Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dogs attack dogs-Hellfire Club

• 07-10-2013 10:40am
    Registered Users Posts: 11 1.2.3.4.5

My two dogs were attacked without provoke yesterday and im still trying to work out why the owner of the other dogs did f*ck all to stop his dogs attacking mine and why they weren't muzzled- or on the lead?!

Out walking with my two dogs off the lead at the hellfire club yesterday morning. Great weather and company for a morning hike. Got up to the actual ruins of the house when I noticed there was a guy with two dogs not far behind us.

I was sitting up on the rock looking out at the view and the guy and his dogs went toward the house

One of my dogs went over to have a sniff and that's when it all kicked off. The two dogs (cross breeds) belonged to the man in question didn't look like one of the 12 'dangerous' breeds that the gardai asked me about after I reported the attack but they made a beeline for my smaller terrier and literally tormented him. I tried to stop the attack and the other dog owner tried to call the bigger bitch off my dog but barely.. A few shouts and a few whips of the lead but in all honesty I was the one trying more than him and his dogs were attacking mine!

I had to jump down and grab my dog from the attack and he was petrified. I've never heard an animal make that noise it was horrific. I held my dog up over my chest while the two dogs jumped up on me. my guy was heaving and shaking with fright. The other dogs has he pinned down and were trying to tear him apart.

My bigger dog the bitch went on the defence and barked to stop the attack happening but was bitten by the other vicious dogs too. The owner said 'let them have it out' and walked away.

At this stage some passer-bus took my smaller dog that was distressed as hell from me while I went to get my other dog and put her on the lead. She has been nipped in the attack and was very stressed. It was all over in 2-3 mins but the whole ordeal was horrific.

I sat on the rock and had to keep calm as my guys were so stressed and shaking with fear. I thought the guy and his dogs were gone but waited 10mins or so for him to get a head start. That's when I noticed my smaller dog literally pooped himself and on me with the fright of what happened :(

When I thought the coast was clear the guy and his dogs casually strolled out of the house, himself smoking and the dogs still NOT ON LEADS!!!?!

The more vicious of the two clearly wanted a second round and kept looking back and started to attempt to come over but she got roared at by the guy

It wasn't until I felt safe I jumped down with my guys on their leads to make my way home. A lovely woman out walking her dogs with her partner kindly offered water to my guys and I told her off the attack. My dogs who are walked 2hrs + a day and are always off the lead in parks and socialised with dogs every single day were terrified of her dogs who were so playful

The entire way down my smaller dog kept his tail between his legs and yelped at anyone or dog that passed by. I ended up carrying him some of the way down

When I did get home I took of their collars to inspect the damage and noticed the smaller guy had a puncture to the neck.

I rang UCD Vet Hospital and was advised to bring them both in. Both had procedures done, the first to the bigger bitch were very minor but the smaller guy had to be sedated, get stitches and drains, antibiotics and painkillers. I had to keep them in separate places in the house all day, not to mention the huge bill I was left with (not that I even cared because my dogs are worth it)

Here is a photo of the damage. I can't believe this happened. We usually walk up to the Hellfire Club once a week or to the Massey Estate for a special treat. But since this happened I've been told by several people that what I described happening has happened to others recently up there with a guy and his dogs that fit my description and apparently there was talks of it on the Joe Duffy Show and in the paper?

Just wondering if anyone else has heard of this happening? It happened yesterday Sunday 6th Oct at 10.00am.

My dogs are so traumatised. The badly injured one is even afraid of me and both dogs keep snapping at each other

Thankfully it wasn't a child hurt in the attack but what if it was?! These dogs need to be under control with leads and muzzled and the so called dog owner should be banned from having animals.

1.2.3.4.5 wrote: »
    Thankfully it wasn't a child hurt in the attack but what if it was?!

I think what happened was bad enough without making up children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Since you know where he lives present him with the vet bill.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 1.2.3.4.5

kylith wrote: »
    Since you know where he lives present him with the vet bill.

