Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester City v. Bayern Munich k/o 19.45 SS2

• 02-10-2013 6:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭

1383264_10153325875290455_898258060_n.jpg

David Silva and Sergio Aguero are both in contention for tonight, although the former is very unlikely to start.

Bayern have a few more injury doubts. Goetze is still lacking match fitness, returning only to the subs bench last week against Wolfsburg after a 3 week absence. Schweinsteiger, Javi Martinez, and Thiago Alcantara are all also uncertain to be ready.

MATCH ODDS
    Man City 12/5, Bayern Munich 13/10, draw 12/5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

@MCFC: TEAM NEWS: Hart, Richards, Kompany (C), Nastasic, Clichy, Toure, Fernandinho, Navas, Nasri, Aguero, Dzeko

SUBS NEWS: Pantilimon, Zabaleta, Lescott, Milner, Garcia, Silva, Negredo

Bayern Munich XI (vs Man City): Neuer; Rafinha, Boateng, Dante, Alaba; Lahm; Robben, Schweinsteiger, Kroos, Ribery; Muller.

Subs: Starke, Van Buyten, Kirchhoff, Contento, Shaqiri, Gotze, Mandzukic

Looking forward to this, so much potential on offer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Ye know I'm actually pretty confident about this and I think we will win this.

All I have to do now is wait for this to blow back in my face.

Damn, can barely believe Zabs has been benched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Argh, no Negredo or Zaba?

Damn it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Very strong Munich team. Would prefer Zabaleta and the beast to start but hopefully the other Micah and Dzeko have decent games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

it's hilarious.

Souness and Jamie have no idea Bayern have been playing Lahm in CM all season.

SlickRic wrote: »
    it's hilarious.

Souness and Jamie have no idea Bayern have been playing Lahm in CM all season.

If they spent even 5 minutes reading previews online would've got them up to speed. The lack of preparation they do is pretty desperate at times.

I'll forgive Souness for it because otherwise I think he knows his stuff, Redknapp on the other hand, well....

karma_ wrote: »
    I'll forgive Souness for it because otherwise I think he knows his stuff, Redknapp on the other hand, well....

Souness still can't believe it.

Neville and Gareth Barry have both said he's played there this season, and he's still slightly incredulous.

Lahm for MOTM.

I'm too excited. Would be pretty epic if we won this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

1-0 Ribery, Joe hart shocking again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Bullet

Oh joe hart...near post from what, 30 yards out?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Joe hart making another big mistake for a goal. He really should have pushed that out for a corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Brutal keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Hart should have saved that!

Hart is dodgy as fúck, and has been for a year now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

I can't get my head around how bad Hart is and how much hype he previously had around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Joe Hart at fault again, a top goalkeeper really wouldn't be beaten at the near post like that. He's looking more and more like Pepe Reina in his last couple of seasons at Liverpool - once brilliant but now totally unreliable. Whether he's resting on his laurels or because he has no real competition for his place, he's looked like a liability for close to a year now.

The Harte myth exposed again

Tinie wrote: »
    Joe hart making another big mistake for a goal. He really should have pushed that out for a corner.

If he's not careful he's out. already rumours this summer that we were looking a new keeper. That was a big mistake from Hart, I think he thought it was going wide and gambled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

FFS Joe.

Wasent there word that city were looking at begovich over the summer if mancini had stayed or something along those lines.

Edit: david platt said it i think. Not a game for dodgey keeping with the likes of kroos, schweinsteiger, alaba, ribry, muller etc... all well able to hit em

Basic stuff Joe, FFS.

Micah not starting well. Very indecisive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Looks even worse in replays. Can't even blame it on a bounce or a bobble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Amazing noise from BM support... even before the goal!

FFS Hart catch the feckin thing.

BM doing a terrific job stifling all our attacks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,654 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

What ever happened to Richards pace?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Headshot wrote: »

Out with the duffel coats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Headshot wrote: »

Hes been plagued by injuries hasn't he? Used to be a serious player.

Could do with giving Silva a run if at all possible. Current way forward isn't working at all

kryogen wrote: »
    Out with the duffel coats

Like duffle coats ever go out of fashion.

Comes and goes in fairness.

FFS lads!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Richards will be off at HT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Have to say I am shocked at just how awful City have been. Fernandinho has been a complete passenger, Navas has stank the place to high heaven and the full backs have been a shambles.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Bayern are a machine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

BM are such an accomplished side. They're making City look so very poor.

The hell was that going Jesus?

Have to say I am shocked at just how awful City have been. Fernandinho has been a complete passenger, Navas has stank the place to high heaven and the full backs have been a shambles.

Why? Thought it was pretty much expected that Munich would steamroll them pretty easy?

Men against boys here, a complete dicking being received here by ze germans

• Registered Users Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Rezident

Bayern have such a good team and they're playing great against a top side. I just wish they'd stop diving so shamefully, they don't even need to :(

Great by Fernandinho just there. More of that please.

klose wrote: »
    Men against boys here, a complete dicking being received here by ze germans

Not over yet, I refuse to believe this team is that bad!

It's 1-0 with 45 left to be fair! We just need to change our approach badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

How much did that City team cost to assemble again?

Its not that its that bad, its a combination of them not being as good as some people would like to believe and Munich are one hell of a team!

The signs are there in fairness, defeats to teams like Cardiff and Villa could hardly have you confident you will be able to match up to Munich. I understand they are isolated results, can happen to anyone. In all honesty though City have not looked brilliant yet this season.

It will take time to adapt to a new way of playing/manager I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,064 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Although they eased off a little near the end of the half, that was a master class from Bayern, great to watch.

They have the passing of Barca but with purpose rather than passing for the sake of it. It'll take a good team to stop them retaining the CL this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The good news for City is that they are just one goal down, Bayerns tika taca is much more enjoyable than Barcas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Bbc asked who was the better keeper before kick off Neur or Hart.

I laughed