Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2013-4 Heineken Cup Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Lopez (first choice 10) and Guitone (top try scorer) being rested by Perpignan this weekend as they are both French squad members. Mafi is suspended while Strokosch, Ion and Benvenuti are also rested. Perpignan should still win but hopefully without the bonus point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

jm08 wrote: »
    That was in the Sat Examiner. I'd imagine the interview was more than likely done at the beginning of last week at the latest (and whenever he was last time in Ireland as the Journalist travelled out with him from Cork).

So?

Mujati dropped from Racing's European squad. No indication yet if it's due to injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

How did Sexton play this weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

He did indeed, the full 80. Roaring and shouting at other players as usual!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

There were flashes of what we saw from him at Leinster the last couple of years but he wasn't given a whole lot of opportunity to shine. It wasn't a game for back lines really, unless you were Sivivatu who was unreal. How Clermont didn't capitalise on at least one of his line breaks is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

In a game like that, where you're pinned back defending for almost the entire game, there are very few out-halves that you'd pick ahead of Sexton.

Sivivatu was ridiculously good and it's worth watching the match back for him alone. If he didn't have a number of his back you wouldn't know what position he plays in attack, he just seems to be involved in every play. Racing's scrambling in defence was great and it needed to be because they couldn't deal with Sivivatu. It's a great example of a player's strengths being utilised to the full.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Sivivatu was ridiculously good and it's worth watching the match back for him alone. If he didn't have a number of his back you wouldn't know what position he plays in attack, he just seems to be involved in every play. Racing's scrambling in defence was great and it needed to be because they couldn't deal with Sivivatu. It's a great example of a player's strengths being utilised to the full.

Sivivatu had a real flat patch which cost him his AB jersey, but he seems back to near his best when I've seen him play recently.

Parra ruled out of the Quins game.

http://www.ercrugby.com/eng/heinekencup/news/25107.php#.Ul7vh1AjJyU

French international scrum half Morgan Parra has been suspended for four weeks for punching following a citing from the Top 14 clash with Bordeaux-Begles on 29 September.

Although ASM Clermont Auvergne won the game comfortably at home, 40-11, Parra got involved in an incident with back row man Gibouin Gautier and allegedly punched him while two other Clermont team mates were holding the Bordeaux man back.

The disciplinary hearing imposed a four week suspension that means Parra will miss Sunday's Pool 4 Heineken Cup match with Harlequins at Stade Marcel Michelin. He will also miss the Top 14 games against Brive and reigning French champions Castres Olympique.

His ban will also cover France's opening game in the November Test window, when Philippe Saint-Andre's team are due to take on the Rugby Championship winners, New Zealand on Saturday, 9 November.

• 4 game ban which includes a must-win HEC game and a game vs the All Blacks.

Possibly the worst 4 game window in (regular season) other than a WC/Lions Tour to miss?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Lads question,

Why do Ulster always play most of their HC games on a Friday night while Leinster and Munster rarely do if ever!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Lads question,

Why do Ulster always play most of their HC games on a Friday night while Leinster and Munster rarely do if ever!?

I presume it's to do with sky wanting the big clubs playing on Sat & Sun at peak viewing times? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Even in the Rabo Ulster seem to have a disproportionate amount of games on a Friday night. Presume it's for atmosphere, always seems to be great craic around anyway. Personally I far prefer Fri/Sat night games to anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Lads question,

I'm not sure if it has an influence but Ulster have a preference for Friday and Saturday games due to a significant religious influence in their side. They seem to have a strong preference for Friday though overall in both HEC and Pro12.

I think they've only had one Sunday pool game in about 5 years against Biarritz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Lads question,

They prefer to play their home games on Friday night in Ravenhill. Not always popular with the opposition.

Lads question,

The answer is probably, "because Sky Sports say so"

But it's mutally beneficial; the atmosphere at Ravenhill on a Friday night is usually brilliant, which makes for better TV, so ERC/Sky schedule them for Friday, which suits the fans, who create the atmosphere...

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Even in the Rabo Ulster seem to have a disproportionate amount of games on a Friday night. Presume it's for atmosphere, always seems to be great craic around anyway. Personally I far prefer Fri/Sat night games to anything else.