I don't know the guy unfortunately.. Never met him before. Vaguely remember what he looks like. Think I went into auto pilot mode during the attack and then in to shock afterwards.

All I know is that a few people I've talked to since have heard about similar attacks by these dogs and the guy I described.

bluewolf wrote: »

It was pretty horrific but it could have been ALOT worse to other dog walkers or if people had kids around to witness. I don't know if the guy every cared or was sorry because he didn't apologise or see if we were ok afterwards. The whole thing has just left me shook.

I walk my dogs every day and meet the best of people out with theirs and I love it. I know I'll continue to do so just the actual trauma to my dogs is heartbreaking to see now.

We adopted the bigger of the two just earlier this year and they'd settled down after the initial moving in part of not liking each other but since yesterday I've had to supervise them and keep them apart as they keep snapping at each other and growling. Not to mention the small guy keeps hiding under furniture and stressing out at loud noises.

He was the happiest little guy before all this :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,323 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

Great weather and company for a morning hike. Got up to the actual ruins of the house when I noticed there was a guy with two dogs not far behind us.

I was sitting up on the rock looking out at the view and the guy and his dogs went toward the house

One of my dogs went over to have a sniff and that's when it all kicked off.
    Sorry for your dogs but why did you let your dog "go have a sniff"? You have no idea what's the state of the other dogs or what fears/issues they may have and you should never let your dogs approach an unknown dog with out their owners explicit permission.

Nody wrote: »
    Sorry for your dogs but why did you let your dog "go have a sniff"? You have no idea what's the state of the other dogs or what fears/issues they may have and you should never let your dogs approach an unknown dog with out their owners explicit permission.

She went over to the house to have a sniff around. Completely innocent. She barely made it over before the whole attack happened. If the other dogs react as violently to my dogs as they did yesterday they shouldn't be off their leads. Or should have muzzles on them in my opinion.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,323 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

She went over to the house to have a sniff around. Completely innocent. She barely made it over before the whole attack happened. If the other dogs react as violently to my dogs as they did yesterday they shouldn't be off their leads. Or should have muzzles on them in my opinion.
    No one is disputing that but neither should you let your dogs run around freely go where ever they want when there are unknown dogs in the area; that's simply not a good idea on so many levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I don't know the guy unfortunately.. Never met him before. Vaguely remember what he looks like. Think I went into auto pilot mode during the attack and then in to shock afterwards.

All I know is that a few people I've talked to since have heard about similar attacks by these dogs and the guy I described.

Apologies, in your earlier post when you said you saw him coming out of the house I thought you meant his house, not the Hellfire Club.

kylith wrote: »
    Apologies, in your earlier post when you said you saw him coming out of the house I thought you meant his house, not the Hellfire Club.

Ha. Not to worry. Looks like that's what I meant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Knine

bluewolf wrote: »

Ah seriously the OP could have had kids with them. I would be seriously pissed off if my kids had to witness such an attack & judging by the photo it was not minor either.

• Registered Users Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Ashbx

Word of advise, in most instances (not saying necessarily this one) picking your dog up is a bad move.....1.you could have brought danger to yourself by getting your hands in the middle of it. And 2. You are making your dog more enticing to the other dog, when you have it carried in your hands. I have a border terrier and she gets soooo excited when she sees another dog she barks...a LOT! I come across many dog owners who automatically lift their dog when mine starts barking. Yesterday this exact thing happened...and what happened next....my dog gets all excited and starts jumping on this woman to try get to the dog that's in their hand! They only made this situation 100 times worse by lifting the dog!! I know my dog, and I know my dog would not do anything to this dog. She wants to have a bark, a sniff and she will walk off immediately, but by this woman's reaction, she put that fear into her dog and the excitement into mine and created this tension that was NEVER there!

