Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winter Wimp List 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

Some wind blowing! Really don't want to get bus but sounds very stormy.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I'll be flying into work this morning...

... courtesy of Aer Lingus :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

Busy thread today ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

I'd already wimped out last night and left the bike in the work shed. It was just brewing up and it was damn cold. Dart it is for me today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

If there is bits of frost or ground looks icy should you let more air out of tires or what? Have a cx bike for commuting so any ideal PSI?

Sold the car about 5 weeks ago so commuting 10km e/w since, loving it but know the weathers turning! Nice and chilly on the ears earlier but fresh too!

90-100psi for road bikes. I assume the same applies for a cx bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

My morning commute went faster than normal. About 10min quicker :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Seweryn wrote: »

Rather brave of you. Or something else entirely.

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    Rather brave of you. Or something else entirely.
    It is not bad at all in my area. May get worse later though, so not looking forward facing the wind on my way back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

You took the train?

No, I am on the bike as usual. My commute takes normally about an hour and a minute or two. Managed in 50-53 min. this morning. Some tail wind, but nowhere near as strong as seen some days earlier this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

I wimped out this morning, provided I'd made it, I would have flown in, but I could feel the wind shifting the car so on the whole I'm a contented coward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

That's some wind, but the temperature is worryingly mild... I suspect a cold snap has to hit sooner or later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Unfortuntately my bike is still in the bike hospital after my fall last week. Otherwise......

I probably would have wimped out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Took a bus to work. First time this year.

Feeling bad, with a tailwind like this I may have got a few KOMs on the way. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Cycled in. No other option of getting here. It was grand (ish)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I've a fairly short commute but made it in one piece. Did nearly get blown off the bike onto the other side of the road as I entered the car park, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Expected that to be cold, so finally put on my winter tights. It was too warm :(

Windy enough mind, always good fun (on the way in :()

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

got a few punctures in my tire yesterday so out of action until I buy a new tube, had to waste time and money on the bus grr, would love to have cycled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Jabel

Is this not a Winter wimp list?
    Most posts are "yeah it was bad but cycled in", I'm sure there's a hero thread here too.

Only proper wimps need post here (and the reason why!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Wimped out, too windy for me. A couple of times it was dicey enough in the car, so no regrets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Battery was running low in my car, so I HAD to drive today to charge it up again..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

Wimped. But genuinely thought it was too dangerous today with gusts.

Does anyone agree with me, that it's a little dangerous in these conditions, serious question?

a148pro wrote: »

Does anyone agree with me, that it's a little dangerous in these conditions, serious question?
    It depends which area of the country you have in mind.

To answer your question, I disagree. It was perfectly safe to cycle in my area this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

buffalo wrote: »
    That's some wind, but the temperature is worryingly mild... I suspect a cold snap has to hit sooner or later.

Hopefully! My livelihood depends on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

driving down the road was like driveing down a branch trackway this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭RO 06

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    Hopefully! My livelihood depends on it!

Don't forget to pass it down the food chain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

a148pro wrote: »

It depends on the terrain. If you're cycling between hedges it might seem calm but a field gate can have you across the road in a sidewind in a second or so. The problem with gusty winds is the un-predictability. My commute is along the coast so the wind tends to be much less gusty (though often stronger than inland) so it's much more predictable. All I have to do is lean left the whole way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭seven stars

N4 > Clontarf was fine at 8am. I expected some hairy moments but it was really just a strong tailwind the whole way. Great craic, flew in. Not looking forward to home time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

N4 > Clontarf was fine at 8am. I expected some hairy moments but it was really just a strong tailwind the whole way. Great craic, flew in. Not looking forward to home time though.

Wind will have dropped considerably by this evening so you shouldnt be too bad..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭Lawr

cycled in this morning. the wind was at my back for most of the way. it was like sailing. great trip in. probably won't be so nice going home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Wimped out today. Worried missus, some remnants of a cold/chest/ear infection and the car it was.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Wimped out today, and yesterday. Got a kick off a horse in the back on Stephen's Day so can't cycle at all at the mo, or walk at any speed. A lady pulled in of the road in her car yesterday to ask if I was ok when I was 'walking' yesterday eve, I'm a right spa altogether at the mo :eek:. Coughed yesterday and pulled it all out again grrr!

No work today, feel very bold, stiff and bored. Ogling frames on ebay :rolleyes: :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭aFlabbyPanda

Took the car, gale was blowing and its a headwind all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Jabel

Damn, damn, damn...
    My car is now repaired after months off the road and drove yesterday so I could get it taxed. The excuse this morning was some seriously strong winds.
    I'm not proud and what's worse is now I have a reason not to cycle :o

To show that I'm not a complete wimp I did 27.5k on Monday and 33.5k on New years day, my first proper non commuting rides :D

Happy new year all

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Combination of a bad cold, weather and the wind especially today, means I haven't cycled at all in 2014 yet........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Wimped out for the first time in ages. Fighting off a bad dose of man flu plus the winds this morning - didn't fancy battling that in to work for the guts of an hour. Would have been fun on the way home though.......

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

That was some wind I was down to about 10hm/h in places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Thedogsgone

Cycled in this morning. Every yard felt like a mile against the wind.

The ride home should be a bit of craic though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

That was some wind I was down to about 10hm/h in places

Is that 10 hectometres per hour? Pretty slow so... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 ffinlay

Couldn't face those headwinds this morning

ffinlay wrote: »
    Couldn't face those headwinds this morning
    It was brilliant, I was f. flying :pac:.

Not looking forward to the return torture though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

This am was ok but wind behind me, slog home I suspect...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Wimped out again - 2 days in a row (Friday and Monday). Feck it, I'm on the bike tomorrow - traffic wrecked my head this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Friday was a designated driving day anyway (went across town on a Dublin Bike at lunch though), but wimped out this morning - I don't mind the rain or cold, but I haven't really got my head around coping with gusty conditions tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Have had cold for a week, but went out in rain and wind yesterday for 70km+. Overslept so only managed coffee and a handful of nuts. Between wheezy lungs and no fuel, worst day on bike in two years, which includes cycling through the snow before Christmas. To top it all off, my cold is back and my chest feels like the contents of a tub of yoghurt is sloshing around in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Have had cold for a week, but went out in rain and wind yesterday for 70km+. Overslept so only managed coffee and a handful of nuts. Between wheezy lungs and no fuel, worst day on bike in two years, which includes cycling through the snow before Christmas. To top it all off, my cold is back and my chest feels like the contents of a tub of yoghurt is sloshing around in there.

Take it easy if the cold has moved into your lungs. You'll make your recovery slower if you exercise with a chest infection. I've had one since mid december and yesterday was my first decent day on a bike and it's still not quite 100%.

They suck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

Sign me up.

Too much wind for me today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

It was brilliant, I was f. flying :pac:.

Not looking forward to the return torture though.

Same here, the tailwind was great. I can only assume the headwind is going to be brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

Given the ongoing changes in the weather conditions I decided to drive in and go for a swim this morning so that I'm amphibious by the time of the great flood.

Cycled in, but could have taken a boat instead.