Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hung at Win 7 Logo

• 09-10-2013 9:38am
    Registered Users Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭

My Sony VAIO (Win 7) gave me the old “Windows did not shutdown properly” screen yesterday when I tried to start it. I failed to get it to start after trying all the usual methods such as trying all the menu options etc and using a repair disc to sort it out so decided to remove the HDD & caddy it to my desktop to get data I required off it. Got what I needed and decided to format the HDD and do a clean install of Win7.

Win 7 went through the install process fine and on the reboot to finish install it hangs at the Windows logo (Starting Windows) every time no matter what. When I force it down via the power button and start it again it gives the “Windows did not shutdown properly” screen on every start.

The HDD is fine and the memory checks out too.

If I try to boot in Safe Mode it hangs just after Disk.sys is loaded & does this every attempt.

I see quite a few people reporting this on Google but none seem to have a definitive solution.

The BIOS on the Lappy is very restricted in the options it gives, basically it allows you to

Change date and time

Set an Admin Password

Choose the booth order and that’s about it????

Would you think it’s a hardware issue or something driver related?

Any suggestions as to what I might try to get this thing started?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

My Sony VAIO (Win 7) gave me the old “Windows did not shutdown properly” screen yesterday when I tried to start it. I failed to get it to start after trying all the usual methods such as trying all the menu options etc and using a repair disc to sort it out so decided to remove the HDD & caddy it to my desktop to get data I required off it. Got what I needed and decided to format the HDD and do a clean install of Win7.

Win 7 went through the install process fine and on the reboot to finish install it hangs at the Windows logo (Starting Windows) every time no matter what. When I force it down via the power button and start it again it gives the “Windows did not shutdown properly” screen on every start.

The HDD is fine and the memory checks out too.

If I try to boot in Safe Mode it hangs just after Disk.sys is loaded & does this every attempt.

I see quite a few people reporting this on Google but none seem to have a definitive solution.

The BIOS on the Lappy is very restricted in the options it gives, basically it allows you to

Change date and time

Set an Admin Password

Choose the booth order and that’s about it????

Would you think it’s a hardware issue or something driver related?

Any suggestions as to what I might try to get this thing started?

How did you test the hard disk? I would definitely run a proper diagnostic tool like Vivard/MHDD or Seatools for DOS and see if it passes (you can get Vivard or MHDD on the Ultimate Boot CD). The integrated tests some systems have are generally fairly rubbish. Is it possible to disable any of the components in the system from the bios (wifi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, card reader, webcam etc.?). If it is try disabling them all and see if it will boot. Does sound hard disk related though..

Nick

• Registered Users Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

yoyo wrote: »
    How did you test the hard disk? I would definitely run a proper diagnostic tool like Vivard/MHDD or Seatools for DOS and see if it passes (you can get Vivard or MHDD on the Ultimate Boot CD). The integrated tests some systems have are generally fairly rubbish. Is it possible to disable any of the components in the system from the bios (wifi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, card reader, webcam etc.?). If it is try disabling them all and see if it will boot. Does sound hard disk related though..

Nick

Initially I was convinced it was a HDD issue but I'm not sure now because others reporting this issue have replaced the HDD and it hasn't fixed the problem. I don't have a spare to try and I don't want to buy one if it's not needed. The current HDD is a 500GB and is only about 7 months old.

Granted, when I caddied the HDD to recover data, some of the files could not be read but there was only a few (I put this down to corruption due to failed repair attempts?). I did not do any real tests on HDD because once it formatted fine and Windows carried out the creation of the new partitions and completed the initial install I assumed it was all hunky Dorey!!!

The BIOS settings are a joke (that's why I posted them in my OP) I was hoping to do exactly what you just suggested yoyo, disable stuff to try eliminate/isolate the problem but that not a runner.

In safe mode it hangs on "Disk.Sys" every time so I'm assuming (again) that this is not the issue but whatever loads directly after "Disk.Sys" is where the real problem lies? I have no idea what is trying to load at that point though.

