Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2014 ** NO TICKET DISCUSSION ALLOWED ** see new mod note

• Registered Users Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Body still throbbing here! Possibly the best ep I've ever been to. We stayed in family camping 2 and tbh it was like a feckin vip area! Not a scrap of rubbish on the ground, short walk to the main arena, we had our own showers, the toilets were spotless and had mirrors and sinks and hand wash! Walking through the main campsites were like something from the apocalypse D:

Oh Family Campsite 2 was so civilised. When we were coming in Friday morning - 2 guys from eflow stopped and asked if we wanted a hand. You have never seen tent et al being thrown as fast onto wheelbarrows :D
    Meathlass wrote: »
    What did he think you did?
    Computer programmer if I remember correctly!

Was there for this :) And computer programmer was the answer kid gave.
    paulieeye wrote: »
    Miley Cyrus...he's in the RA!!!!

Rubberbandits were one of my highlights of the weekend. Was really, really impressed. Didn't think they would be as good as they were.

That abortion song was something else.

I brought the kids right up to the stage. I had two boys 12 & 13 - they weren't able for the song: 'fcuk a man, fcuk any man, the man next to you will do'.

Genghis Khan... he's in the RA
    thror wrote: »
    I was stumbling around one night trying to find the rave in the woods and came across this kind of clearing in the trees with a big huge Heineken LCD screen with really cool graphics on it. Anyone know what it was that area was called / was supposed to be? I was the only one there, on my own in the middle of the woods mesmerised by it for about ten minutes with my can. It was great.

Didn't manage to find the Rave though :(

We came across that by accident looking for Rave in the Woods. It was incredible. Security guard was trying to persuade kids there were green fairies in the trees writing the messages on water. Boys weren't having any of it, the girl was believing her :)

Got a pretty cool video of it.
    My favourite random find of the Picnic was the Steve Frost Improv Allstars. Hilarious so they were!

Were you there for the one Sat or Sun. I was there for the prostitutes and badmington one on Sat. I remember them from last year, so had them now on my list of things to see.

On the Comedy Tent - Karl Spain you can do different material in EP - that was the third time I have heard about your sister and her friends trying to pull your willy of when you were a kid. You are getting onto Des Bishop annoyance level with his continual telling of the immersion sketch.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

zsha wrote: »
    Where do you book these tents / tipis

Each company have their own website. Links here:
    http://www.electricpicnic.ie/sleeping123
    andreac wrote: »
    Has anyone stayed in the Boutique area campsite/pods/yurts etc? What kind of prices are they if so?

Hoping to go next year and maybe either hire a campervan or go Boutique camping. Stayed in a caravan in 2012 and it was great, just cant be dealing with a tent.

andreac wrote: »
    Oh so Pink Moon campsite is separate from the Boutique one then? Id prefer not to stay in a tent and more of a proper bed if possible. But the showers sound great too.

Yes Pink Moon & Boutique are in different locations. Map here:
    http://electricpicnic.ie/downloads/Electric_Picnic_2014_site_map.pdf

They have been in these locations now for years, so would expect same next year.

There's a huge choice in the Boutique area yurts, tipis, bell tents, festihuts & podpads. All shapes & sizes. They go from about €400 up. I've stayed in there now 3 times & would recommend. I like the idea of a campervan but where they are is miles away.
    The Boutique area is a long walk from car park but it's a good location in relation to the arena.

jadie wrote: »
    Highlights of the weekend:

Pink Moon camping & the 2 showers I had,
    The Horrors,
    Slowdive,
    Beck,
    Portishead,
    Wolf Alice,
    The Orwells
    Stradbally village for a breather from it all.

Lowlights:
    Phone & wallet being stolen, serious downer.
    Pink Moon toilets- no cleaning after Saturday
    Outkast,
    St. Vincent
    All the feckin' walking

That's ****. What happened? Swiped from tent when you weren't there?

Rfrip wrote: »
    God I am a complete wreck
    I don't even know where to start

First off it was definatly one of the better picnics.

Highlights
    Chic
    Katranayda
    London grammer( even thou i had no interest and was made go!!) I just couldn't get over her voice
    Crowds. I got talking to so many lovely people of all ages in queues and I saw zero trouble all weekend.
    Mother djs in Bacardi bar on Sunday was amazing. When they played caribou I almost lost my life!!!
    Belgian fries
    Radio shack in body and soul
    God I could go on and on to be honest.

