Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

should i do grinds??

• 09-10-2013 5:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭

hey so i'm a first year post-grad studying biomedical engineering. i done a reasonably good leaving cert last June. as a full time student i'm finding it hard to get a job and so i have come up with a brain wave to give grinds???? to junior certs and pass leaving certs. i still have all my notes from both state exams and i have access to all the new books. i was thinking of doing grinds in maths, geography, home economics and maybe Irish. as i done my state exams through Irish i was hoping to do the grinds through English and Irish as well.. . . .?? can someone give me tips on how to go about giving grinds, how much to charge, and really whether i should or not??? please reply!!!!

Comments

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,238 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Just because you yourself are good at learning something, it doesn't mean you'll be good at teaching it.

Find a relative or brother or sister of a friend who is struggling with some aspect of one of your subjects. See how you get on teaching them. Once you feel you can do it, then post up an ad in a supermarket and see how you go. The 'through Irish' angle might set you apart from the many others offering grinds.

You'll do at least one hour of preparation for each hour of grinds (if you're doing it properly) so allow for that in your pricing. Have a look at the prices people are asking on the grinds thread and be realistic about what you can charge.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭itgirl268