Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Marooned75 wrote: »
    I see operation transformation is looking for farmers so one can become a team leader for the new series.They ll have some sport trying to get one I think.

Feck it .... I'll sign up. Do they accept part time farmers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Another lovely PBM heifer calf today, 3 of them in a row now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Timmaay wrote: »

What are they like tim, I have a few due feb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Timmaay wrote: »
    they are smashers ... mainly heifer calves off him, hope it lasts, must try posting a pic with my new phone:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

10 cows calved in the last week 8 heifers so far happy out smashing markings good ebi s avg 184 .

anyone have a link to what the dash lights are on a new holland tm tractor, gave my manual on lend to some one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭oooge1

whelan1 wrote: »
    they are smashers ... mainly heifer calves off him, hope it lasts, must try posting a pic with my new phone:D

yeah do whelan1, i'm expecting some in feb to, hopefully you haven't taken all the heifers!!:rolleyes:

oooge1 wrote: »
    yeah do whelan1, i'm expecting some in feb to, hopefully you haven't taken all the heifers!!:rolleyes:
    got a lovely set of pbm twin heifers as well:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

31603_602723466433236_416435893_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Redzer, Portumna and St Thomas are on this Sunday at 4pm in Athenry. Double header with Loughrea and Beagh on at 2pm. Not sure that the quality will be on a par with last Saturday!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Whats hotel kilkenny like does anyone know? Have my college grad next month and thinkin bout stayin there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

jersey101 wrote: »
    Whats hotel kilkenny like does anyone know? Have my college grad next month and thinkin bout stayin there

Id say where you stay wont matter you'll be so hammered

quadboy wrote: »
    Id say where you stay wont matter you'll be so hammered

ye gots to have a bed. I plan on gettin a lady :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

ye gots to have a bed. I plan on gettin a lady :D

Get a lady with a bed;)

hugo29 wrote: »
    Get a lady with a bed;)

with my look ill manage the lady with no bed ha

There's no ladies in that neck of the woods. ... ;-)

not of a thursday night anyway ha
    be plenty that night. All of kildalton college goin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Redzer, Portumna and St Thomas are on this Sunday at 4pm in Athenry. Double header with Loughrea and Beagh on at 2pm. Not sure that the quality will be on a par with last Saturday!!!!

I only want to see the flaking they do to each other, sound for letting me know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hugo29 wrote: »
    Get a lady with a bed;)

great minds think alike, you wouldnt see tight arse here forking out for a bed
    sure you have a car if your stuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

not of a thursday night anyway ha
    be plenty that night. All of kildalton college goin

Langtons look for the wellie ring on the leg:D:D:D

The hotel is nice spot got leisure centre and all so dont forget the speedos

anyone going to the Goldcrop forage open day? just heading off, will take photos if anyone want them posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I'm having a right time of it here. Mrs Freedom in the spa, bottomless coffee cup, comfy chair and a grand view. Able to keep a close eye on boards uninterrupted.:cool: Only trouble is the laptop battery is starting to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I'm having a right time of it here. Mrs Freedom in the spa, bottomless coffee cup, comfy chair and a grand view.

Jaysus who have you over? !!! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

two PB cows broke last week one 9 weeks the other 6 ,will have to give them a miss now as its there second time breaking.one of them has only on ovari so its not uncommon ,she would get the road put she throws great calves.
    the other one will prob get the hook she puts very little in to the calves and has very little milk.
    if it was me id be changing from sucklers as part time farming with sucklers is a joke put what do i no iam only the farm help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

naughto wrote: »
    two PB cows broke last week one 9 weeks the other 6 ,will have to give them a miss now as its there second time breaking.one of them has only on ovari so its not uncommon ,she would get the road put she throws great calves.
    the other one will prob get the hook she puts very little in to the calves and has very little milk.
    if it was me id be changing from sucklers as part time farming with sucklers is a joke put what do i no iam only the farm help.

I feel you pain. Changed over to all mainly drystock inlast few years, but still held onto 2 PB's for oul lad's sake. I don't know if they're even in calf as I've given up worrying about them. Not making too bad a fist at the drystock. Only thing is have to watch cash flow as alot of money tied up in stock when your not breeding your own.

This is just the dig out for a round slurry storage tank. Mostly under ground and 2 meters over ground.... its a lotta sh1te :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

That in cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Our 18yr old pet farm cat died today! Was great for catching mice and rats, I remember her in one of the sheds, found a mouse, had it in her mouth, when out popped another mouse, she sticks her paw out and caught that one also ha.

That in cork?

Naw. Antrim. Storage tank will hold 1.2 million gallons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

FFS, cows no water today. I set up break and let them out and locked them out this am so can only blame myself.

I tell every one to check water as cows enter and leave the paddock, one of the golden rules here so much so that the sticker is on the two bikes.

I think I'll say nothing as the slagging will be awful. Word still is the milk drop, not good at this time of the year.