Lowlights
    Just that I was shattered Sunday night, just couldn't do any more. Went to body and soul at round 8 and stayed there all night just chilling and chatting.
    Missed a lot of acts that I wanted to see but you just have to make peace with that and hope you made the right decision at the time. There were so many times I wanted to split myself in half and there hasn't a picnic like that in a few years.

I wish I was better at that.
    Actually think I might enjoy it more if the line-up was worse :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Rfrip

H8GHOTI wrote: »
    I wish I was better at that.
    Actually think I might enjoy it more if the line-up was worse :pac:

I know what you mean! I've had years of perfecting this!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭novemberskye

Finkployd wrote: »
    Worst moment of the weekend:
    putting up a gazebo at 2pm on Friday in the lashings of rain, getting the order of the poles completely wrong but trying to force everything together for about 40 minutes. A bad omen I thought it was.

Loved pretty much everything after that, music highlights were:
    White Denim
    Districts
    Beck
    The Trampz
    King Kong Company
    Benjamin Booker
    Glass Animals

Sh1t Robot & Asgeir let me down though

P.S. Did everyone else get their deck chairs robbed? Happened to everyone around us in the Andy Warhol

Can totally relate to the gazebo torment.... Went thought the exact same torture around 1ish! When we eventually got it up we stood huddled around in the centre of it trying to keep out of the rain sipping on one can between 4 of us as we have left all our drink in the car. Had two chairs robbed from our tents fri night three on the Saturday night... While we slept in the tents!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

Seriously London Grammar! been following them for a while now and boy they didn't disappoint! what a voice and performance! About 10deep from the front the crowd were going absolutely bonkers!!
    Was it just the main stage RTE covered?

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Catmologen

Yarghhh wrote: »
    I dunno I agree with the above. Unless you are near it none of those work as an option to find it.

It took me about 4 picnics to find it :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,547 ✭✭✭✭siblers

H8GHOTI wrote: »
    That's ****. What happened? Swiped from tent when you weren't there?

Not the only ones it happened to. Met these girls on Saturday who had their tent broken into on Fri night, only their cash was taken (they left their bank cards etc) and happened again on Sat night (but they had nothing left to steal). They were camping in a pretty messy area though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

siblers wrote: »
    Not the only ones it happened to. Met these girls on Saturday who had their tent broken into on Fri night, only their cash was taken (they left their bank cards etc) and happened again on Sat night (but they had nothing left to steal). They were camping in a pretty messy area though.

Their own ****ing fault

The portaloos were impressively horrific. Pink moon would be worth the 30 euro a night for the toilets alone. Hendrix was like a slum, and Wilde had a good few dodgy-ish people, including the guy near us who got kicked out. He had stolen 8 cans from one of our tents, we decided not to do anything as they were neighbours.. anyway day later he got thrown out for having a knife and allegedly slashing tents (that was the consensus of those around us anyway as we only came back as he was being removed by security).

Lots of lovely people and the security were better this year than last. All of them were very sound bar one foreign fella who told me to **** off when I asked where to go.. didn't know what his craic was but he might have just had to clean out a portaloo so I left him off with a smile

Body and soul was fantastically designed this year and all the installations were great. I spent a lot of time at B&S this year compared to last and the music all around was great in there.

I'll be back next year without doubt, but probably in either a leave no trace campsite, pink moon, or else I'll have a child in the meantime and go to the family site.
    I got really luck with where I camped, we landed at about 4pm, spent ages trying to find somewhere and finally found a nice spot towards the bottom of Warhol nearish the fences. It was very quiet and clean, our neighbours were mighty craic too and we all tried to keep an eye out for each other. We did have these pillheads arrive on Saturday night who were playing trance all night but they kept to themselves and didn't cause us any trouble. Felt so bad for the people who had camped alongside the main paths and food stalls. It's a pure lottery really when it comes to camping.

byrneg28 wrote: »
    Their own ****ing fault

They were asleep inside when it happened

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭Martin_D

Their own ****ing fault

Stupid yes but hardly their fault - thats the scumbags who entered their private space for the weekend.
    BTW There seemed to be a huge area of Joplin unused - people could spread out more but yes they would be miles away from centre of the action so choose to be on top of one another instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Their own ****ing fault

Yeah, it's definitely not the fault of scumbags who decide to go around, breaking into tents and stealing things that don't belong to them. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Martin_D wrote: »
    Stupid yes but hardly their fault - thats the scumbags who entered their private space for the weekend.
    BTW There seemed to be a huge area of Joplin unused - people could spread out more but yes they would be miles away from centre of the action so choose to be on top of one another instead.

