Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time to stand up against the silly southern Irish gun laws?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

I meant a serious one like an AK 47.

All guns are serious to be fair

"why did you shoot him??"
    "ah sure twas only a shotgun.not a 'serious gun'

A gun in the wrong hands is a licence to kill.simple as.
    People that have guns legally, have them because they are deemed mentally,physically and socially safe to do so

So why change it??
    If you want to protect yourself go buy a baseball bat or a hurl and save yer few shillings.
    And leave guns to us who use them for our livelyhood

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I meant a serious one like an AK 47.

Are you totally and utterly insane? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

There is already a massive gun crime problem in Dublin as there is in parts of the UK- the problem is that criminals have all the guns not the ordinary working person. The states with the strictest gun control laws also have the highest gun crime rates-funny that.

Gun control is forbidden by the Bible as the mod of the Christianity you might like to recall that fact.

Really? I'll tell the Amish to head down to the sporting goods store then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭SoulandForm

Is it not obvious??? In countries like the US where there is looser gun control, violent crime is at a much lower level and people feel more secure in their own homes due to the fact they can own a nice semi-automatic gun. Think of all those people here in Ireland who are living in fear on a daily basis.

With people owning guns, crime will whither away as everybody fears a gun pointed at them.

God Bless you Father.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,976 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Is it not obvious??? In countries like the US where there is looser gun control, violent crime is at a much lower level and people feel more secure in their own homes due to the fact they can own a nice semi-automatic gun. Think of all those people here in Ireland who are living in fear on a daily basis.

With people owning guns, crime will whither away as everybody fears a gun pointed at them.
    Nothing prevents gun crime like looser gun ownership laws.

I love the fact that the irony of these posts has totally flown over the OP's head.

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    Really? I'll tell the Amish to head down to the sporting goods store then.

Well the Amish are not quite the Quakers who have drifted off from Christianity to drown their souls in vile swamps of their own imagination they are hardly mainline Christians (their opposition to infant Baptism for one). In the Old Testament all Israelites were expected to be armed- and remember that Christ Himself told His Apostles to buy swords. This is also linked to the prophetic attacks on standing army and opposition to absolute authority of human states.

In my opinion we should abolish the IDF and the Gardai and replace them with Citizen Defense committees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Yes for Europe
    Yes for jobs
    Yes for gun control

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I dont consider the puppet regime in the 26 counties the Irish Republic but that does not a troll make.

How can you poll to change the laws of a state that you do not recognise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Ak 47's obviously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

WTF....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭armchaircoach

The video shows us how the gun can equalise the struggle between her and the 200lb felon. However it doesn't mention the 140lb teenage son, the 90lb teenage daughter, or the 40lb toddler. All of whom are statistically far more likely to end up the victim of the legally held gun used for household protection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

I think home owners should be able to get a shotgun just for defending themselves and it should be made less awkward for legitimate target shooting hobbyists

Well I accept its existence its just not the Republic declared by Pearse and Connolly in 1916.

I like a lot of what Republican Sinn Fein say but I dont like their stress on armed struggle.

Not allowed any kind.of self defence "weapons". Spays, truncheons, knives, tazers etc.Not acceptable IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I don't agree with arming the proles.

The... "proles"...? What's that supposed to mean?

The Proles is short for Proletariat- those who have to sell their labour in order to get by basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Its illegal for any normal Irish citizen to buy a serious automatic or semi-automatic weapon.

Autos Yes, Semi-autos, No - perfectly legal.
    It is not illegal for them to buy these weapons in certain jurisdictions....but in the republic of ireland it is.

Despite your username, you are incorrect.
    Can you imagine the grand opening of the Ballyfermot Guns'r'us with a few thousand of them waiting outside for their whopper AR-15 rifles.

I'd rather avoid a day like that tbh.

Some people have AR-15 licenced in Ireland.
    IRLConor wrote: »
    AK-47 full auto? Not legal here.
    AK-47 clone, semi-auto? Totally legal (but pointless) here.

AR-15s are licenced for hunting in Ireland.
    There is already a massive gun crime problem in Dublin as there is in parts of the UK- the problem is that criminals have all the guns not the ordinary working person. The states with the strictest gun control laws also have the highest gun crime rates-funny that.

Gun control is forbidden by the Bible as the mod of the Christianity you might like to recall that fact.

Wut?
    The video shows us how the gun can equalise the struggle between her and the 200lb felon. However it doesn't mention the 140lb teenage son, the 90lb teenage daughter, or the 40lb toddler. All of whom are statistically far more likely to end up the victim of the legally held gun used for household protection.

