Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Long termers TTC

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Lucyfur wrote: »
    I never knew that, Neyite :o

I didnt either and went and bought the fecking stuff. I'd a glass of water all ready to take them and all when I stopped and thought that maybe being on other meds like bromocriptine as well as the clomid, that I should check with my doc. She basically said it was not advised to take any herbal supplements if on fertility meds, like maca and evening primrose oil and the like as they are not tested for contraindications and drug effectiveness.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭bobskii

Breaks are great . your head would be melted with ttc on your mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

bobskii wrote: »
    Breaks are great . your head would be melted with ttc on your mind.

That's for sure :) Coming to terms with the fact that it might not happen at all for us and if it doesn't, we'll be ok :)

Of course you will be okay . that's the best attitude to have . We made plans for if it didn't happen for us so either ways we had something to look forward to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭stickybean

Just back from the hospital, sitting here at my desk feeling a bit numb to be honest. We got a new doctor / specialist, she was nice, very young and unfamiliar with our situation so we had to go through everything from the start.

She tried to offer us a third course of clomid, (after posting here last night and some of ye saying you said no, me and my OH had spoken about this and it and decided it was of no benefit to do yet another cycle). So he asked what would the purpose of doing another course of clomid given that I am ovulating by myself, we have seen follicles develop in non clomid cycles and the fact clomid doesn't really seem to agree with me. She just said "ah it was worth a try" :eek:

Anyway, she then went out to consult with her professor, after a long 15 minutes she came back and said we are one of the 10% of couples TTC who have unexplained infertility. The next step is to repeat all the high level tests (day 3 and 21 bloods, internal scan, external ultrasound and a fresh semen analysis), then we are back to meet the assisted fertility specialists in 3 months.

I have no idea why I am feeling a little raw, I guess I wanted them to find something wrong and then fix it. I didn't think we were going to have to go the assisted fertility route... I guess I am just feeling a little disappointed. When we started this almost 3 years ago I guess I thought we would be PG in 6 months.

And why (someone please tell me), that everytime I have an appointment one of my relations or someone we know announces their pregnancy???? Ten minutes out of the hospital my mother in law called to say her niece is pregnant (AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH) she actually knew where we were today.

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

stickybean wrote: »
    And why (someone please tell me), that everytime I have an appointment one of my relations or someone we know announces their pregnancy???? Ten minutes out of the hospital my mother in law called to say her niece is pregnant (AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH) she actually knew where we were today.

That's brutally insensitive. :( Unfortunately I had similar insensitivity. Now I dont discuss it at all with family because of that.

I had the unexplained infertility too, and the clomid+pregnyl injections seem to be the go-to fix before moving on to more invasive procedures. Certainly it was what I was put on despite ovulating fine.

I'm back this month to see what the outcome of the tests for the miscarriages were, if any. If the tests show nothing untoward, the you and I will probably be clomid buddies. Can we be hormental together? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭stickybean

Oh thankfully I am not going to take the clomid this time. I actually can't do it again. Kind of thinking of trying but not trying for the next 3 mths

• Registered Users Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I was unexplained too, up until 2 weeks ago and now I am explained. Yay?

i was also unexplained so there seem's to be alot of us!
    Stickybean i felt the same when we found out there was actually nothing to fix and it would be straight to ivf,right up to my having ivf i still felt as tho it wasnt real,the part i found hardest was all the waiting.Once i got a clear run at it i was fine.Take your 3 month break and chill out,hard and all as it is to do just try!

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭Cooperspale

Hi all, been awhile. My sixpence on clomid I tried twice & felt rubbish on it. It actually made an old thyroid nodule throb. Dr got bit scared when I said that.
    I've felt very ordinary on long protocol but fine on short.
    I've also done cycles with and without herbs/supplements up to point of collection with no real difference to me. My current fs encourages melatonin, co q10, vit d, inositol & vit e. Acupuncturists won't do herbs during stimms.

I have a question, has anyone had an endometrial scratch?, it's done one cycle before a stimm.

Yup I had one before my cycle earlier this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭Cooperspale

Thanks bobskii, maybe it was a factor in your success compared to mine. I think we had collection at similar times. Best of luck with everything!
    I returned from holiday to find a work mate pregnant while on the pill. I'm happy for her, there's no point being otherwise is there? she was taking Maca for mood so it obviously affects the pill!

We did Is Right . The scratch was recommended to me by the doctor at our consultation due to my age.

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Hollywood130

Aw StickyBean no way, why do mother-in-laws do that, I have one that does that too and it is so so frustrating. I know you have unexplained infertility but could they not start you on something a little stronger like the trigger shots (Ovulation Induction) just to see if they make a difference? It's very very hard, so sorry, no wonder you feel a little raw, it's hard to get no answers and then sometimes it's hard to get the answers.

What is the endometrial scratch ladies? My OTD is Friday, if it's a BFN then we're moving onto IVF, heard some people saying they had the scratch done prior to doing IVF wondering if it's something I should mention to the consultant? I have Endo currently doing OI with TSI, fingers crossed for Friday, 4th round of this but I'm not holding out too much hope

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Egg retrieval tomorrow ladies, wish us luck :-)

Best of luck barbie girl . The endo scratch is similar to a smear but they are scratching your uterus . it's to encourage blood flow in the womb to help with implantation after egg transfer . hope that helps as an explanation. sometimes I wonder if writing things down comes across as the same way I'm thinking them in my head!!