I stayed in warhol which was grand. But visited some lads in joplin and was lovely and chilled and spacious. Was also beside the camper van area where this worker lad kept the small row of toilets absolutely immaculate! He really seemed to have pride in his work. Would be sort of tempted to camp there next time. It's not really that much further than warhol really, especially if you don't have to go trapsing through rows of tents and guy lines to get to your tent

The dread locked security guy there was also bang on

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Taxman13

Absolute nightmare situation for me! I met a quality girl down the picnic at body and soul but we couldn't swap numbers because neither of us had phones. She told me her email address but I ****ing forgot it even though it was easy to remember! Typical!

:(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭-=al=-

Ended up waiting on people and arriving late on the Fri so was in Joplin myself this weekend and it was actually aok, lots of space, chilled out and all of the tents were together with no problems

Wasn't so bad, just a few minutes more walk for a chilled out space with it's own decent enough toilets defo consider it again next year since it avoids all the rush to get there early with a good spot

+ the dreadlock guy there really was sound

• Registered Users Posts: 12,598 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

PomBear wrote: »
    Any know know the name of the security firm this year? Looking to send in a complaint over conduct of a few way too aggressive

I think there was four security firms involved with the festival, SLS which seemed to be Northern Irish, English and some Dublin security with dark green day glow and their gaffers, white day glow, they handled the crew areas, Specialised Security seems to be a Scottish firm and they were all in yellow day glow handling the paths between the Hendrix exit or entrance and the performers camp site and the roads leading to the metal gate used by the crew, performers and traders.
    I think Festival Republic had their own security in dark red day glow and the lads and lassies handling the festival production entrance (Gate 4 I think) wore bright red day glow, I think they might be Eventsec or something like that. Do you remember the colour of the day glow outfit?.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭zsha

Gaspode wrote: »
    Well we finished playing there around 7 (where the hell were you by the way! :) ) so I reckon it was 'Reverend JM's Panic Worship' they were due up after us. Didnt see them myself, was busy having celebratory pints!!

No looking at them on youtube it doesn't look like the band we seen, maybe its not the stage we're both thinking of.....this was just inside the gate of body & soul, the side rankins wood was on. It was a wooden hut, and the band were all dressed in suits, played their own instruments, trumpet, drums etc, there could of been 4/5 of them in it.....
    God I'm not making it easy am I!! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Not to split hairs,

but are the security brought in from England subject to the rules. regulations and parameters that are set down in Irish/EU(if any?) law that security staff here are?

when they were being cool, they were cool, but when they had a reason to go over the top, they went all the way to the extreme, in four different incidents I saw. They were violent, rude, aggressive, all of it, for the least things on occassion.

Seemed to be they were allowed have a 'mad one' on every 50th person they searched, and the incidents I saw were uncalled for(sneaking in cans and one drug case), resulting in the worst heavy handedness.

No need for it.

Then we heard a story about a guy getting caught with a serious amount of drugs, them being confiscated at the railing, and him being allowed in no harm no foul.

that random aspect might work, but I think a uniform approach overall towards everyone would work a lot better.

uniform response=relaxed, firm proportionate and fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 shakespeare021

Anyone know where I can get the live sets from the rave in the woods Sunday?? I never heard such good tunes in a long time and I'm dying to relive the experience Boddika and Rift I'm looking for

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

david75 wrote: »
    Then we heard a story about a guy getting caught with a serious amount of drugs, them being confiscated at the railing, and him being allowed in no harm no foul.

I doubt it was a serious amount. Most people stopped with enough for personal use had it confiscated and wrist band number taken. If you get caught again they kick you out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭A Brad Maddox Guy

3rd time going and hopefully will get going again next year, always have a great time. Camped in Warhol near enough to the toilets; on the Friday night 3 separate people came into our tent. Willing to give the benefit of the doubt that they were honest mistakes though since our tent was very common and the next evening we noticed our neighbours had put a big white number on their tent. Also we're pretty sure somebody was in the tent Friday night while we were in the arena but nothing was taken despite there being plenty of cans there and I think a mate's wallet as well. Really really enjoyed the weekend all the same.

