Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

They don't even pay road tax Joe. **Off topic thread**

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Ear worms? Ye don't know what an ear worm is. I get the theme tube to Glenroe periodically stuck in my head. Now that is NOT a song to pursuit to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

Forget glenroe as ear worm , you obviously haven't heard the lidl song yet

shaka wrote: »
    Forget glenroe as ear worm , you obviously haven't heard the lidl song yet

Why would you do that to me??? :mad: the magnetic properties of shot songs to my brain cannot be overstated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

I have only one thing to say:

A wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh
    In the jungle, the mighty jungle…
    ♫♪♫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

gadetra wrote: »
    Ear worms? Ye don't know what an ear worm is. I get the theme tube to Glenroe periodically stuck in my head. Now that is NOT a song to pursuit to!

I get the theme tune to Pajanimals. Then that goes and is replaced with one of the other songs from the show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,456 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

I have only one thing to say:

A wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh a wim a weh
    In the jungle, the mighty jungle…
    ♫♪♫
    jimmy's winning matches jimmy's winning games etc etc

gonna here that a lot for 3 weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭seany15

I was out this morning with the B group lads, and while my heart rate barely went above 140 it meant I had a greatest hits of earworms going on. Most notably Kevin Bloody Wilson - "Hey Santa Claus you c*nt" followed by "The Galaxy Song" from The Meaning of Life.

Strava says I had a below average Suffer Score. I promise you, I suffered plenty.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,249 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

****ing hell. 'africa' by toto today. and mainly just the 'do do do do do do doooo' bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,317 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I hate you all :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Kinet1c

I usually start singing or humming "Boys are back in town"....other people sing to themselves while cycling, right?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,012 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Anytime I'm on a flat section with a great tailwind I get images of Kelly doing Paris/Roubaix with......

"And I've got such a long way to go
    To make it to the border of Mexico
    So I'll ride like the wind
    Ride like the wind"

......it stays in my head all bloody day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

Kinet1c wrote: »
    I usually start singing or humming "Boys are back in town"....other people sing to themselves while cycling, right?!

Or the rocker: hey babe I'm a tough guy, got my motorcycle outside, wanna try? Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Germancarfan

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    I get the theme tune to Pajanimals. Then that goes and is replaced with one of the other songs from the show!

twirly wirly !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

This is currently stuck in my head :/

Anyways. I'm off for a gentle and relaxing Tour de Dublin for a bit.

So I was in hospital again today getting braced and strapped for the collarbone/dislocated shoulder combo and I thought you guys would enjoy a pic of the x-ray! DSC_0011_zpse77f14bc.jpg

Has anyone else done a collarbone in? What was your experience like? Did you get pinned or not? Who did you see? Why? I am currently in the figure of 8 brace and a shoulder immobilizer, and the good drugs ;) I suppose I am wondering how long it took you guys to be back on the bike?
    They had to peel my elbow out of the previous sling as the road (track?) rash had kind of grown into it…eugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭buffalo

Has anyone else done a collarbone in? What was your experience like? Did you get pinned or not? Who did you see? Why? I am currently in the figure of 8 brace and a shoulder immobilizer, and the good drugs ;) I suppose I am wondering how long it took you guys to be back on the bike?
    They had to peel my elbow out of the previous sling as the road (track?) rash had kind of grown into it…eugh!

Get a second opinion, and then get the surgery.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

buffalo wrote: »
    Get a second opinion, and then get the surgery.

Avoid the surgery unless an Orthopaedic surgeon who specialises in shoulders recommends it !
    Most collarbones heal perfectly without surgery.

I got morphine for a week when I strained my collar bone, I didn't really like the come down after each tablet. Made me exhausted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭buffalo

RobFowl wrote: »
    Avoid the surgery unless an Orthopaedic surgeon who specialises in shoulders recommends it !
    Most collarbones heal perfectly without surgery.

That's why I said to get the second opinion. :)

I got morphine for a week when I strained my collar bone, I didn't really like the come down after each tablet. Made me exhausted.

It's what's keeping me sane at the moment. It's so unstable, every move I make goes through me and it, so I am totally ok with the tiredness at the present time!

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

So I was in hospital again today getting braced and strapped for the collarbone/dislocated shoulder combo and I thought you guys would enjoy a pic of the x-ray! DSC_0011_zpse77f14bc.jpg

I broke mine 3 weeks ago, I didn't make the cut for surgery or a figure of 8 brace, just the immobiliser sling, the pain eased a lot after about 10 days, (along with the muscle spasms in the arms while in the sling... man alive they were sore). Now, my shoulders is stiff and a bit achy at times, and the movement is coming back bit by bit. Hope to be back on the bike by the end of september after i get the go ahead from the doctor.

Oh, try not to sneeze.... i did twice, wow.... felt like my shoulder had exploded....

edit to say: I thoroughly recommend the bonanza double bill on tg4 at 10am, as alternative viewing to the jeremy kyle/ cash in the attic shows elsewhere.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,249 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

This is currently stuck in my head :/

Anyways. I'm off for a gentle and relaxing Tour de Dublin for a bit.
    a better version:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yD2gZDcGa_I

I wish I was that lucky, I get the Bing Bong Song from Peppa Pig.. :eek::mad:

"We're playing a tune
    And we're singing a song
    With a Bing and a Bong and a Bing
    Bong Bing Boo
    Bing Bong Bing
    Bing Bong Bingly Bungly Boo"

every move I make

Every step I take...

