Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Donegal GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Donegal beat New York 1-12 to 1-5 last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Donegal beat New York 1-12 to 1-5 last night.

Is that goals and points or shots and pints?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭raiders11

I see Donegal are 4/6, Dublin 13/8...... Must be the first time ever that were going into a game with Dublin at any level and are favourites..

raiders11 wrote:
    I see Donegal are 4/6, Dublin 13/8...... Must be the first time ever that were going into a game with Dublin at any level and are favourites..

Not good, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    Not good, is it?
    We are favourites for a reason. Believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭squareball1988

Redsoxfan wrote:
    Not good, is it?

Keep the faith.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

raiders11 wrote: »

That's about right for me. Couldn't understand why Dublin were ahead of us in the outright betting a few weeks ago either.

We beat them a few weeks ago in a challenge. I've not thought that much of them anyway but they won't have come up against a team as experienced as us in Championship. We can't really underestimate what the senior exposure has done for this side. Gillespie is a huge loss though and other players still aren't fully fit.

Flip side of course is, Dublin have had 3 weeks to prepare and will be very fresh and we've had a tough schedule. And games at this level can be very much 'on the day'. We've kicked massive scores in the past number of games but Derry and Cavan are poor for my money and this current crop has form for having a 'systems failure' up front.

The big thing for Dublin is whether they have the composure to hold the ball and work around our defence. It's very hard for young teams to do that if you haven't been exposed to it that much and they won't have been. Coaching only takes you so far. I would suggest that our game v Tyrone in Omagh was of a quality far above what most U-21 teams would ever have to come up against. That was a serious, serious test.

All in all, we've got a better team and a better squad than Dublin. Just got to hope that they perform and are able to see this game out. It was very muted on Monday, these boys have their eyes on a bigger prize. And isn't it great to be able to say that for a Donegal team.

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭jjdonegal

That's about right for me. Couldn't understand why Dublin were ahead of us in the outright betting a few weeks ago either.

We beat them a few weeks ago in a challenge. I've not thought that much of them anyway but they won't have come up against a team as experienced as us in Championship. We can't really underestimate what the senior exposure has done for this side. Gillespie is a huge loss though and other players still aren't fully fit.

Flip side of course is, Dublin have had 3 weeks to prepare and will be very fresh and we've had a tough schedule. And games at this level can be very much 'on the day'. We've kicked massive scores in the past number of games but Derry and Cavan are poor for my money and this current crop has form for having a 'systems failure' up front.

The big thing for Dublin is whether they have the composure to hold the ball and work around our defence. It's very hard for young teams to do that if you haven't been exposed to it that much and they won't have been. Coaching only takes you so far. I would suggest that our game v Tyrone in Omagh was of a quality far above what most U-21 teams would ever have to come up against. That was a serious, serious test.

All in all, we've got a better team and a better squad than Dublin. Just got to hope that they perform and are able to see this game out. It was very muted on Monday, these boys have their eyes on a bigger prize. And isn't it great to be able to say that for a Donegal team.

A great summary. Be absolutely great to put down a marker for the future tomorrow. On another note I thought Jason McGee was exceptional the other night. What a prospect. Eoghan Ban, although I thought he was quiet on Monday; really excites me too. For me they excite me most of the current bunch. Although not having made the same breakthrough yet I think Langan has an unreal future ahead of him.
    Unfortunately I do fancy Dublin tomorrow for the preparation time they have had but the future is bright for Donegal football from what I've seen this year.

Pure ****e in that first half. Nowhere near enough intensity and Dublin creating chances at ease. We have a fair few wides but Dublin missing their share of chances too. Their star man gone early on too.

Looks too much like the Seniors at the moment. Big second half required.

Wind was probably to our advantage in the first half.

They look out on their feet here. In serious bother.