Ulster play at home on Friday nights for the BBC as far as I know.

Or at least that's a big part of it.

I prefer us playing on a Friday night. Saturday and Sunday during the day is football time and Saturday nights is usually when people go out. I'll be missing our game this weekend unfortunately. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Lads question,

A lot of Ulster players do not want to play on Sundays for religious observance reasons. Reducing the options to just Saturday would be impossible, so hence the Friday night games.

Ulster request Friday night games. Leicester complained about it last season.

rrpc wrote: »
    A lot of Ulster players do not want to play on Sundays for religious observance reasons. Reducing the options to just Saturday would be impossible, so hence the Friday night games.

I'm not sure how correct this is tbh.

By the by, Ulster played Northampton at Ravenhill on a Saturday evening last season having hockeyed them in Franklins the Friday before... and we all know how that turned out.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Ulster request Friday night games. Leicester complained about it last season.

Why? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭ssaye2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

awec wrote: »
    Why? :confused:

I assume it's because it's difficult for their fans to get over after work on a Friday.
    [edit. I may have missed the point of your question]
    [edit 2. Yes, yes, I did]

I would also think it's because Ulster got the full seven days to recover and prepare after their Friday match the week before while Leicester only had six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

4 game ban which includes a must-win HEC game and a game vs the All Blacks.

Possibly the worst 4 game window in (regular season) other than a WC/Lions Tour to miss?
    France are a bit screwed for a scrum half now. Machenaud is injured and Parra suspended. Who does that leave? Flakey Freddie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

rrpc wrote: »
    France are a bit screwed for a scrum half now. Machenaud is injured and Parra suspended. Who does that leave? Flakey Freddie?

I hope so, I love the international rugby lucky dip that Freddie represents.

errlloyd wrote: »
    I hope so, I love the international rugby lucky dip that Freddie represents.

Would he play?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S%C3%A9bastien_Tillous-Borde

Pelissie was on standby if Parra got banned. He will get called up. Doussain is already in the squad. So I imagine Doussain will start with Pelissie benching, although I hope Pelissie starts as he's been very impressive.

Edit: Parra is appealing his suspension.

Sarries players comparing themselves to Premiership round lakers.

Those guys really know how to endear themselves to traditional rugby fans!

to what?!

There's some sort of choir in Wembley right now, apparently they're playing against toulouse?

to what?!

Have you never heard of a round laker? :rolleyes:

(Actually it was a very strange auto correct :pac:)

Very strange to see this midfield partnership for Sarries. I figured Tomkins would be important given Barrit's injury. But Wyles at 13 could be a decent avenue for Toulouse to attack.

I have to say, as a huge fan of les mis, I'm loving the build up to this game. Sky coverage starts wit, "red and black" and now some soloist is singing "do you hear the people sing."

And the warm up for the crowd is the soundtrack to Les Miserables. Just a bizarre approach those wolf loving, musical singing, Sireli Bobo loving Saracens have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

There's some sort of choir in Wembley right now, apparently they're playing against toulouse?

Appears to be Les Mis themed, what a bizarre occasion. lol

I have to say, as a huge fan of les mis, I'm loving the build up to this game. Sky coverage starts wit, "red and black" and now some soloist is singing "do you hear the people sing."

Well the answer is that no, you don't hear the people sing. Because they've been drowned out by the music. Nigel Wray pumps in to the stadium!

Surely that had to be driving at an angle?!

Toulouse looking good in the early stages!

Sky giving out about wiggelsworth, but Macallister readjusted so nicely to pick up the inside runner...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Those guys really know how to endear themselves to traditional rugby fans!

I'm reading this and it's not making sense to me. Round lakers?

Good try, although they are checking a pass.

Told you Chris Wyles at 13 would be a weakness!

Surely a forward pass...

Try given!

lovely simple execution to finish there. Love seeing a player pass and check to get behind/inline again.

Looks flat to me. Went forward with momentum but that should be allowed for. I'd be disgusted if Leinster had that ruled out.

Good awareness and hands from Wyles and Ashton.

That fcuking ref cam is the biggest waste of time for scrums...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭ongarite

Should have been a yellow for Toulouse for holding Ashton.

Ashton too honest. That is a penalty and probably a yellow for me.