! Went to bed with a slight sore throat on Tuesday, woke up yesterday feeling like crap, dry cough and sore throat, runny nose etc... no energy, skipped my usual Wednesday speed session and still not feeling great today but thinking of doing 5 miles easy jog at lunchtime today. Loading myself with Vitamin Tabs, Vit C drinks, water and paracetamol.

Its amazing how quickly I can get negative about things during taper

If I were you (and believe me I've been there) I would give serious consideration to NOT running at all today. The 5 miles will not make any positive difference to your conditioning really except in your head (and if you have a bad run that small plus disappers as you'll worry even more) but it might have a big negative effect on your rrecovery from the cold.
    Lex

jmcc99_98 wrote: »

I had the same issue Sunday night/Monday morning. Had to take Tuesday off work but armed with Benilyn 'Day & Night' tablets I made a fair recovery, enough to do a 31km run last night. That really helped clear out sinuses and airways. It was surprisingly comfortable. I'm a big fan of sweating out a cold.
    Now, if it was the dreaded manflu then I'd definitely have stayed indoors!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

belcarra wrote: »
    31km run last night

Jaysus, that's big mileage at this stage in the game!

I'm coming down with a case of the sniffles myself; have had a runny nose and been sneezing since yesterday. I think it's going around. I've swapped the coffee for lemsips since the first nose-blow yesterday :)

Have requested a change to D.
    Also got confirmation back that they have registered my time from Dublin last year so that should correct the starting block allocation issue for me. It means I should be in Block D to watch Yaboya shoot off along the blue line to hunt down the Kenyans :pac::pac:

How did you do this by the way? I was trying to get over the fact that I'm in wave E but it's been bothering me since I found out and I don't want to take the chance of being caught up in slower runners (I saw that now, before I blow up trying to go for a time I may not be able for!) so I'm going to chance asking to be put up to D as well and join the rest of ye!

Jaysus, that's big mileage at this stage in the game!

I'm coming down with a case of the sniffles myself; have had a runny nose and been sneezing since yesterday. I think it's going around. I've swapped the coffee for lemsips since the first nose-blow yesterday :)

Seems to be a good few coming down with sniffles all over the place alright.
    Perfect timing if you ask me, it means you should be well recovered and rearing to go come next weekend!

As for my high distance run, I'm just tipping away with training with Berlin being merely another LSR. When I booked in I thought I'd be really attacking it but alas, that's not to be.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Do you have a plan for 2015?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

I remembered this thread when I bumped into FBOT today in Clontarf and he was running so fast I could hardly keep up with him on my bike ;-)

Seems to be very sunny and warm (mid 20's) in Berlin this week but the extended forecast (for now at least) is showing it as about 15 degrees and overcast with a chance of rain on race day...

http://www.accuweather.com/en/de/berlin/10178/daily-weather-forecast/178087?day=11

http://www.weather.com/weather/tenday/Berlin+Germany+GMXX0007

I was wondering when the first weather forecast post would appear ;-) I have to confess to having looked up yr weather yesterday. We'll be very lucky indeed to get the conditions they are currently predicting but as we all know a lot can change before the 28th

2417|Marthastew|3:12:51|3:09:59|

Just added my bib number, I'm also in Pen D (where the fun is at :-))

Re. hydration/water stations, the first year I ran it was speaking to neilc in the Oscar Wilde after and I'm pretty sure he told me he had sellotaped a straw to each of his gels..... Then again there was a lot of beer drank that night! I think the drinks are in paper cups and they are actually quite easy to turn into a funnel and drink from (not as easy as bottles but easier than plastic) also there are so many water stations so sipping from each cup is fine. (somebody will surely be along with a route map soon.... FBOT?)

Marthastew wrote: »
    I remembered this thread when I bumped into FBOT today in Clontarf and he was running so fast I could hardly keep up with him on my bike ;-)

I was wondering when the first weather forecast post would appear ;-) I have to confess to having looked up yr weather yesterday. We'll be very lucky indeed to get the conditions they are currently predicting but as we all know a lot can change before the 28th

2417|Marthastew|3:12:51|3:09:59|

Just added my bib number, I'm also in Pen D (where the fun is at :-))

Re. hydration/water stations, the first year I ran it was speaking to neilc in the Oscar Wilde after and I'm pretty sure he told me he had sellotaped a straw to each of his gels..... Then again there was a lot of beer drank that night! I think the drinks are in paper cups and they are actually quite easy to turn into a funnel and drink from (not as easy as bottles but easier than plastic) also there are so many water stations so sipping from each cup is fine. (somebody will surely be along with a route map soon.... FBOT?)

Your map, my lady :)

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭McWotever

I moved from block E to D too, I have an email to confirm this, but my "start pass" still says E. Wonder when they actually change it? At the expo?

And a little info bonus.....:pac:

McWotever wrote: »
    I moved from block E to D too, I have an email to confirm this, but my "start pass" still says E. Wonder when they actually change it? At the expo?

Got the same email and asked them about start pass. They said that won't change but your number should have your new Block allocation on it.

"SHOULD" LOL

McWotever wrote: »

How did ye move??

The link on their website doesn't seem to be working - http://www.bmw-berlin-marathon.com/m/en/info-and-service/faq/before-the-race/changing-your-starting-block.html

I think I used that link. Either that or I used the form on the "contact us" link in the upper right corner of the home page.

I just told them my newer PB and provided a link to the Belfast marathon results page.

Link didn't work for me so I emailed them and sent a copy of my finishing cert from DCM

Begging email sent, fingers crossed I can join the rest of ye in block D...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭Jnealon

For anyone wanting to change pen this is done at the expo. When lining up to collect your number there is a small table to the right of registration, the chap at the desk will give you a little sticker to put on your number.

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭figs

I'm unable to run Berlin due to injury. Gutted I'm missing it. Ran it last year and is a brilliant event.

I have flights available if anyone wants to use. The change of name costs €100 with Aer Lingus.

Flight EI0330 - Sat 27 Sep 2014
    Departs: Dublin-Terminal 2 (DUB) 07:10
    Arrives: Berlin (SXF) 10:25

Flight EI0339 - Sun 28 Sep 2014
    Departs: Berlin (SXF) 22:00
    Arrives: Dublin (DUB) 23:20

PM me if interested.

Good luck to all running.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Just over a week now:

http://vimeo.com/106659318

• Registered Users Posts: 6 benedictine monk

does anyone have any tips on meeting family afterwards, easy around the official areas or just chaos? I''m staying near hackescher markt.......just thinking may be easier to just meet them back there. cheers.