I think people, especially the older ladies, need to treat their dogs like dogs! Dont get me wrong, what happened to you was awful and should have been avoided by the other dog walker (and I hope he gets what he deserves) but I can even get by the way you are talking about your dogs that you baby them...and you really need to treat them as what they are...dogs! Your dog should in no way be scared of you but unfortunately they are because you enforced that fear by picking them up!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Why the constant, "what if it was a child?" - it wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Knine

OldNotWIse wrote: »

Probably because some of us dog owners also have kids. The next time these dogs attack another dog, a child could be holding onto the lead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

There's no "innocence" or "guilt" - dogs are animals and act mostly on instinct. Its up to owners to control their dog's behaviour. I dont allow mine to walk off leash and approach other dogs, because she is a terrier, and likes to start fights and assert her own.

It's only restricted breeds that are required to be muzzled, though all owners need to exercise control over their animals. Tbh it sounds like neither of you did that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

OldNotWIse wrote: »

Knine wrote: »
    Probably because some of us dog owners also have kids. The next time these dogs attack another dog, a child could be holding onto the lead.

Can we concentrate on what actually happened and not veer off into the "what if's" please. This is the start of the slippery slope to derailing the thread.

Ashbx wrote: »
    Word of advise, in most instances (not saying necessarily this one) picking your dog up is a bad move.....1.you could have brought danger to yourself by getting your hands in the middle of it. And 2. You are making your dog more enticing to the other dog, when you have it carried in your hands. I have a border terrier and she gets soooo excited when she sees another dog she barks...a LOT! I come across many dog owners who automatically lift their dog when mine starts barking. Yesterday this exact thing happened...and what happened next....my dog gets all excited and starts jumping on this woman to try get to the dog that's in their hand! They only made this situation 100 times worse by lifting the dog!! I know my dog, and I know my dog would not do anything to this dog. She wants to have a bark, a sniff and she will walk off immediately, but by this woman's reaction, she put that fear into her dog and the excitement into mine and created this tension that was NEVER there!

I think people, especially the older ladies, need to treat their dogs like dogs! Dont get me wrong, what happened to you was awful and should have been avoided by the other dog walker (and I hope he gets what he deserves) but I can even get by the way you are talking about your dogs that you baby them...and you really need to treat them as what they are...dogs! Your dog should in no way be scared of you but unfortunately they are because you enforced that fear by picking them up!!

I appreciate the thoughts and comments. I do love my dogs but I don't baby them. Trust me my two have gotten into a few scraps before but never as violent as this. I think this is the first time I've ever picked up the smaller guy during a fight. He usually can look after himself but not yesterday. My mothers dog was ripped apart years ago in a similar dog attack and died so I wasn't taking any chances.

I picked up the smaller guy because the dogs attacking him were standing over him to the point where I couldn't see him anymore just hear the yelps from underneath. The dogs attacking were snarling and were very forceful. Of course I wasn't going to standby and let them work it out. Instinct kicked in and I wanted to help them.

He was covered in dirt and salvia, the dogs were jumping to try and grab him. Yes I made myself a target and people can debate that all they want but I was protecting my dogs. The injuries would have been a lot worse had I not gotten him out of that situation.

I honestly think everyone has a right to an opinion and people can debate what went wrong/how I apparently acted wrong etc. I merely wanted to see if anyone else has had a similar attack in that same area - I don't think the dogs that attacked were at fault but their owner in my opinion was.

Going to spend the day now with my guys and get them on the road to recovery...that's all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Knine wrote: »
    Ah seriously the OP could have had kids with them. I would be seriously pissed off if my kids had to witness such an attack & judging by the photo it was not minor either.

Agreed but the OP did imply a child attack:
    Thankfully it wasn't a child hurt in the attack but what if it was?!

We both know that dogs that are dog aggressive aren't necessarily child/human aggressive and not to denigrate the attack, (because by all means it does look horrific) but the "won't somebody think of the children" line is usually tacked on to these posts for dramatic effect and the reality cannot be further from the truth. Very, very few child attacks happen out and about when dogs are being walked off lead.* Most are in the home or garden of the dog where it feels trapped, hurt, frightened, frustrated, territorial etc.

