Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats on your to do list?!

• 06-10-2013 9:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭

Right, so if you guys are anything like me and my car you'll have a list. A list which when completed, will have you spending far too much money on that object that sits outside your gaff, but yet you'll do it anyway!

What is next on your want/to do list as far as mods go?

Here's mine:

Wheels: I've been talking about this for ages, but it'll happen eventually, when finances allow. I want BBS CH reps on my e46, preferably staggered, but whether I'll do that with wider rears, or simply spacers I do not know.

Audio: I want to get rid of the poxy cassette player, with the line in popping out. Want to upgrade the headunit, and also the speakers to get a proper audio setup.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,447 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Upgrade to 17s
    Spacers on the back
    Full wrap in white
    Retrofit factory satnav
    Get rear lights from 2010 facelift

• Registered Users Posts: 7,292 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Fit intercooler and decat pipe i have laying around
    Buy and fit Downpipe
    Buy and plug in remap handset
    Save for Catback
    Save for RS clutch

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

CSLs or MV3s
    remove dents
    xenon/projector headlight install

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

God where do I start???
    Before anyone says I shouldn't have bought an alfa, only two things need to be done. And that's the clutch slave cylinder and the maf!:D

Paint and Fit side skirts (original skirts were cracked and damaged but have a newish pair)

Fit ebc grooved drilled and vented disks

Fit ebc green stuff pads

Fit koni strt shocks (got a very good deal on the shocks and brakes!:) )

Polybush the car. Will probably use strongflex over power flex as they're a 3rd of the price and quality is fairly good.

Fit new steering wheel (will probably get the old one refurbished as it was nicer)

Replace the clutch slave cylinder.

Replace the maf.

Paintless dent removal

Respray front bumper.

Get the aircon regassed.

New boot badge.

Powdercoat alloy wheels. May upgrade to 17s though before that.

Change gearbox oil, engine oil, power steering fluid, brake fluid and coolant and air, oil and pollen filter.

By the time I've everything on that list done, it'll be 3 years time and due a new belt

• Registered Users Posts: 11,866 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Spacers on the back.
    OEM 20s.
    LED number plate lights - funnily enough the only ones that work are more expensive than the LED rear lights from the factory!
    OPC steering wheel - current insignia SRI has this week and as soon as I confirm airbag is a straight swap I'll be getting one.

Is it on 19s at the minute MC?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

colm_mcm wrote: »

Retrofit factory satnav

How easy/difficult is it to do this?

Quite difficult, even fitting a phone kit is nearly an engine-out job.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Quite difficult, even fitting a phone kit is nearly an engine-out job.
    Haha.Anything else worth doing?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,424 ✭✭✭Ciano35

- Colour in chips on bonnet and front bumper
    - Bigger brake disks all around (maybe drilled/ grooved)
    - K&N or Pipercross panel filter (any personal opinions on which is better?)
    - Decat
    - Remap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Oh no. Where do I begin and what car.....

406: try source out a BE3-6, raise the back of it, get a custom elbow made, helix unsprung paddle clutch, HDI rods and oil pump, source out a 10mm ve dizzy head..... Source out a KP35 and 2 bar wastegate for my way of dealing with smoke off boost ;)

525i: all rubbers replace. Sump gasket, rear uj, serck plates. Done :D

166: belt, slave cylinder, wheel bearing

Van: insert 2.0 T-Spark, 5 stud hubs, GTV front hubs

Slaaaag: get new radiator, repair brake ducts, get rear door open.maybe fix the broken pixels

106: thats a plan in the making..... ;)

Some plans revealed here! Prob going to concentrate on the 406 the most though, kinda need it working well :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

2.2 Civic:

New clutch and flywheel. Not necessary yet but getting there... :(
    Upgrade to 17s with spacers
    New external wheel arches. Plastic faded away something desperate :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

dgt wrote: »
    Oh no. Where do I begin and what car.....

406: try source out a BE3-6, raise the back of it, get a custom elbow made, helix unsprung paddle clutch, HDI rods and oil pump, source out a 10mm ve dizzy head..... Source out a KP35 and 2 bar wastegate for my way of dealing with smoke off boost ;)

525i: all rubbers replace. Sump gasket, rear uj, serck plates. Done :D

166: belt, slave cylinder, wheel bearing

Van: insert 2.0 T-Spark, 5 stud hubs, GTV front hubs

Slaaaag: get new radiator, repair brake ducts, get rear door open.maybe fix the broken pixels

106: thats a plan in the making..... ;)

Some plans revealed here! Prob going to concentrate on the 406 the most though, kinda need it working well :pac:

What's the slaaaag?

Scortho wrote: »
    What's the slaaaag?

Sure you were in it when I smashed the undertray and brake ducts off it..... ;)

Undertray is a nusiance anyway but brake ducts are a must!

Zcott wrote: »
    New external wheel arches. Plastic faded away something desperate :-(

The facelift models have grey painted arches, so they won't end up the same as yours now. Mine are the same, lads on the detailing forum mentioned some uber expensive stuff that restores plastics and is long lasting.
    Haha.Anything else worth doing?

LED number plate lights, look very well and very easy to do.

Also the type S grille. I like the regular grill tbh but it'd suit yours better than mine.