There are if you read biased statistical reports funded by the Brady Campaign along the lines of "If you own a gun you are more likely to be injured by a gun" - well, duh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

In my opinion we should abolish the IDF and the Gardai and replace them with Citizen Defense committees.

And let me guess these commitees would consist of republicans from the RIRA? Your streak of posting absolute garbage continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

There are huge numbers of guns held legally here, you just don't hear much about it.

And let me guess these commitees would consist of republicans from the RIRA? Your streak of posting absolute garbage continues.

No not all- ordinary citizens out in the open. A militia system of some sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Well I accept its existence its just not the Republic declared by Pearse and Connolly in 1916.

I like a lot of what Republican Sinn Fein say but I dont like their stress on armed struggle.
    That's weird, "free state" and "southern Ireland" and usually titles bestowed by loyalists. It's the Republic of Ireland, no clue what that other fella was banging on about earlier.

Guns are fine but when certain subsections of society insist on armed melees at certain occasions, one would have to question the wisdom of making guns more freely and readily available. End of the day guns only kill things, so unless you've a good reason to be killing things, you've no need for a gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

kowloon wrote: »
    There are huge numbers of guns held legally here, you just don't hear much about it.

Ya there's at lest 233,000 licences for guns that surprised me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Denis322

Great, so we can be more like 'Murica,

Ifyou need some sort of equalizer, Pepper spray would be just as good as a gun, and wouldn't destroy both parties lives.

No not all- ordinary citizens out in the open. A militia system of some sort.

Oh ok then. So you just want a system that would allow republican terrorists to overthrow the state? At least be up front about that. There's always a thinly disguised agenda to your threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I'm sorry, but you're trying to arm people and disarm people at the same time...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

Its illegal for any normal Irish citizen to buy a serious automatic or semi-automatic weapon.

Eh not it's not...Automatic would be prohibited which means only under special licence from the minister of justice. But you can own semi auto rimfire and also centrefire if you can prove a need and reason for owning such a "Firearm"
    Gun owners here own firearms not weapons. Weapons are used as such we don't though we either hunt or target shoot. So please call it what it is a firearm and educate yourself on firearms laws before spouting off nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

OP, let me know if I have this correct, your answer to gun crime and in Ireland is to disband the army and gardai and let everyone own a gun. All of this being based on the bible, a book written long before guns existed.

You haven't really thought this through very well have you?

I'm sorry, but you're trying to arm people and disarm people at the same time...?

What I meant is that Im against killing members of the PSNI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Do you think the authorities would accept defending my civil and religious liberty as a reasonable explanation?

I hope not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I think home owners should be able to get a shotgun just for defending themselves and it should be made less awkward for legitimate target shooting hobbyists
    After reading that I'm not going to admit to having any hobbies. :eek:

Oh ok then. So you just want a system that would allow republican terrorists to overthrow the state? At least be up front about that. There's always a thinly disguised agenda to your threads.

Why are you against the Irish people being armed and organized to defend themselves and their liberty? What does the state you support fear so much about its citizens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

What I meant is that Im against killing members of the PSNI.

The problem with legal guns is that you have absolutely no control over who they are used against.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Yes- there are guns in the hands of a government under the control of an elite which has shown its inability to protect many of its citizens and has acted treasonably as far Im concerned (I thinking here of the Lisbon treaty among other things). There are guns in the hands of criminal gangs- arming the citizenry would balance up score and have them less at the mercy of those two groups.

No, it wouldn't. It would create a situation whereby:

a.) multitudes of people who shouldn't and otherwise wouldn't have guns would get their hands on them

b.) more innocent people would get shot in arguments, heat-of-the-moment stuff, accidents etc, overreactions to the wife grabbing a pint of milk from the fridge at night by Rambo hopping down the stairs with an AK hoping to play hero by foiling a burgulary

c.) the gangs would get more and bigger guns... and legally to boot

d.) those of us who aren't drug dealers or paranoid gun-nuts with hero tough guy complexes don't get to live in a country where a sizable minority of people aren't walking around with lethal weapons anymore...

Besides, this argument used in the US that gun ownership evens the playing field against a possible tyrannical government is bull****. The military could still flatten you whether you're jerking off a Magnum 45 or not if it was ordered to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

[QUOTE=djflawless] Whats wrong with gun control as it is???
    [/QUOTE]

so.....

what's wrong with gun control as it is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

They're at it again in Murica tonight, shooting in US capitol on breaking news
    Wonder if we can learn anything from that?

Why are you against the Irish people being armed and organized to defend themselves and their liberty? What does the state you support fear so much about its citizens?

Giving everyone a gun is beyond stupid. It's not that hard to see why.

Hardly serious fire power.