Best of luck today Barbiegirl!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭Synyster Shadow

Stickybean- MIL's can be exhausting.. I've had fertility issues thrown at me from when I first started getting periods. Was told at the age of 20 that ivf might not even work. Then me and hubby got married and after explaining this to her she hounded me for a grandchild.. Now after giving her 2 grand babies we never see her.. Not sure it ever gets any better with them

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Hollywood130

Good Luck BarbieGirl, hope it goes well for you.

Thanks Bobskii, yes it makes sense, must just mention it when I see the consultant to see if it is something I'd require, I'm not too sure.

Well i'm out again this month, AF arrived this morning, 2 days ahead of schedule, I'm not too upset about it, I didn't really have any hope for this cycle as it was the 4th try at OI, next step IVF. Going to make an appointment today for the consultant, the wait is 6 weeks and we'll take it from there. Can't believe I'm at the stage where it's final and I'm saying it... 'I need IVF' wow it's a bit surreal, maybe I'm going loopy, sorry girls!!

Well we got 11 eggs, tomorrow we know how many fertilise and they go back in on Sunday.
    I was terrified of IVF cause I assumed it was terrible, and yes I'm wrecked in the evenings, but so far other that that I'm fine. Plus I think we put off this step until we knew and understood what we kept missing. No use throwing money into a black pit.
    Hollywood yes it is daunting but the way I keep thinking about it is that it's just another process.

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭ahaaha

barbiegirl wrote: »
    Well we got 11 eggs, tomorrow we know how many fertilise and they go back in on Sunday.
    I was terrified of IVF cause I assumed it was terrible, and yes I'm wrecked in the evenings, but so far other that that I'm fine. Plus I think we put off this step until we knew and understood what we kept missing. No use throwing money into a black pit.
    Hollywood yes it is daunting but the way I keep thinking about it is that it's just another process.

Barbiegirl that is great news. I have been thinking of you since you mentioned you were doing egg retrieval- we had ours today too. First timers also so we are going in a bit blind.
    I must say I was on buserelin and menopur and apart from tiredness and a bit of constipation (sorry tmi!) it really wasn't so bad. You did really good to get 11 eggs. I was told I had 4 mature eggs, I wasn't told how many were collected out of the 8 follicles. I'm petrified over egg and embryo quality now-getting first phone call from the lab in the morning. I just hope our whole procedure doesn't end there.
    The very best of luck with your news tomorrow x

ahaaha wrote: »
    The very best of luck with your news tomorrow x

You too, remember we only need 2 good ones.:D

Well we got our call today and unfortunately only one egg has fertilised so if that one makes it to Sunday we go ahead with just one. Disappointed but we only need one. Fingers and toes crossed.
    If it doesn't work we'll have learnt something for the next round.
    Feeling tired today but sure if that's the worst of it I'm not too bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭pennyloves

I hope that little egg keeps doing its thing for you! I had my eggs collected on Sunday. They got 16 eggs which were supposed to be of great quality. I got the phone call on Monday morning to say that none of them fertilised. I was/am devastated. There is a problem with the antibodies around the eggs which only affects about 2% of people. I really thought ivf would be the light at the end of a very long tunnel. We will have to scrape the money together somehow and try icsi but I don't know if that will be the answer. I really hope you will be another good news story Barbiegirl xxx

Pennyloves my heart aches for you. We are in the same boat. None of our four fertilised with icsi. The lab said it was completely unexpected-eggs were of good quality. We have no reason at all and I feel a bit lost. Hopefully Pennyloves the icsi will eliminate the problem of the antibodies around the egg as the sperm is directly placed inside the egg. Have you arranged a meeting with your consultant to discuss your options? I can't wait for mine even though I don't think we will have many answers.
    Barbiegirl the very best of luck with your embryo. Hopefully one of us will be getting some good news soon x

Oh Pennyloves and ahaa that is terrible I guess ivf isn't a magic trick but once you have the explanation fingers crossed a solution will be found. It's having no reason that worries me. We were on imsi which seemingly as it takes longer can affect the egg quality want to have a chat with doc, if it doesn't work, to see do we pull back to icsi.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

Oh ladies I'm so sorry - I can completely understand how you would have had your hopes so high for ivf. It's horrible to put all that emotional investment let alone the financial investment and it to not work

Barbie girl have my fingers crossed for you

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭pennyloves

Oh my God ahaaha I can't believe they didn't fertilise with icsi! That is my biggest fear if I go through all this again, there's so much at stake. What did the embryologist say? I really think the government should finance ivf for people like us and we could get a small amount taken out of our wages every month for, say 20 years. The stress of a failed cycle is too much to cope with when you have to worry about where you're going to get money for the next round. I have the right to become a mother, just like everyone else, it shouldn't be so hard. Something needs to be done.

Thanks angel delight. Feeling a bit better this evening about it once the shock subsided. Trying to look at the positives

Barbigirl you are dead on about the not knowing. I only just looked up imsi now. I never even knew it was an option. Is there any particular reason why it's done over icsi? Sorry if that is too personal a question feel under no pressure to answer it, but I think it might be an option for us but u don't think our clinic do it. And remember you still have a chance. Hope you can relax until you hear more news

Penny the embryologist said it was completely unexpected due to my age and the fact that my eggs looked really good. Everyone was hoping for at least 2. It could be a failure to activate or a chromosomal thing that I can't remember. I asked can we find out anything at all and was told not on ireland. She was lovely to tell the truth and encouraged a second go, consultant might make a few changes. Just scared it could happen again. I will be a bigger bag of nerves!