Thinking of doing some DRLs on the front, possibly integrated into the front fogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭kilianmanning

Plan for the xantia :)

New clutch & gearbox
    Balljoints & tie rod ends
    Back engine mount
    Fan belt
    Rocker cover gasket
    Accumulator sphere
    & two more firestones soon!

All with a bit of help from dgt hopefully ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Ill know after the doe on Friday :pac:
    Hopefully that won't show up much.
    Proper fitted mats are top of the list
    Upgraded dipped headlights probably go for the night breakers they seem go h7 and then do the h1s.
    Possibly change the interior light to the map reading type (one with 3 bulbs instead of one) although it's supposedly hard to get them.
    I'd like to do a big upgrade next year I'd love to get cruise control I miss it from having it in the octavia. But it's a big enough job in the focus new steering wheel etc. it's a pity as with the a lot of vag cars it's only a matter of changing the stalk.
    Not sure really after.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

The facelift models have grey painted arches, so they won't end up the same as yours now. Mine are the same, lads on the detailing forum mentioned some uber expensive stuff that restores plastics and is long lasting.

I tried Plasticare but the colour wasn't a good match; it was too grey. I went onto Autofinesse Revive which was good but hasn't really lasted. Tbh I'm thinking of oicking up new ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Stone chip touch ups

Paintless dent removal

Paint correction

Fit wind deflectors properly

Sort out the problem with the clutch hydraulics, not sure where the fault is yet...

Replace the fecked engine mount

Maybe a belt replacement but it's not due for a good while yet :)

I think I'll be happy with the car after that but we all know how it is :pac::o

Zcott wrote: »
    I tried Plasticare but the colour wasn't a good match; it was too grey. I went onto Autofinesse Revive which was good but hasn't really lasted. Tbh I'm thinking of oicking up new ones.

This stuff is called gtechnic or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

gtechniq c4

• Registered Users Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Buy a car, retire the bike to the shed.

Watch this space.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Front and rear factory struts - bought
    factory 5 piece mats - bought
    boost gauge - bought
    c pillar brace - bought
    broadway mirror
    gearstick extender
    other quirky jap stuff

and a new starlet to fit them all to, just hoarding parts at the moment until i see one i like. decided in the end not to fit the bits i have to my black one as what makes it unique is that it hasn't been made "unique".

• Registered Users Posts: 28,835 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

First off.. get her back (still on course for tomorrow :))

Then...

- Bluetooth: She came fitted with a Dension 500 media unit and I've bought the BTA1500 BT adapter for it hoping that it'll work but @ €66 it's not the end of the world I guess if it doesn't. Failing that it'll be a much more expensive OEM job.

- Windows tinted: Want to get this done but it's lower down the list

- Spare alloy: currently has a non-matching 16" in the boot. Want to replace it with an 18" BBS like the rest of them

- Heated seats: Would be nice but a messy job I gather. May have to leave this one

- Remap: Maybe.. it's not that I need more power but economy improvements are always nice if I could get them

- Interior trim: A few of the metal-effect trim panels are scratched. Must replace them at some stage or get them wrapped

- S-Line grille/bumper: Also on the "hmm, maybe" list as I've seen pics that look well

Think that's about it for now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

- Set of front discs and pads.
    - Total arm and rubber overhaul.
    - Get the front bumper resprayed.
    - Get rid of those bloody alloys (and get something nice in 18 inch form)
    - forced into getting a new gt2260v :(

That's all for now. .

YbFocus wrote: »
    - Set of front discs and pads.
    - Total arm and rubber overhaul.
    - Get the front bumper resprayed.
    - Get rid of those bloody alloys (and get something nice in 18 inch form)
    - forced into getting a new gt2260v :(

That's all for now. .

Why not source out a gt2360v..... Or better still pillage the compound setup from a 535d and remap to suit ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Oh god why :pac:

front ARB polybushes
    Front/Rear Msport bumpers
    Rear CF diffuser
    Front CF lip
    Umnitza Orion angle eyes
    Parrot Mki9000 + UNIKA
    Cupholders
    Rear Tints
    Exhaust upgrades
    Remap
    New wheels
    ATE Super blue
    New Gearstick
    Stonechips
    Boot strut mod (Ardennes bai)
    Rear adjustable camber arms

Waiting to fit:
    CSL boot
    Braided lines
    Msport interior
    Msport steering wheel
    Spacers
    Strut brace
    German plates

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

dgt wrote: »
    Why not source out a gt2360v..... Or better still pillage the compound setup from a 535d and remap to suit ;)

Because although I'm Ok with a spanner I haven't reached your level man :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,292 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Does the cardboard boot floor come with CSL boot lid ? :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,885 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Astra 1.9cdti Sri

Air con condenser change
    Led number plate lights
    Cruise control
    Wheels refurb
    Led interior lights
    HID's- but properly with the projectors self levelling and washers so it's legal.
    And that's about it

OP- If your happy with using spacers then do it, you will save quite a bit when it comes to change the tyres. And you can rotate them if needed. With the wider rears you can't rotate then if you wish. Personally I prefer the look of the wider rears and the deeper dish at the back. I had cades on mine I think was the name