Elementary error could only be made by a gobshyte!!!!

bought 2 x 8ft galvanised hanging troughs and 1 x 4ft one off mr connors for 160 euro, got him down from 220, look sturdy enough:D

delaval wrote: »

Elementary error could only be made by a gobshyte!!!!

there is a least one of them employed full time around here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

And I have one that gets paid last aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Naw. Antrim. Storage tank will hold 1.2 million gallons

Is that a few metres of top soil I see?!

(not jealous......honestly ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

The one here is only part-time employed!

Today's elementary error, forgot to turn electric fence back on yesterday....you can guess the result :rolleyes:

just do it wrote: »
    Is that a few metres of top soil I see?!

(not jealous......honestly ;))

There is "only" 1meter if top soil, the rest is sub soil. I'm sure we would have hit rock in the next meter or 2 if we kept digging :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

There is "only" 1meter if top soil, the rest is sub soil. I'm sure we would have hit rock in the next meter or 2 if we kept digging :-D
    Thats a nice dig , I dug two holes today for gate posts by hand and I'd say I brought up more stones out of them than ye had in the that big hole :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

moy83 wrote: »
    Thats a nice dig , I dug two holes today for gate posts by hand and I'd say I brought up more stones out of them than ye had in the that big hole :D

I've no topsoil in spots :D Pure nutritious bedrock, great for thrive :cool:

Was looking at putting in a bit of an access road earlier in the year, an inch of soil, a foot of subsoil, and then "where's the rock breaker". Will have to find a new route, can't lower that hill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I've no topsoil in spots :D Pure nutritious bedrock, great for thrive :cool:

Was looking at putting in a bit of an access road earlier in the year, an inch of soil, a foot of subsoil, and then "where's the rock breaker". Will have to find a new route, can't lower that hill.
    Pity we cant blast these things :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

moy83 wrote: »
    Pity we cant blast these things :D

Chaper to go the long route I reckon. The last time there was blasting on that land the cops parked their car sideways right on the blind corner :eek: Wasn't the explosives that were hazardous that day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

This is just the dig out for a round slurry storage tank. Mostly under ground and 2 meters over ground.... its a lotta sh1te :eek:

Jaysus, if I tried that around here I'd put john a wood out of business with the rock i'd have to break and ballygowan out with the water that would be flowing

Milked out wrote: »
    Jaysus, if I tried that around here I'd put john a wood out of business with the rock i'd have to break and ballygowan out with the water that would be flowing

I wanted the digging company to price the job, and I had boreholes done. They wouldn't belive the borehole results so we did trial pits. They went down as far as the boom of the 20ton track machine would go with the big digging bucket. = cheaper price :-D

just do it wrote: »
    The one here is only part-time employed!

Today's elementary error, forgot to turn electric fence back on yesterday....you can guess the result :rolleyes:

the clown done the same here last monday, hence heifer in with neighbors bulls Wednesday morning, added a couple of hours work to the day all for the sake of remembering to do a 20second walk to put the fence back on

I wanted the digging company to price the job, and I had boreholes done. They wouldn't belive the borehole results so we did trial pits. They went down as far as the boom of the 20ton track machine would go with the big digging bucket. = cheaper price :-D

was it cost effective to do the boreholes on such a small job, And what machine was used. I have a slatted tank to dig out but usually is a case of keep digging until we cant dig no more (3ft ish) and then get the sledge and crowbar out:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Sad day here. My uncle in America got hit by a car this evening and was killed instantly, 2 young lads and one of them is 13 tomorrow and the other is 11. Hard to believe this time last week all we were worried about was getting tickets for the match. You can't prepare for something like this happening :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Sad day here. My uncle in America got hit by a car this evening and was killed instantly, 2 young lads and one of them is 13 tomorrow and the other is 11. Hard to believe this time last week all we were worried about was getting tickets for the match. You can't prepare for something like this happening :(

Sorry for your troubles Red.

was it cost effective to do the boreholes on such a small job, And what machine was used. I have a slatted tank to dig out but usually is a case of keep digging until we cant dig no more (3ft ish) and then get the sledge and crowbar out:D

Jaysus bob, you sound like you love hardship ;-) . I should do a weeks works placement with you just to experience the depression ha ha.
    The boreholes were done by stratex, a specialist company with a serious looking tracked rig. I just analyse the report. Cost approx 8k sterling but it has to be done to nail down costs. But the entire job is 2.5 million sterling so its a small part of it

Sorry to hear that Redzer. I was sitting around today and two different lucky spiders were fooling around my hands :rolleyes::rolleyes: and I was just thinking that we dont realise how lucky we are each day just to see the day out. your whole life can be changed in split seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Redzer, sorry for your loss.

Just as I taught, 8k would go a long way to doing most of the rock breaking.

The muck shift was over 100k sterling alone. Its a big hole!!!!