I'm trying to recall any news headlines where dogs attacked children while they were out being walked but I can't, I can think of a good few that happen in the home or garden. And I'm saying "very, very few" because I imagine it does happen on the very rare occasion

Agreed but the OP did imply a child attack:

We both know that dogs that are dog aggressive aren't necessarily child/human aggressive and not to denigrate the attack, (because by all means it does look horrific) but the "won't somebody think of the children" line is usually tacked on to these posts for dramatic effect and the reality cannot be further from the truth. Very, very few child attacks happen out and about when dogs are being walked off lead.* Most are in the home or garden of the dog where it feels trapped, hurt, frightened, frustrated, territorial etc.

I'm trying to recall any news headlines where dogs attacked children while they were out being walked but I can't, I can think of a good few that happen in the home or garden. And I'm saying "very, very few" because I imagine it does happen on the very rare occasion

Sorry don't want to start a dog/child attack debate. I think I was thinking more along the lines of kids witnessing the attack would have been pretty horrible. Wrote the original post in a blur yesterday should have proofed it a bit better.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Whilst I agree to some extent that people can be a little precious about their dogs, I can tell you without any fear of contradiction that I've been put in a situation several times, by owners who allow their dogs run up to mine (because they can't control them), where if I hadn't picked up my dogs, they'd have been maimed or killed. And we're not talking little shrinking violet dogs I have here either, we're talking Westies and Cocker x, who I had to protect from certain serious injury.
    Does this mean I baby them? Go away out of that! Though I'd rather you accuse me unjustly of this, than for you to prove your point whilst I'm looking at my dead dog.
    If you let your dog run up to others, particularly others who are close to their owners and/or minding their own business, no cries of "it's okay, she's just playing" etc etc are of any consolation to the owner of a dog who is scared or shy around other dogs, or indeed an owner who is themselves frightened of certain dogs. In my case, my dogs prefer not to mingle, they cause no trouble and stick close to me. If someone's dog comes running up to them barking, snapping or is otherwise rude, I will take the necessary actions to protect my dogs from it. It is not only unfair for that owner to let their snarly dog approach mine in this way, it is illegal.
    A dog does not have to make physical contact with another dog to have a significant, potentially damaging impact. I will not allow an uncontrolled dog ruin mine, or my dogs' day.

OP, I really hope your dogs are okay. Give them a few days to settle, think about getting an Adaptil Diffuser or two to plug into the rooms your dogs are in, and perhaps go back a few steps on the process you successfully used to get your dogs used to each other up until now.

DBB wrote: »
    Whilst I agree to some extent that people can be a little precious about their dogs, I can tell you without any fear of contradiction that I've been put in a situation several times, by owners who allow their dogs run up to mine (because they can't control them), where if I hadn't picked up my dogs, they'd have been maimed or killed. And we're not talking little shrinking violet dogs I have here either, we're talking Westies and Cocker x, who I had to protect from certain serious injury.
    Does this mean I baby them? Go away out of that! Though I'd rather you accuse me unjustly of this, than for you to prove your point whilst I'm looking at my dead dog.
    If you let your dog run up to others, particularly others who are close to their owners and/or minding their own business, no cries of "it's okay, she's just playing" etc etc are of any consolation to the owner of a dog who is scared or shy around other dogs, or indeed an owner who is themselves frightened of certain dogs. In my case, my dogs prefer not to mingle, they cause no trouble and stick close to me. If someone's dog comes running up to them barking, snapping or is otherwise rude, I will take the necessary actions to protect my dogs from it. It is not only unfair for that owner to let their snarly dog approach mine in this way, it is illegal.
    A dog does not have to make physical contact with another dog to have a significant, potentially damaging impact. I will not allow an uncontrolled dog ruin mine, or my dogs' day.

OP, I really hope your dogs are okay. Give them a few days to settle, think about getting an Adaptil Diffuser or two to plug into the rooms your dogs are in, and perhaps go back a few steps on the process you successfully used to get your dogs used to each other up until now.