Highlights
    Friday - Foals (I'm a huge Foals fan)
    - James Murphy (huge LCD fan)
    Saturday - Chic
    - Hearing Paolo Nutini sing Candy
    - Rubberbandits, Seann Walsh & Simon Amstell (first time I ever spent time in the comedy tent after 3 o'clock)
    - Omar Souleyman
    - The Orwells
    - some band called Hot Tramp in the Oxjam tent when my friends were doing something sh*t
    Sunday - Beck
    - The Districts (I was a few minutes late and either I missed Funeral Beds, they didn't play it or I'm an idiot :( It was pretty much the reason I went but they were great all the same)
    - Glass Animals (album has been on repeat since I got it a few weeks ago)
    - Security man on my way in acknowledging the can in my hand, telling me to hold it down at my side while he checked my pockets and letting me through with it.
    - A mate dragged me to Orla Gartland. She was fairly enjoyable despite me thinking I'd be bored but it's the faces she pulls when playing guitar that makes this list of highlights.
    - Finally getting to a bit of the rave & Trenchtown.

Lowlights
    - The toilets. I haven't been since 2011 but I don't recall them ever being in such a state. Even Saturday morning a lot of them had no toilet roll and were clogged full. Then the one time I did get to use one I found myself engaging in battle with a wasp I didn't realise was in there til it was too late.
    - Missing London Grammar (tent full, stayed outside for Strong then left for Omar Souleyman)
    - The kebab I bought. Far too much salad.

Someone upped a good quality clip of Devil's Haircut, nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lbj666

Not to split hairs,

but are the security brought in from England subject to the rules. regulations and parameters that are set down in Irish/EU(if any?) law that security staff here are?

when they were being cool, they were cool, but when they had a reason to go over the top, they went all the way to the extreme, in four different incidents I saw. They were violent, rude, aggressive, all of it, for the least things on ocassion.

Seemed to be they were allowed have a 'mad one' on every 50th person they searched, and the incidents I saw were uncalled for(sneaking in cans and one drug case), resulting in the worst heavy handedness.

No need for it.

that random aspect might work, but I think a uniform approach overall towards everyone would work a lot better.

uniform response=relaxed, firm proportionate and fair.

Over the years hearing a English/Scottish/Nordie accent at security was more reassuring than anything else. They work at these things every weekend of the summer and are certainly more up to scratch with regulations than Irish ones are or that used to be the case at least.
    If you recall the stories going around about the infamous oxegen that had legal treats made to these boards, for many years the last thing you wanted to hear at a security check was an Irish or more specifically a Dublin accent.

lbj666 wrote: »
    Over the years hearing a English/Scottish/Nordie accent at security was more reassuring than anything else. They work at these things every weekend of the summer and are certainly more up to scratch with regulations than Irish ones are or that used to be the case at least.
    If you recall the stories going around about the infamous oxegen that had legal treats made to these boards, for many years the last thing you wanted to hear at a security check was an Irish or more specifically a Dublin accent.

Now that you mention it..

It was explained to me the UK security were hired cos it was cheaper to hire them and have them here all weekend than have an Irish crew, cos if you hire them, you end up haemorrhaging money in terms of them letting all their mates in for free, and their own poor behaviour and that of their mates.

Don't remember the Boards discussion about the security. I can imagine though.

Sunil Sharpe

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

cos if you hire them, you end up haemorrhaging money in terms of them letting all their mates in for free, and their own poor behaviour and that of their mates.

Yeah, that makes loads of sense. The promoter is really going to lose money by security letting in mates for free when all the tickets for the event have already been sold anyway. It's got nothing to do with hiring a company that can handle 41,000 people as it's what they do on a regular basis.

This was told to me back a few years ago..Ep didnt always sell out, fyi

• Registered Users Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lbj666

Now that you mention it..

It was explained to me the UK security were hired cos it was cheaper to hire them and have them here all weekend than have an Irish crew, cos if you hire them, you end up haemorrhaging money in terms of them letting all their mates in for free, and their own poor behaviour and that of their mates.

Don't remember the Boards discussion about the security. I can imagine though.

There wouldn't be any loss of revenue just serious issue with an Gardai and the future licensing the event if large numbers made their way in for free. I don't want to go into it because this forum got a lot of legal threats over the allegations that were made here.

That said the picnic were hiring UK companies long before this.
    The UK companies may very well be cheaper, they can hire people and keep them busy the whole summer.