Finally, because the original problem is where I'm still at after a format and re-install leaves me thinking it is a hardware related fault so I guess it could well be the HDD?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Initially I was convinced it was a HDD issue but I'm not sure now because others reporting this issue have replaced the HDD and it hasn't fixed the problem. I don't have a spare to try and I don't want to buy one if it's not needed. The current HDD is a 500GB and is only about 7 months old.

Granted, when I caddied the HDD to recover data, some of the files could not be read but there was only a few (I put this down to corruption due to failed repair attempts?). I did not do any real tests on HDD because once it formatted fine and Windows carried out the creation of the new partitions and completed the initial install I assumed it was all hunky Dorey!!!

The BIOS settings are a joke (that's why I posted them in my OP) I was hoping to do exactly what you just suggested yoyo, disable stuff to try eliminate/isolate the problem but that not a runner.

In safe mode it hangs on "Disk.Sys" every time so I'm assuming (again) that this is not the issue but whatever loads directly after "Disk.Sys" is where the real problem lies? I have no idea what is trying to load at that point though.

Finally, because the original problem is where I'm still at after a format and re-install leaves me thinking it is a hardware related fault so I guess it could well be the HDD?
    Depending on the reason for the hard disk not reading the files this generally is not a good sign. Some files may have security reasons for not being read, others they are of a format the operating system won't accept for whatever reason. Any files such as music, documents, movies etc. not being read would really point to disk drive failure.
    With Safe Mode it will usually hang on the driver after the last one displayed (so you don't know what it's hanging at), hence I'm thinking another piece of hardware in the device could also be the culprit.
    Also with a dodgy hard disk you may well be able to format it and the Windows installer dump the setup files onto it, then as the setup starts installing the OS it can reach the bad areas and cause issues like you describe. If it's a "common issue" with the machine (and for the record Sony in my experience are one of the worst brands out there so it doesn't surprise me) I would take it apart, remove any plugin cards, disconnect webcam/speaker/mic cables etc. going to the motherboard and see if it solves the issue.

Nick

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Disk.sys on a fresh boot definitely doesn't point to a good sign. I'd recommend using software like SeaTools (Will work on other model HDDs besides Seagates) on another machine and test the drive.

You're are so right about Sony yoyo, they are way overpriced for the badge? because everything else in them is no better than the majority of other brands. They marketed themselves as being somewhat elite years ago and it seems to have worked for a while?

I'd say they are probably the "Apple" of the Windows world...

I can never recommend a Sony Vaio to people, by far the one brand of models I've had the most trouble with hardware failures in regards to DC jack connections and piss poor cooling which frequently burns the CPU out. The fan in a lot of models that were around 3 or so years ago is something akin to what you'd find in a netbook, very small.

HDD problems though can be linked to any brand really and can happen either 5 minutes or 5 years into it's life.

Do a HDD drive test anyways and see what results you get. A failing HDD can still operate but just not very well.

You're are so right about Sony yoyo, they are way overpriced for the badge? because everything else in them is no better than the majority of other brands. They marketed themselves as being somewhat elite years ago and it seems to have worked for a while?

I'd say they are probably the "Apple" of the Windows world...

In fairness to Apple they build good/solid machines and charge accordingly. Sony build stylish machines with e machines style build quality.
    And the amount of bloat and extra crap they load on machines is unbelievable as well.
    My neighbour had a 17" Vaio which screen failed only a week (no joke!) after the year of warranty was up. They had to ship it at their own expense to Sony in the UK and were then quoted £250 pounds to get it fixed! Sony also managed to damage the hard disk (then blame the customer after!) so this was another "needed" repair.
    They dumped the machine in the end after getting it back and got another brand. That machine was over the €1, 000 mark as well a few years back, so wasn't cheap either.
    HDD problems though can be linked to any brand really and can happen either 5 minutes or 5 years into it's life.
    That's true, but some manufacturers do not properly shockproof the hard disk caddy in laptops which make them much more common for failing due to slight accidental knocks during use. I've seen Sonys where the hard disk was stuck in to the case with no shock dampening what so ever..

Nick

That's true, but some manufacturers do not properly shockproof the hard disk caddy in laptops which make them much more common for failing due to slight accidental knocks during use. I've seen Sonys where the hard disk was stuck in to the case with no shock dampening what so ever..