Oh dont get me wrong...in that situation she probably did the best thing by picking her dog up but that's why I said firstly that she needs to be very careful she doesnt get her arm bitten by mistake! I am a huge dog lover and would never like to witness any dog in that situation but I am also relistic in the sense that dogs are a lot stronger than us and if it wanted to, that dog could have turned on the owner and snapped AS WELL as killing her two little dogs. It should have been the other owner who should have stepped up and controlled his dog, or if I was that lady, the dog attacking would have got a swift boot in the behind until the owner got him!

In my instance yesterday, my dog ignored this dog until the very moment the lady picked her up and then of course my dog got excited and wondered what was going on! My dog hadnt even seen her dog and she had already picked it up. So I said to her, is she safe? (assuming that HER dog was vicious or something). She replied yes but its your dog....MY dog had done nothing...it hadnt even looked at her!! But this lady felt the need to "protect" her precious little munchkin and in turn created this drama that didnt need to be there. All I am saying is, dogs can stand up for themselves no problem and owners need to let them do it once in a while!!! (and just to point out, no I dont think the lady on this thread should have let her dogs "have it out" but all I am saying is she is VERY lucky she didnt get bitten herself)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

I'll be bluntly honest here, but I'd prefer to pick my dog up, and take a bite myself from the offending dog if it meant my dog was safe.
    Bites to humans are taken far more seriously than bites to other dogs, and although I appreciate it wouldn't be for everyone, I'd rather deal with a bite to myself and the legal implications that go with it, than have to deal with the physical and behavioural (if my dog is still alive) aftermath an attack on my dogs would cause.

DBB wrote: »
    I'll be bluntly honest here, but I'd prefer to pick my dog up, and take a bite myself from the offending dog if it meant my dog was safe.
    Bites to humans are taken far more seriously than bites to other dogs, and although I appreciate it wouldn't be for everyone, I'd rather deal with a bite to myself and the legal implications that go with it, than have to deal with the physical and behavioural (if my dog is still alive) aftermath an attack on my dogs would cause.

Good point actually re the legal stuff! If you were determined to take it to court, then yes probably better you get bitten than the dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

My two dogs were attacked without provoke yesterday and im still trying to work out why the owner of the other dogs did f*ck all to stop his dogs attacking mine and why they weren't muzzled- or on the lead?!
    Out walking with my two dogs off the lead at the hellfire club yesterday morning.
    One of my dogs went over to have a sniff and that's when it all kicked off.

Why weren't your dogs on the lead OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

!!

Was your dog on a leash? Why would you let your dog jump on the woman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

OP, I"m sorry your dog was injured and I hope he recovers, the poor thing, but a few things here are questionable. You say ' Trust me my two have gotten into a few scraps before but never as violent as this" which is really not acceptable behaviour either. As the owner of an RB dog, I cannot tell you how often I have dogs run up to him with owners either miles away or no where in sight at all (which is so weird to me).
    The owner of the other two dogs should really have had his two on leads, but it sounds to me like you ought to keep your two on leads as well to avoid scraps of any kind.
    Either way, I hope he recovers soon.

(matter of interest I had two brown dobermans run at us today, one muzzled, one not, neither on leads; fun times)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

In my instance yesterday, my dog ignored this dog until the very moment the lady picked her up and then of course my dog got excited and wondered what was going on! My dog hadnt even seen her dog and she had already picked it up. So I said to her, is she safe? (assuming that HER dog was vicious or something). She replied yes but its your dog....MY dog had done nothing...it hadnt even looked at her!! But this lady felt the need to "protect" her precious little munchkin and in turn created this drama that didnt need to be there. All I am saying is, dogs can stand up for themselves no problem and owners need to let them do it once in a while!!! (and just to point out, no I dont think the lady on this thread should have let her dogs "have it out" but all I am saying is she is VERY lucky she didnt get bitten herself)

That's actually really inconsiderate of you. I've often seen people pick their dogs up as I approach. It's annoying, but I understand it. And I make sure my dog passes them without upsetting them further. It's part of being a civic person. A good outing for me is when my dog has disturbed nobody, were I to let my dog jump all over someone it would be an unmitigated disaster.