Kav0777 wrote: »
    I wish I was that lucky, I get the Bing Bong Song from Peppa Pig.. :eek::mad:

"We're playing a tune
    And we're singing a song
    With a Bing and a Bong and a Bing
    Bong Bing Boo
    Bing Bong Bing
    Bing Bong Bingly Bungly Boo"

Peppa pig is an awful b i t c h and a terrible example of how to behave to children. A snotty, cheeky, grumpy little miss with a mega attitude and a chip on her shoulder.

It's such a relief to see that I'm not the only one. I'd ever a child needed a slap it's that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

I get the Bing Bong Song from Peppa Pig..

Once I got "see-saw, see-saw" sung by George and Richar Rabbit... every two revolutions of the crank... almost killed me.

The other time it was "I woke up this morning" blues by Granpa Rabbit.

*must*stop*watching*peppa

... the sea was still there... so was the sky... the sea, the sky, the sea, the sky...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Peppa pig is an awful b i t c h and a terrible example of how to behave to children.

In every episode she is gently shown why this is wrong, though. I guess thats the point, isn't it?

... and her songs are sh1t too....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Every step I take...

Better version

Every step I take...

Nope this went in :mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I had something very similar at Easter. Compound fracture in the collar bone but also a broken scapula, a floating shoulder. The Orthopedic surgeon (who was a shoulder specialist. I searched him on Linkedin!) advised me to have the surgery as the bone was tenting the skin and would be prone to infections. So I now have 6 pins and a plate. For me the pain from the surgery was much worse than the actual accident. I only need ibuprofen after the crash. Post-op I had some morphine based tablets in the hospital and was sent home with tramadol.

The surgeon has to cut through a nerve so that lead to a lot of pain. It was like someone was grabbing and squeezing my skin just below the neck for a few weeks. The bone is well healed now but the nerve is still not 100%. Carrying a bag on that shoulder is still a bit of a problem but getting better with each passing week.

Had the break been less messy I would not have gone for surgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Doctor Bob

Whenever I have an unwelcome earworm, there's one song that's guaranteed to dislodge any other song from my head. But it's a borderline nuclear option and should be used with extreme caution. Don't say I didn't warn you...
    Toni Braxton - Unbreak My Heart

Are you still hearing Peppa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭midonogh

"And the birds go woof and the dogs go tweet...."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Jake the Peg by Rolf "I swear all my songs are innocent" Harris. Only know three fecking lines of it.

Doctor Bob wrote: »
    Whenever I have an unwelcome earworm, there's one song that's guaranteed to dislodge any other song from my head. But it's a borderline nuclear option and should be used with extreme caution. Don't say I didn't warn you...

Are you still hearing Peppa?

Yes only now it's "Unbreak my Bing Bong Bingly Bungly Boo"

I'm sure that song is in violation of the Geneva convention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,141 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

midonogh wrote: »
    "And the birds go woof and the dogs go tweet...."
    What does the fox say?

Dig up the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Lumen wrote: »
    What does the fox say?

"I sell it in boxes of five"

Lumen wrote: »
    What does the fox say?

My truck has everything...... Except diesel.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Ahem. Rule 5..........

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Not making light, but for a strain ? Presumably not a strain like your regular wrist type strain?

I broke mine in two places a few years ago, slept on it (I'm sure alcohol numbed most of the pain) and went to the VHI Swiftcare clinic the next day, didn't take any pain killers, don't think I was offered them either from what I can remember.

I just went with the immobiliser sling. Bit of a struggle as it was my right side, simple things like taking a dump take on a whole new level of planning and difficulty.

My wife reckons I have an unnatural tolerance for pain though, didn't take the drugs offered when getting eye surgery, and sat at home for hours with several broken bones in my hand and a smashed thumb after a hurling match another time.
    Kav0777 wrote: »

edit to say: I thoroughly recommend the bonanza double bill on tg4 at 10am, as alternative viewing to the jeremy kyle/ cash in the attic shows elsewhere.

I did the Sopranos box set at the time.

Ha ha thanks for the tv suggestions! Never been much of a tv person, that's all about to change!

Rollingscone I didn't cry, does that count as Rule 5 enough? :p

Thanks for the info on yer experiences with the collarbone break, I suppose I am wondering how it's going to go, and how long I'll be out of action for average. It hurts like a divil but hopefully it'll settle soon enough. I also hope it's the end of my physical bad luck. This is the 3rd run of it now so that's it right?!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,012 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I've seen it all now! :confused:

AirFreshners_zps86d32a81.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,805 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Paul McCartney's Let 'em In will dislodge any other ear worm. But the cure may be worse than the disease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Sorry for your troubles gadetra.

Best bit of advice I got after was to get out of the sling as soon as I could.

Didn't have to get pins though so ymmv.

They gave me a prescription for Tramadol which I never used. I'll take cash or bike parts.

daragh_ wrote: »
    Best bit of advice I got after was to get out of the sling as soon as I could.

Defo agree, longer you're in it the longer it'll take for the muscles being relaxed to build back up and gain full rom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Doctor Bob

Doctor Bob wrote: »

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Paul McCartney's Let 'em In will dislodge any other ear worm. But the cure may be worse than the disease.

Unstoppable force meets immovable object? Battle of the earworms! :)

The fact that I don't know the McCartney tune means there's only one winner for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Impromptu science experiment this morning: I encountered 15 sets of red lights; cars broke the red at 9 of them. Clearly we need them to pay more road tax, more insurance and have a ticker-style reg plate surrounding the entire vehicle to ensure that this menace is stopped. Shocking it was, Joe.

To my surprise, I had to hit 10 sets of reds before I saw a cyclist break one.