Without a doubt, Dell are guilty of this too with some of the Inspiron N models where the HDD is just plonked under the keyboard and has no caddy at all, meaning it can jiggle if moved enough and I've come across a lot of them where the screws have either gotten loose or just fallen out.

Actually had one in yesterday where the owner was convinced it was a dead drive (and BIOS didn't detect it). Opened it up and saw that it just easily fell out of the SATA port.

In fairness to Apple they build good/solid machines and charge accordingly. Sony build stylish machines with e machines style build quality.
    And the amount of bloat and extra crap they load on machines is unbelievable as well.
    My neighbour had a 17" Vaio which screen failed only a week (no joke!) after the year of warranty was up. They had to ship it at their own expense to Sony in the UK and were then quoted £250 pounds to get it fixed! Sony also managed to damage the hard disk (then blame the customer after!) so this was another "needed" repair.
    They dumped the machine in the end after getting it back and got another brand. That machine was over the €1, 000 mark as well a few years back, so wasn't cheap either.

Nick

I have to agree to a point with your comment on Apple, yes they do build a quality product but I still can't see the justification for their pricing structure, I really can't :(

I'm embarrassed to admit it, but, my very first lappy was a Sony VAIO 17" 2002 I think, and it cost 2.5K at the time. :o Hard to believe it looking back but that was the way it was only 11 years ago.... I was naive to a point too I guess, God I feel sick even thinking about it now :mad:

Funny thing about that purchase was that it actually ended up getting ridiculously little use and is still in it's huge leather Laptop bag in pristine condition to be honest (maybe the local museum would take it). In fact the only thing I like about laptops of that vintage is that they were very well constructed case wise, good and solid & not the flimsy recycled $hite they're using now? You'd nearly be afraid opening some of them because you know the odds are high that you're going to break something no matter how careful you are :eek:

Anyway, the current VAIO with the issue is one I inherited as part of a swap 3 or 4 years ago. I would never ever buy one again either.

This one could very well end up in the bin before the day is out :D I'm sick looking at the little $hit! ;)

@ yoyo & Doug,

If you were buying a new mid range lappy now for yourselves, what would you buy?

@ yoyo & Doug,

If you were buying a new mid range lappy now for yourselves, what would you buy?

I tend to recommend Samsung, Toshiba, Asus, MSI machines. Although Dell used to be good since they moved production out of Ireland the build quality has unfortunately declined.
    I really amn't that sure about laptops these days so if your looking for a new machine ask the folk over in the Laptops forum. :) PC Specialist seem to pop up quite a bit!

Nick

Good call lads, the drive it was.

Just installed a new one + the OS and away she went.

All sorted ;)

There's one last thing, there's always one last thing.... :D

While everything appears to be working grand after the Win 7 install, the device manager is reporting 2 issues but I have no idea as to what they are related to.

Maybe chipset drivers?

Just below the Network Adapters in the device manager it shows these two items needing attention

The tree banch name is "Other Devices" and the items are

Base System Device

and

Unknown

The Vaio Model is VGN-NS10L

I don't seem to see any chipset drivers (if that indeed is what I need) on THIS LINK

There's one last thing, there's always one last thing.... :D

While everything appears to be working grand after the Win 7 install, the device manager is reporting 2 issues but I have no idea as to what they are related to.

Maybe chipset drivers?

Just below the Network Adapters in the device manager it shows these two items needing attention

The tree banch name is "Other Devices" and the items are

Base System Device

and

Unknown

The Vaio Model is VGN-NS10L

I don't seem to see any chipset drivers (if that indeed is what I need) on THIS LINK

Card reader is likely Base system Device ;) . Also for Vaios look for a yoke "Extensible Firmware Interface" or words along those lines

Nick

Spot on yet again yoyo :) It was indeed a card reader, but, Sony have nothing for Win 7 x64 for it. I read on their forums that a particular RICOH_Card Reader driver works fine with it so I ran with that, and the Device Manager is all happy :D

Base System = Card Reader !!! Where do they come up with the description names? :confused: They sure don't make any effort to make it obvious to the user which correct drivers they might need?

Anyway, thanks again for the dig out yoyo ;)