Well that is my point, my dog was literally just passing her when she did it and if the woman was looking, she would have noticed my dog had ZERO interest in her dog so it was pointless. SHE created this drama not my dog. My dog was about to walk past and didnt even notice her dog.

And of course, I did tell my dog to get down immediately and my dog is very good and always comes when called (this is why I am ok with leaving her off the lead). I called her striaght over and held onto her while I was talking to this lady! I am in no way "inconsiderate" to any other dog walker but my point is this woman obviously babied her dog WAY too much that by the woman picking up this dog, she is confirming the fear to that dog....a fear that was never there to begin with!

I appreciate the thoughts and comments. I do love my dogs but I don't baby them. Trust me my two have gotten into a few scraps before but never as violent as this. I think this is the first time I've ever picked up the smaller guy during a fight. He usually can look after himself but not yesterday. My mothers dog was ripped apart years ago in a similar dog attack and died so I wasn't taking any chances.

I picked up the smaller guy because the dogs attacking him were standing over him to the point where I couldn't see him anymore just hear the yelps from underneath. The dogs attacking were snarling and were very forceful. Of course I wasn't going to standby and let them work it out. Instinct kicked in and I wanted to help them.

He was covered in dirt and salvia, the dogs were jumping to try and grab him. Yes I made myself a target and people can debate that all they want but I was protecting my dogs. The injuries would have been a lot worse had I not gotten him out of that situation.

I honestly think everyone has a right to an opinion and people can debate what went wrong/how I apparently acted wrong etc. I merely wanted to see if anyone else has had a similar attack in that same area - I don't think the dogs that attacked were at fault but their owner in my opinion was.

Going to spend the day now with my guys and get them on the road to recovery...that's all that matters.

12345, please do not get me wrong! I think what happened is terrible and I dont know what I would do if I was in that situation. Ideally I would like to give it a big boot up the bum and hope that the owner helps but that doesnt always happen! I dont blame you for lifting the dog up (I am more worried for your safety!). Trust me, I have owned dogs all my life so I know how part of the family they become but its that mentaility that I worry about. If your dog was to walk infront of a car, would you throw yourself infront of that car to save your dog? As much as I would do anything for my little dog, I wouldnt risk my own life for her!

Best of luck with your little ones anyway and I hope they dont have any lasting fears because of this!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

And of course, I did tell my dog to get down immediately and my dog is very good and always comes when called (this is why I am ok with leaving her off the lead). I called her striaght over and held onto her while I was talking to this lady! I am in no way "inconsiderate" to any other dog walker but my point is this woman obviously babied her dog WAY too much that by the woman picking up this dog, she is confirming the fear to that dog....a fear that was never there to begin with![/QUOTE]

Babied her dog in your opinion, she does not know your dog or what way your dog will act/react, she was being careful, maybe her dog was attacked before and she was nervous, bottom line is you cant bitch (sorry) if your unleashed dog approaches another and the owner takes their dog out of what could be harms way. I keep my dog leashed 90% of the time because he is too friendly and will bound up to all and sundry to play, so I cant give out if he startles another dog who nips him.

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Babied her dog in your opinion, she does not know your dog or what way your dog will act/react, she was being careful, maybe her dog was attacked before and she was nervous, bottom line is you cant bitch (sorry) if your unleashed dog approaches another and the owner takes their dog out of what could be harms way. I keep my dog leashed 90% of the time because he is too friendly and will bound up to all and sundry to play, so I cant give out if he startles another dog who nips him.

That is my point throughout the entire thread, if the dog was attacked previously, she shouldnt enforce that fear by picking her up! She should body block her dog....lifting up should be the last resort!!

Im in no way giving out about what happened. In fact, it was a very friendly encounter between us but I am just baffled how some people dont let their dogs be dogs! They may think that Rover loves to have rich tea's while suggling up their favourite blanket in their owners bed (and im sure he does) but what Rover really wants is to sniff another dogs bum and to roll in poo! Dogs need to be dogs!!