That first half has been nothing short of f*cking atrocious. Dublin's defending has been excellent from the off. Yet we seem incapable of moving the ball at any pace, just doesn't look like we have it in the legs at all. Seen McGee trying to track back and he was struggling to move 5 yards. Getting rinsed from our kickout which is an area we should be dominating. Getting isolated when we move the ball.

Don't know what it is with our underage teams and hitting a quite ludicrous numbers of wides on a regular basis.

Have to be a serious improvement here 2nd half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Will your tough schedule of games make the difference?

Our fellas have obviously decided to turn it into a test of legs. But Callaghan is huge loss. No-one likely to score a goal - although neither defence looks like conceding one - and no freetaker.

Not over yet!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Out on their feet is right, lucky to be just three down.

Very disappointing. Felt like Rory Gallagher had taken over for the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭rrs

Dublin fresh. Donegal heavy legged with players involved with senior too. The ulster council made a balls up of their organization also.

Weather aside. The ulster final was far too late.

Nothing in the tank. Thank Christ we didn't have to play Kerry today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Hard luck. Games took their toll no doubt.

Or Galway....

Quite!

Now that is one of the biggest shocks going. Talk about rubbing salt into the wounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

You might be in a final I'd you had.

Stoner wrote:
    You might be in a final I'd you had.

Couldn't see us beating anyone else in the last four today. Not at the races.

Very disappointing afternoon in Cavan. Never really got to the pitch of the game, save for maybe the first few minutes of the 2nd half, where we really should have drawn level. Once Dublin got the goal it was game over. I haven't seen any stats, but I'd be curious as to the wide count - Dublin kicked their fair share, but I think we might have shaded it. Mad that this team kicked 13 in a row against Cavan without a wide, but then again, poor opposition and no wind might have something to do with it.

Most depressing thing however was our defence. The warning signs were there against Derry but this zonal type approach (at least that's what it looks like?) was badly exposed yesterday. Quality of tackling is crap and we rarely beat our men to the ball.

Hard to say if this really was a missed opportunity or were we kidding ourselves after Monday night. Ulster is no measure of what you will face in the last four anymore, and that applies at every age level these days.

Dublin played with great intensity, organisation and were able to react to their nominally best player receiving a black card very early on. If we were gassed after Monday night, then I wonder why we insisted in playing with such intensity when the game was long over in Armagh.

Having so many players with senior experience involved should have been an advantage but aside from the flurry of games in the last 11 days, the likes of McGee, Ban, Carroll and Brennan have played a lot of football since the start of the year. We don't have the luxury (or the joined up thinking) to allow our U21s to focus on that competition as other counties do. U20s will change that, but who knows how that will be managed in Donegal.

I still believe that talent is there, but the tactics have to evolve. Weaker teams will facilitate the sort of game we seem intent on playing, and we will probably look good doing it at times, but the better teams will be well able for it.

Hopefully Jason McGee isn't too bad (concussion?) and Gillespie recovers in time for 28 May - it's not like we should need either of them on that day but would be good to see them in action ahead of an Ulster Semi-Final.

Well it's the evening after the night before.

Have to say this is as low as I've been after a Donegal defeat for quite some time.

Those of you who read these boards will know how obsessed I've been about our u-21's for quite some time. I've just been so impressed with them.

The reason is simple, I genuinely believed they had it in them to make an All Ireland final. And although I was expecting to meet Kerry and probably lose (Galway- wow!) I would have given us a fighting chance at getting a rattle at them as lads and as players.

As it is, I must say, I said about 2 minutes in that we were in bother yesterday. We went on a solo down the pitch and ended up out on the wing, isolated, and turned over. I may be exaggerating somewhat but I thought Dublins defensive shape was outstanding. I really mean that. Such conviction, such intensity, such discipline. Honestly they were superb defensively. Forcing us in places we didn't want to be time at time again. When they attacked they attacked with a lovely blend of short and long and easily byoassessed us.

