Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any headphone enthusiasts interested in a headphone meet up in Ireland?

• 03-10-2013 4:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭

A headphone meet is where people gather and check out other rigs, headphones, amps etc.

There is a potential meet in Dublin on the 26th. details are here http://www.head-fi.org/t/666150/calling-all-irish-members

Get in touch if youd like more info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

I'd be interested but I'd feel pretty out of place with only Audio Technica ATH M50s and Audio Technica AD ATH 700s. Especially with €30k amps being mentioned and quite high end cans.

Am running .flac on the pc with the hope to add a Schiit Magni and Modi down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Gheadphone

Hey Morf

You should definitely come along, i have Denon 2000s and Grado SR225s so similar to you. I was at the New York meet this year and it was fantastic but there was a real mix of stuff, some very expensive and some like mine.

Ive never tried the M50s so at the very least i could try yours!

Gheadphone wrote: »
    Hey Morf

You should definitely come along, i have Denon 2000s and Grado SR225s so similar to you. I was at the New York meet this year and it was fantastic but there was a real mix of stuff, some very expensive and some like mine.

Ive never tried the M50s so at the very least i could try yours!

I'll keep an eye on the thread so!

Come along if you can

I would be utterly delighted and scared to death to have top-end headphones running from the kind of hardware that has been suggested that might be available on that thread on my head.

I must see if my mp3 player will run .flac.

I'd be nice to listen to some albums I know on better quality hardware.

Excellent, hope to see you there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Guess I should go along. What security measures are in place?

Hey Brian, well it will be a reasonably small number of us in Clooney Audio is a closed room so people wont be able to come in off the street and run back out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭emo72

yeah, dunno how i missed this announcement. im interested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Theres enough temptation on Head-Fi without bringing it closer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

I may have some other business to attend to at that time but will go along if I'm free.

Try to drop in if you can guys and if you bring some headphones it would be even better!

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Hope to make it along to this too.

Great see you then

Do I need to get in contact with anyone on the thread on head-fi?

I'm considering this at that moment.

What would be the timeframe on the day?

I'm considering doing something else in Dublin from about 5ish on.

Hey Morf

Ill get times but im guessing well be starting around 10 AM at Clooney Audio in Dublin. Ill be there in any case and looking forward to hearing some other headphones. Im bringing my Denons and Grados, what are you bringing?

Hey Morf

Ill get times but im guessing well be starting around 10 AM at Clooney Audio in Dublin. Ill be there in any case and looking forward to hearing some other headphones. Im bringing my Denons and Grados, what are you bringing?

Audio Technica ATH M50
    Audio Technica AD ATH700

That's it really.

I'll exchange details with you some time next week when I'm more certain!

Hey Morf

I have a lot of Grado envy.

My open cans just don't get enough use as it is to justify another/more expensive pair.

Morf wrote: »
    I have a lot of Grado envy.

My open cans just don't get enough use as it is to justify another/more expensive pair.

Excellent, well we can compare, you can have a listen to the Grados and see how you like them.

I have sony MDR-1r which i think are worth a listen as portables. also senn 650s.

I can bring along my Sennheiser HD650 (actually I see emo72 above is bringing a set!), Sennheiser IE8, AKG Q701 & AKG K491NC - while I do work with AKG brands, I loved them so much I did actually buy the Q701 and K491NC for myself! Happy to bring anything else along from AKG/Harman if anyone wants to see them (a lot of the newer models launched at IFA are not in stock yet).

Oh I've taken samples in of these too which I'll bring along, not sure yet if I'll run with them so keen to hear others opinions.

http://www.thinksound.com/ms01.php

I can bring along my Sennheiser HD650 (actually I see emo72 above is bringing a set!), Sennheiser IE8, AKG Q701 & AKG K491NC - while I do work with AKG brands, I loved them so much I did actually buy the Q701 and K491NC for myself! Happy to bring anything else along from AKG/Harman if anyone wants to see them (a lot of the newer models launched at IFA are not in stock yet).

Im looking forward to hearing the 702s, i think a couple of guys have them. Anything else you recommend in the AKG range?

Oh I've taken samples in of these too which I'll bring along, not sure yet if I'll run with them so keen to hear others opinions.

http://www.thinksound.com/ms01.php

i suppose we would have to hear them to give an accurate assesment:pac:

sure bring them for the craic.

Is it worth bringing a few cds yourself or .flac files on a thumbdrive?

My mp3 player doesn't play .flac and the jack appears on the way out too.