I hear it's all about the girth, not the size :pac:

so.....

what's wrong with gun control as it is?[/QUOTE]

http://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/Bible-Verses-About-Gun-Control/

Also some very good points are made here-

http://confessionalpuritan.forumcircle.com/viewtopic.php?t=760&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0& (an Irish forum even if most people posting are American).

so.....

what's wrong with gun control as it is?[/quote]

People like me cant get one? Not one designed for concealment/self defence anyway.

so.....

what's wrong with gun control as it is?[/quote]

Im highly impressed at this whole thread tbh
    it shows that a fair percentage of posters are against arming the country, and criminals, to the teeth

although the ops lack of gun control knowledge currently in place in ireland is repeating on him

djflawless wrote: »
    although the ops lack of gun control knowledge currently in place in ireland is repeating on him

Im a she.

Which is maybe why I developed such strong opinions when I realized just how bad the situation was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

High calibre and semi-automatic firearms are already available in this country. Criminals aside, people who want such firearms are likely to hold them legally already. People legally own .308 rifles, semi-automatic rifles and 12 gauge pump-action shotguns.

The above-listed firearms are largely held and used for sporting purposes, unless they are farmers' shotguns. However, if we are talking about unlikely Hollywood-type home defence scenarios, shotguns could be very effective for that purpose.

Considering that the above is the case, is the argument that:

(a) firearms should be granted to people who want them for 'defence' purposes, (as opposed to sporting purposes as currently allowed by law),

or,

(b) that the regulation of pistols should be loosened up and that people should be allowed to hold them for defence also?

(I suspect that if the OP was serious about this discussion, she would have posted it in the Shooting Forum, and I suppose this thread is a bit of a wind-up).

You have to come up with all manner of justification in order to get near a chance of getting one unless you are in the "know"- the fact is that the Free State's gun control laws are even worse the UK's (if that were possible) and effectively disarm the majority of the civilian population.

This is a class issue and its disgusting that the ULA, Sinn Fein and the Labour Party who are supposed to represent the masses are silent on it.

If you want a gun so badly, why don't you write to the Shinners and ask them for one of theirs? They might have a few left over from a little while back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Besides, this argument used in the US that gun ownership evens the playing field against a possible tyrannical government is bull****. The military could still flatten you whether you're jerking off a Magnum 45 or not if it was ordered to...

Yeah, that one's always amused me. Following that logic, the average citizen should have access to drones, cruise missiles, and possibly a tactical nuclear weapon or two. As if the world isn't messed up enough without everyone having their own arms race with their neighbours.

so.....

what's wrong with gun control as it is?

http://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/Bible-Verses-About-Gun-Control/

Also some very good points are made here-

http://confessionalpuritan.forumcircle.com/viewtopic.php?t=760&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0& (an Irish forum even if most people posting are American).[/quote]

Im going to be rude here.and blatently tell you i have no interest in your links for the simple reason being, i dont exactly follow the bible like ned flanders

Im sure ive enough commandments broken to reserve me a warm seat down below if i actually go anywhere when i die

you cant really say you dont want psni/idf without guns
    but still think you can arm your neighbours cos the bible says so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭tosspot15

Look how well thats working for the USA.
    Although, you will literally encounter millions of them that are 100% damn sure that their loose gun laws dont cause any problems. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Look at the end of the day if a junkie broke in to your gaf, the chances are he's not armed with a gun so why the fock would you need to riddle him with AK-47 bullets?

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    Yeah, that one's always amused me. Following that logic, the average citizen should have access to drones, cruise missiles, and possibly a tactical nuclear weapon or two. As if the world isn't messed up enough without everyone having their own arms race with their neighbours.

We should just leave all the serious armament to the "professional" psychopaths. Murderers, bullies and freaks?

Great. No wonder we have no democracy. No wonder some clown from the local bank has more power than the police force of the state.

djflawless wrote: »

you cant really say you dont want psni/idf without guns
    but still think you can arm your neighbours cos the bible says so

I was replying to Martin who posts on the Christianity forum (as a believer).

The PSNI and IDF are over and above the population, the PSNI for instance have totally excessive powers granted to them Thatcher and Blair who both have seriously pushed the whole of the UK into a police state (if its not there yet its just around the corner). A disciplined citizen's militia operating within strict guidelines would be a completely different matter to the current tyranny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

I was replying to Martin who posts on the Christianity forum (as a believer).

The PSNI and IDF are over and above the population, the PSNI for instance have totally excessive powers granted to them Thatcher and Blair who both have seriously pushed the whole of the UK into a police state (if its not there yet its just around the corner). A disciplined citizen's militia operating within strict guidelines would be a completely different matter to the current tyranny.
    Oh great.

A choice of tyranny.....