As RSF says, we wouldn't have beaten any of the other 3 yesterday. We were just so off the pace. For my money that was down to scheduling, id have loved to have seen us with 2/3 weeks off going into that game but you play the hand you're dealt.

Just really dissapoainted. But if I can say one thing and it's not even talking them up. They were taken in on the crest of the all Ireland in 2012. A new breed. Similar to the early Tyrone undee Harte. They expect to be wining Ulster championships and there is no inferiority complex with them.

I just feel very, very sad that this journey for them is over with no all Ireland final to contest. But that is life.

It will be nice to watch the final as a neutral. And I have to say, I would love to see Dublin win it with the defensive set up they employed yesterday.

There is more than one way to skin a cat. And they were great. Good on them (and Dessie Farrel is a meenanery man like our own crowd!)

Quiet few weeks, club football to be played. Roll on the Ulster championship. Time for Rory to prove himself.

Have to say this is as low as I've been after a Donegal defeat for quite some time.

Yep. It's the hope that kills you etc.

We should always celebrate an Ulster Championship any grade. But when we won this one so convincingly and made the All Ireland Final at minor in 2014 you had to hope we could give a good account of ourselves in an AISF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,963 ✭✭✭doc_17

I wouldn't often agree with D Bonner on things related to structures but he's dead right on The Ulster Council. We kill ourselves, all the time.

Even looking at Ulster Minor football in the past...boys playing games 10 days before their Leaving Cert. Ulster final losers used to have a 6 day turnaround. Connaught/Munster team have 3/4 weeks.

Jim McGuinness. Wow. Never stop being amazed at the power of the man.

What a great guy Pat Shovlin is too, please god it works out for him.

http://www.donegaldaily.com/2017/04/20/i-have-too-much-to-fight-for-pat-shovelin-opens-up-on-his-battle-with-rare-liver-cancer/

That’s when they discovered the liver cancer,” he says.

“Liver isn’t usually a secondary source, but with mine it’s primary.

“Before I knew it, I was sitting in front of Gerry McEntee, who is a liver specialist, in the Mater Private in Dublin.”

McEntee is a former All-Ireland winner with Meath and he pencilled Shovelin in for a 7am appointment one Monday morning in February.

Shovelin travelled with his brother, Gavin, the night before and as he was scurrying across Eccles Street, at around five to seven his phone buzzed and a familiar number flashed up.

It was McGuinness. ‘Ringing to say good luck,’ Shovelin thought as he answered.

‘Where are you?’ demanded McGuinness.

“I’m just walking across to Gerry McEntee’s office.”

“That’s grand. I’m inside waiting on you.”

McGuinness flew from Glasgow – where he works with Celtic FC – to be with Shovelin in his hour of need.

“That showed the loyalty he had to me,” Shovelin says now.

“He made the trip to Belfast the night before and stayed with JD McGrenra, who worked with us in the Donegal set-up. That meant a lot. Jim would have known Gerry and he made a good introduction.”

Jim McGuinness. Wow. Never stop being amazed at the power of the man.

What a great guy Pat Shovlin is too, please god it works out for him.

http://www.donegaldaily.com/2017/04/20/i-have-too-much-to-fight-for-pat-shovelin-opens-up-on-his-battle-with-rare-liver-cancer/

Best of luck to Pat Shovelin.

I have to say, that was very decent of Jim McGuinness. Fair play where it's due.

Jim and Pat are both legends.

I hope Pat makes it. Was great to see him at the U21 Ulster Final and players talking photos with him. Best moment of the night.

Quiet in here. All recovered from the trip to New York?

#roryout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Redsoxfan wrote:
    Quiet in here.

All over on the badminton forum, fickle feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭The Assistinator

Quiet in here. All recovered from the trip to New York?

#roryout

Was just thinking a very quiet build up here to the championship what's the thoughts.? I think myself a very hard Ulster win and a lame semi final exit but at least that way we keep #roryin 😂