Hey guys

So the meet is starting at 10:00 Am and will run until 4:00 at Clooney Audio in Blackrock in Dublin.

Location is here http://cloneyaudio.com/company/contact-us/

Look forward to seeing you there.

Hey guys

So the meet is starting at 10:00 Am and will run until 4:00 at Clooney Audio in Blackrock in Dublin.

Location is here http://cloneyaudio.com/company/contact-us/

Look forward to seeing you there.

What will the options be for audio sources?

Should I bring a few cds? .flac files on USB drive?

I only have an 8gb mp3 player at the moment.

Hey Morf

Im sure you can bring a few cds or some Flac files. Bring the MP3 player too, what bitrate are the MP3s? 320 minimum is the usual standard, lossless (ALAC or FLAC) is best.

Hey Morf

Im sure you can bring a few cds or some Flac files. Bring the MP3 player too, what bitrate are the MP3s? 320 minimum is the usual standard, lossless (ALAC or FLAC) is best.

Grand, will do! I only have a handful of albums on the mp3 player right now but they are 320kbps.

It's a pain having everything in 320kbps and .flac on the pc but I have the storage for it and just a hassle ripping it twice.

Not going to make this unfortunately - I was looking forward to checking out some other headphones, especially Grados as they've been on my wantlist for a while! Another time maybe.

Ah thats a pity. Well be there all day (10-5), if something changes just pop in anyway!

well i will be there for about an hour i suppose, im looking for an upgrade on my fiio amp and hd650s. might be only looking for an amp though, upgrading the 650s would require a big jump.

will cloney have anything of interest? does he do any headphone amps?

Hey guys

Thanks a million for coming to the meet, it was a great experience, i got to hear so much great gear and meet great people.

We are hoping to have another next year.

Mark

Hey guys

Thanks a million for coming to the meet, it was a great experience, i got to hear so much great gear and meet great people.

We are hoping to have another next year.

Mark

My fundraising for a €2.5 k separates system starts now.

Thanks to Cloney Audio, very helpful and accommodating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭marko93

Was there much on show? Any pictures?

Loads of stuff Marko. Theres a few photos here http://www.head-fi.org/t/666150/calling-all-irish-members/165

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭marko93

Woah, I certainly missed out :(

Yeah disappointed I couldn't make this, how often does one get to experience that level of headphone porn in one room?! I finally got to hold a set of Grado SR80 out in HIFI Hut the other day, must have a listen another day as I've wanted a set of Grado for years now... I think something more up as a contender to the Q701 though as they have definitely surpassed my HD650s.

Anyone have any Beyerdynamic headphones actually? I visited their stand at IFA and was very impressed.

Yeah ,Paddy had a pair of Beyer T1s there, great cans. There were a few Grados, i had my 225s and one of the guys brought a lovely pair of RS1s.

Maybe next time!

How are the SR80s?

Yeah ,Paddy had a pair of Beyer T1s there, great cans. There were a few Grados, i had my 225s and one of the guys brought a lovely pair of RS1s.

Maybe next time!

How are the SR80s?

Defo next time!

I think the Grado's felt very flimsy - I had read that about them before but it was certainly confirmed on handling them... I doubt it would matter as such as I couldn't see them being used out and about really. I didn't get to listen to them, must do the next time I'm in.

The Grados feel flimsy but they are made differently (the cups rotate). I Have the 225s and they are pretty hard wearing though and sound great.

It might have been yours I had a quick look at and their lightness and flexibility did strike me.

Ah yeah they were mine alright, i have them on this very second!! they sounds great out of the new Fiio X3 which i picked up from Hifi Hut yesterday!

Aye, just a noticeable difference from the very sturdy M50s that I mostly use.

First impressions of the X3? I can't feckin wait now to get one!

I've now joined the X3 club! Busy choosing what albums to fill the 8GB with - have to pick up a micro SD for it yet. Loving it so far - 'Laughing Stock' by Talk Talk is the first album I've listened/enjoyed to on it.

Thanks Daniel in HIFI Hut! I'll defo grab an amp another day too.

Sounds great so far, the soundstage is great, so much better than the iPod and Fiio E11 combo. I actually cant believe the improvement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭docentore

Sounds great so far, the soundstage is great, so much better than the iPod and Fiio E11 combo. I actually cant believe the improvement

And there still place for improvement there. Only problem is lost warranty. I did mod recommended on one of the chinese forums, replaced both op-amps, still can't believe how much better the DAP sounds now.

Im looking forward to hearing the mod!